Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why not have another GE

Billcarson wrote: »
    There are plenty of people working hard but still cant afford a house. Plenty of people bursting their bollox. The cost of living in this country just seems to be getting worse. Wft is it that you people fail to to understand?????

I suppose I fail to understand why someone else has to provide for me and mine when I’m capable of doing it myself by working hard and living within my means. Every generation has struggled in some way.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

boetstark wrote: »
    Wow that was a lot of effort at a post that is neither funny nor sarcastic. Back of the queue when grey matter was being allocated unfortunately

I could only dream of being as clever and hard working as you.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Billcarson wrote: »
    There are plenty of people working hard but still cant afford a house. Plenty of people bursting their bollox. The cost of living in this country just seems to be getting worse. Wft is it that you people fail to to understand?????

I think some people need to realise that they will never be able to buy a house.

Now before you or others start jumping up and down, they should be able to rent a place, and have security of tenure.
    And that means for lots of people that they live in council or corporation housing.

And yes we know all the governments over the last twenty odd years have stopped providing this very necessary accommodation.

Also some other people need to cop on and realise that just because their parents with similar or lesser jobs (and single salary) were able to buy houses within 5/10 miles of Dublin or other city centres doesn't mean they will be able to do likewise.

A lot of these parents bought at a time of low housing cost, simply because there wasn't huge demand.
    They were lucky enough to have a job in this country which was an economic basket case with fook all immigration but gigantic emigration.
    And a lot of these parents had a hell of a lot lower standard of living where most of the income went on buying those homes, not on cars, not on foreign holidays, not on weekends away, not on nights out, not on eating out, not on consumer gadgets.

Some people have no fecking clue what living in likes of 1970s or 1980s Ireland was like.
    People might have a house in Leopardstown, Tallaght, Blanchardstown, Renmore, Caherdavin, but they weren't off to CL matches in Manchester, weekends in Barcelona, holidays on the Algarve.
    You had a single old Ford, Toyota, VW, Opel or worse still Fiat, new Lada or Skoda in the driveway.
    In the house the only electronic devices were often a stereo and a rented tv.

Ireland now has more workers, has a hell of a lot more better paid employment and thus associated cost of living has gone up.
    We are not some decrepit economic backwater anymore and thus can't get the bargain basement prices.

And yes we need more private housing, as well as public, to meet the demand and mean affordability is back to sane multiple of income.
    That goes for private rental as well.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I suppose I fail to understand why someone else has to provide for me and mine when I’m capable of doing it myself by working hard and living within my means. Every generation has struggled in some way.

Previous generations may have bought a home when property prices were not comparable to today. When one income coming into a house could comfortably pay the bills. When paying for full time childcare wasn't an issue. When insurance prices weren't through the roof.

Yes, every generation is indeed different. Many of us still work very hard, but it is a very different time.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Just like the unionists up north, FFG will have to get used to the idea of the shinners eventually taking their place in Govt, and they'll have to recognise them as equals.

If they don't like the thoughts of that, well then they know how to best try and prevent it. A merger of the two separate parties must take place, or a grand coalition with the shinners as the main opposition party.

Otherwise keep the election posters handy, and both FF FG could likely face further seat losses.

Previous generations may have bought a home when property prices were not comparable to today. When one income coming into a house could comfortably pay the bills. When paying for full time childcare wasn't an issue. When insurance prices weren't through the roof.

Yes, every generation is indeed different. Many of us still work very hard, but it is a very different time.

Very true. One example is that We didn’t have mobile phones or internet when my lads were little. Actually, we didn’t have a phone! Many things that we take for granted now, we did without. Just looking around the house and I’m seeing so much that wasn’t around back in the 80’s.
    Broadband. Satellite tv. Mobile phones. Microwave ovens.
    Things that were around that we couldn’t afford, so did without:
    Central heating. Phone. Tumble dryer. Designer clothes, trainers, etc.

jmayo wrote: »
    I think some people need to realise that they will never be able to buy a house.

Now before you or others start jumping up and down, they should be able to rent a place, and have security of tenure.

I'd agree with you, not everyone is going to become a property owner, nor is a 100 percent property ownership rate necessarily desirable.

However, go on the Accommodation and Property forum and try gently suggesting any modest reform of the private rental sector you can think of.

You'll get called a communist freeloader by post 3. And Margaret Cash will be mentioned by post 6 at a maximum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Billcarson

What's different is the people at the top want it all now more then ever, the wealthy are getting wealthier.,more powerful. These people want to turn the working classes into slaves. That's what's changed imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 989 ✭✭✭boetstark

Yurt! wrote: »
    I could only dream of being as clever and hard working as you.

Absolutely, but you do tend to mix your tenses in your sentences. Could being past tense, being is present and possible future.
    Sorry, I can't help being clever, now must sign off as I have to check my bank balance, as you said I am hard working.
    Wish I could say it was a pleasure, but.....

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

jmayo wrote: »
    Ehh once again we appear to have give some folks a history lesson around here.
    The Democratic Left had links to old Official IRA.

