Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corona virus in waterford

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭crazyman

Cabaal wrote: »
    or to spread misinformation.

I sincerely hope it is misinformation and not a reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭91wx763

Knickers being gotten in a twist at Paddy Brown's.
    Originally posted by Paddy Brown's

In response to scurrilous rumours regarding an “outbreak” of COVID-19 in Paddy Brown’s, we’d love to hear the opinion of the faceless cowards spreading these rumours as to why we haven’t received any correspondence from the HSE requesting contact tracing details for the customers who frequented Paddy Brown’s at the time of the so called “outbreak”. We can assure all of our valued customers that there is absolutely no truth whatsoever in the lies that are being spread by these narrow minded fools.
    https://www.facebook.com/100002939725162/posts/3166673163440643/

Was the girl that came back from Spain there ?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭spookwoman

bookworms wrote: »
    Where can the hub map be found?

https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

91wx763 wrote: »

What girl?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Motivator

91wx763 wrote: »
    Knickers being gotten in a twist at Paddy Brown's.

https://www.facebook.com/100002939725162/posts/3166673163440643/

It wouldn’t be Covid I’d be worried about catching in that pub. Desperate place.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭Muttley79

Motivator wrote: »
    It wouldn’t be Covid I’d be worried about catching in that pub. Desperate place.

Chances are high of getting a dose of the clap and covid under the same roof!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,440 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

190! fcuk! any in waterford?

Wanderer78 wrote: »

No breakdown yet

Wanderer78 wrote: »

Have heard a group of 10 to 12 friends of a confirmed case are waiting results (believed a joint passed about)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

crazyman wrote: »
    Long time lurker both feel the need to post.

Have it on good authority that GPs are being inundated with COVID calls. From what I have heard from this ‘front line’ source is that a single person who tested positive then went on to attend multiple house parties instead of self isolating.

I just feel the need to pass on this information for people to stay safe.

Expect a surge....

whats the good authority?
    you got a data source?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

I could name this person,who tested positive,but didnt quarantine after return from abroad (non green list country) and known to have attended at least 1 house party

Now,il not name them....but this story is true

ohhhh sorry u said it was true... ahhh that makes it all good then so I must believe u

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭crazyman

robtri wrote: »
    whats the good authority?
    you got a data source?

Two sources whom work in the healthcare profession handling COVID calls to GPs and then forward patients for testing. Both have said that there seems to be a similar pattern/story behind the majority of calls regarding a positive case attending parties. That’s all I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭OhToBeByTheSea

Fourth highest cases per capita in Europe at the moment.

With our numbers increasing again, I don't understand why people are still whinging about wearing masks.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,739 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

A lot of commentary about how silly it was to exclude any spectators from the GAA matches. I understand the logic behind this decision, according to Ronan Glynn, was not so much the capacity of our stadiums, the majority of which can accommodate a socially-distanced crowd quite easily, but more the entrance and exit of these people. Gathering in car parks, ticket offices, stalls etc and hanging around chatting before and after the games. These activities can lead to the transmission of the virus and are hard to organise safely.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭AUDI20

A lot of commentary about how silly it was to exclude any spectators from the GAA matches. I understand the logic behind this decision, according to Ronan Glynn, was not so much the capacity of our stadiums, the majority of which can accommodate a socially-distanced crowd quite easily, but more the entrance and exit of these people. Gathering in car parks, ticket offices, stalls etc and hanging around chatting before and after the games. These activities can lead to the transmission of the virus and are hard to organise safely.
    I have been covering GAA games for the last five weeks and this scenario I have not seen at all, There is no Ticket offices anymore, its by email tickets only. because of the small amount of spectators, 100max there was very little of groups gathering together at any stage. Have seen more people closer in supermarkets and restaurants to be honest. how many cases of Covid-19 have come from the se outdoor events if any. Lot of these new restrictions just don't make sense to me and I would have been in support of them up to now.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭AUDI20

Fourth highest cases per capita in Europe at the moment.

