Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG to just do nothing for the next 5 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,890 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

It is, you know it is, I know it is, Leo knows it is.

He had a go at Sinn Fein suggesting they were setting the amount. He knew they had no say in this amount.

What is so hard to understand here?

You seem very bitter still from the election results that Sinn Fein got more seats than FG and Mary Lou showed what a great leader she was while Leo the leader led FG in their worst election results in years.

Tiocfaidh ár lá

That is funny. How can Mary Lou or any other Sinn Fein politician have shown what a great leader they are when all they have done is presided over a glorified local authority as you seem to suggest?

And here was I thinking that the GFA was brilliant and got the Brits out of the North and was a wonderful victory for Sinn Fein, but they have only managed to get all the powers of a town council.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,838 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

blanch152 wrote: »

(3) Sinn Fein brought down the Assembly over an Irish Languages Act, yet the measly level of social welfare payments that they preside over isn't enough to bring it down?

And when the DUP walked from a deal to get the Executive up and running...what had Leo to say in his role?

When a British SoS had the courage to point the finger solely at DUP intransigence as being the block to a functioning Executive...what was Leo doing?

Thinking up cheap inaccurate rants and lies with his glitzy new speech writers to throw at SF for the Whatsapp plaudits.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

That is funny. How can Mary Lou or any other Sinn Fein politician have shown what a great leader they are when all they have done is presided over a glorified local authority as you seem to suggest?

And here was I thinking that the GFA was brilliant and got the Brits out of the North and was a wonderful victory for Sinn Fein, but they have only managed to get all the powers of a town council.

Could you show me one of your almost 10,500 posts on this site (which mention Sinn Fein quite a bit) where you mentioned this wonderful Victory you attributed to Sinn Fein blanch?

I don't remember seeing any tbh, in fact I think you may even have stated the exact opposite.

And when the DUP walked from a deal to get the Executive up and running...what had Leo to say in his role?

When a British SoS had the courage to point the finger solely at DUP intransigence as being the block to a functioning Executive...what was Leo doing?

Thinking up cheap inaccurate rants and lies with his glitzy new speech writers to throw at SF for the Whatsapp plaudits.

Jim Wells take on the GFA. Great bunch of lads.

https://twitter.com/EmmandJDeSouza/status/1263775514432544769?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

efanton wrote: »
    let me understand this.

you agree that SF have no absolute control of Northern Ireland as it is the British government that decide budgetary and taxation measures, and then you go on to say that they somehow have to power to change that.

How are they supposed to change that in your opinion?

They're the politicians, not me.
    They refuse to sit in parliament in London yet sit in the north and suck up what's thrown at them, then this side of the border demand more of everything.
    The biggest shower of hypocrites in politics on this island by a mile are SF.
    There are no angels in politics, none, yet loads of people are prepared to defend their poiitical allegiances to the hilt.
    Mc made a point about them having no power in the north, much as you have done, and then by some weird twist tried to throw responsibility for the covid payment in the north back on Leo.
    Now cmon, there's logic and there's twisted logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Redgirl82 wrote: »
    Not really what they are

Vulture funds, private equity firms and pension funds which buy up distressed loans at heavily discounted prices, have invested heavily in the Irish market since many property owners went bankrupt in the financial crisis of a decade ago.

So you don’t understand what a vulture fund is....

The main hit on the Irish market was they swopped in during the recession and bought in huge section of the market from NAMA. Since then banks have also off loaded distressed mortgage to vulture funds. Who will throw out people than the banks can

You are correct. You found google?
    How am I wrong? What has the definition of what they are got to do with my relaying of their relationship with FG? All you are doing here is offering up a description and dodging the 25 year leases and their use in worsening the housing crisis on tax payer money.

