Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Greatest League in the World 2024 [new thread available]

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭irishmanmick

Delighted to have European football confirmed now ... Another great performance tonight... Have to say, on that performance, I can't see Cork staying up ... They were dreadful ... Bohs could easily have had a few more goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Zebra3 wrote: »

If the IFRU and FAI can turn down income to accomadate a kicking session then government should be telling them to rev up and feck off with their request for tax payers bailouts stemming from income issues around Covid. If they can refuse rental income.....surely they are not as needy as they claim to be and tax payers money can be put to better use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭howiya

If the IFRU and FAI can turn down income to accomadate a kicking session then government should be telling them to rev up and feck off with their request for tax payers bailouts stemming from income issues around Covid. If they can refuse rental income.....surely they are not as needy as they claim to be and tax payers money can be put to better use.

How much would Dundalk be paying? Hardly going to make a dent and they'd still require the bailout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,183 ✭✭✭Guffy

Tbf the article suggests it's the IRFU refusing the game not the FAI

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

You'd expect the FAI to row in on Dundalks side, obviously this isn't happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

howiya wrote: »
    How much would Dundalk be paying? Hardly going to make a dent and they'd still require the bailout.

Weren't the FAI offering the Aviva to Bohs rent fee but they would have to cover operational costs? Six Nations is worth good money to the IRFU, wouldn't blame them as they'll make more from a strong Six Nations.

I don't know much about rugby but I'd imagine the six nations prize money is worth more than what dundalk would be paying to rent the stadium for a behind closed doors match.

I just think it's ridiculous to expect that the IRFU should drop their plans because somebody else wants to rent the stadium. And then to tie the demand to rent it to a much needed bailout is even more ridiculous

I was told somewhere in and around 100k plus. Not much in the big picture but principles of it aint right. If they took it they would need 100k less from the tax payers.

Guffy wrote: »
    Tbf the article suggests it's the IRFU refusing the game not the FAI

The FAI should be kicking up on behalf of Dundalk. However as the FAI hasnt changed much one would have to suspect there is still some bitterness in both camps towards DFC after ould Bill going public about Peak6 offering to manage the ground and FAI/IFRU being more than happy to allow the tax payer subsidise it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

I've said here before, the Fai screwed Dundalk on the rent of the aviva before, probably will try it again, even thought there's no attendance. Wer'e really are screwed when it comes to venues at this stage. We know the state of oriel.

I don't know much about rugby but I'd imagine the six nations prize money is worth more than what dundalk would be paying to rent the stadium for a behind closed doors match.

I just think it's ridiculous to expect that the IRFU should drop their plans because somebody else wants to rent the stadium. And then to tie the demand to rent it to a much needed bailout is even more ridiculous

They are blocking it for kicking practice....their game is 48 hours later.

Finishing first gets you 5m, but 6m if you complete the grand slam. Finishing second gets you 3.5m, but if no-one wins the grand slam then the extra million is divided up amongst the other teams so 2nd to 6th receive an extra 200k. Prize money goes down 500k the lower you finish. Ireland can still win the Six Nations so don't blame them for refusing the stadium when the difference in prize money between second and third is worth more than the rent they'd have received.

I was told somewhere in and around 100k plus. Not much in the big picture but principles of it aint right. If they took it they would need 100k less from the tax payers.

The FAI should be kicking up on behalf of Dundalk. However as the FAI hasnt changed much one would have to suspect there is still some bitterness in both camps towards DFC after ould Bill going public about Peak6 offering to manage the ground and FAI/IFRU being more than happy to allow the tax payer subsidise it.

How do you know they didn't?

Bear in mind both associations would have dates contractually locked in as their time in the stadium.

But don't let me get in the way of a good FAI bashing

How do you know they didn't?

Bear in mind both associations would have dates contractually locked in as their time in the stadium.

But don't let me get in the way of a good FAI bashing

Have the FAI ever done anything to assist DFC??

They are blocking it for kicking practice....their game is 48 hours later.

But if its their stadium isn't that their right? They don't have to rent it to Dundalk just because they want to use it.

O woe is me...

Genuine question though, as i don't know the answer. Who changes all the fixtures for Dundalk when they are playing in Europe? Do the FAI have any hand in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,369 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

O woe is me...

Genuine question though, as i don't know the answer. Who changes all the fixtures for Dundalk when they are playing in Europe? Do the FAI have any hand in that?

Yes, they do. And in the process they have repeatedly f*cked over Sligo Rovers by moving a home game against Dundalk from a Saturday night to a Tuesday or something ridiculous like that. We've lost several thousand euro in gate receipts because of it.

Oat23 wrote: »
    Yes, they do. And in the process they have repeatedly f*cked over Sligo Rovers by moving a home game against Dundalk from a Saturday night to a Tuesday or something ridiculous like that. We've lost several thousand euro in gate receipts because of it.

