Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish men voted Ugliest in the World. Again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

surely this is a AH thread...no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭con747

Them voters need to go to specsavers

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,718 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

We're a bit pasty, and a bit ruddy so that probably adds to the impression of being unhealthy and hence unattractive.

That said, I've never known an Irishman abroad fail to get into plenty of pants with his wit and charm, so swings and roundabouts.

I do however think we have the finest collection of naturally attractive women going. And by naturally I mean fresh creamy skinned, shiny haired, big glossy eyed attractiveness. I would have no time for white girls with a heavy tan, real or otherwise. Its all in the eye of the beholder I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Wouldn't worry about it. It's a load of bollix. No credible website would rate Irish women above Italian women.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

As a Clare man I can honestly say that the best looking men are in Kerry/Donegal and the best looking Women are in Derry/Donegal
    Rhymes I know.

Im greedy I swing both ways on the roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Wouldn't worry about it. It's a load of bollix. No credible website would rate Irish women above Italian women.

I actually didn't see the list, but where are the Croatians on the list? Never met an ugly Croatian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

I actually didn't see the list, but where are the Croatians on the list? Never met an ugly Croatian.

Not rated. Seems to be just 20 nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

Being a predominantly and relatively uniformly straight, white male nation always makes us an easy target. Having anything other than those three is off limits for such vote of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭sallysue2

bit harsh, i think ye are all lovely.

bfa1509 wrote: »
    Being a predominantly and relatively uniformly straight, white male nation always makes us an easy target. Having anything other than those three is off limits for such vote of course.

As opposed to all the predominantly gay black nations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

Bobblehats wrote: »
    As if we weren’t diverse enough looking a bunch of caucasians. Where did Papa New Guinea rank

Do you mean Papua New Guinea? I think Papa New Guinea might be a rapper. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

irish women get 6th?? ...must be all the eastern european women living here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Plopsu wrote: »
    I think Papa New Guinea might be a rapper. :pac:

Papa Shango! Don’t they still wear bones in their noses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

It takes a lot of work to be this ugly and smell like dead wet dog glad it was noticed although you'd need anosmia to not know I'm in the same town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Regardless of our ranking we’ve come a long way. Ten years ago nobody would admit to internet dating, now it’s more or less the done thing. My married friends know I’ve used Tinder and at first they thought it was a bit odd but grand.

I can only imagine the laughter if I told them I had signed up to a site called beautifulpeople.com

Even more so if I got voted off it :)

Out of curiosity - and I’m not starting an “Irish women are ugly” debate but what’s the ration for other countries? I don’t know stats for other websites but if you said there each woman gets five times more matches than men do I’d be willing to believe that so is 6% to 30% not about a normal ratio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

What I would like to know - is there anything we can do about it?

Moisturise? Hair style? Facial hair? Fake tan? Plastic surgery??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

saabsaab wrote: »
    What I would like to know - is there anything we can do about it?

Moisturise? Hair style? Facial hair? Fake tan? Plastic surgery??

Yes there is something you can do.

- Use skin care products, especially for heavy drinkers and smokers.
    - You can have your beards but please properly trim them, many Irish guys just don't care. Go to the barber at least every month.
    - Wear nicer clothes, for example a proper leather jacket.
    - Teeth are the most important thing that Irish guys are lacking in. Take proper care of your teeth and if they start rotting away, get some facings done. If they get too yellow, get them whitened. Also please floss.

I personally don't think that all irish guys are ugly at all, there are many handsome bucks around.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

machaseh wrote: »
    Yes there is something you can do.

- Use skin care products, especially for heavy drinkers and smokers.
    - You can have your beards but please properly trim them, many Irish guys just don't care. Go to the barber at least every month.
    - Wear nicer clothes, for example a proper leather jacket.
    - Teeth are the most important thing that Irish guys are lacking in. Take proper care of your teeth and if they start rotting away, get some facings done. If they get too yellow, get them whitened. Also please floss.

