Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have we come to

In 2016, multinationals spent €17.9 billion in Ireland's economy on payroll, as well as on Irish-sourced goods and services.

Much of that is then taxed to provide the above-mentioned services.

Multinationals contribute enormously to the economy. Plus, they provide many high-paying jobs for the people who graduate from our universities.

Not to mention €6.6 billion in corporation taxes from January to October last year alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

It is a day that will live in infamy. To the eternal shame of the entire country.

The worst nature of the Irish has bubbled to the surface, and exploded in the faces of all unfortunate Irish citizens. And to think it is self inflicted. Tragedy does not go lower. It is hard to think of any country embarrassing and harming itself so, and revealing that a quarter of its eligible voters are either too dim to realise what they were voting for, or, worse, knew exactly what they were voting for, and did so nonetheless. The moral courage of so much of the country exposed in its truly repulsive horror.

I have never felt so sorry for Ireland. Is there hope for them through the gloom? Today, its hard to see it. They may console themselves that maybe such a close flirtation with the devil will awaken those in thrall to the terrorism or inured to the behaviour of the scum of humanity, and like a does of salts, bring them back from the brink the next time round, and send these scoundrels packing, back to the shadows and oblivion.Perhaps this was the innoculation that can prove in the longer term, to be the salvation of the Irish from this SF pestilence.

Have you left yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭quokula

As the mask continues to slip surely we need a government that represents the massive 75% majority that voted to keep Sinn Fein as far away from a position of responsibility as possible? I don't see how parties like the Greens or SDs could possibly morally justify working with them, never mind FF or FG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

bubblypop wrote: »
    exactly why we dont need any elected members of our government shouting about the IRA & celebrating their past!

I disagree. The chap obviously likes what the IRA stood for and even mentioned a hunger striker. Hardly surprising from a Sinn Fein chap.
    I'd be against a forced state commemoration should they try it. The IRA aren't everyone's cup of tae.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Yawn, this is getting boring now. It was a place in a private, paid for facility he was looking for but he couldn’t get a bed as they were all full.
    After intervention from the TD, a bed was found which was paid for in full by my family.
    No state services involved at all. The same man had tried to kill himself 3 times in the previous two weeks, it was an emergency and A&E kept sending him home.
    He was going to die if he didn’t get admitted somewhere. He was failed by the state, if we’re going to blame anyone here.
    I’m sure any other parent would do the exact same thing for their child if they had the means to pay for such services privately, even if it meant getting a TD involved.

This is the exact attitude that cost FF and FG votes.

So, tell us what happened to the person who missed out on the place that you swiped with political influence.

Did you give a thought that perhaps it was to go to someone who was also suicidal and perhaps medically more in need of the place?

It's a bit low for a TD to intervene that way.

Have we all come Thread closing conclusion yet that politicians lie? That no party has a monopoly of integrity?

At least some of them don't apologise for terrorists

• Registered Users Posts: 23,766 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Another election would be fúcking hilarious.

More desperate screaming about the IRA from the desperately out of touch while Sinn Fein hoover up even more seats :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

One positive thing about the outcome of this election, from a trendy liberal wishy washy why can't we all be nice to each other point of view (ie mine) is the utter irrelevance of the narrow anti-immigrant euro sceptic parties like the Irish National Party, led by Justin "Big Ears" Barrett; and the Irish Freedom Party, led by Farage protegé Herman "The German" Kelly.

The former stood in 10 constituencies and polled an average of 477 votes. Herman's "Hermits" stood in a total of 11 and averaged 500 votes, with all bar two being eliminated by the third count.

Incidentally, I'm sure it's just coincidence that three of the IFP's candidates had the same surname as a leading contender in their constituency. (O'Neill in Carlow Kilkenny; O Murchú in Louth and Cahill in Tipperary. )
    Granted there was nobody of the name Shinnick, Bowler or O Fallamháin in their respective constituencies to confuse voters there. Nor did Ben Scallan in Dublin Bay South have a namesake to run against and confuse the electorate but if Dana ever re-enters the political fray, she should watch out :)

There is no doubt that Sinn Féin's success is born of a populist revolt against the complacency of the big parties in tolerating for too long the misery associated with struggling workers regarding matters that could be alleviated by government action. But we just don't seem to want to blame "Brussels" or "Bloody immigrants" yet. A positive sign.

Housing, in particular, affects everyone with a family. IF you're young and struggling to put together a deposit for a home, you're screwed by rising prices. If you're a middle aged parent of adult children, (bow) both you and they would like nothing better than to get their own place but all they can get is an expensive hovel shared with too many others.

