Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have we come to

• Registered Users Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭AllForIt

shesty wrote: »
    Has it ever occurred to you that some posters are having panic attacks because they actually remember the other Sinn Fein...the real SF...in the recent past??The SF who were the spokespeople excusing the punishment beatings, kneecap shootings, and bombs that filled every headline several times every day for years and years?

They will have to work very, very hard to shed that image yet for many people in this country, never mind prove themselves in Government aswell.

It looks like they have shed it.

I think it a nasty tactic to say that ppl voted for the Sinn Fein of old.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

AllForIt wrote: »

They have yet to prove it.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

How did Adams fare in the election?

Well in Louth in got 'the ra' vote out when he last rang for election and got the highest poll in the country. A few years after he decided to agree to a re-branded sunningdale agreement

Of course Gerry Adams was never a member of the IRA....but as the man himself said he would not dissociate himself with them ;)

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,766 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

But never mind addressing all those issues. Let's just imply the public are thick and drum up hysteria about the ra. What could possibly go wrong?

Especially considering this tactic actually seemed to give SF a boost on voting day :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Amirani wrote: »
    Jesus, David Cullinane is some tosser.

I just can't believe he actually said "up the ra...." ...

total arsehole..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Has it ever occurred to you that some posters are having panic attacks because they actually remember the other Sinn Fein...the real SF...in the recent past??The SF who were the spokespeople excusing the punishment beatings, kneecap shootings, and bombs that filled every headline several times every day for years and years?

They will have to work very, very hard to shed that image yet for many people in this country, never mind prove themselves in Government aswell.

The incubus is having its way with Èriu. But she sleeps, oblivious.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,567 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Seems the toys are well and truly being thrown out of prams now that today's results have panned out worse than expected for another of the former big two. FG had 9 years in power during which they became increasingly out of touch, harping on about the economy doing well while increasing numbers of people became homeless and hundreds of people lay on trolleys in hospitals. A booming economy isn't going to win votes if a large number of voters cant see the effects. FF blew their chance by propping up the other crowd for the past few years, reinforcing the perception many already had that they're effectively the same party. Add to that the laughable claims of SF being financially irresponsible from the crowd who bankrupted the country on one side and those overseeing a ridiculous overspend on the children's hospital on the other and it's really not difficult to see why people got fed up.

But never mind addressing all those issues. Let's just imply the public are thick and drum up hysteria about the ra. What could possibly go wrong?

How is showing what he actually said drumming up hysteria?
    It’s a horrid look for an elected rep who wants to be legitimately in government

AllForIt wrote: »

I think it a nasty tactic to say that ppl voted for the Sinn Fein of old.

Does it? 50% of the vote went to parties which said at the outset they would not go into collation with SF.

They have not shed it it is just that the younger voter does not remember the real SF. The feminisation of SF helped as well and there are few with beards these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

bennyl10 wrote: »
    How is showing what he actually said drumming up hysteria?
    It’s a horrid look for an elected rep who wants to be legitimately in government

I agree it's not a good look. My point is that going after SF over the IRA connection isn't working anymore.

Zetor19 wrote: »
    That Wexford scumbag should be sacked before he gets a chance to get into the dail .

Changing your tune since last week

• Registered Users Posts: 23,766 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

They have not shed it it is just that the younger voter does not remember the real SF.

They do. They just care about the present.

Didn't vote for sf, but fairly sure similar was said about FF when they first formed, so much so that when elected their TDs arrived to the dail armed as they were sure that they would not be allowed in.

I just can't believe he actually said "up the ra...." ...

total arsehole..

Pay close attention new SF voters......

This is nothing FF FG or Labour did. This was out of the mouth of a SF Watford TD who thought he was not being filmed. Second time elected and all - shouldn't he know better?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Cullinane

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I agree it's not a good look. My point is that going after SF over the IRA connection isn't working anymore.

it didnt, until they won and videod themselves all praising the RA , people thought it was a FG pr fantasy, the shinners did a great job reminding everyone its real

• Registered Users Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭AllForIt

They have yet to prove it.

Well they have to be in gov for at least a day before they can do that.

but Sinn Fein were the political wing of the PIRA.
    so, if they are still celebrating the IRA, how can that be good for the country?
    We need to work with the British government & the northern assembly, particularly now that the UK have left the EU.
    Elected members of our government should not be seen to support terrorist organisations if we are to work together.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Pay close attention new SF voters......

This is nothing FF FG or Labour did. This was out of the mouth of a SF Watford TD who thought he was not being filmed. Second time elected and all - shouldn't he know better?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Cullinane

The plans coming along even better than expected if they have a Watford TD already.

Because a large chunk who voted for SF were about 8-15 when the troubles ended. Well they will find out soon enough what the craic is when militant republicanism starts again properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,502 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

bubblypop wrote: »
    but Sinn Fein were the political wing of the PIRA.
    so, if they are still celebrating the IRA, how can that be good for the country?
    We need to work with the British government & the northern assembly, particularly now that the UK have left the EU.
    Elected members of our government should not be seen to support terrorist organisations if we are to work together.

