Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corona virus in waterford

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

I'm only surprised it took this long tbh. Some yokes around this place.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭reni10

I think the spread is somewhat linked to people traveling to Dublin for work or hospitals appointments and things like that and bringing it back to Waterford.

Time to lockdown Dublin and prevent further spread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

You think....NPHET/HSE will have rather better idea than you with contract tracing

• Registered Users Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Speak Now

I dont think we had numbers like this at the height of it, very disappointing.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭spookwoman

They only started giving a breakdown of the counties on the 30/03/2020 and on that date we had 37 total cases. It was the 14/04/2020 when we had over 10 and on that date we had 11(101). 24/04/2020 we had 6(135) and after that was the odd ones or twos.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭OhToBeByTheSea

That's a very disappointing jump in numbers but, if we're all being really honest, it's not surprising. I can see, and I'm sure everyone else can see, that people seem so desperate for a return to "normality" that they're purposefully not following infection control measures.

This attitude of "the old and vulnerable just need to mind themselves and let the rest of us get back to normal" is exactly why we're seeing numbers like this.
    If you are young and healthy, that's great, good for you, you could probably fight this but think of who you could pass it on to and who that person could pass it on to and so on.

The masks, hand sanitizing, social distancing, all of those measures, only work when combined and done correctly.

If you still don't know how to put on and take off a mask (and there's plenty that still don't know or are just blatantly not doing it properly because they're having a huff over being told to wear one), watch a video by an official organisation. There's lots of videos online, done by lay people, which are incorrect and actually render the masks useless.

Your whole family do not need to go shopping with you, one person per trolley, get in, get what you need and get out.

The longer people fight these infection control measures, the longer these restrictions will be in place.

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Nypd

Positive case confirmed in Waterford Park, school has been advised not to close.

https://www.facebook.com/120792148007585/posts/3434255246661242/?extid=OwEGXIG1vN5CaVA5&d=n

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭AUDI20

reni10 wrote: »
    I think the spread is somewhat linked to people traveling to Dublin for work or hospitals appointments and things like that and bringing it back to Waterford.

Time to lockdown Dublin and prevent further spread.

Can you show us some proof to back this up or is it something you just plucked out of the sky?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭BBM77

That's a very disappointing jump in numbers but, if we're all being really honest, it's not surprising. I can see, and I'm sure everyone else can see, that people seem so desperate for a return to "normality" that they're purposefully not following infection control measures.

This attitude of "the old and vulnerable just need to mind themselves and let the rest of us get back to normal" is exactly why we're seeing numbers like this.
    If you are young and healthy, that's great, good for you, you could probably fight this but think of who you could pass it on to and who that person could pass it on to and so on.

The masks, hand sanitizing, social distancing, all of those measures, only work when combined and done correctly.

If you still don't know how to put on and take off a mask (and there's plenty that still don't know or are just blatantly not doing it properly because they're having a huff over being told to wear one), watch a video by an official organisation. There's lots of videos online, done by lay people, which are incorrect and actually render the masks useless.

Your whole family do not need to go shopping with you, one person per trolley, get in, get what you need and get out.

The longer people fight these infection control measures, the longer these restrictions will be in place.

I don’t disagree with you but I think you are being a bit harsh. The restrictions take a psychological toll as well. Social distancing is very hard on anybody who is single, living alone, an only child, owner of a business that had to close etc. Not everybody has a close family they live with. People may well be desperate for a return to normality but not out of a disregard for people vulnerable to COVID-19 but a simple need for more social contact. People are social animals after all.

PS not making excuses for anybody not wearing masks or not using hand sanitizers on the way into public buildings. You people deserve what you get.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Nypd wrote: »
    Positive case confirmed in Waterford Park, school has been advised not to close.

https://www.facebook.com/120792148007585/posts/3434255246661242/?extid=OwEGXIG1vN5CaVA5&d=n
    1e20f1a7582acd3980e838d133a671bcea4dbd1e22257a683da5047d20ebfb0e.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭Flow Motion

BBM77 wrote: »
    I don’t disagree with you but I think you are being a bit harsh. The restrictions take a psychological toll as well. Social distancing is very hard on anybody who is single, living alone, an only child, owner of a business that had to close etc. Not everybody has a close family they live with. People may well be desperate for a return to normality but not out of a disregard for people vulnerable to COVID-19 but a simple need for more social contact. People are social animals after all.