Meanwhile there are empty properties dotted throughout wealthy areas gathering dust while speculators wait for the main chance or just artificially keep high rents in other properties they own.

The dispassionate term for that is "market failure"; the populist one is speculator greed. The government can intervene in this area without distorting it too much. I actually fancy SF to be determined enough to do that. IF they can crack it, they'll do well. IF they prefer rebel songs and border polls, they'll be out before their seats are warm.

Of course it has to do with SF and the IRA it is the same mindset SF had only shortwhile ago. How would SF react to these things in a ROI government.
    Condemnation? But at the same time refuse to help to bring the killers of Paul Quinn to justice.

More SF hypocrisy in my view.

What clap trap. 'the same mindset'. Except for the fact that they disagree so much they have nothing to do with each other.
    Sad as these things may be, we have a country to run and it's obvious they electorate do not give it the same weight you claim to.

I think he was applauding them. Bit of a difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Look, the Troubles are over and while certain incidents need to be resolved and we do not have closure, we need move on with life. After all the British are our biggest trading partner.

Certain incidents wow that is a real vague SF one alright. Cover up of murders etc you mean and failure to bring perps to justice.

People can only move on in life when others get justice. SF block justice when it suits them like the SCC stance etc.
    If SF were open and honest and went along with the rule of law then there would be closure.

It is all well and good for SF playing to the disillusioned working class in the Republic of Ireland. Helped by a gap in the left formed by a poor labour party.

But this vote do not see these issues about justice and law. They are selfish, misguided, and naive. Clearly Brexit did not register with any of them either.

The majority of the rest of the electorate have more cop on, thankfully.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,502 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Odhinn wrote: »
    SF have proposed a Truth commission like South Africa had but has no takers at this point in time.

That’s like Helen Keller saying she’ll give driving lessons ffs.

Certain incidents wow that is a real vague SF one alright. Cover up of murders etc you mean and failure to bring perps to justice.

People can only move on in life when others get justice. SF block justice when it suits them like the SCC stance etc.
    If SF were open and honest and went along with the rule of law then there would be closure.

It is all well and good for SF playing to the disillusioned working class in the Republic of Ireland. Helped by a gap in the left formed by a poor labour party.

But this vote do not see these issues about justice and law. They are selfish, misguided, and naive. Clearly Brexit did not register with any of them either.

The majority of the rest of the electorate have more cop on, thankfully.

Vague because I'm speaking broadly. Was there only the one?
    I'm delighted PBP/SD/I4C/Greens did alright. We are growing up and leaving the civil war behind even if folk like yourself are feigning outrage because your team came up short.

BTW just as a matter of interest: An bhfuil focal ar bith Gaeilge ag Máire Lou?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Jesus, David Cullinane is some tosser.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭thequarefellow

Bhi si ar an nuacht (TG4) areir. Bhi si ceart go leoir

What clap trap. 'the same mindset'. Except for the fact that they disagree so much they have nothing to do with each other.
    Sad as these things may be, we have a country to run and it's obvious they electorate do not give it the same weight you claim to.

So when there is new wave of republicanism (which will happen as there new generations) how do expect SF to react?

How can SF react without looking like complete hypocrites to the republican cause, and thier reactions to paramilitary injustices to which they are linked - Paul Quinn etc.

Bhi si ar an nuacht (TG4) areir. Bhi si ceart go leoir

Maith an cailín!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,766 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

So when there is new wave of republicanism (which will happen as there new generations) how do expect SF to react?

How can SF react without looking like complete hypocrites to the republican cause, and thier reactions to paramilitary injustices to which they are linked - Paul Quinn etc.

Well at least you stopped trying to use McKee.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

If you hate so much what Republicans in this country stood for then why don’t you ship yourself off across the water and live under Boris while you adore the royal family.

Or maybe your just doing the opposite of what he is doing, he respects aspects of what the IRA stood for, and said on national radio that he doesn’t agree with everything the IRA did, while you appear to ignore a lot of that and use the errors made during a war that has long since stopped as a stick to beat people with now.

Maybe you need to modernize your thinking.

Níl sí iontach - she is by no means fluent. Enough to bluff. Michelle O'Neill has no Irish beyond the obvious phrases.

But to be fair to both women - neither have been to a jailtacht. Like Gerry and so on. But even Gerry's Irish is not great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

pjohnson wrote: »

The meltdowns are amazing.

