Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG to just do nothing for the next 5 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Pretty clear whats going to happen

1. New Election
    or
    2. After Talks fall apart FF will jump ship and join up with SF (many FF TDs and members want this already)

Its killing Leo and the lads. Suppose he can go drink on the streets since its ok to do so.

Why would it "kill" Leo and "the lads"?

Their expressed preference was/is to go into opposition so they can sit back and enjoy FF's and SF's attempts to save the economy and unite the country.

Amirani wrote: »
    Party chairperson Hazel Chu used it on Twitter a short while back. Bit hypocritical for that to be overlooked...

https://twitter.com/hazechu/status/1160525081417850880

In my humble opinion, the wisest approach to Chu is to overlook her. She's just an attention seeking noisemaker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Sinn Fein couldn’t get next or near to forming a govt.and you know it.

All you want is to keep this thread alive so you can pump out you unsubstantiated rhetoric.

Game is up, buddy.

"And it would be the very same if they were running the country.

Their priorities are all symbolism, flags, slogans usually relevant 50 years ago.

You are correct, Sir."

Time the likes of the 2 above posts are stopped.

Games far from up or is the Govt formed?

Their expressed preference was/is to go into opposition so they can sit back and enjoy FF's and SF's attempts to save the economy and unite the country.

They said this AFTER they had their worse election in many years.

What else were they going to say.

They have been doing everything since to get into power.

But sure lie is all he does.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,829 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That was nothing more than a petulant huff because they got rejected so spectacularly by the electorate. Soon as they saw a chance to capitalise on the pandemic they were chomping to get into power negotiations to try and recapture some votes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Catherine Martin and her husband and her brother must be rubbing their hands together with glee!

The Rhino has just gifted her a couple of hundred extra votes - if not more -for the coming leadership election.

Time for Eamo to fall on his scimitar.

Don't you mean hoe (spelt right) ,it's like Triggers broom, he's had it for years 5 new blades and 9 new handles

• Registered Users Posts: 19,470 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

“ But sure lie is all he does”

Another throw out totally stupid comment.

A 13 year old student wouldn’t push out such content.

Yet again you appear to be literally begging me to highlight your stupidity; so here goes:

if, as you claim They have been doing everything to get into power then how come they haven't opened discussions with Sinn Fein?

But perhaps you don't understand what "everything" means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Mortelaro wrote: »
    So you're blathering rubbish because it makes you feel better again is it?
    What are you saying FG councillors have done on Dublin City council that's wrong?
    Who and what
    Spell it out or just continue to look like a fool
    Be careful now,because no evidence and you will be sued

Your response is bizarre. Beyond your usual condescending ****e talk.
    Marko makes claims, I dispute said claims.
    What on earth are you trying to infer now?
    Would you at least have the decency to address FG locally and nationally having nothing to do with social housing allocation despite it being government policy and party policy to include social in among private builds. Do you agree with Marko?

Amirani wrote: »
    Party chairperson Hazel Chu used it on Twitter a short while back. Bit hypocritical for that to be overlooked...

https://twitter.com/hazechu/status/1160525081417850880

Japers. Dropping 'N' bombs must be commonplace within the Green Party.

Watch your spelling. The boys are sifting the sea bed looking for ways to distract from the FG party and it's hijinks.
    You would think they'd leap on the Greens, but sure they are reluctant to criticise Fianna Fail.

We'd a FG affiliate praising FG's Nazi roots the other day. Ner a peep. No wonder Eamo's N word hasn't raised a comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Bowie wrote: »
    Your response is bizarre.
    Would you at least have the decency to address FG locally and nationally having nothing to do with social housing allocation despite it being government policy and party policy to include social in among private builds. Do you agree with Marko?

The allocation of housing,the contracts for building them has nothing to do with FG locally or nationally
    It's done strictly by the laws passed by the democratically elected government
    If you want to persist in insinuating that FG are interfering in the lawful processes and you mentioned housing in Donnybrook specifically, then Pony up with the evidence or admit you're just blathering
    Be aware that naming people will open you to a law suit

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Japers. Dropping 'N' bombs must be commonplace within the Green Party.

Blanch will be along to scorn Eamo, and even start a thread on him like he did your man Holohan any second now.

Just you wait.

He will.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Watch your spelling. The boys are sifting the sea bed looking for ways to distract from the FG party and it's hijinks.
    You would think they'd leap on the Greens, but sure they are reluctant to criticise Fianna Fail.

We'd a FG affiliate praising FG's Nazi roots the other day. Ner a peep. No wonder Eamo's N word hasn't raised a comment.