They had come out of the Workers Part which had come out of SF in 1970.
    The Workers Party would have had Communist leanings and was part of reason of split.

BTW the Official IRA had been on ceasefire since 1972 and none of the DL had been in jail over bombings, gun running, etc ala modern SF.

Yes De Rossa had serverd time in jail for being involved in old IRA training during the border campaign in mid 50s.
    He was involved in split in 1970.

Rabitte and Gilmore were both from West of Ireland, had come through UCG and it's student union before moving onto Workers Party.

And none of the DL were collecting Garda killers from jail, labeling the victims of republican murder gangs as criminals, etc.
    So some ira connections good, others bad? Those floating voters ain't buying it. There are plenty of reasons for choosing one party over another but let's not pretend that it's anything other than trying to keep the cosy political cartel and again the floating voter ain't buying

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Yurt! wrote: »
    I'd agree with you, not everyone is going to become a property owner, nor is a 100 percent property ownership rate necessarily desirable.

However, go on the Accommodation and Property forum and try gently suggesting any modest reform of the private rental sector you can think of.

You'll get called a communist freeloader by post 3. And Margaret Cash will be mentioned by post 6 at a maximum.

Thats because tenants have too many rights and the market is wholely unatractive to anyone but ‘vulture fund’ landlords.

Realistically anyone in a household earning under 40k total should completely forget the idea of ever owning a house in all but the most rural parts of the land. Home ownership isnt for everyone and neither is social housing nor shoukd it be

Thats because tenants have too many rights and the market is wholely unatractive to anyone but ‘vulture fund’ landlords.

Realistically anyone in a household earning under 40k total should completely forget the idea of ever owning a house in all but the most rural parts of the land. Home ownership isnt for everyone and neither is social housing nor shoukd it be

Ladies and gentlemen, I rest my case. I can tell you had to excercise restraint at invoking Margaret Cash there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

What's the story with agreement in principle between Sinn Féin and other small parties towards forming a government. We know they don't have the numbers but even if they did, have they indicated they are ready & willing??

I think Labour ruled it out? Aontu or whatever he calls himself is for it. But what about the Greens or SDs or Socialist Party/ Solidarity/ PBP? Are they on for getting into bed with SF does anyone know.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

The so called Irish Left ae a joke. Arts student types playing politics. Marxist Leninists versus Troskyists. Every socialist party is in favour of property taxes except the Irish scrotes.
    They cant agree on whether they prefer tea to coffee. The biggest conmen of all are the Shinners trying to be all things to all men.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

McMurphy wrote: »
    Just like the unionists up north, FFG will have to get used to the idea of the shinners eventually taking their place in Govt, and they'll have to recognise them as equals.

If they don't like the thoughts of that, well then they know how to best try and prevent it. A merger of the two separate parties must take place, or a grand coalition with the shinners as the main opposition party.

Otherwise keep the election posters handy, and both FF FG could likely face further seat losses.

FFG are the ones responsible for the SF surge! and it makes sense, a lot of their previous voters, mainly if you dont own your property, have sussed, that if they support rip off property, you are going to suffer and they no longer represent your interests...

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

How many from our parents generation were able to holiday abroad 30/40 years ago? Very few

How many could afford to eat out 30/40 years ago? Very few.

Our standard of living is far, far higher than it was a generation ago. You have NO IDEA how bad things were in the 80's in this country. People didn't even have a job and had to emigrate. You are just spoiled now and take a booming economy and high paying jobs for granted.

boetstark wrote: »
    Absolutely, but you do tend to mix your tenses in your sentences. Could being past tense, being is present and possible future.
    Sorry, I can't help being clever, now must sign off as I have to check my bank balance, as you said I am hard working.
    Wish I could say it was a pleasure, but.....

Lol, did they not teach the subjunctive mood in whatever Afrikaner bush school you went to?

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

How many from our parents generation were able to holiday abroad 30/40 years ago? Very few

Our standard of living is far, far higher than it was a generation ago. You have NO IDEA how bad things were in the 80's in this country. People didn't even have a job and had to emigrate. You are just spoiled now and take a booming economy and high paying jobs for granted.
    Price of flights very different then, just very different times. High rents makes it harder and longer to save deposit for a house. Comparatively, house prices much greater too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,685 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

30 years ago my parents went on holidays to Spain every year with 2 or 3 kids.

They also went out every weekend once, or twice spending a fair few quid on the Guinness.

My old man was a truck driver. Nothing special. One income family. The same could be said for most of the neighbours.

We may have had mass emigration in the 80s, but where people went, they could get a job and rent/buy a house. If they had a job here, they could usually get a mortgage and have it paid off in 15-20 years.

Now we have 40 year mortgages and people struggling to put food on the table. Plenty of people can't go on holidays, or eat out. The economy might be booming, but that doesn't mean much for a huge cohort of "spoiled" people.

To get back on topic. Bring on the GE. FG and FF (who I would usually vote for) have displayed an unforgivable arrogance and will not be getting my vote for a long, long time. I was hoping for a FF/SF coalition with a few others. I figure FF would temper SF and prevent them from carrying out really stupid economic decisions. If we have another GE, SF may just bolster their support which is a little worrying.