With our numbers increasing again, I don't understand why people are still whinging about wearing masks.
    Maybe because since Masks became mandatory cases have actually increased, but I do agree with wearing of masks indoors

• Registered Users Posts: 29,440 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

AUDI20 wrote: »
    Maybe because since Masks became mandatory cases have actually increased, but I do agree with wearing of masks indoors

or is the increase due to the reduction in restrictions after the original wave?

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭Flow Motion

And so the fear, scaremongering, gossip and misinformation flames begin to rise from the embers once more. And that is even before the schools re-open! The Govt's new regs are reducing the amount of people in "indoor" setting from 50 to 6 yet are determined to let the schools re-open. Surely class sizes average at about 30? The Govt has a blinkered stubborn vision to re-open schools in Sept regardless of the cost to the rest of society. How do they believe that approx 1 million (pupils & staff) are going to manoeuvre a safe passage through this?

Since the change of Govt there has been a real lack of leadership and conflicting information emerging. Surely in the interest of national unity we should have retained the same Taoiseach & Min for Health for continuity?? TBH Micheal Martin does not come across very well and the less said for Conehead Donnelly the better. Its all new "plans" and "visions" etc. Colour codes and phases.

Giving the Gardai "extra or special" powers is a dark road to go down. NPHET has asked to allow Gardai to enter +/or close pubs if they choose. More worrying is that they are looking to also enter private houses with regards to parties or gatherings. I understand this is currently being referred to the Attorney General. Its a slippery slope if you chose to go down this road.

Coincidentally, the HSE said that as of yesterday that are 20 confirmed cases of Covid in hospitals in Ireland with 7 of those being in ICU. Similarly the WHO has said 80% of Covid globally are "mild" or asymptomatic. Even if you look @ the death rate in Ireland since mid-April it's been pretty small.

So if we choose to adhere strictly and follow the Govt than we as a society will suffer irreparable damage in the coming months not from the virus itself but from social isolation, suicide, mental health issues, undiagnosed cancers, economic meltdown, job losses but to name a few. We cannot mothball our lives pining for a vaccine that may not ever arrive. We have to learn to live with this pandemic. Its not going away and will be with us for quite some time yet.

And before OP's pile in with their wagging fingers and tut-tutting I personally wear a mask where appropriate, maintain social distancing, have not been in a pub since the end of February in short have acted responsibly throughout. However I think the the Government has lost the respect and goodwill of the GP. How many more "important" or "crucial" steps are we to hear about. The only tipping point in the GP's frustration at being treated and spoken to like children. If we are good little boys and girls than we all get a gold star. The outrageous footage of the bar in Dublin last weekend is the reason for these new restrictions. The reckless youth. How dare they eh? Thing is the current surge has its roots in the large meat factories or direct provision centres where ppl are forced to work + live in close quarters. But as they are only low paid and not the entitled youth than it does not matter. The optics are better if its shown to be irresponsible. Its all about personal choices from here on in. If you are vulnerable or fear the uncertainty of whats going on then stay @ home or lock yourself away. And stay away from social media and all the rumours!

To end I'd like to draw your attention to one of the stranger things about the latest batch of Govt Covid rules. The food-pubs and restaurants have had their opening hours extended by a half an hour from 11pm to 11.30pm. The reasoning behind this is to try and curtail the dreaded house party. Personally I think that if you are drinking in a pub till 11.30pm you are more likely to go to a house party. But the Govt + NPHET knows best:rolleyes:. Beggars belief. Can't wait to watch the 2020 episode of Reeling in the Years :pac:

Seems like the rainbow has just got a little cloudier...... "incoherent" sums is up nicely!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/varadkar-and-martin-clash-at-tense-cabinet-meeting-as-incoherent-new-restrictions-criticised-1.4333516

Scroll down and you can view the actual letter & recommedations NPHET gave to Govt yesterday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

By far and away you are more likely to see house parties/sessions after pub closing time. Throughout lockdown ball we've seen is the absolute wasters who can't cope without "socialising" aka drink and drug sessions engaging in BBQs/Garden parties that turn into sessions.