Who will house these people who get thrown out? The tax payer...Where? In 25 year leased properties, private rentals and hotels. Like many FG people you too share the idea that the welfare of every member of the Irish population doesn't fall under the responsibility of the government. Well it does. In your rush to ensure the banks don't lose out on mortgages you are passing the bill to the tax payer and the profit to the vulture funds, landlords and TD landlords. Get it?

So this is not racism?
    (person details removed)
    Shows what happens when you let a non irish person run Ireland #notmytaoiseach

If not then what would you call it?

There's no room for racism or antisemetic talk on a FG thread. They put all that behind them, although they don't seem terrible fond of the Irish ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭efanton

There are several points here.

(1) Sinn Fein look more than a little two-faced about it when they complain about social welfare rates in the South not being good enough, and they say nothing about it in the North.

(2) It isn't true that nothing can be done about it. Welfare Reform was postponed in the North (a concession secured by the DUP) and there is several hundred million unspent that could be diverted to support Covid-19 unemployment if Sinn Fein were truly bothered about it.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-46892952

(3) Sinn Fein brought down the Assembly over an Irish Languages Act, yet the measly level of social welfare payments that they preside over isn't enough to bring it down?

Your so biased in your views against SF that it totally blinds you to reality.

1. The republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland are two totally different political jurisdictions.
    The reality is SF are not in power in Northern Ireland, they share power with 4 other parties.
    SF and the SDLP are arguing against cuts in welfare as the same measures in the UK are simply not working. Even the Ulster Unionists refused to the reforms, instead choosing to abstain from any vote. They have been an absolute disaster in the UK. Also as part of this reform the British government is implementing a penalty for empty bedrooms.
    In Britain Under the notorious Clause 69 of the Welfare Reform Bill, working-age claimants will have their benefit cut if they have more bedrooms in their home than the authorities believe they need. This would hit hard in Northern Ireland because they don't have enough one and two-bedroom homes for people to move to.
    Also under this reform 86,000 social welfare claimant will be worse of if these reform measures are implemented.
    So do you honestly expect SF, the SDLP or the Ulster Unionist's to support these cuts?
    What is happening here is the British government are up to there old tricks. They are threatening to withhold money if they do not get there own way despite most of the representatives in Stormont (from both Unionist and Nationalist sides of the assembly).

2. THe DUP didnt secure anything. Their proposal was not supported by the majority of MLA's.

3. You know better than to cherry pick. Yes an Irish language act was part of the disagreement, but the main reason was that Arlene Foster refused to step aside and allow someone not involved in the cash for ash debacle to carry out the enquiry. An enquiry that later found that Arlene Foster was ultimately responsible for that disastrous saga.
    Going back to the Irish language act, this was agreed in the GFA agreement and had the backing of both the British government oand the rish government as guarantors of the GFA agreement. It is not something that is yet to be decided that decision has been decided years ago. THe DUP just refused to allow it to be implemented.
    It is also fully supported by the exisitng FG government and the previous FF government.

An excerpt from the good Friday agreement for you to read
    3. All participants recognise the importance of respect, understanding and tolerance in relation to linguistic diversity, including in Northern Ireland,
    the Irish language, Ulster-Scots and the languages of the various ethnic
    communities, all of which are part of the cultural wealth of the island of
    Ireland.

4. In the context of active consideration currently being given to the UK signing the Council of Europe Charter for Regional or Minority Languages, the British Government will in particular in relation to the Irish language, where appropriate and where people so desire it:
    • take resolute action to promote the language;
    • facilitate and encourage the use of the language in speech and writing in public and private life where there is appropriate demand;
    • seek to remove, where possible, restrictions which would discourage or work against the maintenance or development of the language;
    • make provision for liaising with the Irish language community, representing their views to public authorities and investigating complaints;
    • place a statutory duty on the Department of Education to encourage and facilitate Irish medium education in line with current provision for integrated education;
    • explore urgently with the relevant British authorities, and in co-operation with the Irish broadcasting authorities, the scope for achieving more widespread availability of Teilifis na Gaeilige in Northern Ireland;
    • seek more effective ways to encourage and provide financial support for Irish language film and television production in Northern Ireland; and
    • encourage the parties to secure agreement that this commitment will be sustained by a new Assembly in a way which takes account of the desires and sensitivities of the community.

