Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Curious Case of Violet-Anne Wynne

• Registered Users Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

Any houses built after the crash would be presumably finished to a very high standard. There wasn't much being built in 11. They changed the liability situation for engineers signing off on projects so the standards are actually adhered to nowadays in most instances.

I'd say the bringing stuff up to standard was mostly cosmetic stuff cos they'd made a mess of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,171 ✭✭✭limnam

Any houses built after the crash would be presumably finished to a very high standard. There wasn't much being built in 11. They changed the liability situation for engineers signing off on projects so the standards are actually adhered to nowadays in most instances.

We can't make assumptions one way or another.

All we know is the fact they were not up to local authority standard.

If funding was not forthcoming people wouldn't be able to be housed by the council anyway once RRI went under.

He said it was like pulling teeth dealing with them. So it looks like FG were about as concerned as she may have been :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,845 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

limnam wrote: »
    We can't make assumptions one way or another.

You're a gas man. Coming out with that after all your posts on here

I'd say I'm one of maybe 2/3 posters on this thread not making assumptions.

Everyone else is out with the hatchet.

That's gas Donald.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The then minister for finance was more than happy to help out.

Obviously didn't see too much wrong with it :)

Her online presence at the time must have been low key
    Online presence in 2002? :D:D:D:D:D:D It was still paradise for the nerds back then and Yahoo chat rooms were the Wild West!

is_that_so wrote: »
    Online presence in 2002? :D:D:D:D:D:D It was still paradise for the nerds back then and Yahoo chat rooms were the Wild West!

I'm glad it wasn't wasted on you :)

Although, yahoo chat rooms could get fairly feisty.

I'd say I'm one of maybe 2/3 posters on this thread not making assumptions.

Everyone else is out with the hatchet.

That's gas Donald.

Well let us state some facts.

Ms. Violet moved to Clare under RRI. The terms were about 60 quid a week for her and her whole family. She stopped (perhaps never started??) paying rent.

She was eventually taken to the High Court after building up over 12k in debt. RRI won their case against her.

That's all there is to it. You are the one assuming that she was somehow justified in stealing from the charity. Even though the Court clearly didn't think so.

If you're getting paid to post here, just for your own sake, I don't think that you can cash Northern Bank notes.............

Well let us state some facts.

Ms. Violet moved to Clare under RRI. The terms were about 60 quid a week for her and her whole family. She stopped (perhaps never started??) paying rent.

She was eventually taken to the High Court after building up over 12k in debt. RRI won their case against her.

That's all there is to it. You are the one assuming that she was somehow justified in stealing from the charity. Even though the Court clearly didn't think so.

If you're getting paid to post here, just for your own sake, I don't think that you can cash Northern Bank notes.............

My understanding was she was paying rent, then sporadic then it stopped.

The council stated the houses were not up to local authority standard.

All I'm saying is there might be more to it. No assumptions.

I like to understand all circumstances before I chop down a mother of 5 with a sick partner. I'm weird like that.

My understanding was she was paying rent, then sporadic then it stopped.

The council stated the houses were not up to local authority standard.

All I'm saying is there might be more to it. No assumptions.

I like to understand all circumstances before I chop down a mother of 5 with a sick husband. I'm weird like that.

Back to the more assumptions then.

So what do you think about the other poor unprivileged lady who was forced by FG/FF government to illegally build a 1m Euro house and stables. Her poor husband - working 18 hours a day for below minimum wage in dangerous conditions down a coal mine. Struggling to get by. Oh sorry, I mean working as a successful solicitor. Same thing I suppose. Once she has SF on her posters. lol

(The council will insist on a council house being at their standards. This means ticking a box for a whole range of nonsensical things. I assume you can understand that concept. The vast vast majority of houses, rented or owned, would need work done to them to conform to those box-ticks. There is no requirement for a private house to match Council standards. There would be minimum requirements for a rented property, but they are different. You know that Ms. Violet continued to stay there for most of a decade, despite having no obligation to do so?)

Back to the more assumptions then.

So what do you think about the other poor unprivileged lady who was forced by FG/FF government to illegally build a 1m Euro house and stables. Her poor husband - working 18 hours a day for below minimum wage in dangerous conditions down a coal mine. Struggling to get by. Oh sorry, I mean working as a successful solicitor. Same thing I suppose. Once she has SF on her posters. lol

(The council will insist on a council house being at their standards. This means ticking a box for a whole range of nonsensical things. I assume you can understand that concept. The vast vast majority of houses, rented or owned, would need work done to them to conform to those box-ticks. You know that Ms. Violet continued to stay there for most of a decade, despite having no obligation to do so? )

It looks like you don't understand what it is to assume.

