Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travellers close down motorway to race horses

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Why can't they club together and rent a proper horse track for a day or two and race on that.

They dont have the licenses required, to use a race track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

This is the one on the N20 Mallow Road a few years back. Gardaí racing along with them and everything. Crazy stuff.

This is a short documentary about the practice but with the Pikies in England. The fella a the very end makes a true and valid point - horses were always entitled to use the road. It is perfectly legal to have horses and carts out on the road.

This is a race in Limerick. The good one here is the tinker occasionally roaring to "get the motorists out of the way, there's horses coming!"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

Why can't they club together and rent a proper horse track for a day or two and race on that.

Could you imagine the state of the place after a few hundred of them turned up for the day.

Actually they'd probably just decide it was their field and stay.

Just watched the third video on the post above, one of them has a high vis on, good to see health and safety in action

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I'm not sure if serious or not... but harness racing (i.e the actual sport) is under Horse Sport Ireland and it's funded by the Dept of Agriculture, Food and Marine.

Oh I am actually serious, I read it last night. Sick to the teeth of the lawlessness and sense of entitlement of these bollixes.
    How far back does this "tradition" of sulky racing go? 30 maybe 40 years?

Dunno

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

They dont have the licenses required, to use a race track.

There is a sulky track they can use in Ireland. Saw it on the news yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

This is the one on the N20 Mallow Road a few years back. Gardaí racing along with them and everything. Crazy stuff.

This is a short documentary about the practice but with the Pikies in England. The fella a the very end makes a true and valid point - horses were always entitled to use the road. It is perfectly legal to have horses and carts out on the road.

This is a race in Limerick. The good one here is the tinker occasionally roaring to "get the motorists out of the way, there's horses coming!"

The poor horse in the top video looks exhausted with froth coming out of it's mouth after pulling that big thick c**t for such a long distance.

And where did the Guards disappear to, did they just let them away with it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Facebook is currently awash with pleads for people to go and rescue a horse that's tied in a flooded field at the back of the garage on the Headford rd out of Galway.

No prizes for guessing who the probable owners are..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

Someone from a travellers rights group was on newstalk this morning and said they don't condone it but that it's not always travellers who do this so why were travellers groups contacted about it, implying its racist that they were the ones contacted first. The Newstalk interviewer was weak as a kitten and said she wasn't making that assumption. I mean come on, were they travellers or not? Why not ask that. Of course they were. If they weren't then he would have been all over it telling her they weren't travellers.
    They were. Everyone knows it.
    It's a disgrace. For one moment if everyone could forget abot travellers rights and the rights of others using the motor-way and focus on the animals rights it would be great. If a horse slips on a road doing this crap, that's it, they'll need to be put down. All for a bit of craic. Let alone all the stress the animals endure doing it.
    It's sad that this goes on. There's no justifying it and people can call me racist all they want but if travellers are so obsessed with their rights then they need to begin by respecting animals rights and the rights of others - It always seems to be one way traffic with them, pun intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭tillyfilly

Sure they are a different race, this thread could be classed as racist

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

NewRed2 wrote: »
    Someone from a travellers rights group was on newstalk this morning and said they don't condone it but that it's not always travellers who do this so why were travellers groups contacted about it, implying its racist that they were the ones contacted first. The Newstalk interviewer was weak as a kitten and said she wasn't making that assumption. I mean come on, were they travellers or not? Why not ask that. Of course they were. If they weren't then he would have been all over it telling her they weren't travellers.
    They were. Everyone knows it.
    It's a disgrace. For one moment if everyone could forget abot travellers rights and the rights of others using the motor-way and focus on the animals rights it would be great. If a horse slips on a road doing this crap, that's it, they'll need to be put down. All for a bit of craic. Let alone all the stress the animals endure doing it.
    It's sad that this goes on. There's no justifying it and people can call me racist all they want but if travellers are so obsessed with their rights then they need to begin by respecting animals rights and the rights of others - It always seems to be one way traffic with them, pun intended.

