Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corona virus in waterford

Dungarvan should be banned for two years, the ****ing clowns.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Apparently the mayor didn't know the player in question had had a test taken

https://waterford-news.ie/2020/10/09/mayor-denies-knowing-gaa-player-was-tested-for-covid/#.X4DTQpNKj-Y

He's either lying or not up to the job.

Whichever it is, he ought to be straight out the gap.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,944 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Waterford has a suspected case in ICU

• Registered Users Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭kuang1

As the covid officer for Dungarvan I think the Mayor may need to consider his position. An absolute shocking decision and apparently they were socializing around the town after the win.

Were in the lady belle with no social distancing and then went over to lawlors. They were 35+ in number and in the back room function room, no table service there. Bar service only.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭waterford

Offaly Senior B Football Championship final. (Last Sunday)
    The game was overshadowed by Durrow manager Shane Curran, the former Roscommon goalkeeper, stepping aside from his role on the evening before the game. Curran tweeted that there was 'blatant disregard to public health' being shown by the game going ahead, claiming that there had been two positive Covid-19 tests in the Durrow club.
    In a statement released by the Offaly county board, it was said that no Durrow senior player had tested positive for Covid-19. There had been a positive test connected to the club and a senior player was identified as a close contact. The statement added: "This player was subsequently tested and received a negative result. As per HSE Guidelines, this player must restrict his movements for 14 days."

• Registered Users Posts: 29,455 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

spookwoman wrote:

I wish them a speedy recovery

How many ICU beds has the south east available now?

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    I wish them a speedy recovery

How many ICU beds has the south east available now?

Details here of vacant beds https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/covid-19-daily-operations-update-2000-09-october-2020.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

spookwoman wrote: »

So, there is someone in ICU, clearly very sick if there already with an illness not related to Covid. And he/she may have Covid as well. Of course it will be counted as a Covid case in ICU if it’s positive. More massaging of the figures to scare monger.

How is suspected case in ICU massaging the numbers or scaremongering. It's suspected not confirmed.

I 'll tell you whats scary. We have 9 free general beds and 2 free ICU beds at the moment in a hospital that has limited capacity for emergency operations out of hours, and a waiting list of years just to get an appointment to get ct, mri, ultrasound, consultant and even an operation. Not to mention no cardiac care after 5pm and at the weekends, and that was happening before Covid.

How is suspected case in ICU massaging the numbers or scaremongering. It's suspected not confirmed.

I 'll tell you whats scary. We have 9 free general beds and 2 free ICU beds at the moment in a hospital that has limited capacity for emergency operations out of hours, and a waiting list of years just to get an appointment to get ct, mri, ultrasound, consultant and even an operation. Not to mention no cardiac care after 5pm and at the weekends, and that was happening before Covid.

i suspect this is why nphet hit the panic button last weekend, i.e. lack of icu beds across the country, these numbers are disturbing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

It's quite embarrassing this guy is the mayor and can't give a straight answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭OhToBeByTheSea

Or, maybe, just maybe, this patient has covid and he/she was being treated for covid and he/she has now been admitted to the ICU for more specialised care because he/she is extremely unwell with covid? Maybe it's just not a big conspiracy?

I've said already on this thread, just with regard to outpatient appointments, it's going to take 12-18 months for us to recover and that's without any further restrictions being introduced. The delays with waiting lists for everything are going to be absolutely horrendous.

Maybe if the people, who are protesting about masks now, put their energy into protesting about the state of our healthcare system for the last 20 years, something could have been done before we ended up in the state we're in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

i suspect this is why nphet hit the panic button last weekend, i.e. lack of icu beds across the country, these numbers are disturbing

Didn't the HSE come out after that and say they didn't share the same view as nphet with regards the hospitals being overrun?

unsure to be honest, it just makes sense to me that this is why nphet panicked, i could be wrong of course, id certainly panic if i was in that situation, with that data

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭91wx763

It's quite embarrassing this guy is the mayor and can't give a straight answer.

He went down to Slieverue to get his picture taken with a bunch of Kilkenny councillors who were "celebrating" the New Ross railway being turned into a greenway, when questioned on facebook about this and the general FG transport policy he made a total show of himself and was deservedly slaughtered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

The sad thing is the "lads" in the gas club he was slobbering over and their ilk will ensure him and his ilk get re-elected time and time again.

You get the politicians you deserve. And our lot speak volumes about the character and IQ of the population at large.