Fairly hilarious. Some posters having serious panic attacks. I'd say they are terrified SF will actually fix things. It's an unknown but they just might.

The FF FG system has had its day.

Níl sí iontach - she is by no means fluent. Enough to bluff. Michelle O'Neill has no Irish beyond the obvious phrases.

But to be fair to both women - neither have been to a jailtacht. Like Gerry and so on. But even Gerry's Irish is not great.

How did Adams fare in the election?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

Between singing come out yet black and tans and roaring up the ra after being elected.. if there was an abort button on this election I'd be close to hitting it I was all for Sf if they were genuine with out being shadowy but if that's the case then they aren't the answer either , I don't think they LL last long if this is there candidates

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

So, tell us what happened to the person who missed out on the place that you swiped with political influence.

Did you give a thought that perhaps it was to go to someone who was also suicidal and perhaps medically more in need of the place?

It's a bit low for a TD to intervene that way.

I imagine if that was genuinely the case the place would have been denied regardless of any TD getting involved.

And I’m sure you wouldn’t have the same dismissive attitude if your son threw himself into a river and tried to hang himself twice in the space of 3 weeks.
    Go away with your holier than thou attitude.
    He told the doctor in A&E he had no desire to live, he begged to be admitted but he was sent home with a prescription for Xanax and told to contact Pieta house.

If he hadn’t been so completely & utterly failed by the Irish health systems and mental health services they wouldn’t have had to go ringing around TD offices for help in the first place.
    As if you’d just accept it and sit at home waiting for your child to kill themselves if it was you.
    Perhaps that would be an appropriate area for you to direct your outrage at rather than a desperate family doing all they could to save their loved one.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Well at least you stopped trying to use McKee.

I was mentioning mckee as to the point that there is still militant republicanism bubbling under. There will be a new larger generation who don't recognise the Dail. Stormont or Westminister. It will cause SF problems down the line particulary with eejits like David Cullinane playing to gallery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

The only reason Mary Lou addressed the slur against Paul Quinn's name was the election. Sinn Fein have put out this line that Quinn was involved in criminal activity without producing any evidence. He died a horrific death. What SF did after added insult to a grieving family. SF are dangerous and we may rue the day we allowed ourselves to be blinded to their shenanigans.

How would it be plausible to have a SF minister for justice? SF want British soldiers to be held to account for actions from the early 70s on. Well let them put forward names of those responsible for the disappearance of Jean McConville. The murder of Robert McCartney and Paul Quinn.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Seems the toys are well and truly being thrown out of prams now that today's results have panned out worse than expected for another of the former big two. FG had 9 years in power during which they became increasingly out of touch, harping on about the economy doing well while increasing numbers of people became homeless and hundreds of people lay on trolleys in hospitals. A booming economy isn't going to win votes if a large number of voters cant see the effects. FF blew their chance by propping up the other crowd for the past few years, reinforcing the perception many already had that they're effectively the same party. Add to that the laughable claims of SF being financially irresponsible from the crowd who bankrupted the country on one side and those overseeing a ridiculous overspend on the children's hospital on the other and it's really not difficult to see why people got fed up.

But never mind addressing all those issues. Let's just imply the public are thick and drum up hysteria about the ra. What could possibly go wrong?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Fairly hilarious. Some posters having serious panic attacks. I'd say they are terrified SF will actually fix things. It's an unknown but they just might.

The FF FG system has had its day.

Has it ever occurred to you that some posters are having panic attacks because they actually remember the other Sinn Fein...the real SF...in the recent past??The SF who were the spokespeople excusing the punishment beatings, kneecap shootings, and bombs that filled every headline several times every day for years and years?

They will have to work very, very hard to shed that image yet for many people in this country, never mind prove themselves in Government aswell.

If you hate so much what Republicans in this country stood for then why don’t you ship yourself off across the water and live under Boris while you adore the royal family.

Or maybe your just doing the opposite of what he is doing, he respects aspects of what the IRA stood for, and said on national radio that he doesn’t agree with everything the IRA did, while you appear to ignore a lot of that and use the errors made during a war that has long since stopped as a stick to beat people with now.

Maybe you need to modernize your thinking.

what makes you think I adore the Royal family?
    Do you think that everyone that abhors terrorist activity somehow wants to be British?
    shouting 'up the ra' means he believes in what the IRA did, I won't apologise for not believing in murdering innocent civilians.
    and FYI, it actually was not a war.
    rules would be a lot different if it was.