That was patrick nevin , who believes travellers shoud get reperations : https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/state-must-consider-reparations-for-travelling-community-committee-hears-1.4080719

believes the government should enable more horse ownership for travellers at our expense : https://www.dublininquirer.com/2019/06/26/a-call-for-councils-to-do-more-to-support-horse-ownership-among-travellers

and was arrested and refused bail at a 'king of the tinkers' bareknuckle fighting event ...
    Patrick Nevin was refused bail after gardai said he was "one of the ringleaders" of the unrest

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/traveller-tensions-still-high-after-fight-25888317.html

A great role model to society and a completely unbiased advocate for traveller rights especially regarding horses...

That was patrick nevin , who believes travellers shoud get reperations : https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/state-must-consider-reparations-for-travelling-community-committee-hears-1.4080719

believes the government should enable more horse ownership for travellers at our expense : https://www.dublininquirer.com/2019/06/26/a-call-for-councils-to-do-more-to-support-horse-ownership-among-travellers

and was arrested and refused bail at a 'king of the tinkers' bareknuckle fighting event ...

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/traveller-tensions-still-high-after-fight-25888317.html

A great role model to society and a completely unbiased advocate for traveller rights especially regarding horses...

Yeah that was the chap.

Prior to that there was an interview with a Sinn Fein rep and another politician from another party and they discussed climate change policy and I think it was Kieran Cuddihy who grilled the SF lad and he kept interrupting him and aggressively interogating him but when this Nevin chap came on the tone was entirely different and the interviewer (dont know her name) said about 4 times that she wanted to be clear that she wasn't implying any travellers were involved in the incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Animal care/rights legislation could sort this out. No one should be allowed to keep a land dwelling animal unless a. they own land or b. can show they are renting land. Generally, that one is capable of caring adequately for an animal.

This would be an animal rights issue and not an ethnic issue. It would be a rule that applies to everyone. If this means no Travelers are in a position to own an animal...then tough.

No one has a right to keep an animal. It's a privilege that is too often abused.

Ya, all well and good but how is it going to be enforced and who is going it enforce it?
    It just wouldn't work.

And what about people who own animals but don't own or rent land but may have it on a family member or friend's land or in livery?

Do you have any idea of the administrative burden your suggestion would entail if implemented nationally? Staggering so it would be.

And as always, it'll be the responsible owners who end up dealing with more paperwork and bureaucracy and inspectors and expense and time taken up, meanwhile the travelers who respect our observe no other law will continue to flout this new law without a second thought and there will be nothing the state or anyone can do about it! Like driving licences, tax nct and insurance, they simply do not give a bollox for the law.
    They do not care about the consequences of convictions because who cares - they are not going to be applying for USA visas or doing job interviews for multinationals or doing any of the things we might do that would require a clean record. They simply could not give two flying fúcks about any law, and would only laugh at it.

And as I always say about the issue of horse ownership, their trump card when challenged in owning a horse will be "erra, shut dat there not my hurse atall, sir. Dat hurse belong to a pavee man left it der an went te England now boss"
    Point being, they will always have a cute hurr answer to talk their way out of these things.

Another one is claiming how are they supposed to read laws and fill out forms or understand summonses because "I canny even read nor write, sir" and then getting off the hook and away with it on that basis.

Laws are for the law abiding people.

Whether we like it or not, the travelers are largely a law unto themselves and there's really nothing anyone can do about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,660 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not a single charge will be taken against anyone after this debacle.

Yet if I was to stop on the hard shoulder for something other than an emergency, the Guards would be all over me.

Bottom line, they are simply afraid to do anything about travellers and their actions.

