Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have we come to

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

If you hate so much what Republicans in this country stood for then why don’t you ship yourself off across the water and live under Boris while you adore the royal family.

Ah yes. The old wife beater's argument: "If you don't like it, bitch, there's the door!"

Modern thinking my arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,838 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

How have you managed to get an internet vonnection in 1950? Politically immature? They'll never be politically mature if some block them being elected because they're afraid of change. As for health and housing, damn those sick people looking for damned roofs over their families head. Buy a calendar and learn what facts are before you go hypothesising more bullshi+.

Magic houses going appear and a great health system.. its great and if something sounds too good to be true.....

- like pensions demographics looking after themselves according to Mary Lou

..... it normally is.

I will remind you again that 50% of the seats in the dail have parties who said they would not get into government with SF for moral reasons - there must be something to it?

Also have you looked at SF's approach to justice? And I am not just talking about their SCC stance.

Up the ra comments, and Paddy Holohan's comment's did these happen in 1950?
    Did Mary Lou's poor prime time performance happen in 1950?
    Did Mary Lou hold up a get the English out of Ireland banner in 1950?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Magic houses going appear and a great health system.. its great and if something sounds too good to be true.....

..... it normally is.

I will remind you again that 50% of the seats in the dail have parties who said they would not get into government with SF for moral reasons - there must be something to it?

Also have you looked at SF's approach to justice? And I am not just talking about their SCC stance.

Moral reasons ? I’ll give you the real reason. All the cosy little relationships and back scratching, sweet heart deals would be dealt a severe blow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Bobtheman wrote: »
    So the Quinn death happened 23 years ago ? I thought it was 2007. I also hear that about 30 punishment shootings occur in the north carried out by the IRA . Am I travelling through time??!

The tediousness of the straw man. The conflict ended in 1998. Time travel is not possible. You are just, in your own mind, living in the past. If you have evidence of the PIRA continuing to operate as you say please phone 0800 555 111. It’s the PSNI confidential line.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Moral reasons ? I’ll give you the real reason. All the cosy little relationships and back scratching, sweet heart deals would be dealt a severe blow!

I did not see murder mentioned or protection of murderers mentioned in your list.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Fairly hilarious. Some posters having serious panic attacks. I'd say they are terrified SF will actually fix things. It's an unknown but they just might.

The FF FG system has had its day.

I didn't vote for them, I never have and never will. But I know a lot of people voted for them as a protest against the Tweedledum/Tweedledee options between FG and FF that have pertained up to now.

They did so because they want action on housing/accommodation and (to a much lesser extent) health. As well as maintaining employment. But many of the newly elected, or re-elected, have wasted no time in reminding us that they will interpret the votes they receive THEIR way and if it's more important to belt out a few rebel songs, demand a border poll in the immediate future and rescribe history to put the likes of Francis Hughes, Bobby Sands, the Balcombe St gang etc etc among a pantheon of national heroes then that's what they're bloody well going to do.

I bet Fine Gael are secretly delighted that some of the scummier members of SF like Cullinane and that utter scrote Dessie Ellis are elbowing their way into the spotlight. "You thought we were all about urbane, sophisticated detail-driven technocrats like O'Broin and Doherty? Ya suckers. Tháinig ár lá!! Mar ní maith libh é.......tough ****!"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

If they're gonna exclude every candidate who ever said or sang 'Up the ra' we're in trouble.

They are no longer candidates, they are now public representatives, putting themselves up for ministerial and parliamentary positions for the people of this country.

If we wished to start excluding candidates, then we could start with people who made bombs and spent 10 years in Portlaoise or were alleged to have killed 50 people. Mind you we have convicted fraudsters in the Dáil, so why not.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I did not see murder mentioned or protection of murderers mentioned in your list.

I mean that’s what they want you to believe. But you believe that scum have any morals ? These are the same scum that purposefully put properly out of reach of many hard working people and want to turn them into a nation of lifelong serfs ! Whores to their employers and their rent or mortgage !

• Registered Users Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

sabat wrote: »
    This is exactly what I'm thinking. At their heart they are an ethno-nationalist movement which has disguised itself well in order to be palatable to the electorate. If they do get a taste of power here there's no telling what they'd do to hold onto it.
    Even if they didn't turn on 'new' foreigners, racial tensions on the island are almost guaranteed to increase. If for example the country was united and they were in government, (tens of?) thousands of people of a certain religious and political background in the north would flee to the UK- I have no doubt of this.

Nah, the intellectual force behind SF is far too liberal for them to adopt those policies. You'd see a split before that happens.

That's not to say they won't continue to attract an undercurrent in their party that are racist or hostile to foreigners.

I think what's more likely is that far right parties will strengthen and the likes of FG would tack to the right in response to a left/hard left government

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    The tediousness of the straw man. The conflict ended in 1998. Time travel is not possible. You are just, in your own mind, living in the past. If you have evidence of the PIRA continuing to operate as you say please phone 0800 555 111. It’s the PSNI confidential line.

You were just caught out on your years admit it.

