Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident with work car

• Site Banned Posts: 24 nenemcgurt

seamus wrote: »
    That's exactly the traits you displayed, I'm glad you can see it.

He took an hour to drive from Newry to Slieve Gullion. What does that tell you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Was there much damage to the tree OP? Will your insurance cover this???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Was there much damage to the tree OP? Will your insurance cover this???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Johnny Sausage

nenemcgurt wrote: »

The traffic was busy

• Registered Users Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭GBX

This isn’t a wind up. I have outlined my reasons why I think the warden was responsible:

1. He didn’t stay out of courtesy to let me out and the very least he could’ve done is drove around the park looking for me to tell me he was locking up and give me a lift back. He didn’t.
    2. He left a note on my wiper telling me that there was an exit down a laneway. This laneway gate was shut as well leading to me reversing back up a hill and damaging the car.
    3. He lived in Newry but took an hour to get to Slieve Gullion.

Incompetence, inconsideration and lack of courtesy.

I am the one who suffered, getting back late and missing a very important appointment.

Courtesy should not be expected.
    courtesy
    /ˈkəːtɪsi/
    Learn to pronounce
    noun
    the showing of politeness in one's attitude and behaviour towards others.
    "he treated the players with courtesy and good humour"

You could not read the sign competently displayed which showed the time the gate closed.
    incompetent
    /ɪnˈkɒmpɪt(ə)nt/
    Learn to pronounce
    adjective
    not having or showing the necessary skills to do something successfully.
    "a forgetful and utterly incompetent assistant"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭whippet

Forget about the beef you have about crashing your car out of incompetence.. but have a pop of a fella who is at home having his dinner with his family after a days work for not jumping in his helicopter to get back to you is nuts !!!

Flat out bonkers !!!

Ring joe Duffy tomorrow and explain all to him .. the nation will get a good laugh out of you .. welcome relief from listening to election nonsense for a while

• Registered Users Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

That you're a few pistons short of an engine.

He was having his dinner with his family after a days work

• Registered Users Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I was involved in an incident in my work car and I am sceptical as to who is at fault.

I was driving my work car, a 201 Insignia, to Belfast to collect something and on the way back to kill time I decided to pull into Slieve Gullion. I parked the car in the car park and went for a walk around. It was 4:30 when I arrived and the gates closed at 5. However I didn’t notice the sign about this when I came in.

I came back to the car at about 5:20 and to my anger I saw the gates were closed. I went to the car and saw a note under the wiper which had been left by the park warden. It said ‘Gates closed, exit on Forest Drive’. So I drove down Forest Drive only to find the gates were shut there as well. I roared “How the **** do you get out of this place” and reversed to car up the back up the hill. I reversed too fast on a bend end the rear of the car ended up hitting a tree, at which point after shouting a few profanities I got out to check the damage. The rear bumper was badly dented and bearing in mind this was a brand new 201 car I was concerned about the reaction of my manager.

I managed to get back up the hill and back to the car park. I saw a sign saying Mullaghbawn and decided that would be the best way to go. I drove up the path where I was walking earlier and had to go about 2km/h the whole way. When I managed to get to the very top there were some great views of Newry but the road became very dark and with the fog my lights weren’t much help. After driving for about five minutes I reached the exit stretch. However when I got to the exit itself to my horror it was also shut. After this I basically lost it in the car and some of the interiors were scratched as a result. I tried to dial the PSNI but there was no signal so after I managed to calm myself down I got out and walked to the Spar in Mullaghbawn were the the PSNI were called for me. I had to wait for almost an hour until the park warden came back to open the gates.

After I was free I drove back to Dublin and observed that there was some bad damage to the rear bumper and also the side of the car as I had scratched it on a hedge fence coming down the road in Slieve Gullion.

Basically I want to know who is at fault here. The warden should NOT have left his office until all the cars had gone, I hold him responsible as he should’ve stayed to let me out. I will tell my manager that this is his fault as I believe it is.

Can the warden be held partly responsible for this?

What I really want to know is who you voted for in the Election.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

This has to be a wind up.....

Nobody could be that stupid to think crashing themselves is someone else's problem.

Count yourself lucky they aren't chasing you for damage you caused if any....

Wow oh wow

This has to be a wind up.....

Nobody could be that stupid to think crashing themselves is someone else's problem.

Count yourself lucky they aren't chasing you for damage you caused if any....

Wow oh wow
    I'm just hoping the op doesn't have children. They're screwed before they were even conceived!

Think the op may have hit his head at some point during the altercation with the ditch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

The warden had no hand act or part in your car being damaged. For you to think so shows screwy thinking and logic. The park closes at a set time. He is not a gatekeeper. It was YOUR DRIVING and RED MIST that caused the damage to your car. If I was your manager I would be seriously questioning your level of cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭Wheety

100% your fault.

whippet wrote: »
    Forget about the beef you have about crashing your car out of incompetence.. but have a pop of a fella who is at home having his dinner with his family after a days work for not jumping in his helicopter to get back to you is nuts !!!

Flat out bonkers !!!

Ring joe Duffy tomorrow and explain all to him .. the nation will get a good laugh out of you .. welcome relief from listening to election nonsense for a while

What about me? I had a very important appointment in Dublin city centre that evening and I missed it because he wouldn’t get up and drive to let me out.