Whereas you appear to assume what you are instructed to assume ;)

And, seeing as how you have the insight knowledge on Ms. Violets "sporadic payments"...perhaps you can enlighten us of the defects of the property.

A question that one would naturally ask, given that these were rented out fine in 2011, is whether the tenants just made shite of the place? Add that to your assumptions lol

Whereas you appear to assume what you are instructed to assume ;)

Busted :o :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

So no slurrs then.

Thanks for clarification. No apologies needed.

Abercorn, Kingsmill, Teebane, Warrington, La Mon:

Apologies from a Shinner for character assassination? Are you joking? Where assassination is concerned they can't even apologise for the real thing.

Your pathetic dishonest attempt to smear Jim Connolly has been an abject failure.

Dishonesty is nothing new to the Shinners:

Spending election money for a "socialist" programme that was collected in the USA for a "business friendly" party. The only friendly businesses are diesel and the like around the border. (That one should impress the Greens as the coalition talks progress.)

And the new maths: FF 38, SF37, FG 35 equals a mandate for a SF government, because a quarter of the people voting SF equals "the people voted for change." Those who voted for change didn't all vote for SF change. Ask Róisín Shortall about Waterford's "up the RA" change. Ask anyone about the people who "were never in the IRA."

And the well-coached cyber propagandists who skip awkward responses and hope that with the passage of an hour or two others won't notice.

And the emulation of Hitler doesn't end with the big lie. It seems talks to form a government are now to be taken away from other democratically elected parties to something similar to Adolf's beerhalls.

Now go back to the folks who are coaching you and put all this in your pipe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I believe Violet-Anne Wynne should be the new Housing Minister due to her real world experiences of living in social housing and withholding rent.

The Housing portfolio these days seems just to encompass using tax revenue to build free forever homes for people who do not want to work and to accommodate the substantial numbers of non-EU migrants who arrive in Ireland who want a "second" home. I've heard an African asylum seeker actually say that on Irish television when asked on why they were seeking refuge in Ireland.

Violent-Anne as Minister for Housing could be interesting.

:D. :D. :D. :D. :D

feargale wrote: »
    Abercorn, Kingsmill, Teebane, Warrington, La Mon:

Apologies from a Shinner for character assassination? Are you joking? Where assassination is concerned they can't even apologise for the real thing.

Your pathetic dishonest attempt to smear Jim Connolly has been an abject failure.

Dishonesty is nothing new to the Shinners:

Spending election money for a "socialist" programme that was collected in the USA for a "business friendly" party. The only friendly businesses are diesel and the like around the border. (That one should impress the Greens as the coalition talks progress.)

And the new maths: FF 38, SF37, FG 35 equals a mandate for a SF government, because a quarter of the people voting SF equals "the people voted for change." Those who voted for change didn't all vote for SF change. Ask Róisín Shortall about Waterford's "up the RA" change. Ask anyone about the people who "were never in the IRA."

And the well-coached cyber propagandists who skip awkward responses and hope that with the passage of an hour or two others won't notice.

And the emulation of Hitler doesn't end with the big lie. It seems talks to form a government are now to be taken away from other democratically elected parties to something similar to Adolf's beerhalls.

Now go back to the folks who are coaching you and put all this in your pipe.

We got to Hitler.

*clap clap*

nonsense.

Anything that was posed here about Mr.Connolly. He said himself.

They're his words. His quotes.

We got to Hitler.

*clap clap*

Yes, I was expecting you to lean on that crutch, the discredited Godwin cliché.

I'm disappointed by your newfound paucity of words.

Clap? Yes, I thought so.

nonsense.

Anything that was posed here about Mr.Connolly. He said himself.

They're his words. His quotes.
    I'd like to hear more about this landlord. :)

For the last time, pee or get off the pot.

On second thoughts tell 44 Parnell Square to put somebody else at the keyboard. They shouldn't send a boy on a man's job.

For God's sake can they not see that you've been found out?

For the last time, pee or get off the pot.

On second thoughts tell 44 Parnell Square to put somebody else at the keyboard. They shouldn't send a boy on a man's job.

For God's sake can they not see that you've been found out?

You can keep quoting that line.

It doesn't change the fact that everything that's been said in the thread in relation to Mr.Connolly were his words. His quotes.

