Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travellers close down motorway to race horses

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Prefect_1998

Just as a heads up, it might be easier to ask in the legal forum

Everyone is discussing the ins and outs of the video, the bottom line is that road laws were broken, i assume the garda will arrest the multiple law breakers that took part in the illegal road race at browns barn.

If they find the vehicles were not taxed and insured, the footage is clear enough for reg pales and maybe to see tax discs they seize and fine.

Very simple.

But like i know what i know if ...you get it.

No, I don't. Try again.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

This is a though one.

Admire their balls?

Lovable rogues?

Scum?

Maybe we should put it to a vote?

I am very well aware of what that vote would turn up as.

People care more about animals than humans.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,826 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The 6 designated €2millions worth traveller houses in Tipperary that Peter Casey called out still are unoccupied due to the lack of stables, you really couldn't make up the do gooder idiots in this country.

Wanna finish off that quote?

Which was posted after you started making accusations.

You have consistently attacked travelers with a broad unqualified brush stroke.

No one has stuck with the phrase road sulky racers.

If that was the issue then the word traveler would not be coming into it.

You could say road sulky racer.

The 6 designated €2millions worth traveller houses in Tipperary that Peter Casey called out still are unoccupied due to the lack of stables, you really couldn't make up the do gooder idiots in this country.

True. They want their own stables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

True. They want their own stables.

Then why don't they get proper jobs and pay for them?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,553 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

You have consistently attacked travelers with a broad unqualified brush stroke.

No one has stuck with the phrase road sulky racers.

If that was the issue then the word traveler would not be coming into it.

You could say road sulky racer.

Repeating the accusations isn't proof of them.

Can I remind you of a post made in the equestrian forum where I and several other posters explained to you about harness racing? And now you're trying to educate me on the topic?

I am very well aware of what that vote would turn up as.

People care more about animals than humans.

Not true it depends on the animals and the humans.
    I don't care about humans who are cruel to animals.

No, I don't. Try again.

I know about horses ...but i also know enough to know how much i don't know. Which is A LOT!

Ideally racing on a motorway ...its not ideal..nor safe.

I also know its impossible to stop it. I don't think its all travelers there is a whole illegal racing scene. I do think those lads are good enough to race at harness tracks.

People do ride on roads though ..i have ..not busy motorways though.

I also know fullbreds and standard breds ..gaited horses ..have to be well bred with attention to bloodlines.

I see no reason to blame it all on travelers. Just clamp down on illegal racing.

I am not sure you can though.

Then why don't they get proper jobs and pay for them?

I don't bleedin know! Maybe they are like Pirates or outlaws or something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

Admit a lot of Travelers look after their horses. And there are some bad apples.

Or bow and kiss my hand!

Just curious, have you met a lot of Travellers or seen many of their horses? Or are you basing that opinion on a few newspaper articles and videos on the internet?
    I, myself, am not saying they are all bad. But then I haven't met all of them.

But the ones I have met, all were not nice people, and even less to their horses.

but i also know enough to know how much i don't know. Which is A LOT!

We're in broad agreement here.

Not true it depends on the animals and the humans.
    I don't care about humans who are cruel to animals.

The only cruelty in those vids ...the ones I POSTED is the potential for danger.

Which i admit is real.

But i mean you get horses and carriages on the roads all the time. They are not racing but still.

In the UK you can take a carriage down a motorway.
    https://www.highwaycodeuk.co.uk/rules-about-animals-horse-drawn-vehicles.html

Obv its not the same as a race etc.

Its just an interesting point.

No doubt you will all crucify me. :rolleyes:

Just curious, have you met a lot of Travellers or seen many of their horses? Or are you basing that opinion on a few newspaper articles and videos on the internet?
    I, myself, am not saying they are all bad. But then I haven't met all of them.

But the ones I have met, all were not nice people, and even less to their horses.

I don't know a lot of travelers. I don't think i know any.

I wouldn't come across many where i live.

Repeating the accusations isn't proof of them.

Can I remind you of a post made in the equestrian forum where I and several other posters explained to you about harness racing? And now you're trying to educate me on the topic?
    So? You seem really badly educated here.

We're in broad agreement here.

I know more about horses than you mate.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

No wonder you defend them... No experience with them...

Why is this all about the treatment of horses?

This is secondary to the total disregard of multiple irish road laws.

Fu*k the irish law abiding tax paying road user, is what this video says to me personally. I have 2 fingers help up to me and why should i try and have empathy to any plight that is sold to me.by the media.

2 seperste paths taken in ireland

Law abusing

Law abiding

Who comes out the better at then end.. not sure.

But morals and a sence of towing the line has the negative of seeing the other side pissing on your sence of right.

I know more about horses than you mate.

There a 17% likelihood of this being factually correct.

:D:D:D

We need to stop replying to this clown.

Why is this all about the treatment of horses?

This is secondary to the total disregard of multiple irish road laws.

Fu*k the irish law abiding tax paying road user, is what this video says to me personally. I have 2 fingers help up to me and why should i try and have empathy to any plight that is sold to me.by the media.

2 seperste paths taken in ireland

Law abusing

Law abiding

Who comes out the better at then end.. not sure.

But morals and a sence of towing the line has the negative of seeing the other side pissing on your sence of right.

I can't deny any of that.

Not sure it would strike a chord with me though.

So? You seem really badly educated here.

In what way? For not acknowledging your attempts to derail the thread? Or have you made up some other thing that I've done/said?

There a 17% likelihood of this being factually correct.
    How many horses have you owned then?

I can't deny any of that.

Not sure it would strike a chord with me though.

Why would it not strike any of your cords?

In what way? For not acknowledging your attempts to derail the thread? Or have you made up some other thing that I've done/said?

You have repeatedly referred to travelers in derogatory language. You have repeatedly sought to tarnish them all with the same brush stroke.

YOU are the one trying to derail the thread and turning it into a personal defense of yourself.

You are the one with a grandiose sense of self. You are not that important.

:D:D:D

We need to stop replying to this clown.

The jig is up...no experiences with travellers. Credibility out the window, if there was any to begin with. The rest of us aren't shrouded in bubblewrap.

Why would it not strike any of your cords?

Minding every little letter of the law just doesn't. (maybe i am just evil! :P )

There is no doubt if you keep racing on the road one day an accident will happen though. That would strike a chord with me.

But how are you going to stop it?

I just think its funny when people get so upset by it.

The jig is up...no experiences with travellers. Credibility out the window, if there was any to begin with. The rest of us aren't shrouded in bubblewrap.

Ya got me! ;)

I like you.

You have repeatedly referred to travelers in derogatory language. You have repeatedly sought to tarnish them all with the same brush stroke.

YOU are the one trying to derail the thread and turning it into a personal defense of yourself.

You are the one with a grandiose sense of self. You are not that important.

Ah here... if my eyes rolled any further into my skull from the irony and hypocrisy, I'd have to get them surgically fixed.