Recent SF gaffs like -

Mary Lou in NY with the banner - get the english out of Ireland
    Paddy Holohan - racism, sexism, homphobia
    David Culliane - up the ra
    Conor Murphy - the fudge on a murder victim to republicanism
    Dessie Ellis - get out you black and tans

They all prove that SF have not left the troubles behind, and cannot behave like a normal decent party. The nasty undercurrent ties are always there - that element.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

..... it normally is.

Up the ra comments, and Paddy Holohan's comment's did these happen in 1950?
    Did Mary Lou's poor prime time performance happen in 1950?
    Did Mary Lou hold up a get the English out of Ireland banner in 1950?

Not a Varadkar fan but I take his word they won't go in with SF.

FF just might.

If neither then Sinn Féin won't give you a sleepless night, they won't be in government. Like I said earlier, there's a good cabinet picking the best ministers and ministers for state from all parties and Indies.Getting them to do that means mature discussion between adults with the national interest at heart.

If you've good health insurance and plenty of money for a deposit there's no crisis. The people you look down your nose at have neither, hence Sinn Féin's popularity in 2020.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Nobody cares about the RA they care if they can pay the rent.

Absolutely. And if, having voted for SF in the hopes that they might actually do something policy wise to lessen the accommodation/rent burden they find that, actually no, the priority is "Up the Ra. **** the Prods. Border poll is more important than your adult children's four-to-a-room hovel" people will get disabused pretty darn quick.

Sinn Fein need to realise what people voted them in for.

bubblypop wrote: »
    the new Cavan TD Pauline Tully is the wife of the killer of Detective Garda Gerry Mccabe.

Ex wife, to be fair. I think he nearly killed HER too.
    Nice man.

Absolutely. And if, having voted for SF in the hopes that they might actually do something policy wise to lessen the accommodation/rent burden they find that, actually no, the priority is "Up the Ra. **** the Prods. Border poll is more important than your adult children's four-to-a-room hovel" people will get disabused pretty darn quick.

Sinn Fein need to realise what people voted them in for.

It is almost as if SF think the 26 counties has turned into the 6 counties!

But the ROI electorate who voted them in, do not give a sh!te about NI as proven by how much they cared about Brexit 1%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Three parties said they would not go into government with SF they have 50% of the seats Labour FF FG.
    You seem to the lack the intelligence to understand the great work FG have done getting the country back on track employment/brexit/infrastructure luas roads etc. Granted it is not perfect but step by step they were getting there.

You seem to have fallen for the SF myth that 'FFG' are the cause of all ills.

Also you have fallen for they PBP myth that all landlords are greedy/evil. The vast majority only own one property.

If you believe that political statements have an absolute and irrevocable status I applaud your world class naïveté. If you accept moral posturing by politicians at face value rather than understand them for the smoke screen for political self interest you are a world champion in innocence.

FG did nothing to get this country back on track. They followed Lenihan plan and the directions of the IMF and the EU to stabilize the public finances after those were broken by casino capitalists and the nationalization of private capitalist debt. The fact that you think the country is on track says it all about your inability to see we have a failed society.

FFG carry the can for crashing the economy and the failure to restore a functioning society after it.
    Landlords are parasites. They need strict regulation and enforcement. Berlin has a 5 year rent freeze. Let’s have one. And if the Constitution needs changing think of how big the margin in favour would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭saram

Massive congrats to the 3 main parties.

Fianna Fáil back in the driving seat with the most seats- where they deserve to be. Sinn Féin- shaking the political landscape possibly forever and Fine Gael paying the price for being in power for too long but still not far away. Nothing between them really in terms of support.

Interesting times. Hopefully MM gets a go at An Taoiseach. He has the right amount of experience, will to make necessary changes and above all the correct amount of pragmatism and realism too.

An MM, Mary Lou (Tanaiste) partnership would be nice to see how they can balance things but not sure this will come to pass.
    Wishing Leo Varadkar all the best too. Ireland may yet need him down the road to steady a ship that is not very sure where it is heading.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

You were just caught out on your years admit it.

Recent SF gaffs like -

Mary Lou in NY with the banner - get the english out of Ireland
    Paddy Holohan - racism, sexism, homphobia
    David Culliane - up the ra
    Conor Murphy - the fudge on a murder victim to republicanism
    Dessie Ellis - get out you black and tans

They all prove that SF have not left the troubles behind, and cannot behave like a normal decent party. The nasty undercurrent ties are always there - that element.

'Mary Lou in NY with the banner - get the english out of Ireland'

If you're gonna lie better not leave the evidence on the previous page.

Leader of party promoting a United Ireland holds an 'England get out of Ireland' banner in St. Patrick's Day Parade shocker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

holyhead wrote: »
    We didn't disappear a young widow leaving children orphaned. We didn't break every bone in a young man's body and then smear his name by labelling him a criminal. We didn't blow up children in England trying to unite our island.

What did you seriously expect Irish people to do. March up to another jurisdiction with a sense of moral outrage. What could the politicians realistically have done. Their was a private army killing and maiming in the pursuit of Irish unity.