The sad thing is the "lads" in the gas club he was slobbering over and their ilk will ensure him and his ilk get re-elected time and time again.

You get the politicians you deserve. And our lot speak volumes about the character and IQ of the population at large.

i disagree to a degree here, people have a tendency to lie, in such situations, politicians have limited abilities at times, to truly change things, im unsure how you re equating levels of intelligence towards voting choices?

You don't believe voting for the local ham face whose sole qualification involves shaking hands and talking ****e at funerals etc reflects on the IQ of the person voting for them?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

You don't believe voting for the local ham face whose sole qualification involves shaking hands and talking ****e at funerals etc reflects on the IQ of the person voting for them?

Elected reps need no qualifications. They merely have to be popular....and this is the same the world over apart form maybe China and North Korea.

Asdfgh2020 wrote: »
    Elected reps need no qualifications. They merely have to be popular....and this is the same the world over apart form maybe China and North Korea.

Missing the point though. The behaviour from these politicians, the kind of things they do to make themselves popular, they're appealing to a certain type of voter. It's like they go out of their way NOT to be seen as intellectual or even too polished.

They are not dumb, far from it, but they are well aware a lot of their voter base very much so is, and hence why we get the politicians we do.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Another 10 confirmed cases reported for Waterford yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

I think with these numbers its inevitable that we will go to level 5 ,my guess would be before the level 3 restrictions are up ,we will be in lockdown for November and into December in a bid to "Save Christmas",then we'll open everything back up and in February we will be looking at another lockdown in a bid to "Save St Patrick's Day".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

They'll try the circuit breaker tactic first I expect - half term plus 2 weeks then a review

• Registered Users Posts: 38,388 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Mental health cant take this anymore

Media is all doom and gloom and will be getting worse and worse. The one thing im looking forward too is the GAA championships but now they will be cancelled

Dickheads will always be dickheads and there not going too listen

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭AUDI20

Missing the point though. The behaviour from these politicians, the kind of things they do to make themselves popular, they're appealing to a certain type of voter. It's like they go out of their way NOT to be seen as intellectual or even too polished.

They are not dumb, far from it, but they are well aware a lot of their voter base very much so is, and hence why we get the politicians we do.

This must qualify as the most stupid post of the day, just doesn't make any sense what so ever.

AUDI20 wrote: »
    This must qualify as the most stupid post of the day, just doesn't make any sense what so ever.

This is pretty much the type of person in fairness.

Let me say it a different way: "Dey do be shaking hands and acting like a big dope so de ordineree peeple don't think der 2 smart cos dey mite be afrayd of dat"

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭AUDI20

This is pretty much the type of person in fairness.

Let me say it a different way: "Dey do be shaking hands and acting like a big dope so de ordineree peeple don't think der 2 smart cos dey mite be afrayd of dat"

You might have not realised it but shaking hands is a thing of the past, since March actually. and as for acting the dope can you give an example? your post looks like it was written by a 3YR old. Must say you have a poor opinion of your fellow citizens, careful you don't fall of your high horse.

AUDI20 wrote: »
    and as for acting the dope can you give an example? your post looks like it was written by a 3YR old. Must say you have a poor opinion of your fellow citizens, careful you don't fall of your high horse.

I have a terrible and entirely well founded opinion of my fellow citizens tbh.

I believe the discussion beforehand was discussing Mayor of Waterford Damien Geoghegan's recent behaviour. Local bigwig/small fry maybe but FG saw him fit to stand as a candidate for national parliament, their other prospective candidate didn't cover himself in glory lately either.

But that is the calibre of representative Fine Gael saw as fitting for County Waterford, in fact they ran both so probably thought they would get both over the line.

I mean look at who is voting for Michael Lowry for years or the Healy Rae's. A lot of us have a great laugh about Trump/Dubya Bush in his time and their gaffes but we have yokes like these hanging around collecting very large salaries from the taxpayer for years.

So I maintain, we get the the politicians we deserve and it is 100% a reflection of the intelligence and moral character of the citizens voting for them that that is where they choose their vote to go.

I mean look at who is voting for Michael Lowry for years or the Healy Rae's. A lot of us have a great laugh about Trump/Dubya Bush in his time and their gaffes but we have yokes like these hanging around collecting very large salaries from the taxpayer for years.

Trump is far from a laugh, his election is proof, the world of politics has entered another dark age, thankfully we haven't gone full retard in regards voting just yet, but our presidential election showed, we re well capable of it