Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Curious Case of Violet-Anne Wynne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Calhoun wrote: »
    Well a distinction here is that she didn't pay a charity. Anyone stealing from charity really is scummy, I'd be more forgiving if it was a local council.

She just looks like another champagne socialist getting her fill at the trough.

She's well out of order, the MB issue was also out of order but a different self made party worsened saga, long running at that, (no pun intended).

• Registered Users Posts: 40,228 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Calhoun wrote: »
    Well a distinction here is that she didn't pay a charity. Anyone stealing from charity really is scummy, I'd be more forgiving if it was a local council.

She just looks like another champagne socialist getting her fill at the trough.

It's the same difference, it was funded from central government. It was essentially an offshoot quango.

It was closed down because the government pulled it's funding.

It couldn't close down fully because Clare County Council refused to take on the houses that were left over.

Now she says she didn't pay the rent because her husband was chronically ill and there was a dispute with the RRI.

She'll probably need to explain herself going forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Stealing from ANYONE is just not on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭blackbox

It's a disgrace that she didn't pay her rent, but it is also a poor reflection on recent governments that they didn't address the situation where anyone can get away without paying rent for years.

blackbox wrote: »
    It's a disgrace that she didn't pay her rent, but it is also a poor reflection on recent governments that they didn't address the situation where anyone can get away without paying rent for years.

A public rep cannot escape scrutiny though, and should lead by example.

Bet many SF TDs are totally unknown. More to follow I suspect. One could only join SF with a dodgy agenda given their past. Watch the space.

SF only going one way. Army Council rules, anyone can be elected, no scrutiny of who they are or anything, ML mouthpiece, lots of stuff under the table and hidden. Well if I think that, many more also think it, I am not alone.

And I don't care what anyone thinks of me....SF is toxic.

A public rep cannot escape scrutiny though, and should lead by example.

Bet many SF TDs are totally unknown. More to follow I suspect. One could only join SF with a dodgy agenda given their past. Watch the space.

SF only going one way. Army Council rules, anyone can be elected, no scrutiny of who they are or anything, ML mouthpiece, lots of stuff under the table and hidden. Well if I think that, many more also think it, I am not alone.

And I don't care what anyone thinks of me....SF is toxic.

Completely agree with your opener however I don't know the personal backgrounds of most politicians and would be at pains to even name the whole current government ministers, let alone know if they had rent arrears or tenants with rent arrears.
    Lots of politicians have stuff hidden like companies they forgot to list etc.. Not specific to SF.

Bowie wrote: »
    Completely agree with your opener however I don't know the personal backgrounds of most politicians and would be at pains to even name the whole current government ministers, let alone know if they had rent arrears or tenants with rent arrears.
    Lots of politicians have stuff hidden like companies they forgot to list etc.. Not specific to SF.

I know this too, but in fairness SF has a past, and it is still there too. Just under the surface IMO. I take your point about not knowing every potential TD's background, but most on a constituency level would know for sure. That is why I think many potential dodgy people have been elected for SF who have no grounding in a constituency. The logo was enough really. Total protest vote that may not replicate itself again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

I misread this woman's name as Violent Ann

I know this too, but in fairness SF has a past, and it is still there too. Just under the surface IMO. I take your point about not knowing every potential TD's background, but most on a constituency level would know for sure. That is why I think many potential dodgy people have been elected for SF who have no grounding in a constituency. The logo was enough really. Total protest vote that may not replicate itself again.

For me it's known. Not saying there's people who never heard or Sinn Fein in relation to the IRA but I highly doubt it.
    For many years we've either voted for FF/FG or ended up with them when we didn't and we hope they enact policies we like and when they do we are happy with that. I feel the same about every other party. If the policies ring my bell as it were, they'll get a vote.
    I think the big issue here is blue collar verses white collar crime. Yes there are those did time for serious offences, but we've also got your ones rent arrears and another lad shouting 'up the 'ra'. On the grand scale of things I couldn't give a fiddlers TBH. That's not defending or condoning, it's setting priorities.
    I think FF will destroy the place at a quicker pace than FG are that's my concern, not, Maria Bailey, Dara Murphy and they like. They stand to the character of the party as does 'up the 'ra' lad, but I'd still favour SF, based on housing alone than FF/FG.
    If SF was a protest vote what was FF, a sensible option? And what about FG's losses, concussion?
    A redo suits FF/FG because they have a bigger core vote. SF relied on the floaters and floaters gonna float...

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭Carodh

Boggles wrote: »
    How do you know he can't work, this was a few years ago right?

How do you know he is not back to work after his pretty serious illness?

Well he’s able to drive so he has to be seizure free for a number of years- so of course he’s able to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

It's the same difference, it was funded from central government. It was essentially an offshoot quango.

It was closed down because the government pulled it's funding.

It couldn't close down fully because Clare County Council refused to take on the houses that were left over.

Now she says she didn't pay the rent because her husband was chronically ill and there was a dispute with the RRI.

She'll probably need to explain herself going forward.

Fair enough i didn't know that.

Hopefully she will now set an example as she is now in a position to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

limnam wrote: »
    My understanding is she came out and said these are no longer her views on the topic.

Her views changed just in time. What a lucky break.

limnam wrote: »
    Mary Butler had Billy Kenneally knocking on the door of a child abuse victim of his cousin. To canvas for her. Billy Kenneally who knew about his cousin being a child abuser and never told the garda.

This is something worthy of discussion.

Nah,

Lets talk someone who was behind on their rent.

Off the stage.

WE could always talk about Gerry covering up what his brother was at and moving him on like a pedo priest...................

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

WE could always talk about Gerry covering up what his brother was at and moving him on like a pedo priest...................