The PSNI should’ve just cut the gate open or given me a lift but they wouldn’t.

The whole thing was nothing short of an absolute disaster for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,601 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I was involved in an incident in my work car and I am sceptical as to who is at fault.

I was driving my work car, a 201 Insignia, to Belfast to collect something and on the way back to kill time I decided to pull into Slieve Gullion. I parked the car in the car park and went for a walk around. It was 4:30 when I arrived and the gates closed at 5. However I didn’t notice the sign about this when I came in.

I came back to the car at about 5:20 and to my anger I saw the gates were closed. I went to the car and saw a note under the wiper which had been left by the park warden. It said ‘Gates closed, exit on Forest Drive’. So I drove down Forest Drive only to find the gates were shut there as well. I roared “How the **** do you get out of this place” and reversed to car up the back up the hill. I reversed too fast on a bend end the rear of the car ended up hitting a tree, at which point after shouting a few profanities I got out to check the damage. The rear bumper was badly dented and bearing in mind this was a brand new 201 car I was concerned about the reaction of my manager.

I managed to get back up the hill and back to the car park. I saw a sign saying Mullaghbawn and decided that would be the best way to go. I drove up the path where I was walking earlier and had to go about 2km/h the whole way. When I managed to get to the very top there were some great views of Newry but the road became very dark and with the fog my lights weren’t much help. After driving for about five minutes I reached the exit stretch. However when I got to the exit itself to my horror it was also shut. After this I basically lost it in the car and some of the interiors were scratched as a result. I tried to dial the PSNI but there was no signal so after I managed to calm myself down I got out and walked to the Spar in Mullaghbawn were the the PSNI were called for me. I had to wait for almost an hour until the park warden came back to open the gates.

After I was free I drove back to Dublin and observed that there was some bad damage to the rear bumper and also the side of the car as I had scratched it on a hedge fence coming down the road in Slieve Gullion.

Basically I want to know who is at fault here. The warden should NOT have left his office until all the cars had gone, I hold him responsible as he should’ve stayed to let me out. I will tell my manager that this is his fault as I believe it is.

Can the warden be held partly responsible for this?

This has to be a wind up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

whippet wrote: »

Flat out bonkers !!!

Oh OP, please do this.
    The Liveline Gold 2020 thread is very sparse so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭sura28

If I were you I would blame the tree you reversed into.

I’m sure your manager will let you off easily if he believes it was the trees fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭Be right back

This is a wind up but in the very small chance it isn't OP, what would you think if you are the warden and had to return to work to leave someone out of the carpark?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

What about me? I had a very important appointment in Dublin city centre that evening and I missed it because he wouldn’t get up and drive to let me out.

Ah you've blown it now - shoulda stayed a little bit more subtle for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

This is why I'm wary of Insignias. They always seem to be driven aggressively by harassed reps speeding around in a red mist to meet KPIs like a yoke around their neck.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭Gmaximum

It’s the OP’s fault but who’s going to care? I’ve worked in plenty of places where company card have been pranged and worse. Nobody really cares it’s a hazard of having a fleet

As a young driver I remember clipping my 6 month old focus off a bollard and was sh*tting myself going to tell the boss he didn’t bat an eyelid

If you were that bothered about the appointment you'd have made sure you could get out. Hope the warden had a lovely evening at home.

Yep .. I’d agree .. but blaming it on someone else isn’t right.

Why the hell would you expect someone to drop everything to drive a round trip from Newry just because you were angry ... the fact that he actually did and didn’t make you wait until opening the following morning you should be grateful

As for the police cutting locks .. and they are not a taxi firm either !!!

You must think the world revolves around you

I have sent a complaint to Newry, Mourne and Down District Council over this but I’m waiting two days for a response. Just shows you.

The PSNI were also incompetent, I told them about my meeting but they said I had to wait there until the warden arrived and they left.

jaxxx wrote: »
    I'm just hoping the op doesn't have children. They're screwed before they were even conceived!

This is hilarious..... A grown up that somehow has a job actually believes someone else is to blame for their actions.

Car park closed, he left note as that was probably last gate he would close on rounds and be gone himself.

Op fix the car yourself and polish the scratches down the side.

It's an insignia so I wouldn't be to worried about it anyway.

I would highly advise stating it was hit in a car park and if you don't want the whole office laughing at you for the rest of the year I'd stay clear of your original story.....

Honestly if this isn't a wind up, it's the funniest thing I've heard it quite some time, thanks for cheering me up...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭Be right back

Poor you, sur they should have driven you to Dublin!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Maybe the ranger also had a very important appointment too. Maybe if your appointment was so important you’d get back to the city early and faff about there instead of a park miles away.

Maybe you need an appointment with an anger management specialist.

I have sent a complaint to Newry, Mourne and Down District Council over this but I’m waiting two days for a response. Just shows you.

The PSNI were also incompetent, I told them about my meeting but they said I had to wait there until the warden arrived and they left.

Hahahaha hahahaha.....

I'm in stitches..... I'm surprised you made it out at all.....

Mommy must be so proud.