They refuse to sit in parliament in London yet sit in the north and suck up what's thrown at them, then this side of the border demand more of everything.
    There are no angels in politics, none, yet loads of people are prepared to defend their poiitical allegiances to the hilt.
    Mc made a point about them having no power in the north, much as you have done, and then by some weird twist tried to throw responsibility for the covid payment in the north back on Leo.

Eh - just for clarity, no I didn't try and throw responsibility onto Leo, I said he lacked the balls to openly criticise his idols the Tory's for their covid payments, and instead opted for the rather disingenuous and cowardly stance of trying to imply it was under Sinn Feins control to alter it.

C'mon now, we are talking an hour or so ago, dunno how that could have been a hazy memory tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

Northern Ireland is not Leo’s (or any Irish PMs) problem . That Britain’s problem

An Irish Taoiseach “interfering “ only makes things worse and makes life of Irish Nationalists all the more harder dealing with the DUP

Northern Ireland is not Leo’s (or any Irish PMs) problem . That Britain’s problem

An Irish Taoiseach “interfering “ only makes things worse and makes life of Irish Nationalists all the more harder dealing with the DUP

Ireland is joint gaurantor of the gfa??
    ...and give oversight (hence why they are included in stormont negociations)

This is junior cert cspe stuff

McMurphy wrote: »
    Eh - just for clarity, no I didn't try and throw responsibility onto Leo, I said he lacked the balls to openly criticise his idols the Tory's for their covid payments, and instead opted for the rather disingenuous and cowardly stance of trying to imply it was under Sinn Feins control to alter it.

C'mon now, we are talking an hour or so ago, dunno how that could have been a hazy memory tbh.

But why should he criticise the Tory's for it, that's the northern reps job.
    Why are SF so quiet about it and then demanding more here.
    Expecting that Leo should criticise the tories for it is expecting him to do SF's job.
    Have they no budgetary control at all north of the border?
    If they haven't are they not then being disengenous even bothering with a northern assembly with ministers for this and ministers for that?
    In fact what addition is to them or anyone else other than their salaries?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

People vote for them knowing this, but of course you knew that. Why should they sit in a British Parliament. They are Irish.

But why should he criticise the Tory's for it, that's the northern reps job.
    Why are SF so quiet about it and then demanding more here.
    Expecting that Leo should criticise the tories for it is expecting him to do SF's job.
    Have they no budgetary control at all north of the border?
    If they haven't are they not then being disengenous even bothering with a northern assembly with ministers for this and ministers for that?
    In fact what addition is to them or anyone else other than their salaries?

Did he not specifically tell mary-lou not to critise the tories??

Kind of amazing,people arent allowed critise the party,which oversaw the famine here,in the dail on orders of the taoiseach

Ireland is joint gaurantor of the gfa??
    ...and give oversight (hence why they are included in stormont negociations)

This is junior cert cspe stuff

What would you know about the Junior Cert and passing it ?

GFA is like a used toilet roll, useless !

The joint “guarantor “ provisions such as All Ireland Council have never been fully implemented in PRACTICE due to DUP’s consistent refusal to attend and engage in same

The term interfering was also clearly marked with quotation marks ie “Interfering” as oppose to plain old interfering . It’s blatantly obvious to any half wit what that means and it refers to what DUP folk would claim .

Legislation is one thing, actual implantation is another ! Unionist renegade on several provisions of GFA and have got away with it

Never mind CSPE , you have basic comprehension problems

What would you know about the Junior Cert and passing it ?

GFA is like a used toilet roll, useless !