Well i guess that answers that one then, doesn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭scouserstation

joeysoap wrote: »
    I've said here before, the Fai screwed Dundalk on the rent of the aviva before, probably will try it again, even thought there's no attendance. Wer'e really are screwed when it comes to venues at this stage. We know the state of oriel.

Maybe this could be a wake up call for peak 6 to invest in Oriel, Wasnt this part of their overall plan if they qualified for the EL again?

sugarman wrote: »
    Its currently a 50/50 ownership on a 60 year lease with 50 years remaining. Its not the IRFU's until then.

But as pointed out, schedules would have already been agreed and penciled in for use between the associations for their match windows.

Their hands are pretty much tied, all they could do is ask the IRFU.

Who benifits from the UEFA solidarity payments?? Dundalk or Rovers doing well in Europe benifits everyone....including the FAI.
    https://www.uefa.com/insideuefa/about-uefa/news/0258-0f8e7356606e-623079a4c111-1000--uefa-solidarity-payments-how-they-work/

The FAI own 50% of the ground, it was built with tax payers money and both organisations are standing with the begging bowl looking for more tax payers money, have reduced wages etc.....at the same time they are turning down income......if you see that as being all right then maybe I am the odd one here.

If I dont have money for something I really need....I accept all the overtime offered or look for a second source of income.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Maybe this could be a wake up call for peak 6 to invest in Oriel, Wasnt this part of their overall plan if they qualified for the EL again?

Nope

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

O woe is me...

It's a rule teams can't play 48 hours from a European Game so when Europe is on a Weds it Thurs thee Friday games have to be moved. The FAI don't give a ****e about Dundalk or the LOI.

Dundalk should tell them to **** off, use Tallaght for all 3 games if they won't let us use Windsor.

The IRFU on other hand are looking Govt help to bail them out but are in a position to turn down good money on renting out the ground so a fella can kick penalties (He can and does that everyday)

It's a rule teams can't play 48 hours from a European Game so when Europe is on a Weds it Thurs thee Friday games have to be moved. The FAI don't give a ****e about Dundalk or the LOI.

Dundalk should tell them to **** off, use Tallaght for all 3 games if they won't let us use Windsor.

The IRFU on other hand are looking Govt help to bail them out but are in a position to turn down good money on renting out the ground so a fella can kick penalties (He can and does that everyday)

I guess the odds of him practicing in Lansdowne and getting an edge on the day is deemed more important by the IRFU to their finances than the bit of rent from Dundalk.

Dundalk should just use Tallaght for all three games. There's very little chance they'll be able to cash in on the Arsenal match the way things are looking.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

It all comes back to the state of Oriel. There's no ground that is obligated to facilitate Dundalk, the problem is entirely of their making in that regard..

At the very least with the club's main drive being group stages for years now, they should have fostered an agreement that if they did make it, they would play there. Not waiting until now to battle it out in public.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I guess the odds of him practicing in Lansdowne and getting an edge on the day is deemed more important by the IRFU to their finances than the bit of rent from Dundalk.

Dundalk should just use Tallaght for all three games. There's very little chance they'll be able to cash in on the Arsenal match the way things are looking.

But that good money, possible 300k, would really help soften the financial blow of the possible 45m to 60m the IRFU have predicted loses.

IRFU should forget about the 5m prize money on offer and really help Dundalk out for that good money they were offering.

Let's get back to the football, folks. :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Hate Shelbourne F.C. football 2020, love Shelbourne F.C. football 2020 mugging 3 points completely against the run of play to inch closer to safet...... the Europa League spots :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Any word on the covid situation with galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,369 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Ohmeha wrote: »
    Hate Shelbourne F.C. football 2020, love Shelbourne F.C. football 2020 mugging 3 points completely against the run of play to inch closer to safet...... the Europa League spots :pac:

Thank you for keeping our European dream alive. Now please lose to us next Sunday and we'll beat Cork for you the week after. Deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,933 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Bloody Waterford

We have ourselves to blame, we had our chances to score but shooting not good enough. Far too slow in our play

That's our European hopes dashed

Oat23 wrote: »
    Thank you for keeping our European dream alive. Now please lose to us next Sunday and we'll beat Cork for you the week after. Deal?

No deal. :p

Looking like we are out of Cork's range unless they go on the most bizarre and unexpected run of results in footballing history!!!

A point or two and we should be fine, but it's highly likely we won't need any more.

But a win next week for us just to be sure. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Ohmeha wrote: »

We'll take it! The one thing that stood out compared to the Harps & Cork games recently... we didn't go backs against the wall after going 1 up... even if we brought on Dan Byrne for Brennan!

