Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG to just do nothing for the next 5 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    How are the soc dems and labour anything but centre left?

They're just about, not quite, but just about

• Registered Users Posts: 19,476 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Mortelaro wrote: »
    The national broadband plan? I don't care who owns it
    I'd prefer its built now and benefiting the 500,000 homes with slow internet

At least it's being built
    We could have prevaricated endlessly like the way we were and never have one

Honestly, there are people riding the pandemic payments
    They are doing us a disservice as we will all pay for that
    Arguably though,nothing should be done about it,the payments will soon cease anyway ,job done

Bit of sense in a fog of outrage and conspiracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Young fine Gael taking serious flack on twitter and FG hypocrisy being exposed big time.
    Don't you just love to see it 😉

https://twitter.com/commie_spice/status/1264173336986255360?s=19

The national broadband plan? I don't care who owns it
    I'd prefer its built now and benefiting the 500,000 homes with slow internet

I agree,but it is a pretty damning indictment of centre right politics,the state had to set in and build it (also dont see,we just have to hand it away to private business?)

At least it's being built
    We could have prevaricated endlessly like the way we were and never have one

Honestly, there are people riding the pandemic payments
    They are doing us a disservice as we will all pay for that
    Arguably though,nothing should be done about it,the payments will soon cease anyway ,job done

I agree its good to build it,but complaining about people roasting the covid payment,while blindly cheerleading handing BAM a blank chequebook and defending it,is the definition of partisanship in my eyes

• Registered Users Posts: 68,838 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

smurgen wrote: »
    Young fine Gael taking serious flack on twitter and FG hypocrisy being exposed big time.
    Don't you just love to see it ��

They deserve everything they get after tweeting that.
    I'm sure that Leo thought that clip was gone and forgotten forever.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

smurgen wrote: »
    Don't you just love to see it ��

Did your man Donal give you permission to copy that tweet and post it in a public forum smur?:pac:
    They deserve everything they get after tweeting that.
    I'm sure that Leo thought that clip was gone and forgotten forever.

I have that clip bookmarked a few years now Francie. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

McMurphy wrote: »
    Did your man Donal give you permission to copy that tweet and post it in a public forum smur?:pac:

Well seems like he has 32k views on that clip already, what's a few more gonna do!

I agree,but it is a pretty damning indictment of centre right politics,the state had to set in and build it (also dont see,we just have to hand it away to private business?)
    My view is at least it's being built
    Much of the western rural world regardless of government type,has poor internet,we could have prevaricated or abandoned this
    I'm glad we did not
    So no I do not agree it's an indictment
    I agree its good to build it,but complaining about people roasting the covid payment,while blindly cheerleading handing BAM a blank chequebook and defending it,is the definition of partisanship in my eyes
    I'm not blindly cheerleading anything
    The Covid payment cheaters are stealing
    The cost of the hospital is the cost of the hospital
    If it was projected to cost final bill,including all the things they have had to add to it, €2 billion at the start,would I think it made sense
    Yes I would
    Extra legitimate costs are costs
    The lad going on Covid of his own choice, because its €50 more than his normal pay is being dishonest and taking money from you and me

• Registered Users Posts: 7,407 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Kind of reminds me of the flip flip SF did with water charges.

Initially in favour of them, then seen the populism to be gained from protesting against them:)

Or attending Syrzia events then dropping them like a hot potato:)

My view is at least it's being built
    Much of the western rural world regardless of government type,has poor internet,we could have prevaricated or abandoned this
    I'm glad we did not
    So no I do not agree it's an indictment

It pretty much is an indictment of the taught process that says private business will build to meet the market

Quite why people think its a great idea to spend taxmoney on building something to hand over to private business to charge taxpayers is beyond me

I'm not blindly cheerleading anything
    The Covid payment cheaters are stealing
    The cost of the hospital is the cost of the hospital
    If it was projected to cost final bill,including all the things they have had to add to it, €2 billion at the start,would I think it made sense
    Yes I would
    Extra legitimate costs are costs
    The lad going on Covid of his own choice, because its €50 more than his normal pay is being dishonest and taking money from you and me

The orginal hospideal cost was 600 milliom...latest estimates are 2.8 billion...likely to rise further now with covid costs

What job is ge earning e50 less than in??,the whole country was shut down?