The joint “guarantor “ provisions such as All Ireland Council have never been fully implemented in PRACTICE due to DUP’s consistent refusal to attend and engage in same

The term interfering was also clearly marked with quotation marks ie “Interfering” as oppose to plain old interfering . It’s blatantly obvious to any half wit what that means and it refers to what DUP folk would claim .

Legislation is one thing, actual implantation is another ! Unionist renegade on several provisions of GFA and have got away with it

Never mind CSPE , you have basic comprehension problems

Like your claiming the irish governement shouldnt be interfering there,but seems to me,there is a legal requirement (henceforth,it is leo problem to deal with it)

Your all over the place mate,throwing digs,posting hysterically across several threads,flailing about,as yous out of your depth.....its great sport to watch,chap

• Registered Users Posts: 68,838 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I think Nationalists and a fair share of Unionists would be delighted Leo and Coveney stepped up to the GFA plate over Brexit Randy. In fact, I think there is an opinion or maybe even two on the subject.

Leo may not feel responsible for all on this island but his office and executive is certainly mandated to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

People vote for them knowing this, but of course you knew that. Why should they sit in a British Parliament. They are Irish.

I realise that logic isn't your strongest suite, but, given that "they're Irish" why do they bother running in a British election?

Did he not specifically tell mary-lou not to critise the tories??

Kind of amazing,people arent allowed critise the party,which oversaw the famine here,in the dail on orders of the taoiseach

Not disputing he is a clux, just finding the, turn everything everyone else does wrong back on Leo or the Irish Govt.
    How can SF sit still and not be all over the media over the Northern covid payment.
    Theyre a joke, as much a joke as any Leo or Govt.
    Can't make it plainer than that.
    The fact so many defend them in absolutia and twist everything they say or do wrong back on the fact that all the others said or done something wrong is telling.
    You all know they're a clux too, but somehow fail to admit it.

They are sitting in one technically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

Bowie wrote: »
    You are correct. You found google?
    How am I wrong? What has the definition of what they are got to do with my relaying of their relationship with FG? All you are doing here is offering up a description and dodging the 25 year leases and their use in worsening the housing crisis on tax payer money.

Who will house these people who get thrown out? The tax payer...Where? In 25 year leased properties, private rentals and hotels. Like many FG people you too share the idea that the welfare of every member of the Irish population doesn't fall under the responsibility of the government. Well it does. In your rush to ensure the banks don't lose out on mortgages you are passing the bill to the tax payer and the profit to the vulture funds, landlords and TD landlords. Get it?

So you don’t understand what a vulture fund, then don’t talk about it

Like your claiming the irish governement shouldnt be interfering there,but seems to me,there is a legal requirement (henceforth,it is leo problem to deal with it)

Your all over the place mate,throwing digs,posting hysterically across several threads,flailing about,as yous out of your depth.....its great sport to watch,chap

It’s none of our business . It only makes matters worse . DUP will listen to the Brits and the Americans, they WONT listen to Dublin . There is nothing suggesting that DUP a are going to lose their control of Unionist vote anytime soon

Legal requirements yes, but they are mere words when they don’t get implemented in full. Eg Home Rule was law in 1914. However it Wasn’t implemented in 1914 ,1915,1916 (obvious reasons ) and beyond . They in fact repealed it and changed the goal post in 1920 with a newer version ,which the South only recognised as law in 1998

There’s law and there is politics . Politically ,best stay out of it . Talk to Britain in private sure, but don’t go making idiotic but well meaning public statements than will only make things worse. Unionists never had a need for much of an excuse to wheel the wagons in and dig in and resist . That hurts ordinary people . Look at why Stormont closed down ; insistence on an expensive Irish language act (part of GFA) and dodgy dealings with Cash for Ash. DUP got away Scott free

You are waffling, and it’s blatantly obvious you haven’t lived on either side of the border for decades ,such is the nativity of your comments

