Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have we come to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Formally homeless (a new novelty for a SF TD - beats the usual jail story)

Working class - Clondalkin check

Tattoos - check

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_Ward_(politician)

Nothing stereotypical about this SF candidate whatsoever.... :rolleyes:

Do you hear how arrogant and ignorant you are being?
    Tell us all more about your moral issues with SF.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

I never said stupid I said not very well educated. Big difference. Hence why Brexit did not register etc.

If is true that young people of all demographics voted SF because of housing - more fool them. They have being duped by populace promises of change.

I think many have voted the opposite of what FF asked in thier pomp -

Thanks for the condescending history lesson. It's 2020. Sinn Fein won plenty of seats in the newly elected parliament. Remains to be seen if they will form any part of a new government. The last government took quite the while in forming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

What other majority demographic would vote SF?

They need people that can be easily manipulated, and crucially young.

Then groom them for votes.

Preferably never voted before.

Most likely, not very well educated.

Prehaps one of the most pathetic comments on this thread and there is stiff competition from T.R.O.L.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Bill 2.0

They clearly have the ability if you look at the last 20 years or more and what has been achieved.

Having the threat of a return to paramilitary violence gives you quite a bit more negotiating clout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

pjohnson wrote: »
    Its actually tragic how out of reality they can STILL be even after the results :pac:

There is a vile and mean-spirited undercurrent within the humiliated, losing, Fianna Fail/Fianna Gail contingent . Always blabbing on bitterly about scroungers, and social welfare, and snowflakes, and how if you want a better life you're going to have to get shafted and just grin and bear it like they did. Miserable people motivated only by having a few extra shillings in their own pocket, not deep thinkers or idealists by any stretch. Dying breed thankfully.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,474 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Foxtrol wrote: »
    Not too surprised as the SF manifesto was completely populist and tried to offer everything to everyone (outside of the very high earners). On taxes they offered the end of the property tax and USC for a decent chunk of people.

Ireland doesn't really have a true 'left' party, they have parties that offer everything for free but claim you don't have to pay for it in taxes unless you're extremely wealthy.

Pure protest vote, and so many laughed at the Brexiteers.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I'm amazed at the number of Sinn Féin supporters in this thread who are asking everyone to forget about the troubles because it's 'in the past'. The RIC and the Black and Tans are way furthert back in the past and Sinn Féin won't let anyone forget about that.

Forget about the people who just over thirty years ago were murdering children and who killed more Catholics than any of the Loyalist groups ever murdered but don't ever forget similar actions by people over one hundred years ago? Hypocracy, thy name is Sinn Féin!

Forget nothing.
    Should we tell Boris Johnson to get f***ed at trade talks because of bloody Sunday?
    Catch yourself on.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,172 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Looking at this thread, with all this "Sinn Fein are bad" - "So is every party if you go back far enough" - "Pride is now bad thing" etc etc etc
    One things for certain. Sinn Fein will never be able to unite the 26 counties we already have, never mind the other 6.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Its actually tragic how out of reality they can STILL be even after the results :pac:

It's kinda funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Formally homeless (a new novelty for a SF TD - beats the usual jail story)

Working class - Clondalkin check

Tattoos - check

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_Ward_(politician)

Nothing stereotypical about this SF candidate whatsoever.... :rolleyes:

Great to be sure. This is a bad day for you isn't it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'm amazed at the number of Sinn Féin supporters in this thread who are asking everyone to forget about the troubles because it's 'in the past'. The RIC and the Black and Tans are way furthert back in the past and Sinn Féin won't let anyone forget about that.

Forget about the people who just over thirty years ago were murdering children and who killed more Catholics than any of the Loyalist groups ever murdered but don't ever forget similar actions by people over one hundred years ago? Hypocracy, thy name is Sinn Féin!

I hear you loud and clear and I am in no way a SF voter. That said FF and FG have their own shady history with the electorate. It's only 10 years since FF oversaw a crippling crash. Some of the same people complicit in that are still at the helm of FF.

By and large the SF result is a protest vote, especially among young voters who have no direct connection to the troubles. A protest vote doesn't transfer to policy and I'm struggling to see how SF will be able to enter a coalition with FF.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

TBH I find it amusing that the SF supporters are so aghast at the Maria Bailey affair..

Exaggerating an insurance claim is a terrible crime. Not the victimless stuff like armed robbery of banks and murdering Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Bill 2.0

flazio wrote: »
    Looking at this thread, with all this "Sinn Fein are bad" - "So is every party if you go back far enough" - "Pride is now bad thing" etc etc etc
    One things for certain. Sinn Fein will never be able to unite the 26 counties we already have, never mind the other 6.

The US got divided up a few years back by a do-nothing pied piper also promising "Change!".

I can't wait for our Trump after this SF debacle predictably ends in tears.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

The majority were. For example in Dublin Bay North - Denise Mitchell got an 80% vote in the working class area of priorswood. You can be damn sure she did not get much votes in Sutton/Howth.

14 per cent in the Ab category.https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/poll

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

What do you suggest people do then. If we commemorate the tans will you call it quits for SF atrocities ? Or how does it work

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Would you vote for a British party here (not counting Sinn Fein)? Would you vote for the DUP, TUV, etc.? If Johnny Adair ran for office here would it not be legitimate to bring up his past? If a ex-B Special parliamentary group emerged, would that be grand? Are Sinn Fein the only ones that are targeted over the Troubles? On your bike.

Why would I vote for a British party here? I'm sure it would be grand for most of the FG Tories we have on here.

