Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have we come to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

FF are a long way from where they where a couple days ago on going into government with them. FG have been working with them in councils and state bodies all over the country.

There is momentous hypocrisy going on here because the duopoly has been brought to a sudden juddering halt.

It will take a while for youse to get over it.

Francie your republican credentials are well established and you are entitled to be a SF supporter. However many people in this country are horrified at the prospect of SF in government. They are horrified for a reason. The actions of SF/IRA run completely counter to what decent Irish people stand for.

The quality of a lot of people in SF leave a lot to be desired. Up the ra/tal Conor Murphy, the Kingsmill insult.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Of course there is context SF constantly wallow in the past while pretending to look to the future..

Sounds more like you tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

The second fact about Harold Washington is ignored by most and buried in history. Because it does not suit the republican narrative.

For instance one of the two RIC men who were ambushed in Solohedbeg 1919 (2 v 8) was one of your countymen from Belmullet?

James McDonnell fluent Irish speaker widower, RIC constable - who left 7 children behind when he was killed

http://www.thurles.info/2013/07/23/rare-unseen-pictures-which-relate-to-tipperary/

Christopher-McDonnell-Bridget-McGrath-a.jpg

Cheers. Washington was young but he was a soldier, not liked he killed a young civilian on the street. And Barry played rugby for Belevedere College. But none of this will help us form a government in 2020.We need to look to 2020 issues rather than figure out how many party misdeeds makes peeople unelectable. I want an all party, including indies, government made up of the most capable people to do their job in particular departments and an end to bickering.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Come out ye black and tans was #1 on Spotify a few weeks ago. Better get down into the bomb shelter.

The usual crowd tried sparking outrage about that too. I'm sure a few claimed no one would vote SF because of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭Pretzill

It's not our Trump, he's a right wing twat that got votes based on pump politics basically Trump is Haughey in a political sense. FF are a nationalist party - Sinn Fein are born out of the politics of another country (particularly this SF) I heard one of them referring to Northern Ireland today as another part of our country. But it's not. The Republic of Ireland or Ireland it isn't the North - we are world's apart and far more forward thinking.

I know this because I have spent time (in troubles) and in recent times in Northern Ireland. There is still sectarianism - (it may be more hidden) remember Derry last year.

I don't want SF representing me, no more than I'd want the DUP or the Tories.

I'm proud to be Irish, I don't see why being patriotic is becoming a dirty word maybe thats the best thing that has come out of this. The idea of celebrating a day for the RIC was a step too far, but it shouldn't have been far enough to bring up back to civil war politics. My hope is we'll be back at the polls on a warm day this summer with a revived and enlarged socialist democratic agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,208 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Foxtrol wrote: »
    I'm saying instead of getting outraged by semantics you should give FG credit for their achievements in Brexit negotiations, especially when you're also claiming some historical party experience (which record isn't great in itself) will magically translate to SF TDs (the ghost of Martin McGuinness possessing them?)

Go to the Brexit thread and look up what I said several times about Coveney, McEntee, Richmond and M. McGuinness,

I didn't criticise them here, all I said was that they are not irreplaceable, nobody ever is.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Looking forward to this left wing paradise

cHAnGe

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Just look at Claire Byrne, where Eoin Ó Broin is desperately trying to explain away "Up the Republic, up the Ra, and tiocfaidh ár lá" on so-called "tiredness."

Lack of sleep is a tactic to make you talk.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,836 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

He made a right tit of himself on "The Last Word" with Matt Cooper

https://www.todayfm.com/podcasts/the-last-word-with-matt-cooper/david-cullinane-ira-election

"I won't distance myself from the IRA"

Similar tactic to what Gerry Adams said in 1982 -

Never a member apparently but "would never disassociate himself from the IRA"

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

YFlyer wrote: »
    Lack of sleep is a tactic to make you talk.

Claire makes me wide awake.

holyhead wrote: »
    The actions of SF/IRA run completely counter to what decent Irish people stand for. .

And what do "decent Irish people" stand for? Since we're talking about the north, what did many of these "decent Irish people" do during the Troubles? Stand on the sidelines while their own people were brutalised by a sectarian regime north of the border. What did the decent Irish politicians do? Stand by and do nothing/procrastinate through the situation,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I am sounding a lot more rational than you dismissing murder and cover up of murder as certain issues.Then trying to brush of David Culliane's speech with glib comments.
    You are the same fella who screamed hatchet job when Mary Lou gave that terrible performance on Primetime. But had no excuse for your comrade Dave 'up the ra' Cullinane.

This is coming from the same poster who is vehemently anti FG yet uses thier party leader's partner as thier username.

If the likes of you view me as 'arrogant and ignorant' I think that is no bad thing.

And yes I did say the 'likes of you' on purpose.

There are three parties with 50% of the seats who do not want SF in a coalition before this election. That is the real mandate from this election.

Never dismissed murder. Try stay honest even just for clarity sake.
    You're comparing apples and spark plugs.
    One is an elected shinner shouting up the 'ra and the other was a media being completely biased in the run up to an election.
    I'm not a shinner. Didn't even vote SF, but I'm delighted with the election.
    Oh the name again. It's not as much craic now.
    You sound desperate.

Similar tactic to what Gerry Adams said in 1982 -

Never a member apparently but "would never disassociate himself from the IRA"

[...]

Why would he? There was a conflict.
    1982. Ha :) its 2020 comrade.
    Hes retired and wed a peace agreement 20 odd years ago :)

And what do "decent Irish people" stand for? Since we're talking about the north, what did many of these "decent Irish people" do during the Troubles? Stand on the sidelines while their own people were brutalised by a sectarian regime north of the border. What did the decent Irish politicians do? Stand by and do nothing/procrastinate through the situation,

We didn't disappear a young widow leaving children orphaned. We didn't break every bone in a young man's body and then smear his name by labelling him a criminal. We didn't blow up children in England trying to unite our island.