The guard's burning the evidence barely raised a flutter, Verona will be back in party by the weekend

The allocation of housing,the contracts for building them has nothing to do with FG locally or nationally
    It's done strictly by the laws passed by the democratically elected government
    If you want to persist in insinuating that FG are interfering in the lawful processes and you mentioned housing in Donnybrook specifically, then Pony up with the evidence or admit you're just blathering
    Be aware that naming people will open you to a law suit

You are trying to move the goalposts once again and arguing with yourselves.

Is it government/state policy that a percentage be social? Yes.
    Is FG in government for near a decade? Yes.
    Is Eoghan Murphy, Minister overseeing Housing, Planning and local authorities a FG man? Yes.
    Is FG party policy to use private builds with a portion allocated to social? Yes.
    Does the FG government give the LA's funding? Yes.
    Are there any FG councilors on DCC? Yes.
    So it cannot be said social housing allocated by policy under a FG government, authorised by a council with FG members, is nothing to do with FG.
    Trying to pass the buck solely to parties who advocate for social housing builds is not going to fly.

McMurphy wrote: »
    Blanch will be along to scorn Eamo, and even start a thread on him like he did your man Holohan any second now.

Just you wait.

He will.

I dunno. I'll need more convincing. Was Eamo ever in the 'RA?
    I do however expect we'll have a thread and buckets of moral outrage towards Cllr. Jim O'Leary and his Nazi love tweet.
    'Typical of these people who vote for such and such....'.

“ But sure lie is all he does”

Another throw out totally stupid comment.

A 13 year old student wouldn’t push out such content.

He lied about SF setting pay rates in Norths welfare (on numerous occasions)

These times are hurting you. If you manage to get a Govt together. Be gone within a year and then change will happen.

Will happen sooner but that's worst case scenario now

You are trying to move the goalposts once again and arguing with yourselves.

Is it government/state policy that a percentage be social? Yes.
    Is FG in government for near a decade? Yes.
    Is Eoghan Murphy, Minister overseeing Housing, Planning and local authorities a FG man? Yes.
    Is FG party policy to use private builds with a portion allocated to social? Yes.
    Does the FG government give the LA's funding? Yes.
    Are there any FG councilors on DCC? Yes.
    So it cannot be said social housing allocated by policy under a FG government, authorised by a council with FG members, is nothing to do with FG.
    Trying to pass the buck solely to parties who advocate for social housing builds is not going to fly.

You are accusing FG of being involved in housing in Dublin city council
    They are not
    No amount of crap you spout about government policy changes that
    Get over it and stop itrying to invent things that don't exist
    You've no understanding of how housing allocation works or the lack of power an opposition councillor has on the council
    Majorities get motions passed(and bye laws)
    The fact you are going on with your rubbish is too laughable to be just a mistake
    It's an unhealthy obsession
    To each their own
    I'd say Feel free to embarrass yourself further but obviously you don't actually care

You are accusing FG of being involved in housing in Dublin city council
    They are not
    No amount of crap you spout about government policy changes that
    Get over it and stop itrying to invent things that don't exist
    You've no understanding of how housing allocation works or the lack of power an opposition councillor has on the council
    Majorities get motions passed(and bye laws)
    The fact you are going on with your rubbish is too laughable to be just a mistake
    It's an unhealthy obsession
    To each their own
    I'd say Feel free to embarrass yourself further but obviously you don't actually care

I am and also accusing the Minister for Housing, planning and Local Authorities of being involved with Housing, planning and Local Authorities. 'Tis government policy to allocate a portion of housing as social. FG's Eoghan Murphy is the Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Authorities. And much of DCC is made up of FG councilors. Yes. I certainly am. There is absolutely zero, nada way FG had nothing, nada, zero to do with social housing being part of that D4 complex, as per FG government and FG party policy.
    Getting very testes there Mortelo :)
    Sinn Fein Housing spokesman, Eoin Ó Broin TD stated on Tuesday: “There is a real problem where €500,000 is being asked by a developer for an apartment where you can build two social homes for €240,000 each.

“But at the same time, you really have to question the logic of paying double the price at a time of huge housing need. Dublin City Council has a huge housing list and if it gets into the habit of regularly paying twice the price for Part V apartments than it could build social homes, it is not an efficient use of public resources.

“If this becomes more common paying these kind of prices for apartments, then there clearly needs to be a rethink from Government as to what is the most important housing objective - increasing the overall output of social housing at a time of great or acquiring very expensive apartment units in the most affluent parts of Dublin City."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/developers-plan-to-sell-10-luxury-dublin-4-apartments-to-council-in-58m-social-housing-deal-1004306.html

Does he not know Sinn Fein run the council with People Before Profit and 'Government' plays no role? Why with a snap of his fingers he can sort this!