I would like to hear more. I'd like to understand more.

Because that's what people do, they gather all the information and come to a conclusion based on that

Not oh it's SF they do car bombs etc it must be true.

It's childish, it's moronic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

Does anyone have the actual tweets?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Yes, I was expecting you to lean on that crutch, the discredited Godwin cliché.

I'm disappointed by your newfound paucity of words.

Clap? Yes, I thought so.

Godwin himself has said that the law doesn’t apply when the comparison is apt. Funnily enough, one of those occasions was with reference to political rallies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

:D. :D. :D. :D. :D

be funny if it wasn't true ,
    wonder does the two lads get extra on a Sunday ?

might join up myself for a few spare beer tokens

https://www.sinnfein.ie/sfos

You can keep quoting that line.
    It doesn't change the fact that everything that's been said in the thread in relation to Mr.Connolly were his words. His quotes.

Oh yeah? Whose words are these?
    Interesting Character Mr. Connolly

Looks like he didn't care too much about his loyal staff.

Mr McDonough said he was left isolated at his workplace after having a row with Mr Connolly over Mr Connolly’s daughter-in-law. Mr McDonough said Mr Connolly barely spoke to him after the row in April 2012.
    Claiming ‘unfair dismissal’ from RRI, Mr McDonough said: “After we had the argument that involved his daughter-in-law, Mr Connolly told me he wouldn’t be working with me again.”
    At the tribunal, Mr Connolly confirmed he told Mr McDonough during the row “if you leave the office now, you will not be working with me again’”.

I would like to hear more. I'd like to understand more.
    Because that's what people do, they gather all the information and come to a conclusion based on that

Given what you have posted already you sure could have fooled me about your likes. Are you now saying that you have no allegations to make against Jim Connolly. Until you do know more maybe you should take a rest from this medium, because for a guy who doesn't know what he is talking about you have been terribly busy posting .here.
    Not oh it's SF they do car bombs etc it must be true.v

Who said SF do car bombs? Sure we all know that nobody in SF was ever in the IRA. Didn't Gerry say so?

It's childish, it's moronic.

Ah look. Read back over the posts in this thread and decide who the moron is.
    Now would you ever tell SF HQ to consult the Army Council about the wisdom of their social media policy.

Oh yeah? Whose words were these?

Mine,

His colleague stated he was left isolated after falling out with him after working with him for 18 years.

Mr. Connolly confirmed what he said.

What's the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thomasdylan

I predict a stellar attendance record from this lady.

32 and this is her first full time job?

I predict a stellar attendance record from this lady.

32 and this is her first full time job?

Wouldn't be hard to beat some of the other options on the card.

Missing 50% of committee meetings.

Voting when not there.

The bar is not set very high

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thomasdylan

Wouldn't be hard to beat some of the other options on the card.

I'm sure she'll manage it. She only has the job a few weeks and enough bad decisions she's made in the past have come out. I reckon there's plenty more mistakes in the future.

If there's another election, called, could she lose her seat? I can't imagine not paying rent for years until she has to be brought to court is something people want from their elected officials.

I'm sure she'll manage it. She only has the job a few weeks and enough bad decisions she's made in the past have come out. I reckon there's plenty more mistakes in the future.

If there's another election, called, could she lose her seat? I can't imagine not paying rent for years until she has to be brought to court is something people want from their elected officials.

She could lose her seat. Or she could walk it as most people don't seem to really care too much especially with the lack of options on that card.

Who knows, maybe they'll get more seats there.

People want competent TD's sure. But then again they re-elected Simon Harris. :)

The man that brought us. Cervical cancer scandal.

Child chemo cancellations

member that guy ?

Back in.

Mine,

His colleague stated he was left isolated after falling out with him after working with him for 18 years.

Mr. Connolly confirmed what he said.

What's the problem?

This is the problem:

"Interesting Character Mr. Connolly

Looks like he didn't care too much about his loyal staff."

Those words were not used at the hearing, not even by the unsuccessful party whom you are fond of quoting. Show me where anybody at the hearing described Mr McDonough as loyal or where anybody said that Jim Connolly didn't care about his staff. You are portraying an unsuccessful action as being successful, and you
    are selectively quoting the party who was found to have no case. I wouldn't even dignify your tactics by describing them as half-truths. Your honesty in this is worthy of the Shinners who were never in the IRA, and of the snake oil salesmen who bummed money from armchair gunmen in New York while describing themselves as being a "business friendly" party.
    Now go and attend to your "clap."