Careful now. Mind the Peace Process

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

What about Michael Lowry...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

ah good old whataboutery, anyone can do what they like when they like and nobody is responsible for their actions as we always have someone who has done something worse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

there will be all sorts of desperate nonsense dragged up to smeer our party, it will not work, this is not the uk.
    a couple of idiots aren't going to change the reality that people want change and have had enough of the big 2 not delivering.

are you finally admitting to being SF/IRA EOTR ?

you've always stopped short in your nonsense and nuisance posts

fair play its great to see you confidence growing like that lol

after all anyone who has been here any length of time knows the kind of poster you are ...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭ger664

Just Released on Facebook by VAW
    The Sun newspaper and Dan Danaher published a story "New Sinn Fein TD refuses to pay €12k in rent arrears to homeless charity despite being elected to €96k-a-year job".

I want to be clear in saying that I am more than willing to pay back the arrears. Doing so is made more complicated as the Rural Resettlement Ireland is no longer in existence.

But if paying back the RRI isn't possible, I would like instead to pay the money back to a charity such as a mental health charity as those services are under-funded in the region.

My circumstances have changed now obviously. But at the time of the arrears, my partner was very ill with hemiplegic migraine, which leads to symptoms like those suffered by people having a stroke.

He was out of work as a result and we also had a sick child too so we were travelling back and forth to Limerick every day with him to the hospital.

It was a very difficult time for us but thankfully our circumstances have changed.

The gas thing is the local paper The Clare Champion ran this story on its front page last Thursday before the election.

Sounds like a family that hit a very bad patch to be honest, partner got extremely sick and couldn't work.

Could happen any of us, like I always say careful how you judge people we are all only 1 or 2 pieces of bad luck away from utter devastation.

Yeah, it was fierce bad luck for them that despite being so sick and them not being able to afford the €63 in rent a week, he managed to slip and fall in to her a few times and she got pregnant with 3 more kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,969 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Bowie wrote: »
    She's well out of order, the MB issue was also out of order but a different self made party worsened saga, long running at that, (no pun intended).

Good old whataboutery

• Registered Users Posts: 19,634 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

So, did he actually have stroke like symptoms, or did he have a type of migraine that can lead to stroke like symptoms?

For four years.

Gosh, I hope he'll be okay while she's in Dublin for the handful of Dáil sessions she might attend.

SF. Pay no rent, up the RA, honestly.

But it's the up the RA crowd that gets me. It hasn't gone away and that whiff of cordite off them will always be there for me.

But fair play to those who vote for them. I am sure they have worked it out for the dodgy candidates, if they even know their names.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Bill 2.0

Yeah, it was fierce bad luck for them that despite being so sick and them not being able to afford the €63 in rent a week, he managed to slip and fall in to her a few times and she got pregnant with 3 more kids.

His brain was the problem, apparently not his mickey.

This country is ****ed going into the future with people like this. Can't pay for **** all but they have more kids than anyone else and those kids will go on to repeat the same nonsense as their parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,756 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

People just voted for a Margaret Cash.

lol.

You know what to do at the upcoming election.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,717 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

there will be all sorts of desperate nonsense dragged up to smeer our party, it will not work, this is not the uk.
    a couple of idiots aren't going to change the reality that people want change and have had enough of the big 2 not delivering.

Our party?

In fairness, I have heard numerous posters use this word the past week or so.
    Seems SF members are coming out of the closet so to speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Its the online army init

https://www.sinnfein.ie/sfos

• Registered Users Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Typical Shinner.
    Wanting to live free at someone else's expense.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

blanch152 wrote: »
    Our new TD from Clare has a strange history and stranger views it seems.

Firstly, it seems that she is a former anti-vaxxer.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/election-2020/they-dont-reflect-my-current-view-or-sinn-fein-policy-td-retracts-controversial-hpv-comments-38954563.html

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/election-2020/sinn-fein-td-made-attack-on-the-hpv-vaccine-38952559.html

"On Facebook, she compared the dangers posed by the "ingredients" in vaccinations to changing where you buy coffee.

The first-time TD also said the compulsory vaccination of children, which was introduced in Italy, was "medical tyranny""

Mad conspiracy theory stuff from her. She has now retracted it, but as in the case of the SF MEP who had similar mad views, will she refuse to confirm whether her own children have been vaccinated? This type of dangerous nonsense from any of our public representatives just shouldn't happen.

And then there is her history of paying (or rather not paying) rent.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/5096652/sinn-fein-violet-anne-wynne-charity-rent-arrears/

When I saw the headline, I was thinking that maybe she was refusing on principle to pay €3,000 a month to some vulture fund. Not at all. She owes €12k to a charity, yes a charity that subsequently went bust due to lack of funding. €63 a week for four years is what she refused to pay!!

This isn't someone without an education surviving on the breadline - she has a degree in psychology. Am I the only one to think that the people of Clare were mad to elect her a TD?

There is a view out there that Sinn Fein are the party of the entitlement class who want everything for nothing and someone else to pay for it. It seems that at least one of their TDs is trying to show the way that can be done.

And what did Eoin O'Broin do this morning when he was asked about it? Attacked the journalist and the newspaper. Shooting the messenger and whataboutery seem to be the standard defence of "new politics".

I am sure that there will be more to come out about this woman but Sinn Fein have shown a strange inability to be out in front of these stories in the last few days.

Wow they really don't do screening do they?

• Registered Users Posts: 30,595 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Part of my thought this but another part of me says they are happy having running somebody who may have a interesting past. This may be part of the change people voted for that Sinn Féin are open and accepting.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Bill 2.0

Why bother?

The fanatical chuckies will vote for whoever they put out there anyway and apparently the normal Joe Soap will now as well if they make some vague promises about "change".