Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FG to just do nothing for the next 5 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Of course he’s playing a game. They are happy to go in to opposition if SF want to form a government (they don’t). But he is also happy to listen to what FF have to say about forming a government. Seems fairly logical.
    I see now that SF can’t even commit to the bitching and moaning rallies they had promised. What a shower :D

MLMDs kids are directly caught up in the coronavirus health scare that has taken hold across the world, and if you know the public meetings have been cancelled, I would find it completely inconceivable that you wouldn't be aware why they're cancelled.

Imagine the uproars around here if it later transpired her kids attended the school caught up in the health scare and she was going around the country potentially spreading the disease?

Fairplay to her, she as a mother has decided to do the responsible and bloody well expected thing of her in this instance.

Don't let that get in the way of trying to have a cheap shot though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

McMurphy wrote: »
    MLMDs kids are directly caught up in the coronavirus health scare that has taken hold across the world, and if you know the public meetings have been cancelled, I would find it completely inconceivable that you wouldn't be aware why they're cancelled.

Imagine the uproars around here if it later transpired her kids attended the school caught up in the health scare and she was going around the country potentially spreading the disease?

Fairplay to her, she as a mother has decided to do the responsible and bloody well expected thing of her in this instance.

So because a friend of a friend of a neighbour’s dog’s brother has got a dose of the flu, she is running away. Showing real leadership there. Probably more to do with the fact that less than 1,000 turned up to the last one! :D

And it has nothing to do with spreading the virus. She said herself she’s going back to work tomorrow. Nice try though ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Lot of emojis being used. Sign of anger.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Anyone watching redress tonight?

Some people here claim RTÉ covers up and is controlled by the government.

Sigh.....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Your supporters were criticising Simon Harris for suggesting the Italy rugby game be called off the other day.

Don't see any of you saying he was right now.

Only Mary Lou is right.

Yous are the biggest bunch of hypocrites I have ever witnessed.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,545 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Anyone watching redress tonight?

Some people here claim RTÉ covers up and is controlled by the government.

Sigh.....

Apart from the fact that the programme is long long overdue.

If that programme had been about Sinn Fein would it have been shown before or after the election?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭Feisar

People talking politics are usually using the emotional part of their brain so it’s to be expected.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Apart from the fact that the programme is long long overdue.

If that programme had been about Sinn Fein would it have been shown before or after the election?

Do you think there’s a bias against the SF party in RTÉ? If so, then at what level does this operate at - is it senior management, editorial, or what?

A top down conspiracy? No, i don't think that.

Are there too many hive-minds in RTE and the media? Yes, most certainly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

christy c wrote: »
    He could be also thinking let SF in and expose the stupidity of their promises, which might be better for the country long term. More likely IMO, is that he's playing some type of game like they all are.

I agree.
    That's hardly the best thing for the country or stability though is it? Isn't that why FG went in with FF last time?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,648 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

A top down conspiracy? No, i don't think that.

Are there too many hive-minds in RTE and the media? Yes, most certainly.

I would think that hive-minds is much more of a problem in social media, and is most prevalent among those who support and defend Sinn Fein.

Your supporters were criticising Simon Harris for suggesting the Italy rugby game be called off the other day.

Only Mary Lou is right.

Not true.
    I was criticising Harris for going to the press before the IRFU.
    JF later posted his own rewrite on the matter which you seem to be carrying on.

So, no.

FYI: calling out FG is not supporting another party. It's calling out FG ;)

blanch152 wrote: »
    I would think that hive-minds is much more of a problem in social media, and is most prevalent among those who support and defend Sinn Fein.

Of course you would. I think SF brings you out in hives Blanch, everytime any one gives them some credit. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Talking about social media, weren't you on here yesterday whinging about the shinners having "loads of Facebook ads" and wondering "where they got all the cash to fund them"?

I posted a link to a news article that confirmed FG spent €15k on Facebook ads, the shinners spent 1k (so FG spent FIFTEEN x same budget the shinners had)

And I never heard of you again.

Hehehe:D

Talking about social media, weren't you on here yesterday whinging about the shinners having "loads of Facebook ads" and wondering "where they got all the cash to fund them"?

I posted a link to a news article that confirmed FG spent €15k on Facebook ads, the shinners spent 1k (so FG spent FIFTEEN x same budget the shinners had)

They don't like to let facts something something....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭satguy

It really is starting to look like FG will sit on the opposition benches for a while. Because of 3 things.