What did you seriously expect Irish people to do. March up to another jurisdiction with a sense of moral outrage. What could the politicians realistically have done. Their was a private army killing and maiming in the pursuit of Irish unity.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

So is Mary Lou our Trump or our Obama? And what does that make Gerry Adams? Is Boyd Barrett our Bernie?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,451 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Never dismissed murder. Try stay honest even just for clarity sake.
    You're comparing apples and spark plugs.
    One is an elected shinner shouting up the 'ra and the other was a media being completely biased in the run up to an election.
    I'm not a shinner. Didn't even vote SF, but I'm delighted with the election.
    Oh the name again. It's not as much craic now.
    You sound desperate.

You said you were voting SF a few weeks back.

What changes your mind?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

The hand-wringing and moralising on this thread is hilarious.

Simon Coveney only a few weeks ago was pressuring the parties in NI to go into government - including Sinn Fein. When they all did so, Coveney got a big pat on the back. But now that the prospect of SF being in government down here is likely, FG supporters are losing their marbles. If it's good enough for up the road, it's good enough for down the road.

And how much time is necessary to pass before SF are deemed palatable to the FG crowd, one wonders? It's already taken longer than it took for FG to get into power in 1948, 15 odd years after their fascist forebears the Blueshirts were shaming the country...

Get a grip, folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

Looking forward to this left wing paradise

cHAnGe

This will be legal looting of state coffers on a grand scale.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Bill 2.0

But now that the prospect of SF being in government down here is likely, FG supporters are losing their marbles. If it's good enough for up the road, it's good enough for down the road.

Let the terrorists and their buddies run the that terrorist riddled kip into the ground.

Keep that nonsense away from the 3rd ranked country on Human Development Index.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,208 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Francie your republican credentials are well established and you are entitled to be a SF supporter. However many people in this country are horrified at the prospect of SF in government. They are horrified for a reason. The actions of SF/IRA run completely counter to what decent Irish people stand for.

The quality of a lot of people in SF leave a lot to be desired. Up the ra/tal Conor Murphy, the Kingsmill insult.

No problem saying that people have said things they shouldn't.

And certainly have no problem with the quality thing...I have never had an overview of the quality of all of a party's candidates in any election.

I certainly have no issue with the quality of SF's front bench and main players.

Here's my interpretation of 'decent'.
    Most right thinking people are 'horrified' at all that happened in the most recent conflict/war. They understand or try to understand what happened and why it happened and understand that it may take a generation or two before it becomes normal again. They also understand that what happened, happened here too, not too long ago in the scheme of things and that people can return to normal politics after an horrific period of conflict.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,836 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Why would he? There was a conflict.
    1982. Ha :) its 2020 comrade.

More deflection by you.

So what is David Culliane's excuse as a SF member and TD in 2020?

https://www.todayfm.com/podcasts/the-last-word-with-matt-cooper/david-cullinane-ira-election

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

We didn't disappear a young widow leaving children orphaned. We didn't break every bone in a young man's body and then smear his name by labelling him a criminal.

No, instead stood by while thousands of your own were injured, burned south, faced daily intimidation, murdered by state forces and their proxies.

How many Irish men died north of the border as a result of choices by decent Irish people south of the border to let them fend for themselves

Easy to preach from the comfort of the south until it's one of your own family murdered or intimidated by a foreign state. But alas, many down here simply want to brush that under the carpet, and solely point the finger at SF

This will be legal looting of state coffers on a grand scale.

A lot of people wgho voted for SF are going to realise that they are "de rich" that are going to be taxed to **** to pay for this nonsense.

Remember that episode of the Simpsons where Homer became Sanitation Commisioner? We might well end up living that.

You said you were voting SF a few weeks back.

What changes your mind?

I did nae.
    No second candidate. Don't like o'snodaigh. Delighted they did well. It's all good you can sign me up as happy they are looking like getting in.

No, instead stood by while thousands of your own were injured, burned south, faced daily intimidation, murdered by state forces and their proxies.

How many Irish men died north of the border as a result of choices by decent Irish people south of the border to let them fend for themselves

Easy to preach from the comfort of the south until it's one of your own family murdered or intimidated by a foreign state. But alas, many down here simply want to brush that under the carpet, and solely point the finger at SF

You still haven't answered what you realistically could have expected Irish people and politicians in the Republic to have done?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Marty Bird wrote: »
    If SF can do what Donald Trump has done for the USA in his time in office then we will be doing well.

Convince fools in red hats hes actually doing stuff and act like a child thats gotten hold of a phone on twitter? I'd hope the bar is a lot higher tbh.

None. Those were Northern Irish men/women dying. Different country, you see.

More deflection by you.

So what is David Culliane's excuse as a SF member and TD in 2020?

Be honest.
    I commented on your video and comment ffs...
    He needs no excuse. He's in SF :)
    And I dont see a problem. Be bad press for SF I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Annabella1

Feeling a bit jaded

‘Up the RA’

Goodnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Pretzill wrote: »
    There's a lot of people taking this swing towards Sinn Fein very seriously - but I would say for every one of them, there are at least two who will rhu the day they scribbled Number 1 beside SF without even knowing what are who they were voting for.

There is no disputing we need change. But this isn't change, this could be the worst thing that has happened in decades, and it's not that it annoys me, because I would never vote FFG, it annoys me because there is so much ignorance behind this. It's a protest vote - worrying times.
    So true.plenty of young people voted for shinners and they hadn’t a clue who or what they voted for.just vote sf