Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have we come to

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Somehow I doubt that... Relax.

They have actually, another poster showed the reaction to the rise of SF on this thread.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    The utter absurdity of condemning SF for a conflict that ended 23 years ago is more and more obvious. And the cynicism of the ruling parties in doing so. The people have shown repeatedly that they have moved on from this and the only ones looking back to it are those doing so in an exploitative and politicised manner.

There are an awful lot of disappointed FFGers out there but you have only yourselves to blame for this result. All FFG could offer was "there is no alternative". People are crying out for such. And let's be plain: SF should know they are on notice to deliver solutions not excuses. Had FG done that with housing rather than enabling a parasitical landlord class they would have won elections for 20 years. Too much self regard, too much unionism, too much dismissiveness, too much West Brit nonsense, too much incompetence.

I was of the same opinion as you till I seen candidates roaring up the ra and the likes, it's Abit on the fanatical side and I can't see how it d go down too well with anyone outside of Ireland

The past should be left where it is but when that's the chants day one for the people supposed to lead the country it doesn't look good

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Any Sinn Fein elected TDs in this G.E that are murderers?
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dessie_Ellis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

bubblypop wrote: »
    so what are elected Sinn Fein members doing singing 'up the Ra' on their election celebrations?

I'm not shocked TBH. Some say that SF and the IRA were linked in some subtle yet unverifiable way :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

The establishment aren't taking this well are they. Has anyone checked in on Michael McDowell?

pjohnson wrote: »
    Back to how important Brexit was even tho the electorate didnt give it a shíte.

Because they did not understand the issues nor the seriousness of the issues.
    It is much easier to peddle a vague concept like 'change'.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Of course it is relevant is The poster Matt Barrett is anti FG vehemently so and picked the name of Leo's partner as his user name.

When someone picks a username for a bit of crack that they know will annoy and upset other people, well we know what kind of a person they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    All sides do have issues. The savagery of that incident is very obvious; the hidden suicides of the crash less so, the mass emigration less so, the ill health that people worked themselves into to keep things functioning less so. There is no shortage of savagery from the loyalists, the Free State, the Anti Treaty side, the RUC, the British army and on and on. Those are facts.

You lads are telling stories ye think ye have just invented, we older people covered that type of ground long ago when ye were dribbling in yer bibs, you are not inventing the wheel or surprising anyone with yer supposedly blistering analysis. Everyone with 2 brain cells knows about wrong on either side of the troubles.
    I was not saying comparable issues re SF and British Army or loyalists etc. We do not have the UVF having just won 20 whatever percent of the vote here because sjws think they are getting socialism and radical change. I am saying show me the comparable issues Matt claims exist with other political candidates here, comparable with what I described.
    And by the way I have never voted FF or FG, so stop spouting the stuff about suicides. And I won't tell you there were 50000 casualties of the troubles, and how a lot of deaths were not caused just by a bullet or a bat with nails in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

Do Maths say that the Greens are required to make a majority happen ??

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Probably the nastiest piece of work in the Dail.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    The establishment aren't taking this well are they. Has anyone checked in on Michael McDowell?

SF you mean they are establishment? Considering McDowell is not a sitting TD I doubt many are thinking of him. But I am sure he is touched.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,766 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Because they did not understand the issues nor the seriousness of the issues.
    It is much easier to peddle a vague concept like 'change'.

Only the FG Acolytes can truly understand.

The electorate are wrong not FG!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,125 ✭✭✭Odhinn

blanch152 wrote: »
    Probably the nastiest piece of work in the Dail.

Hardly. Lowry surely has that title well under wraps.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Glib comment deny and deflect. You mention something that happened decades ago when it suits in one post. Yet in all the others you say we should forget the past and move on.
    Now you are trying to ignore the present comments of a sitting Sinn Fein TD who was referring to the past.

SF people must get fierce heartburn with all the deny, deflect, discredit tactics.

It will only get worse. Do you think half their new candidates have been fully vetted and trained properly to deal with the scrutiny that is coming?

A lot of skeletons to come out (or be highlighted to the wider public) and a lot of terrible soundbites to come. They'll blame the media for bias but all you have to do it point to is the hounding they gave Maria Bailey

This will probably be very high on the list of concerns for FF when thinking about going into government with SF.

Odhinn wrote: »
    Hardly. Lowry surely has that title well under wraps.

really?
    no problem with people found with bombs & bomb making equipment is somehow worse than others??

• Registered Users Posts: 69,207 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Foxtrol wrote: »
    I'm not sure what you're struggling with, your hypocrisy is pretty clear.

In one post you get outraged that I gave FG credit for their part in negotiating Brexit while a few posts earlier you wanted credit to be passed on to Mary Lou and her new band of misfits in the republic for historical negotiations in the north

And we need to negotiate with the 27 on large elements of the deal.