When we have the pubs back open we will have a compounding effect of drinking under the pretence of distancing in the pub and then crowding into a session while drunk.

The school opening would be laughable if it wasn't so bloody serious. Absolutely no plan. Back to normal with fluffy wording. Sleepwalking willingly into disaster.

Unfortunately the school's have become a political football. Micheal Martin is sticking to his guns and wants to have them open regardless of the consequences. Some ego. Just to say he was the fella that got the kids and back to normality. TBH it's going to be a logistical nightmare. No real coherent plan just throw some money at it and see what happens. Realistically there are going to be outbreaks in schools no matter what precautions are taken.

It all started to unravel when they Govt decided to shorten the initial phased plan. Of course the change in Govt personnel did not help. However as with most Governments senior civil servants usually do all the behind the scenes work so they would not change from one administration to the next. So it points to one of the new political heavyweights having an agenda i.e the Taoiseach : Micheal Martin. Seems a stubborn sort. Not one to back down or change his mind. Unless you drive your car under the influence whilst in your late 40's whilst on a provisional licence;)

Now that himself & Leo are bickering its only a matter of time before the Government fails. As for the poor kids and the schools its going to be one stop start bewildering place for the next few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

AUDI20 wrote: »
    I have been covering GAA games for the last five weeks and this scenario I have not seen at all, There is no Ticket offices anymore, its by email tickets only. because of the small amount of spectators, 100max there was very little of groups gathering together at any stage. Have seen more people closer in supermarkets and restaurants to be honest. how many cases of Covid-19 have come from the se outdoor events if any. Lot of these new restrictions just don't make sense to me and I would have been in support of them up to now.

I dont know how anyone can take any logic from yesterday's announcement,Waterfords first positive case in over a month is from foreign travel,and as you say the GAA grounds have been open for five weeks without any bother,but no let's stop a few auld lads having a chat walking back to their cars after watching a game of hurling in Walsh park instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

One new case in Waterford

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭jopax

Heard there was a confirmed case in sanofi, I'm not 100% sure if that's true

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Tiger Roll

jopax wrote:
    Heard there was a confirmed case in sanofi, I'm not 100% sure if that's true

It was in Teva I believe

Tiger Roll wrote: »
    It was in Teva I believe

I heard that too about Teva but that someone was contacted by the HSE to say they were a close contact with someone so they are deep cleaning where that person was working.
    So maybe it's a mix up with the 2 companies I'm not sure but your definitely right about Teva but I'm not sure that the person has been tested yet

Sorry lads the gov.ie report shows 3 so the one mentioned today will be tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 10 March2323

Stephen Donnelly made some profound comments on Newstalk this evening. Interviewed by Mark Cagney he emphasised the reason why all the students and school community would be safe from covid was that schools are controlled environments! Fascinated how anyone can think 30 students in a class are never going to interact, talk, eat..but of course they will have the miracle masks on for 6 hours per day! I'm all in favour of opening up schools but they should be opened safely..by that I mean letting second level students rotate perhaps and use a blended learning format. These new overcrowded controlled learning environments will be hell for some, isolation and over regulation.

March2323 wrote: »
    Stephen Donnelly made some profound comments on Newstalk this evening. Interviewed by Mark Cagney he emphasised the reason why all the students and school community would be safe from covid was that schools are controlled environments! Fascinated how anyone can think 30 students in a class are never going to interact, talk, eat..but of course they will have the miracle masks on for 6 hours per day! I'm all in favour of opening up schools but they should be opened safely..by that I mean letting second level students rotate perhaps and use a blended learning format. These new overcrowded controlled learning environments will be hell for some, isolation and over regulation.

Couldn't agree with you more my stomach is in knots at the thoughts of the kids going back.