Lads cite apple as great for using tax loopholes aided by FFG to evade paying tax (to extent we spend millions defending their right to do so)....but lad getting e50 a week extra is robbing the country :pac:

Initially in favour of them, then seen the populism to be gained from protesting against them:)

Were you not berating people a while ago for deflecting?

To be fair syrzia were elected on a massive mandate to do x,y and z......went into government and done almost precisely opposite (im really boring,i know,but i actually used follow this stuff)

Hard to blame people for walking away from em

Kinda like the labour party here,who remembers the gilmore gale :pac:

It pretty much is an indictment of the taught process that says private business will build to meet the market

Quite why people think its a great idea to spend taxmoney on building something to hand over to private business to charge taxpayers is beyond me
    2 reasons really
    It's either that or it doesn't get done and the state doesn't get caught for maintaining and upgrading the new network

The orginal hospideal cost was 600 milliom...latest estimates are 2.8 billion...likely to rise further now with covid costs
    Covid costs are also unavoidable
    I'd still rather have the hospital than not
    What job is ge earning e50 less than??,the whole country was shut down?

Lads cite apple as great for using tax loopholes aided by FFG to evade paying tax....but lad getting e50 a week extra is robbing the country :pac:
    You say pow tat oh,I say potato
    It's still dishonest
    Btw FFG as an entity did not create the loopholes
    The legislation was created when they were warring parties
    Regardless the apple money in Escrow isn't ours

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    FG are at best centrist

FF have always been centre left ( largely rural - think healy raes )populists and have never been more left than under MM , he is as socially liberal as anyone in labour or the greens and just as keen to spend , a party can have many rural conservatives on social issues while still being centre left

labour and the soc dems are middle class socialists

SF are far left , eoin o broin is a marxist

PBP are communist

we haven no centre right in this country comparable to the conservatives in the uk or the republicans in the usa or even the liberals in australia

ireland is undoubtably a centre left country, we love big government

The traditional followers of FG, the ones who vote in the likes of Bruton and that hard faced yoke that replaced Piggy are as right wing as they come, the face of FG may have softened but the nasty streak is still very much behind the mask.

To be fair,pointing out people are entitled to change their mind on something said 5 years ago is not deflection, its just a valid point

2 reasons really
    It's either that or it doesn't get done and the state doesn't get caught for maintaining and upgrading the new network

I rather it done too,but after we paying to build it,we shouldnt just hand it away

Covid costs are also unavoidable
    I'd still rather have the hospital than not

The 2.8 billion figure is from late last year iirc,when covid was virtually unheard of,

You say pow tat oh,I say potato
    It's still dishonest
    Btw FFG as an entity did not create the loopholes
    The legislation was created when they were warring parties
    Regardless the apple money in Escrow isn't ours

Did FG spend millions of our money,defending apples right not to pay tax??

The money is immaterial,its pure blindness by idolgy

claiming lads getting e50 extra a week are the issue and robbing the country,is the political equilivalent of shouting at crows,after pigs breaking into a field of potatoes

FFG claim of being warring parties,has for the entirety of my life,been a lie and make believe opposition,when both are near identical in outlook as long as i can remember

The traditional followers of FG, the ones who vote in the likes of Bruton and that hard faced yoke that replaced Piggy are as right wing as they come, the face of FG may have softened but the nasty streak is still very much behind the mask.

I wouldn't go down that road on a parties recent history,especially nasty streaks or masks
    It opens the door to someone pointing out what most regard egregiously nasty stuff in the not distant past of one of the other major parties, that is revered

• Registered Users Posts: 19,476 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

What job is ge earning e50 less than in??,the whole country was shut down?

Lads cite apple as great for using tax loopholes aided by FFG to evade paying tax (to extent we spend millions defending their right to do so)....but lad getting e50 a week extra is robbing the country :pac:

Difference is Apple is breaking no laws and providing thousands of jobs, highly paid, highly skilled,to this country.

I’d often chortle into my cocoa at night trying to figure what those thousands might be doing if Apple,Google,Salesforce, Workday etc etc weren’t here.?

One wonders?

Probably out ‘marching’ and ‘calling for’ higher dole, tax the rich, burn the developers/banks/greedy builders/ judges/supermarkets/.. in fact anyone with the balls to go out and do something for themselves other than game the system out of what you are not entitled to?

Hmmmm in fairness that would be a runner, or maybe hire a digger and ‘do’ a bank machine.

C’mon man....;)

Did FG spend millions of our money,defending apples right not to pay tax??