A point next week and I'll be confident we've done enough to stay up. Cork are done for, Harps are a survival specialist team though...

6 teams now looking at 3rd/4th place. Shels/ Sligo/Waterford have played 15. Dundalk have 12 but the have 6 league games to play between now and the finish of the league,, not to mention 3 Europa matches. If nobody else get covid.

Did I hear tonight if you couldn’t fulfill a gaa match ( because of covid) - you forfeited it?

Found it , it’s not for league matches (I think)

Inter-county players have been told that for all championship round-robin or knockout games, where a county is unable to fulfil a fixture due to Covid-19 issues, the game will be awarded to the opposing team.

660 in Windsor Park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭damemcd

........Sure theres no covid up there worth speaking about......!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Dundalk playing there games in Windsor Park would be embarrasing for the league down here and a bit of an insult. I really hope this doesn't happen as Dundalk wil lose a bit of support from neutral Irish League of Ireland fans i would imagine. Even talking about it is out of order. Our league would be a laughing stock if this comes to pass.

Can't see UEFA allowing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

The problem is the three sets of egos at play here: mad Bill Hulsizer, the usless FAIlures and the stuck up rugger buggers.

It just highlights the need for us to have our own stadium fit for purpose.

grayzer75 wrote: »
    The problem is the three sets of egos at play here: mad Bill Hulsizer, the usless FAI kunts and the stuck up rugger buggers.

It just highlights the need for us to have our own stadium fit for purpose.

It certainly does. But until it happens there should be no Irish team choosing to play any 'home' game in Windsor Park. It is absurd.

Football, fans and optics wise it definitely is but financially mad Bill reckons they'll save 50k doing it. Arsenal would be happy as it would be classed as an 'internal flight' for their travel arrangements.

If to Windsor Park happens i hope Dundalk get destroyed in all there games and miss out on Top 4 in the league

Blatant disregard for football in the Republic Of Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭Annd9

PTH2009 wrote: »
    If to Windsor Park happens i hope Dundalk get destroyed in all there games and miss out on Top 4 in the league

Blatant disregard for football in the Republic Of Ireland

Maybe I'm missing something but have they got a choice ?

grayzer75 wrote: »
    Football, fans and optics wise it definitely is but financially mad Bill reckons they'll save 50k doing it. Arsenal would be happy as it would be classed as an 'internal flight' for their travel arrangements.

I read earlier it only costing Dundalk an extra 50K if they had to use both the Aviva and the Tallaght Stadium for the three games instead of just one stadium? Also Bill and Peak are setting up an academy in Belfast to create 160 jobs so they already know some of the football lads up in Belfast. Maybe their happy with Windsor Park all along?

It certainly doesn't, the last thing Irish football needs is a white elephant, especially because a team couldn't play one match at the Aviva.

The Aviva/Lansdowne has served both rugby and soccer well. We're a small country and don't need two 50k+ stadiums when one 50k+ stadium has been doing just fine for us.

Both associations have their own schedules and things are often easy to work around, it's just unfortunately for Dundalk Covid has thrown those schedules all over the shop meaning the IRFU are now playing matches in October that should have been played in March. Tallaght is more than enough for these games, there's also TP in Limerick which could be used. If Dundalk want to use WP it's because they'll probably have a better chance of getting fans in than they would down south.

Annd9 wrote: »
    Maybe I'm missing something but have they got a choice ?

Take it on the chin and the keep the games in the Republic

Its only 1 game and Tallaght stadium is good enough

It certainly doesn't, the last thing Irish football needs is a white elephant, especially because a team couldn't play one match at the Aviva.

The Aviva/Lansdowne has served both rugby and soccer well. We're a small country and don't need two 50k+ stadiums when one 50k+ stadium has been doing just fine for us.

Both associations have their own schedules and things are often easy to work around, it's just unfortunately for Dundalk Covid has thrown those schedules all over the shop meaning the IRFU are now playing matches in October that should have been played in March. Tallaght is more than enough for these games, there's also TP in Limerick which could be used. If Dundalk want to use WP it's because they'll probably have a better chance of getting fans in than they would down south.

What Dundalk do is their business but most if not all Dundalk fans want improvements to their shoddy ground. If they are going to be getting into Europe in future it would be nice to be able to host games in their own town. How many times have they had to come down.to Tallaght to play in the ground of one of their biggest rivals? Where else does this happen? Nobodys looking for a massive white elephant to be built in Dundalk. A nice 5,000 -10,000 would be fantastic. But we'll be waiting for that no doubt.

600 allowed in the other night.

Apologies, I assumed Grayzer was talking about how the FAI could need their own stadium rather than Dundalk.

Definitely Dundalk pal, hopefully all this makes mad Bill's son realise we need investment ASAP.