Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Naughty Neighbour!

• 10-02-2020 4:48pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Woke up this morning and opened the blinds. Look down and see the neighbour from two houses up putting his rubbish and recycling in my bins. :eek:

Went about my breakfast as normal, went out to start the car to warm up and dutifully took his garbage out of my bins and placed it delicately next to his overflowing ones.

I wouldn't mind if I had a bit of a rapport with them but I've never spoken to them. Barely a nod hello once in a blue moon.

I've had some on FB suggest I post it through their letterbox. :D I'm not that petty and not trying to start a feud.

He's a generous tipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I don't mind people doing this as my bins are never even half full anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,750 ✭✭✭degsie

Don't waste your time on this one. It's just a load of old rubbish. Bin there, done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I don't mind people doing this as my bins are never even half full anyway

Are you paying by weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

When I was market trading, being early to set up, there was one small village where an old lady would come along the road, well laden with bags, and donate rubbish to every litter bin in the village.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

It's hardly going to fit through their letter box OP, post it through their front window.

Scumbags are effectively stealing from you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

iamstop wrote: »

I wouldn't mind if I had a bit of a rapport with them but I've never spoken to them. Barely a nod hello once in a blue moon.

Would you not mind more if you got on with them? Sneaky fookers being all nicey nice and sticking their rubbish in your bin when you're not looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Graces7 wrote: »
    When I was market trading, being early to set up, there was one small village where an old lady would come along the road, well laden with bags, and donate rubbish to every litter bin in the village.
    That's why the likes of Tesco and Dunnes have removed litter bins from outside their doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

You should have put a little slit in their bags, or reported someone for illegal dumping. Guarantee you that they’d find his address in one of the bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Stephen Gawking

Ok, am i the only one who has had their expectations dashed after reading the opening post? 🀣

Cheeky bastads. I hate fcukers like that.entitled sneaky bastads.
    You wouldn’t see sight of the same fcukers again until they need to use you for something again.leeches.
    They are only interested in feathering their own nests.
    Say it to them op and call them a humpy sneaky fcuker.leave them in no doubt not to use your bin again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Are you paying by weight

I don't even know tbh

We are paying by weight here and there is no way I’d be paying for someone else’s rubbish if I didn’t know them.fcuk that.return to sender with a verbal bollocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Ok, am i the only one who has had their expectations dashed after reading the opening post? ��

Nope not at all.

When opening the blinds, I thought the neighbour's wife was going to be riding some other fella or something.

Hopes dashed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

He should just put his overflowing recycled thrash in a see-through plastic bag by his green bin. I do it and Panda will always take it. Won't if it's a black bin bag of course. Has to be transparent.

Then again, that would cost this neighbour a few euro buying them in Lidl. Hungry git probably wouldn't do that :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

There's a shameless neighbour in my estate who sneaks his rubbish into other people's bins. He doesn't have bins himself, he's really shameless about it too. He hasn't tried it with us yet, if he ever does I'll be putting it through his letter box for him.

That is an utter scumbag. It's one thing to do it if you have your own bins and they are full. Still bad. But to not pay and expect others to do so to get rid of your crap? utter scum.

He should just put his overflowing recycled thrash in a see-through plastic bag by his green bin. I do it and Panda will always take it. Won't if it's a black bin bag of course. Has to be transparent.

Then again, that would cost this neighbour a few euro buying them in Lidl. Hungry git probably wouldn't do that :pac:

I had a warning from Panda recently for putting my rubbish in a bag in the green bin, which I never do. When I checked back they had thrown in a bag from next door before lifting my bin (followed by their actual bin) and proceeded to email me a photo of their bag in it with a finger wagging message.

I also caught the neighbour on the other side filling my green bin with piles of magazines after I’d left it out. Got bin locks and she hasn’t spoke to us since :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭pjdarcy

Get wheelie bin locks OP.

https://www.binminder.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

A neighbour of mine (three doors up) does this too. She's done it twice in my bins (that I've witnessed; once at midnight, and also 7.20am, before I went to work) but not overly bothered by it, so long as it's not much and she's putting stuff in the correct bins. Now I just leave it as late as possible before putting the bin out, and never the night before (as we're advised to do). No point in giving her more opportunity!

I've seen her dumping stuff in my next-door neighbour's bin too, but that time it was obviously unrecyclable plastics into the recyclable bin. My next-door neighbour is good friends with her so I didn't know if they had an agreement, but I made his daughter aware of it and she wasn't impressed.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

I got my OH to gather all the rubbish from the gaff and put it out. I'm at work and she's off rn.
    If I'd have left their rubbish in our bin we wouldn't have had room for ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

There is no way i could stop myself confronting the neighbours straight away when they were putting their rubbish in your bins. why wait until they were gone to return their rubbish? they are being totally out of order.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    There is no way i could stop myself confronting the neighbours straight away when they were putting their rubbish in your bins. why wait until they were gone to return their rubbish? they are being totally out of order.