The money is immaterial,its pure blindness by idolgy
    Nope its pragmatism
    Apple have pumped billions into our economy
    They did not have to
    The joint costs of the case have neither been determined yet or directed
    They are likely to be awarded against the EU if they lose the case

claiming lads getting e50 extra a week are the issue and robbing the country,is the political equilivalent of shouting at crows,after pigs breaking into a field of potatoes
    I'm not making an issue out of it,I just gave an opinion
    I did say,its better left alone in the bigger health picture as the covid payments will end eventually
    FFG claim of being warring parties,has for the entirety of my life,been a lie and make believe opposition,when both are near identical in outlook as long as i can remember
    Well they were warring and still were up until recently
    Sligo co council for example
    FF took control, despite FG being the largest party
    They locked FG off all committee chairs
    When they couldn't get a budget passed,they had to come to FG with their tail between their legs
    I'd agree though,both parties are very similar in outlook

To be fair,pointing out people are entitled to change their mind on something said 5 years ago is not deflection, its just a valid point

Who 'pointed out' anything?

Pointing at another party when your own one comes under scrutiny is deflection.

Who 'pointed out' anything?

Pointing at another party when your own one comes under scrutiny is deflection.

Nope
    Not being allowed to change your mind is dictatorship though

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

I wouldn't go down that road on a parties recent history,especially nasty streaks or masks
    It opens the door to someone pointing out what most regard egregiously nasty stuff in the not distant past of one of the other major parties, that is revered

Different levels, I know what you mean but that stuff is mostly gone whereas the other institutionalised stuff is very much there, the puppet strings being pulled at high levels so the golf buddies don't go down for stuff every bit as bad as them uns , at least one former high ranking member was a person of interest in a few very very serious unsolved crimes ,

Nope
    Not being allowed to change your mind is dictatorship though

JJ said zilch about 'not being allowed to change your mind'.

What arises from Young Fine Gael taking credit is their complete ignoring of the fact that it was FG who mostly opposed reform of rights for LGBT people down through the years and very recently our present Taoiseach was instrumental in keeping those rights from people.

JJ had nothing to say on that...nor you, so far.

What arises from Young Fine Gael taking credit is their complete ignoring of the fact that it was FG who mostly opposed reform of rights for LGBT people down through the years and very recently our present Taoiseach was instrumental in keeping those rights from people.

My recollection is society mostly opposed lgbt marriages and political parties were part and parcel of society moving on the subject with society
    A worlds first in the way that was done

I think digging up a speech against something, waving it going haha, that someone changed their mind on in the context of a whole society also moving to do likewise is digging up something that's not there just for the sake of it
    It's also dictatorial
    People have a right to legitimately be persuaded or change their minds
    If they didn't SF would still be on 1%
    We live in a democracy

• Registered Users Posts: 7,407 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Can't beat them join them:)

• Registered Users Posts: 27,890 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Luckily they weren't homosexual in West Belfast a few years before that. Wasn't tolerated by some of the hard men.

https://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/people/sfs-gay-marriage-backing-contrast-past-intolerance-homosexuality-1390504

For all that Leo didn't support gay rights, he wasn't going around kneecapping them like those who had the support of many in Sinn Fein today.

You have some neck for calling people out on lack of support in the past for gay rights.

Yeah, being in favour of water charges, but against the monstrosity that was Irish water, is exactly the same thing as a gay man opposing SSM and then (literally) coming out in favour of it.

I can see why it reminded you of it tbh.

Yeah, being in favour of water charges, but against the monstrosity that was Irish water, is exactly the same thing as a gay man opposing SSM and then (literally) coming out in favour of it.

I can see why it reminded you of it tbh.

What has Leo's sexuality got to do with anything?

blanch152 wrote: »
    Luckily they weren't homosexual in West Belfast a few years before that. Wasn't tolerated by some of the hard men.

https://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/people/sfs-gay-marriage-backing-contrast-past-intolerance-homosexuality-1390504

For all that Leo didn't support gay rights, he wasn't going around kneecapping them like those who had the support of many in Sinn Fein today.

You have some neck for calling people out on lack of support in the past for gay rights.

**Distinct sound of a Barrell scraping**

What has Leo's sexuality got to do with anything?

My post didn't make it clear enough?

Don't you find it odd that a homosexual man did not want the same rights as heterosexuals?

You think him jumping on the popularity bandwagon ref this very same speech/referendum hasn't been covered on these threads multiple times already Mort?