In the meantime Fine Gael hopes that all cancers hold off infecting people until they can get screening services back up and running in the autumn after these vital services which never should have been stopped, were stopped because of Covid.

Is there a quote for Leo's 'very white' remark. Sounds like his style of foot in mouth but I can't see a quote on it. Another thing to side step I suppose.
    That's a real pile of FG faux pas's building up there.

Got it:
    Speaking in the Dáil this afternoon, he said young people need to see “black and brown school principals, judges, cinn comhairle perhaps in the future”.

He said Ireland’s health service is “very diverse” but less so in senior positions.

Varadkar said the gardaí, the defence forces, and the education sector is far less diverse.

The civil service “is very white”, he added, stating “that actually needs to change”.

Dedicated recruitment campaigns are needed to ensure the workforce is more inclusive, Varadkar told the Dáil.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/recruitment-targets-civil-service-leo-varadkar-5120369-Jun2020/

He could have simply said we needed more diversity, but maybe he lifted it from Netflix to be fair to him.
    We've had generations of nepotism as is. Maybe just ensure the most qualified gets the job?
    He's trying ever so hard to be the liberal champion. Too bad he picked Fine Gael and well, is Leo Varadkar.

Imagine going to Jamaica and saying the civil service was 'very black' :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Is there a quote for Leo's 'very white' remark. Sounds like his style of foot in mouth but I can't see a quote on it. Another thing to side step I suppose.
    That's a real pile of FG faux pas's building up there.

Got it:

He could have simply said we needed more diversity, but maybe he lifted it from Netflix to be fair to him.
    We've had generations of nepotism as is. Maybe just ensure the most qualified gets the job?
    He's trying ever so hard to be the liberal champion. Too bad he picked Fine Gael and well, is Leo Varadkar.

Imagine going to Jamaica and saying the civil service was 'very black' :)

An Irish rastafarian, Ea-monn.

I am and also accusing the Minister for Housing, planning and Local Authorities of being involved with Housing, planning and Local Authorities. 'Tis government policy to allocate a portion of housing as social. FG's Eoghan Murphy is the Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Authorities. And much of DCC is made up of FG councilors. Yes. I certainly am. There is absolutely zero, nada way FG had nothing, nada, zero to do with social housing being part of that D4 complex, as per FG government and FG party policy.
    Getting very testes there Mortelo :)

Does he not know Sinn Fein run the council with People Before Profit and 'Government' plays no role? Why with a snap of his fingers he can sort this!

The law of the land is not an accusation
    Its interesting that you are conflating that with accusing FG councillors on Dublin city council of flouting the laws to interfere in housing
    Not an ounce of proof
    No names nothing
    Because you're afraid of being sued and rightly so
    You're a blatherer

• Registered Users Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭PommieBast

McMurphy wrote: »
    Just catching up with the right old kerfuffle going on within the Greens.

There's a power heave, infighting, and Eamo dropped the N word. :eek:

Do people still think they're going to help form a govt? Really?
    I was planning on not catching up until the weekend, but dropping this clanger was practically impossible not to hear..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

That was nothing more than a petulant huff because they got rejected so spectacularly by the electorate. Soon as they saw a chance to capitalise on the pandemic they were chomping to get into power negotiations to try and recapture some votes.

Even though you were here about a week ago, giving out about FG stating that they don't 'have to' go into government.
    The gift that keeps on giving.

You have stayed on your SF pact story

Because its a fact.

Not really. I don't believe any pact takes away FG's ability function locally and nationally.

Brilliant stuff, just absolutely brilliant!
    So I take it now that SF have 37 TD's they are more responsible than FG who only have 35 TD...for what happen in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,877 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

markodaly wrote: »
    Because its a fact.

Brilliant stuff, just absolutely brilliant!
    So I take it now that SF have 37 TD's they are more responsible than FG who only have 35 TD...for what happen in the country.

Yes, by Bowie’s standards, Sinn Fein are responsible for everything that happens over the next five years

• Registered Users Posts: 27,877 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Your response is bizarre. Beyond your usual condescending ****e talk.

It would me more accurate to characterise it like this:

Marko says the world is round.
    You say the world is flat.
    Marko says you can’t dispute the fact the world is round
    You say you are entitled to your opinion, he is just parroting what he’s been told, he should prove it and complain that you are being disrespected for your opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,829 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

markodaly wrote: »
    Even though you were here about a week ago, giving out about FG stating that they don't 'have to' go into government.
    The gift that keeps on giving.

What's your problem now Mark?

Just pointing out your blatant overt hypocrisy....again.
    Shooting fish in a barrel.