It goes far beyond just the UK... we are to continue to entice US companies, Indian hey from all four corners of the globe and we have our people, elected representatives, of what will likely turn out to be the largest party or close to it in the dail, chanting in support about an illegal, terrorist organization. This does not play well on any stage, domestic or international... poor, real poor.

Also this David Cullinane fella is not wexford but waterford. Twitter was wrong.

I am just glad those wexford strawberries are not tainted.

https://www.thejournal.ie/cullinane-sinn-fein-5001861-Feb2020/

This is my fav bit -
    "On RTÉ’s Six One News, Mary Lou McDonald said she had not seen the video in question and wouldn’t comment on it, but added that Cullinane “has to explain it”.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Strumms wrote: »
    It goes far beyond just the UK... we are to continue to entice US companies, Indian hey from all four corners of the globe and we have our people, elected representatives, of what will likely turn out to be the largest party or close to it in the dail, chanting in support about an illegal, terrorist organization. This does not play well on any stage, domestic or international... poor, real poor.

can you imagine an investor finding the Alan Ryan commemoration march video, looking up who alan ryan was, that it wasnt that long ago and seeing these muppets saying the same things and singing the same songs and still wanting to come to this country to invest.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

When?

Did the SoS calling out the DUP as the obstacle to a deal pass you by?

FG NEVER at any stage were involved in talks as the FG party. Negotiations were always handled by the EU.

Deal in facts please.

It's a darn sight more than FG have managed to do is it not?

Ask yourself what happened when anyone got a mandate to go into government here. Or ask the Greens or Labour.

The reason you guys are losing your **** is because you know you are no longer dealing with a party that is only interested in the comfy seats and power for the sake of it.

You're doing some serious projection there :rolleyes:

I'm losing nothing as I'm watching this car crash from abroad. I have my popcorn out in the hopes that SF have the balls to go into government. Given how multiple candidates haven't been able to get through their election day without delivering controversy we can already see how things are going.

Obviously FG as a party didn't negotiate Brexit but FG ministers did. Interesting that you call out those semantics when you previously hailed SF's negotiating skills based on their history in the north, when how many of those involved in northern negotiation have been elected TDs?

Your posts are one bit of hypocrisy followed another, so there is no point in bothering to go around in circles with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Nobody cares about the RA they care if they can pay the rent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

The absolute fcuking eegit.

I am surprised at some of board's most fevered social justice warrior types who seem to be wetting themselves about "socialists" getting in to power in Ireland. They don't seem to know the same socialists were clutching rosary beads along with their pistols as they fought a sectarian war, hint lads, that means based on religious divides. It is only because they are populist cnuts that they morphed into the Irish Antifa.
    Anyhow. I dont even know where to begin with the weirdness. But Cullinane perhaps says it best himself. Up the Ra, yiz sjw blockheads. Up the feckin Ra.

can you imagine an investor finding the Alan Ryan commemoration march video, looking up who alan ryan was, that it wasnt that long ago and seeing these muppets saying the same things and singing the same songs and still wanting to come to this country to invest.

He was shot in and from Denise Mitchell's current constituency.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-truth-about-alan-ryan-and-his-funeral-26898251.html

Here is a lovely catchy song about him

All together now!

The same members of his former gang resorted to selling steriods - three years ago

https://www.thejournal.ie/alan-ryan-steroids-drugs-gyms-3286562-Mar2017/

I wonder who they voted for in the GE?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Also this David Cullinane fella is not wexford but waterford. Twitter was wrong.

I have never liked or trusted that man. He is creepy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

No, especially if the same muppets are foaming at the mouth about capitalism and threatening punitive taxes on the "wealthy" who make 40k a year.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

rtron wrote: »
    Let's just get it over with.
    Vote them in.
    Watch them feck up the country.
    Then revote FF in 4 or 7 years whatever it is.

Hmm a bit simplistic. FF will never reach the heights they once held. Are SF a viable alternative? Who is to say?
    When the electorate brought in the SF of it's day in 1932 what did they get ? Massive social housing and an economic war with our main export market . Irish agriculture took until the 1950s to recover.

I have never liked or trusted that man. He is creepy.

Never heard of David Cullinane until now. His outburst will only make him more popular in some quarters.
    Poor Mary Lou will have a job to keep the knuckle draggers and thicks in SF under control. She is lucky she can call on SF behind the scenes 'help'.

SF have to at least appear like a normal party - optics. That is Mary Lou's challenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

holyhead wrote: »
    The only reason Mary Lou addressed the slur against Paul Quinn's name was the election. Sinn Fein have put out this line that Quinn was involved in criminal activity without producing any evidence. He died a horrific death. What SF did after added insult to a grieving family. SF are dangerous and we may rue the day we allowed ourselves to be blinded to their shenanigans.

How would it be plausible to have a SF minister for justice? SF want British soldiers to be held to account for actions from the early 70s on. Well let them put forward names of those responsible for the disappearance of Jean McConville. The murder of Robert McCartney and Paul Quinn.

The only reason she addressed it was because it was put to her on television. The only reason it was put to her was the election.
    All sides have issues need answering. I think SF and ML should concentrate on looking after the country of 2020.