1. Too far right of SF, so only FF and GP would fit their ethos.

2. Would pay a heavy price if seen to cozy up to FF, and already have burnt fingers for same.

3. The GP would be wiped out at next GE, and will / should stay clear of putting FG + FF back in power.

My money is on FF with new leader, making eyes at Mary Lou ?? ,, and feel that nobody wants another GE.
    And SF have too many poll toppers to give them a second chance to load the ballot papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭deathbomber

yes i hear Pascal Donohoe is in the market for a new house so he obviously will be too busy to govern with this kind of schedule

Didn't see your reply but remember the article.

That was reported amounts during the election campaign paid for out of Irish electoral funding. Doesn't include spend from Northern Ireland or spend since the election.

Bowie wrote: »
    They don't like to let facts something something....

Yes,

Newspaper report = facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Only Mary Lou is right.

Cancel the match, but not the supporters coming here, Genius :rolleyes:.

https://www.independent.co.uk/travel/news-and-advice/coronavirus-latest-dublin-travel-advice-italian-fans-ireland-six-nations-a9370016.html
    Coronavirus: Latest Dublin travel advice as up to 5,000 Italian fans head to Ireland despite Six Nations game cancelled
    Italy is now the most heavily affected country in Europe by far. They have introduced draconian laws (before the match was cancelled) and have gone even further, with the most recent update to come from there saying that people have been told to stand a minimum of 1.5 metres away from each other to prevent the spreading of it.

The virus may have made it's way here anyway, but lets not invite it in, in droves. Lets also not forget the only reason Harris survived the motion of no confidence was because of the C&S agreement.
    What's his next move? Tell us all to self quarantine until they are gone? Stand 1.5m away from them?

satguy wrote: »
    It really is starting to look like FG will sit on the opposition benches for a while. Because of 3 things.

1. Too far right of SF, so only FF and GP would fit their ethos.

2. Would pay a heavy price if seen to cozy up to FF, and already have burnt fingers for same.

3. The GP would be wiped out at next GE, and will / should stay clear of putting FG + FF back in power.

My money is on FF with new leader, making eyes at Mary Lou ?? ,, and feel that nobody wants another GE.
    And SF have too many poll toppers to give them a second chance to load the ballot papers.

Sf and ff are so close anyway they might as well. Mary loo would finally be home!

Yes,

Newspaper report = facts.

Whereas hearsay and what ifs trump published figures from source if it suits. Got it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭christy c

I agree.
    That's hardly the best thing for the country or stability though is it? Isn't that why FG went in with FF last time?

Well, as I said that was just my opinion. They could also be going to opposition so that SF's idiotic ideas will be found out. Which would be good for the country and stability long term, but not short term.

I'd be more inclined to think Varadkar won't go in to any government deal without himself as top dog based entirely on ego, (based on his comments over the years) regardless of how the nation may fare.
    Be nice if he put as much time and effort into the country and his own party's individual incomes considering he'd have over site. Likely more FG's 'forgot' to list certain interests again.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,317 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

satguy wrote: »
    I

But how would that work in practice? IF FF and FG declare they can't do a deal, surely the momentum toward another election would be unstoppable? Would it be feasible for the handful of SF-philes within FF to stick up their hands and say "Hang on, we have another plan. Just give us a few weeks do ditch Martin and hold a leadership election, then hopefully the new guy will feel differently about a deal with SF." I don't believe there is a strong and coherent enough group of SF sympathisers within FF to make that happen.

I'd be more inclined to think Varadkar won't go in to any government deal without himself as top dog based entirely on ego, (based on his comments over the years) regardless of how the nation may fare.

Well that's just your guess, fact is neither of us know. But he does have a get out clause in that they are now the third biggest party, (he can say no mandate) and also the "extraordinary promises" made by other parties.

It's just 'different' promises. The Dept of Finance had issues with all the sales brochures manifesto's.

TBF FG are the only party I know of unwilling to discuss forming a government and 'relishing' the idea of opposition. We know that. We'll have to re-purpose the aul' hurlers from the ditch jabs as we know 100% fact, FG don't want to govern. Varadkar might go on his gap year mind.

It's just 'different' promises. The Dept of Finance had issues with all the sales brochures manifesto's.

I have problems with all manifestos, however some are worse than others IMO. Sf fit in to that category.