Those poor poor English people , what did they ever do to deserve such things, what could drive someone to bomb there country , they wouldn't have pillaged murdered and killed men women and children themselves by any chance would they? Where's the outrage for our own that were murdered ? Causing all of this in the first place . Seems that's conviently left out.

I don't condone the killing of Innocents but the fact they should hang there heads in shame for fighting back is disgrace especially after all the atrocities carried out against the "decent" people of this island by external forces.

'Mary Lou in NY with the banner - get the english out of Ireland'

If you're gonna lie bettee not leave the evidence on the previous page.

Leader of party promoting a United Ireland holds an 'England get out of Ireland' banner in St. Patrick's Day Parade shocker.

I am not hiding anything (unlike SF)
    Plus if it was not viewed as a gaff or harmful to SF - why did Mary Lou feel she had to do the usual SF half apology?

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/mary-lou-mcdonald-apologises-over-england-get-out-of-ireland-banner-914906.html

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Cupatae wrote: »
    Those poor poor English people , what did they ever do to deserve such things, what could drive someone to bomb there country , they wouldn't have pillaged murdered and killed men women and children themselves by any chance would they? Where's the outrage for our own that were murdered ? Causing all of this in the first place . Seems that's conviently left out.

I don't condone the killing of Innocents but the fact they should hang there heads in shame for fighting back is disgrace especially after all the atrocities carried out against the "decent" people of this island by external forces.

How is kidnapping people in the middle of the night and burrying them secretly that we actually called them the disappeared fighting back?

How is the case of the guy killed of the North and called a criminal fighting back?

The Irish people were outraged about our own that have been killed look at the RIC debacle however just because bad **** happened doesn't give us an unlimited excuses to be absolute ****ing savages.

The reason this **** follows SF around is because they have left cases where they have been extremely cruel and given families no closure, i.e the disappeared or they do stupid crap like liking a hate filled tweet against a member of the prison services they killed, or even the covering up for pedophiles and rapists.

If they want to move past it, they need to own their mistakes where they made them and celebrate the legitimate freedom fighters.

Sinn Féin Spokesperson for Brexit, David Cullinane, on the night of his election win: "UP THE RA!!!"

Fúckin hell :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Matt Barrett does not get the hypocrisy. Why would he? It is clear to me he is indoctrinated -

1) Justifies murder and murder cover ups - by saying fraud is worse.

2) Claims that Ireland should not live in the past and have matured - then brings up CJ Haughey as former alleged gun runner in 1969 - to try and deflect from Culliane's extremely recent comments. Haughey was banished politically for years by the way. What will happen Cullinane?

3) His/Her refusal to see any achievements in what FG did in government - brexit, marriage ref, divorce ref, presidential ref, full employment, improvement of transport infrastructure, driving Ireland out of the crash etc

4) Then there is his username - of Leo's partner despite being vehemently anti- FG

It is clear his view of SF is like a cult's disciple.

Now you're just lying. Hence the lack of quotes.
    I'll leave you there. You're getting pretty pathetic and desperate now.
    You'd think the crash, generational debt, IW crony appointments, sitserv, housing, homeless, health crises were less important than some shinner shouting 'up the ra'..... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Let's not act like SF is the only party that has blood on their hands.

Suicides rose by 15% during the recession, a significant increase. Unemployment and losing their homes drove people to taking their own lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

SF are very inconsistent and make themselves easy targets for criticism.

One one hand they keep saying that the past is in the past when they face challenging questions.

On the other hand some of their elected members have been captured on camera in recent days singing and chanting about the IRA.

A case of having their cake and eating it? Talk up the IRA to gain votes from some people while talking them down in front of others?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,326 ✭✭✭facehugger99

It's amazing how quickly a protest vote can evaporate.

See Peter Casey.

SF were in single figures last year at the local elections.

Hopefully a couple more SF-scummers can push to the fore with some 'up the ra' rhetoric.

The electorate need a serious wake-up call.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Sinn Féin Spokesperson for Brexit, David Cullinane, on the night of his election win: "UP THE RA!!!"

Fúckin hell :pac:

You're surprised by this?

At the same time Mary Lou is jumping up and down shouting for a border poll. To all those idiots who thought voting for SF for the sake of a change would be a good idea I can only say you may well get what you didn't wish for.

The boot is well and truly on the other foot now and all those over here who laughed at the British people who voted for Brexit for being ill informed, pig ignorant racists etc. are looking pretty stupid themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Suicides rose by 15% during the recession, a significant increase. Unemployment and losing their homes drove people to taking their own lives.

They had a choice

Victims of the IRA didn't

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

wow that's some stretch. youre equating people taking their own lives during a time of global economic downturn with actual murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Would it be so bad to let the clowns into government for a couple of years, let them make such a mess of it that people will never again give them a chance and let them see how hard it is to run a country without the guiding hand of whitehall, i can't see any sf led government lasting longer than 3 years, my only fear now if they don't get into power is, come the next election they'll sweep the board with a massive majority

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

they've certainly a lot of hype to live up to