I personally don't think that all irish guys are ugly at all, there are many handsome bucks around.

I do all of the above but my dress sense is more rugged and rustic rather than the clean cut version.

Clean but just a bit more like a North American tattooed bearded lumberjack, than a shiny clone of the quintessential regular guy.

For some odd reason I've never had issues with dating, the women who are more classy intelligent and sober seem to like the rugged rough look.
    Saying sober I mean the type of woman who's emotionally capable of able to make up her own mind and not let her friends or society make up her mind. She's not partial to coke or drinks 4 bottle of vino in a weekend.

It's an urban myth that good women are discriminatory towards guys looks and how we present ourselves.

Looking at the blood vessels in someone's eyes goes a lot further than you think.

Individually and being not part of the tribe or flock seems to be intriguing interesting and different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

osarusan wrote: »
    The website BeautifulPeople.com vets poential new members by having existing members vote on whether they are attractive enough to be allowed to become a member.

Approval rate for Irish men was at 6%, putting Irish men at the bottom of the list, joint with UK and Poland. For Irish women it was 29%.

Much much more than anything else, this is a website out for publicity.

If it's for real, can you imagine the narcissistic morons that would be on it - christ they wouldn't even be worth the ride - all that hassle and high maintenance ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

Wouldn't take much notice of any of these surveys. There are beautiful men and women everywhere. Anything that's a bit different to us, I suppose we'd find attractive. e.g. As an Irish bloke, I find Mediterranean women attractive. That's not to say I don't find Irish women attractive.
    I was on a plane back from Spain recently and it was mainly older couples, late 50s and up, and nearly all of the Irish men were overweight, big guts and fat heads. Is this what awaits me!! This is one thing I do notice compared to some other countries, more overweight men, especially older men. Not sure if it's down to diet, weather, alcohol, genetics....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

Granadino wrote: »
    Wouldn't take much notice of any of these surveys. There are beautiful men and women everywhere. Anything that's a bit different to us, I suppose we'd find attractive. e.g. As an Irish bloke, I find Mediterranean women attractive. That's not to say I don't find Irish women attractive.
    I was on a plane back from Spain recently and it was mainly older couples, late 50s and up, and nearly all of the Irish men were overweight, big guts and fat heads. Is this what awaits me!! This is one thing I do notice compared to some other countries, more overweight men, especially older men. Not sure if it's down to diet, weather, alcohol, genetics....

It's because Irish people tend to do everything by car and they eat greasy food and drink like trucks.

Us Dutch people are generally less overweight (and that can be seen in the statistics) as we bike a lot.

machaseh wrote: »

Us Dutch people are generally less overweight (and that can be seen in the statistics) as we bike a lot.

You forgot to mention ye are as boring as Mass.

[Just kidding by the way, grand people]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Any list that has the Polish languishing down with the Irish in terms of attractiveness isn't worth a runny ****e.

Polish men are quite mediocre relative to their women folk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Polish men are quite mediocre relative to their women folk

I don't think Polish men are even remotely attractive. My partner is part Polish, I tell him he got his good looks from his Irish mammy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fireball81

Meh....who cares about some silly survey anyway, we all know ladies around the world love and appreciate our sense of humour and generous penis size!

Those things are the only things that really count lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I remember once a girl telling me she wasn't bothered about handsome good looks but wanted a man built like a bull. Not sure what that meant really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

sallysue2 wrote: »
    bit harsh, i think ye are all lovely.

Sally just friend zoned a nation .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I find it really hard to believe that only 6% of irish men got voted in. I think there are a lot of handsomen men that I see out and about in Dublin, I would say I am quite average looking and I got in and I wouldnt have said the members on the site were very noticeably more 'beautiful' than other dating websites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

saabsaab wrote: »
    I remember once a girl telling me she wasn't bothered about handsome good looks but wanted a man built like a bull. Not sure what that meant really.

So she could ride him like one in bed I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

We’re an awful looking nation of people, in fairness. Even our best looking “celebrities” are mostly mediocre.