PS not making excuses for anybody not wearing masks or not using hand sanitizers on the way into public buildings. You people deserve what you get.

The psychological effects of C-19 will far out last the disease itself IMO. Heard someone on the radio @ weekend saying the term "social distancing" should really have been termed "safe distancing" as its quite negative in its present format.

God forbid we should offend people with words like social distancing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Benimar

8 cases in Waterford today (208 in country)

• Registered Users Posts: 38,386 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Announcement of the definite opening of wet pubs on the 21st Sep will be made tomorrow afaik

Talk of Dublin pubs staying closed while others open around the country

Only a handful of pubs yet to open up here

A very very stupid decision tbh but sure look FF are back. That's what we get.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,444 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

wait till they get building!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭Hijpo

With schools open pubs will make no difference

Hijpo wrote: »
    With schools open pubs will make no difference

They will both feed each other. Mammy and Daddy or even big brother/sister in the pub at the weekend, social distancing exists until a few drinks in and the "mad craic" rules don't apply to us behaviour takes off. Up at the school jawing then about how great a weekend they had, all guffawing and shouting over the top of each other like the ignoramuses they are. Little neglected urchins sent in then to finish the job, infect their classmates and send the virus back home to more families.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭Hijpo

They will both feed each other. Mammy and Daddy or even big brother/sister in the pub at the weekend, social distancing exists until a few drinks in and the "mad craic" rules don't apply to us behaviour takes off. Up at the school jawing then about how great a weekend they had, all guffawing and shouting over the top of each other like the ignoramuses they are. Little neglected urchins sent in then to finish the job, infect their classmates and send the virus back home to more families.

Yeah but sure drinking in numbers without social distancing was happening in houses anyway. If the pubs are allowed open unrestricted its wrong but if they are still expected to adhere to guidelines then i can't see it being any worse than sessions in houses.
    Kids were inevitably going to bring it in to schools. Two different schools with cases today, without the pubs being allowed open. It's going to spread either way. Protect yourself and stay out of the pub that's what I'll be doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Junior

And that attitude has been encouraged by FF and the way NPHET has carried on, that's grand lads but if you look at experience from around the world, fit, healthy people in their 30s will have longer term problems. FF are literally risking your health and future to get over a problem now, and those younger healthy people will end up with Lung, heart and repsiratory issues later in life, but that's okay Mickey Martin got to be Taoiseach.

Shower of c*nts.

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭jopax

There was a confirmed case in the Mercy secondary school yesterday also.
    This will be our new normal now, the government will just keep going until something gives, probably the hospitals under too much pressure.

jopax wrote: »
    There was a confirmed case in the Mercy secondary school yesterday also.
    This will be our new normal now, the government will just keep going until something gives, probably the hospitals under too much pressure.

At the rate things are going that won't be too long

• Registered Users Posts: 38,386 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Those plan levels are some load of you know what

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭Flow Motion

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Those plan levels are some load of you know what

Imagine that these planks are getting paid to formulate this latest pile of rubbish. First it was phases, then some kinda colour coded thing now we are on to the next "level" of BS! Ian Paisley Junior was on the money when said of Micheal Martin last week "he is dour enough to be a Protestant"! We are turning into some right craic of a nation. Wake me up in 2022 please!

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭jopax

How the fcuk has the dail been told to self isolate as a precaution due to a suspected case.
    Yet children all across the country have been sitting in rooms with positive cases, & they weren't sent home to isolate.
    The hypocrisy in the government just defies belief

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Benimar

12 more cases in Waterford (357 :eek: in county)

Odd was reported as 8 and now its 7 for yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

spookwoman wrote: »
    At the rate things are going that won't be too long

Thats a hard call
    As we have only 13 in ICU at the min across the whole country, even with all these cases