I had just woken up. I was in me boxers. If I'd ran down after them I'd have lost sight of them. I should have pulled the phone up and started recording.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭dmc17

Ok, am i the only one who has had their expectations dashed after reading the opening post? ��

Another apt username!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Had a skip once back in 2005 for some dirt and crap we were getting rid of for the extension. Came home from school one day to find a shower in there. Yes, literally a whole shower, screen, basin and the shower itself all connected as one unit. I don't know how, but the cajones had to be applauded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

Well it is a story about a dirty neighbour secretly emptying his filthy load into his neighbours receptacle .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

iamstop wrote: »
    I had just woken up. I was in me boxers. If I'd ran down after them I'd have lost sight of them. I should have pulled the phone up and started recording.

i would have roared out the window if it was possible. you could have knocked on their door when you were returning their rubbish. the way you returned it might be construed as you being too nice to confront them about it, they might try it again with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

My neighbor put rubbish in my bin a few times , she hired a skip a month ago doing work at house and she told me to put what ever we want into it....

Having a good neighbor relationship is worth its weight in gold

I have to agree with you there. The two immediate neighbours on either side of me are grand, not a bother.
    And this isn't even THAT big of a deal. Was just shocked to have witnessed it in all it's audacity. It's possible that if I didn't actually see it happen I'd have never known.

But I did see it. :eek:

My neighbor put rubbish in my bin a few times , she hired a skip a month ago doing work at house and she told me to put what ever we want into it....

Good hedges make good neighbours.

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

I never had enough rubbish to fill my bins, my neighbour didn't either, so we have one set between both families now. It's saving us 150 each a year right now. We're not the only ones doing this, It just makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Jonybgud wrote: »
    I never had enough rubbish to fill my bins, my neighbour didn't either, so we have one set between both families now. It's saving us 150 each a year right now. We're not the only ones doing this, It just makes sense.

Interesting solution - my annual bin ‘plan’ - tax - has just run out - last year I put the black bin out twice - fir that I pay a fee of e150 Plus a lift fee of a tenner per lift - so it actually costs me e70 per bin lift to dispose of my rubbish. One year I put my black bin out once - e160. A totally unfair punishment charge. I understand who yhe elderly and struggling small families make alternative solutions like flytipping into mine. We pay enough taxes at 42% - I drive my recycling to the local recycling place and am not wasteful - maybe time to get rhe sinners to roll back on these extra anf punishing charges. Surprised to see so few greens elected - maybe all these environmental taxes are putting people off.

OP I’d say it to your neighbour if he does it again - you dont want to be subsidising him for the next 20 years. I’d understand if it was a once off impulse thing turkey carcass or soiled sheeting that he wanted out of the way quickly but not lifelong bin support! You also dont want him flytipping in your area :(

Yeah paying for bins is bollocks when you think about it
    I'm getting taxed to the hilt as it is why can't bins be free like they were before for many years :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Interesting solution - my annual bin ‘plan’ - tax - has just run out - last year I put the black bin out twice - fir that I pay a fee of e150 Plus a lift fee of a tenner per lift - so it actually costs me e70 per bin lift to dispose of my rubbish. One year I put my black bin out once - e160. A totally unfair punishment charge. I understand who yhe elderly and struggling small families make alternative solutions like flytipping into mine. We pay enough taxes at 42% - I drive my recycling to the local recycling place and am not wasteful - maybe time to get rhe sinners to roll back on these extra anf punishing charges. Surprised to see so few greens elected - maybe all these environmental taxes are putting people off.

OP I’d say it to your neighbour if he does it again - you dont want to be subsidising him for the next 20 years. I’d understand if it was a once off impulse thing turkey carcass or soiled sheeting that he wanted out of the way quickly but not lifelong bin support! You also dont want him flytipping in your area :(
    Sounds like you are being ripped off.
    I pay 16 euro a month for unlimited lifts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

We pay by weight now, used to love getting an extra two weeks out of it with a bit of acrobatics when we paid per lift and not weight.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,556 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I'm similar - I'd be lucky to fill a black bin twice or three times a year - so I don't have one.

If you're in Dublin (and probably other urban areas, but I couldn't be sure) there are centres that will take your black rubbish for a fee - I bring a black bag every few months to Ringsend for €4, there's a recycling centre near me that I bring green waste and bottles to, and I've recently resurrected my compost bin (which hopefully will actually compost this time!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

If it's a once off, I'd let it go.

But if they're doing it regularly, I would do what the OP did.