Was Johnny Adair ever part of any organisation who signed up to the GFA? Did the DUP even?

Are SF the only one's targeted over the Troubles down here? Yes, yes they are. And for a variety of reason's

Bill 2.0 wrote: »
    The US got divided up a few years back by a do-nothing pied piper also promising "Change!".

I can't wait for our Trump after this SF debacle predictably ends in tears.

You're saying Mary Lou will make Ireland great again? Fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Do you hear how arrogant and ignorant you are being?
    Tell us all more about your moral issues with SF.

I am sounding a lot more rational than you dismissing murder and cover up of murder as certain issues.Then trying to brush of David Culliane's speech with glib comments.
    You are the same fella who screamed hatchet job when Mary Lou gave that terrible performance on Primetime. But had no excuse for your comrade Dave 'up the ra' Cullinane.

This is coming from the same poster who is vehemently anti FG yet uses thier party leader's partner as thier username.

If the likes of you view me as 'arrogant and ignorant' I think that is no bad thing.

And yes I did say the 'likes of you' on purpose.

There are three parties with 50% of the seats who do not want SF in a coalition before this election. That is the real mandate from this election.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

They should have a keyboard war for the Seanad election. Imagine the first day and 1 man turns up for 5 seeats.

Cupatae wrote: »
    What do you suggest people do then. If we commemorate the tans will you call it quits for SF atrocities ? Or how does it work

It is called inclusiveness and reconciliation, people do not seem to get that.

Also the commemoration was not just about the tans - it was the RIC as a whole throughout thier history in Ireland. Many ordinary decent Irishmen, some fluent Irish speakers, more Irish than you or me.

That is the real irony.

Eamon Ceant's father was in the RIC for example.

But I never hear a shinner mention that in the protests?

I am sounding a lot more rational than you dismissing murder and cover up of murder as certain issues.Then trying to brush of David Culliane's speech with glib comments.
    You are the same fella who screamed hatchet job when Mary Lou gave that terrible performance on Primetime. But had no excuse for your comrade Dave 'up the ra' Cullinane.

This is coming from the same poster who is vehemently anti FG yet uses thier party leader's partner as thier username.

If the likes of you view me as 'arrogant and ignorant' I think that is no bad thing.

And yes I did say the 'likes of you' on purpose.

There are three parties with 50% of the seats who do not want SF in a coalition before this election. That is the real mandate from this election.

People voted for FG and FF on the sole issue that they wouldn't go into government with SF? Some mandate alright

It is called inclusiveness and reconciliation.
    Also the commemoration was not just about the tans - it was the RIC as a whole throughout thier history in Ireland. Many ordinary decent Irishmen, some fluent Irish speakers, more Irish than you or me.

That is the real irony.

Yes. But if they were streetwise they would have organised something after the election and not given opponents an opportunity to do them down in the media in the leadup.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Why are you trying to link the two?

The point was about their 'ability to negotiate'. They clearly have the ability if you look at the last 20 years or more and what has been achieved.
    That's if you are in the mood to give them any credit at all, which you don't appear to want to do.

So worry yourself away.

I'm linking the two to point out your complete hypocrisy.

What has Mary Lou, Eoin O Broin, Pearse Doherty or one of the new 'up the ra' crew personally achieved in high level European or even northern negotiations over the last 20 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,172 ✭✭✭✭flazio

It is called inclusiveness and reconciliation, people do not seem to get that.

That is the real irony.

But I never hear a shinner mention that in the protests?
    And I'm sure there were decent family men and women in lower ranks of the National Socialist German Workers' Party. We still wouldn't commemorate the Nazis.

People voted for FG and FF on the sole issue that they wouldn't go into government with SF? Some mandate alright

And labour as well it comes up to 50% or over. Yes I would call that a mandate.

SF never had 50% mandate in NI yet love preaching about theirs - especially when refusing to enter WM during brexit.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Tell me this.
    Had there been a fourth party outside of FF /FG / SF with numerous candidates and a manifesto that mentioned the major issues would they have done well?
    Yes and I probably would have Voted for them but I could never vote for Sinn Fëin because despite the outward appearance, they are still indelibly linked to the IRA and while the armed resistance is over, the power players are still in the background pulling the strings and SF is still infested with former IRA. Sure, a lot of new blood are less like that but there are still too many establishment SF in-house.

And labour as well it comes up to 50% or over. Yes I would call that a mandate.

SF never had 50% mandate in NI yet love preaching about theirs - especially when refusing to enter WM during brexit.

Glad I'm now aware that the only reason people voted FF and FG was simply because they stated they wouldn't go into government with SF

Yes and I probably would have Voted for them but I could never vote for Sinn Fëin because despite the outward appearance, they are still indelibly linked to the IRA and while the armed resistance is over, the power players are still in the background pulling the strings and SF is still infested with former IRA. Sure, a lot of new blood are less like that but there are still too many establishment SF in-house.

Ah yes, the shadowy figures. What age would they be now?

• Registered Users Posts: 69,207 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Foxtrol wrote: »
    I'm linking the two to point out your complete hypocrisy.

What has Mary Lou, Eoin O Broin, Pearse Doherty or one of the new 'up the ra' crew personally achieved in high level European or even northern negotiations over the last 20 years?

:confused::confused: They haven't been involved in any high level EU negotiations.

What high level negotiations was Simon Coveney involved in before he was actually involved in them?

Are you saying we should keep FG in power for all time or for the forseeable? You saw what the electorate thought of that last minute plea. Fine Gael got the lowest vote share since 1948 :)

Did you live in Northern Ireland during the troubles?