Stay Free

• Registered Users Posts: 18,673 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It was much more complex than that. We bough our house about thirty years ago now. When we moved in all we had was literally a Kitchen and bathroom. I used polybond the concrete floors to keep the dust down and sanded the upstairs floors and used a two pack resin compound to seal them. we did each room one at the time painting it, buying carpet and furnishing it. I did the lawns and gardens myself. Hired a lad to lay blocks for the garage after doing the slab myself. Same with patio's and front walls roofing garage. Washing machines was bought straight away but dishwasher, TV's( my better half was a sales rep at the time and had a portable TV and video recorder for demo's and we used that for 6-12 months) . In reality the only thing on the mortgage was the shell of the house. We had child care costs but the better half changed jobs and went part time it worked out a good lifestyle, but it ment holidays abroad only every 2-3 years and during the noughties there was times when our children felt deprived as we did not drive new cars or got out to eat evey weekend.

Life is about choices who governs the country is ( should be) immaterial to you

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

"Bass wrote:

Life is about choices who governs the country is ( should be) immaterial to you

Thats some piece of nonsense right there, sure why have elections at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,673 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Thats some piece of nonsense right there, sure why have elections at all?

Anybody that thinks that any new government will make changes that substantially change there life is deluded. Even if they do it will take 8-10 years. The main thing you want a government to do is not to wreck the economy. FF have done this twice in my lifetime in the late 70's early 80's and again in the noughties I expect that some party will do it again at least once more in my lifetime. During the same time the action of the IRA generally made travelling with in 25% of this country impossible, it sucked funding form the economy into securing the state.

So all I really wish for in politicians is that they will not wreck the country, you would think its a small wish but the actions of politicians as they follow there vanity and ego's is the biggest risk to the electorate

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭acequion

30 years ago my parents went on holidays to Spain every year with 2 or 3 kids.

They also went out every weekend once, or twice spending a fair few quid on the Guinness.

My old man was a truck driver. Nothing special. One income family. The same could be said for most of the neighbours.

We may have had mass emigration in the 80s, but where people went, they could get a job and rent/buy a house. If they had a job here, they could usually get a mortgage and have it paid off in 15-20 years.

Now we have 40 year mortgages and people struggling to put food on the table. Plenty of people can't go on holidays, or eat out. The economy might be booming, but that doesn't mean much for a huge cohort of "spoiled" people.

To get back on topic. Bring on the GE. FG and FF (who I would usually vote for) have displayed an unforgivable arrogance and will not be getting my vote for a long, long time. I was hoping for a FF/SF coalition with a few others. I figure FF would temper SF and prevent them from carrying out really stupid economic decisions. If we have another GE, SF may just bolster their support which is a little worrying.

I agree so much with everything here that I could have written it myself. Firstly I too wanted a FF/SF coalition for the same reasons. I felt that with their parity of seat numbers they would each temper each other, maybe bring out the best in each other [positive thinking to the point of rose tinted, maybe :D] and give the country some of the much sought after "change." I'm very dismayed at the arrogance of both FF and FG. While no way would I be a fan of either, I feel they do have the necessary Governmental experience. However,that said, I couldn't stomach another 5 years of Leo, Paschal, Simon et al. Hence my preference for FF, to whom I gave first preference.

As for this utter nonsense that people nowadays suffer from entitlement and that the 80's were some sort of Calcutta, again the above poster is spot on. I, too, was around in the 80's,grew up in a middle class home where dad was the bread winner and mum stayed home and we had a comfortable life where we went on holidays and my parents went out a lot. It was an easier time in many ways, harder in others. Today's generation tend to be much better educated and jobs are much more demanding so why would people not have higher expectations? Expectations are not the same as entitlement. If you've spent years at college, have a good degree, work long, hard, productive hours, it is reasonable to expect a decent standard of living.

Someone will be along shortly to tell you to pull yourself up by your bootstraps and how they didn't own a pair of shoes until 1991.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Mary Lou said FF or FG in government would be a disaster.

Yet she is trying to form a government with them?
    McMurphy wrote: »

Otherwise keep ther election posters handy, and both FF FG could likely face further seat losses.

When the Shinnerscum get the votes they can start lecturing. Until then wait their turn

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Do the people that count the votes get paid?

YFlyer wrote: »
    Do the people that count the votes get paid?

Yes a set wage of circa €300 for the first 12 hours of counting and I think €26 per hour thereafter.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Yes a set wage of circa €300 for the first 12 hours of counting and I think €26 per hour thereafter.

I must look into that. Would prefer to get the gig on election day though.

Edgware wrote: »
    When the Shinnerscum get the votes they can start lecturing. Until then wait their turn

Another restrained and considered contribution there...

YFlyer wrote: »

I must look into that. Would prefer to get the gig on election day though.

Apply to the clerk of the court to be placed on the register. Or find out who the local returning officer mention your interest they'll point you in the right direction. The pay is similar for the poll station staff unless you are the returning officer.