All over the place ��. Am I ? I exposed you multiple times for being a waffler who is second guessing himself, and don’t come talking about the legal issues son, you really haven’t a clue

For a guy who had Comprehension problems and can’t follow the use of Quotation marks around words .... look in the mirror , you are embarrassing yourself, there’s only so many times Francie can attempt to dig you out of the hole that you keep digging for yourself

Not disputing he is a clux, just finding the, turn everything everyone else does wrong back on Leo or the Irish Govt.
    How can SF sit still and not be all over the media over the Northern covid payment.
    Theyre a joke, as much a joke as any Leo or Govt.
    Can't make it plainer than that.
    The fact so many defend them in absolutia and twist everything they say or do wrong back on the fact that all the others said or done something wrong is telling.
    You all know they're a clux too, but somehow fail to admit it.

Tbh any irish politian,that stands in the dail to defend the person that caused famine here,is completly toxic to me anyway

They'd do same again,if given the chance,we are their equals,noone should be defending them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Redgirl82

If they feel so strongly then don’t take money from the Queen

It’s great been irish till they want a pay cheque and then it’s God Save the Queen

Afaik,they cant not take the money,same as an elected MP cant resign,without being given a title

Iirc jerry adams got one,when he resigned,but refused to accept it,causing a bit of a stand-off until.the next election,formally expired it

I think Nationalists and a fair share of Unionists would be delighted Leo and Coveney stepped up to the GFA plate over Brexit Randy. In fact, I think there is an opinion or maybe even two on the subject.

Leo may not feel responsible for all on this island but his office and executive is certainly mandated to.

Based on what ?

Nationalists backed by SDLP are dead. DUP dominate the Unionist voice

Yes, loads of Unionists see Brexit as a disaster, the current solution is a huge huge win win for them , stay in U.K. but enjoy elements of EU free movement

But DUP never concerned themselves with democracy and have aN excellent track record of ruling however way they want .

Talk to Britain behind the scenes. But keep the mouth shut in public

By your logic and the logic of your pals, you think Leo and co speaking up publicly, and inevitably getting into conflict with Unionists and Conservatives would have been clever during a period where Conservatives were courting DUP To back them to form a government in London and bribed them accordingly and in a time that Borris would use anything to get one over May

Genius, but then, Mary Lou has an Embarrassing habit of foot and mouth syndrome , so what can you expect from Shinners (oddly enough, Gerry was clever with his public announcements)

So you want them to not get paid for represtenting the people who voted for them?

You must be outraged at the pay rise our TDs got recently even though the country is on its knees financially?

A pay rise which Sinn Fein refused.

Afaik,they cant not take the money,same as an elected MP cant resign,without being given a title

Iirc jerry adams got one,when he resigned,but refused to accept it,causing a bit of a stand-off until.the next election,formally expired it

No point, she dosn't have a clue about how it works up North.

There are several points here.

(1) Sinn Fein look more than a little two-faced about it when they complain about social welfare rates in the South not being good enough, and they say nothing about it in the North.

(2) It isn't true that nothing can be done about it. Welfare Reform was postponed in the North (a concession secured by the DUP) and there is several hundred million unspent that could be diverted to support Covid-19 unemployment if Sinn Fein were truly bothered about it.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-46892952

Your first opinion doesn't deny or disprove Varadkar's false spin.

Your second opinion suggests SF could try do more than they are, fair enough, but does not deny or disprove Varadkar's false spin.

Your claim here is only partially true and you know this well. The ILA was not why the Assembly was brought down. It's very dishonest of you to throw this false statement up every now and then knowing it's only a small part of the story.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

You must be outraged at the pay rise our TDs got recently even though the country is on its knees financially?

All public servants have received some pay restoration during 2017-2019, including TDs.

2017 = Haddington Road agreement paycuts reversed

2018 = +1% pa in Jan and +1% in Oct

2019 = +1.75%

The country wasn't "on its knees financially" during 2017-2019.