Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GE Exit Poll 10 pm

• Registered Users Posts: 18,174 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

ricero wrote: »
    Proud day to be Irish. The young generations have risen up and said enough is enough and no more ****e.

Today will send a shockwave through the establishment who are now riddled in fear.

Lol claiming this as an anti establishment vote is pathetic.

Also the real establishment in this country is the unelected civil servants and do you really expect to see SF abandoning their supposed socialists beliefs to attack the civil servants and their unions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Ballyfermot is an absolute hole. Let's see how Inchicore and Kilmainham vote.
    Charming.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

C__MC wrote: »
    Another election ?

I don't think FFG will want that, they might even merge or at least coalesce rather than let that happen, where a regrouped SF will comeback with more candidates and possibly outpoll the two of them.

SF truly in a win win situation at the minute, they simply cannot lose from this result.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,568 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

C__MC wrote: »
    Lol
    We will see what s f are really like if they get in
    Tax and false promises
    They can't even run the 6 counties

Correct, be very afraid Middle Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Am I right in saying that if you reach the quota, only the surplus gets distributed? Unless you get the quota on the 1st count and your entire vote gets distributed?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,174 ✭✭✭limnam

Don't worry if Sinn Fein are in power you will soon realise how fake their promises are. Lets hope they don't **** the country before people cop on to them

Because FFG have never failed to deliver on a promise.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,766 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Correct, be very afraid Middle Ireland.

Arent "middle ireland" always afraid?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,568 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Am I right in saying that if you reach the quota, only the surplus gets distributed? Unless you get the quota on the 1st count and your entire vote gets distributed?

I think you are

• Registered Users Posts: 33,134 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Ballyfermot is an absolute hole. Let's see how Inchicore and Kilmainham vote.
    I live in lower ballyfermot and it's grand tbh....but parts of it are a bit rough around the edges. I have found people on my street extremely friendly been here about 5 years.

Costello should do well in those I wouldn't think.
    Byrne will probably be grand, Collins looks maybe more at risk I would guess

• Registered Users Posts: 18,174 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

McMurphy wrote: »
    I don't think FFG will want that, they might even merge or at least coalesce rather than let that happen, where a regrouped SF will comeback with more candidates and possibly outpoll the two of them.

SF truly in a win win situation at the minute, they simply cannot lose from this result.

Indeed they are pretty much guaranteed to be in government next unelection barring some completely catastrophic unforeseen event

• Registered Users Posts: 6,012 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Its far more sinister than that. The khaki and balaclava have been traded for smart suits, so that those same people can masquerade amongs normal people. But are still pursuing the same end.

You're hilarious please stick around

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

You think anything that could vaugely be a right wing dog whistle is completely intentional, you get shown a direct reference to the IRA and think its an overreaction

source.gif

VinLieger wrote: »
    Lol claiming this as an anti establishment vote is pathetic.

Also the real establishment in this country is the unelected civil servants and do you really expect to see SF abandoning their supposed socialists beliefs to attack the civil servants and their unions?

yes

sf in power will attack the establishments of the state imo, their persecution complex and natural enemies in the middle class will come through very quickly indeed imo

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Kerry 57% of boxes open

MHR is @ 21% percent. DHR @ 13%.

Dessie Ellis would have been a massive price to be the individual candidate with most first-preference votes. Like double digit figures.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

pjohnson wrote: »
    Arent "middle ireland" always afraid?

Well they do foot the bill for everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,103 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

How much would SF be prepared to ditch to get into power? Two red lines might go, property tax and the Special Courts. People might not get what they thought they were voting for.

Regina doing very badly :D
    They prefer Helen McEntee

• Registered Users Posts: 34,002 ✭✭✭✭listermint

yes

sf in power will attack the establishments of the state imo, their persecution complex and natural enemies in the middle class will come through very quickly indeed imo

Lol. MC Donald was called out for her middle class background and private fee paying education.

The twists and turns people will go to.

How much would SF be prepared to ditch to get into power? Two red lines might go, property tax and the Special Courts. People might not get what they thought they were voting for.

Rarely do.
    Manifestos are rubbish basically.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

They might have to spruce up the finishes on the 65k houses too

yes

You should write a book!

• Registered Users Posts: 82,860 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Looks like FF will have to try to form a government with SF or risk an even bigger SF outcome in another election.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,667 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Interesting that SF are raking the votes in in ROI, but went down something like 7% in the last NI election.

It is. There's a bleedin' knackers yard beside the post office.
    :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,404 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

No. Your vote can only count once. It's just the surplus.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Louth prediction's so far according to RTE.

SF topping the polls there too. 43%

SF 2
    FF 1
    FG 1

Dogfight for the last one ged Nash of labour might scrape over the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 56,413 ✭✭✭✭walshb

How are Varadkar and Martin polling?

VinLieger wrote: »
    Indeed they are pretty much guaranteed to be in government next unelection barring some completely catastrophic unforeseen event

a lot will come down to how the three parties see the next govt term being. if they are confident, then the odds of a ff/fg pact- closer than a conf/supply imo- are high, but sf will want to get in on it to shore up this performance. ff will be in a strong position.

if they think housing/brexit/health means a rotten term, theyll all be looking at their shoes. sf gain most by staying away from govt and awaiting a quick return to the country, running 80 candidates next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,388 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

STB. wrote: »
    Kerry 57% of boxes open

MHR is @ 21% percent. DHR @ 13%.

Dessie Ellis would have been a massive price to be the individual candidate with most first-preference votes. Like double digit figures.

I backed Doherty at 10/11 yesterday. MHR was 5/4.
    The next candidate was Brady in Wicklow I think, at 12/1. Don't remember even seeing Ellis listed

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

lawred2 wrote: »
    No. Your vote can only count once. It's just the surplus.

How do they decide the surplus that is used? Is it a random selection?