But the person who suggested to put it through the letter box, must be from Dublin. That's a real Dub mentality that. Hahaha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Rufeo wrote: »
    must be from Dublin. That's a real Dub mentality that. Hahaha.

Please elaborate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I honestly thought this was going to be durty..,...

Thought it would be some orgy or something....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭lucalux

D3V!L wrote: »
    Please elaborate

Had a good friend from Dublin once upon a time, who, if you told him about someone you were annoyed with, would immediately ask,

"Do you want me to throw rubbish in their garden?!"

Deadly serious tone, with a mischievous grin on him, twas fairly funny to me.
    Never took him up on the offer btw:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Hide in your bin, disguised as Oscar the grouch. Next time they try it, jump up and deck them. Run away and deny everything.

lucalux wrote: »
    Had a good friend from Dublin once upon a time, who, if you told him about someone you were annoyed with, would immediately ask,

"Do you want me to throw rubbish in their garden?!"

Deadly serious tone, with a mischievous grin on him, twas fairly funny to me.
    Never took him up on the offer btw:)

So one person then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭lucalux

D3V!L wrote: »
    So one person then ?

Tongue is firmly in cheek with that one, I don't think Dubs are anything but lovely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

My next door neighbour is an elderly woman so every week I pull her bins out for her and she always said to if i needed to put stuff in the bins to work away. So if my recycling bin was full I would put the excess into her bin. Then they brought in the pay by weight system and i wouldn't even dream of putting my excess into her bins anymore. Let her pay for my rubbish... not a fcuking chance!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

OSI wrote: »
    When we were living in Dublin we got a skip as we were getting ready to move out to do some clearing up. It arrived Tuesday afternoon. By Wednesday morning it was full, with somebody else's entire furniture suite sitting in it. Thankfully, by Thursday morning it was already dragged out to the nearest green and set on fire.

Always be prepared to fill yourself as soon as it's dropped....

Any time I've gotten one, filled it as soon as it dropped.

Then people would put stuff on top without fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Always be prepared to fill yourself as soon as it's dropped....

Any time I've gotten one, filled it as soon as it dropped.

Then people would put stuff on top without fail.

Get a lockable one, worth the few extra bob.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Coopaloop

Same in my parents estate, this utter scumbag doesnt have his own bins, but goes around to every other bin in the town (the public ones as none of the neighbours leave the bins at the front of their houses) he also goes around the green areas with ALL his food waste and throws it for the birds to eat, its so bad, even seaguls come to get it and we are a fair bit away from sea, last week he threw a turkey carcass out for them :eek:

Coopaloop wrote: »
    Same in my parents estate, this utter scumbag doesnt have his own bins, but goes around to every other bin in the town (the public ones as none of the neighbours leave the bins at the front of their houses) he also goes around the green areas with ALL his food waste and throws it for the birds to eat, its so bad, even seaguls come to get it and we are a fair bit away from sea, last week he threw a turkey carcass out for them :eek:

We had a neighbour do this in our old house in the west of Dublin. It attracted a serious amount of rats. Our dog was frequently very very sick and we couldn't work it out.

Strangely his bouts of sickness have gone since we moved. So we think the neighbour was also throwing stuff over the hedge for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I'm similar - I'd be lucky to fill a black bin twice or three times a year - so I don't have one.

If you're in Dublin (and probably other urban areas, but I couldn't be sure) there are centres that will take your black rubbish for a fee - I bring a black bag every few months to Ringsend for €4, there's a recycling centre near me that I bring green waste and bottles to, and I've recently resurrected my compost bin (which hopefully will actually compost this time!).

The rural system is you buy a bag; different colours for different things, then leave it at a collection point. And take cans and bottles to the bottle/can banks . And yes to compost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭mountai

Few years ago I got a bin for building work I was doing . When I applied for planning , the usual NIMBYS objected , anyway after I inspected the file in council offices I knew who the "Objectors" were . This is where it gets good !! . Bin was delivered and next morning a hape of rubbish , the usual . Digging through the plastic bags , I found evidence of the offender , who was a garden proud neighbour and one of the chief objectors . So me and two sons loaded the stuff into a van , drove down the road early and parked outside the the offenders house . He hadnt left for work and when we knocked , the upstairs curtains twitched but didnt open ( 7.30 am ) .
    Spent 10 minutes knocking , banging and inviting him in a loud manner to come out and face us . Sooo , his pristeen garden welcomed his Sh1t , and I mean we thrashed it good , all the old timber , broken planter boxes etc was deposited around and the refuse bags ripped and scattered over same .Saw his Wife later at the shops and guess what she said ---- "We are very sorry" --- I bet they were !! Often had bins outside jobs and never objected to the odd bit of rubbish people wanted to dump , provided they were polite and asked permission .