There's a certain admiration I have for the travelers, (except for when it comes to the abuse of animals of course)
    My point is they are more or less immune to any consequences. They have every excuse in the book at their disposal, and are able to spoof and cute talk their way out of nearly everything, and even if they are prosecuted and convicted it has no practical impact on them as they don't live in a world where convictions or time in prison had any real negative effect or sigma on them. for example they haven't got jobs to loose, or mortgages to pay or a need to keep a clean record or a respectable reputation to uphold (at least not in the sense that you or I might understand). In the worst case for them, conviction and imprisonment is a mere short term inconvenience and even a badge of honour to be bragged about.

They have a way of life that lets them more or less so whatever they want and get away with it. They are truly free in a way.

They are the sort of people who would thrive and come out trumps in the event of a Mad Max type dystopian society of that were to happen.

In the worst case for them, conviction and imprisonment is a mere short term inconvenience and even a badge of honour to be bragged about.

It's an inconvenience similar to having to pay a visit to your family.

eeepaulo wrote: »
    It's an inconvenience similar to having to pay a visit to your family.

But you've never even met Conor's family?

NewRed2 wrote: »
    But you've never even met Conor's family?

OK. that came across wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 82,836 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Could they have applied for a sports grant for that race?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭irishproduce

It's completely gone off the top 30 or so stories on rte anyway. Not surprised.

eeepaulo wrote: »
    OK. that came across wrong

:D nah, only kidding

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

The gardai are useless cnuts in fairness

In fairness, what do you expect the Gardai to do?

They have no facilities or resources to confiscate horses and they only end up being put down anyway, at considerable expense, for which there is no money I might add.

If attests can be made the courts will just more or less let them off with it for the most part.

The best the Gardai can do is just to contain the dangerous behaviour and do their best to make the road safe for other users while this is going on.

For sports grants they would have to be tax compliant and be an official club or body. And do all the one and outs of insurance and road closure fees.
    Do you really think that is a realistic proposition?

Sure they can do it and get away with it for free as this thread shows - so why would they bother to change?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

AllForIt wrote: »
    Animal care/rights legislation could sort this out. No one should be allowed to keep a land dwelling animal unless a. they own land or b. can show they are renting land.

That is the current situation. Many travelers would be renting land.

Honestly i would have been pissed if i needed to use the motorway. But if the animals are in good knick ...the police should have better things to worry about.

People have a prejudice about travelers and their horses. Its not ALWAYS true.

If its true in this incidence then obviously it should be dealt with.

Some of them have amazing pacers though. Very well trained.

This is a high level of skill. Both for the drivers and training of the horses.

Not saying abuse doesn't go on.

Obviously some people with no clue do try and own horses. But i wouldn't use that to stigmatize travelers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

In fairness, what do you expect the Gardai to do?

They have no facilities or resources to confiscate horses and they only end up being put down anyway, at considerable expense, for which there is no money I might add.

If attests can be made the courts will just more or less let them off with it for the most part.

The best the Gardai can do is just to contain the dangerous behaviour and do their best to make the road safe for other users while this is going on.

For sports grants they would have to be tax compliant and be an official club or body. And do all the one and outs of insurance and road closure fees.
    Do you really think that is a realistic proposition?

Sure they can do it and get away with it for free as this thread shows - so why would they bother to change?

I want a chopper and snipers, nothing else will garner my vote.

Same as that shíte in Dundalk. I'm sick of it. Apparently the Gardaí are aware of circa 89 individuals involved. We have an Army Ranger Wing, give me 89 bodies and I'll vote for you.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »

I love the smell of napalm in the morning ...LETS ROLL...

By the way i don't care who is a traveler i am just ****ing shooting!

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭slipperyox

Same as that shíte in Dundalk. I'm sick of it. Apparently the Gardaí are aware of circa 89 individuals involved. We have an Army Ranger Wing, give me 89 bodies and I'll vote for you.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irish-army-snipers-shoot-dead-8364380

• Registered Users Posts: 17,461 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Some cultures are shíttier than other cultures. People need to understand this.

We’re not all equal.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

What is a "high velocity rifle"?
    Sounds sexy.