Even without direct negotiations, there will be meetings with Britain (like the ones between Leo and Boris/May) and also negotiations through media. I'm sure the likes of members of the government party shouting 'up the ra' will make things go much more smoothly.

You think SF have never had negotiations with the British before? Dear me.

I think the British are adult enough to know SF's past and accept it. Pity some here weren't as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Only the FG Acolytes can truly understand.

The electorate are wrong not FG!

Not everyone who votes for SF is a dole scrounger .
    Not everyone who thinks SF are scum is a FG acolyte.

I think the British are adult enough to know SF's past and accept it. Pity some here weren't as well.

Yeah that Corbyn-Sinn Fein alliance worked out real well in Westminster.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,766 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Foxtrol wrote: »
    It will only get worse. Do you think half their new candidates have been fully vetted and trained properly to deal with the scrutiny that is coming?

A lot of skeletons to come out (or be highlighted to the wider public) and a lot of terrible soundbites to come. They'll blame the media for bias but all you have to do it point to is the hounding they gave Maria Bailey

This will probably be very high on the list of concerns for FF when thinking about going into government with SF.

"Hounding they gave Maria Bailey" so shes a brave FG martyr now :pac:

really?
    no problem with people found with bombs & bomb making equipment is somehow worse than others??

Not if you view the armed struggle as valid.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,016 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

hots wrote: »

Who is he referring to as “they”?

While I'm sure the British government were happy to negotiate, back in the day, with every party they could, in order to stop the violence, I'm pretty sure that an Irish government full of people that are saying 'Up the Ra' & signing rebel songs are not going to be the British Governments choice of people to deal with

We need to deal with the British Government, people in the Irish government siging 'oh ah up the ra' is getting us nowhere

• Registered Users Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

While I'm sure the British government were happy to negotiate, back in the day, with every party they could, in order to stop the violence, I'm pretty sure that an Irish government full of people that are saying 'Up the Ra' & signing rebel songs are not going to be the British Governments choice of people to deal with

We need to deal with the British Government, people in the Irish government siging 'oh ah up the ra' is getting us nowhere

It's telling that you portray the British government as a neutral party in the conflict and seem to think we should be electing a government based on who the British will like more.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

vriesmays wrote: »
    Imagine if she forgets her makeup.

Talk about stupidity. This has to be the most stupid post I've seen so far on this thread and the bar is high. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Odhinn wrote: »
    Not if you view the armed struggle as valid.

Well that's really the crux of the matter isn't it? Do you consider murder, torture, and bombing legitimate means to an end? I don't. Martin Luther King could have become a guerrilla and lynched white people to get some satisfaction. He didn't. Ghandi could have got his followers to plant bombs and terrorize large populations of people in sectarian attacks. He didn't. Seamus Mallen could have made himself feel like a big guy by putting on a balaclava and pulling the fingernails out of someone accused of being an informer in a dimly lit garage. He didn't.

Everyone has choices. People can justify anything. We have seen people justify anything.

A bit like how Sinn Fein justified its defense of the killing of garda if they got in the way of robberies designed to help fund the armed struggle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

blanch152 wrote: »
    If you are against violence, then you have to be against anyone celebrating violence. Whether it is SF thugs singing “up the ra” or British Army vets counting their kills, they should be condemned.

So unless you are a blatant hypocrite, I expect you to agree that Cullinane should apologise.

I couldn't care less about him shouting that and I couldn't care less about some English lad shouting 'up the Paras' either.

Keeping it like with like. Your post is funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,961 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Mark Ward, elected in Dublin mid west has signed off this Facebook updates with TAL and an Irish flag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

pinkyeye wrote: »
    Talk about stupidity. This has to be the most stupid post I've seen so far on this thread and the bar is high. :rolleyes:

The bar on stupidity in Ireland has been proven to be set very low. The population were set a very simple exam on Saturday, and 24% flunked it dramatically. What a nation of dunces.

Well that's really the crux of the matter isn't it? Do you consider murder, torture, and bombing legitimate means to an end?

Yes, in certain circumstances

I don't. Martin Luther King could have become a guerrilla and lynched white people to get some satisfaction. He didn't. Ghandi could have got his followers to plant bombs and terrorize large populations of people in sectarian attacks.

Gandhi benefited from the violent tactics of others, which over-streched the British regime.

He didn't. Seamus Mallen could have made himself feel like a big guy by putting on a balaclava and pulling the fingernails out of someone accused of being an informer. He didn't.

Instead he was a "useful idiot" of the British regime.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭Pamela Landy

anewme wrote: »
    Mark Ward, elected in Dublin mid west has signed off this Facebook updates with TAL and an Irish flag.

Quick... Ring the Guards.

"Hounding they gave Maria Bailey" so shes a brave FG martyr now :pac:

She would have to die be a martyr....

I am sure it is something at least a few SF voters could arrange?