Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí: Provo Army Council oversees PIRA & SF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

RobMc59 wrote: »
    As a british person I was horrified that SF were able to dupe people into voting for them by making promises which they would probably be unable to fulfill-it shows the lengths mary Lou mcDonald will go to in her self serving drive for power-she will step on anyone in her own climb to the top and whatever SF say,they will always be linked to the PIRA.

You must be gutted you grew up under the British Army and Tories.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

jm08 wrote: »
    If you knew and understood the history of the foundation of the Irish State (War of Independence, Signing of the Treaty, Partition, Civil War) you might understand that people need to move on from the past eventually.

That's true but you can't cherry pick what you want to move on from whilst constantly bringing up past events when it suits.

Bowie wrote: »
    You must be gutted you grew up under the British Army and Tories.

I despise the tories ,as I despise the IRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

McMurphy wrote: »
    So, Harris was asked for his opinion, on his former employers opinion, and he agreed with that opinion, of which he was part and parcel of forging the opinion?

Man agrees with his own opinion - shock horror.

No
    He said the Garda assessment is the same

Mortelaro wrote: »
    No

Who's head of this crack breathalyzer squad?

Could we keep to the topic of the thread please or is there a point in the above?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

The security assessment has plenty of details of the UVF, UDA etc. The problem with the IRA is their close political involvement in SF. The assessment does not make that link between the Loyalist paramilitaries and the DUP. I think it is no coincidence that SF are by far the richest party in the North. The paramilitaries are all gangsters who should have no say in any normal party. Let them stick to their racketeering and drug dealing and leave politics to the politicians.

https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/469548/Paramilitary_Groups_in_Northern_Ireland_-_20_Oct_2015.pdf

The annex at the end of the document might be of interest to those who want the security services to release their evidence.

Thanks for the link to the actual document.

I don't follow your point that political involvement for former paramilitaries is to be frowned on. What do you propose should be done with them - ignore them and hope they don't start up again because they don't like the direction of travel to a United Ireland? The assessment credits the leadership of the PIRA of ensuring that they remain on a peaceful/political route while the UVF etc. are still recruiting and their leadership have no control over their members. I know which route I think is best.

An example of how not to do it.

Sinn Fein have plenty of legitimate ways of raising money (i.e., fundraisers in New York that Trump attended for example). They also take money from their public representatives, not to mention being willed large amounts of money from disaffected British citizens. I don't think even any of the dissident republicans are involved in drug dealing (more likely to kneecap drug dealers) that seems to be the money earner for the loyalist paramiltaries.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭jm08

I despise the tories ,as I despise the IRA.

Which IRA do you despise?

Could we keep to the topic of the thread please or is there a point in the above?

The head of the Garda said the Garda assessment of the report he helped generate is the same as his assessment. That's my point.

How do you know the assessment was done in his tenure or who leads the assessment teams in AGS ?
    It's not a point if it hasnt that information

How do you know the assessment was done in his tenure or who leads the assessment teams in AGS ?
    It's not a point if it hasnt that information

He stated the organisation he oversees agrees with him on his assessment of a report he helped to compile. That's all I'm saying. If you see that as two unbiased unrelated entities that's fine. I wouldn't. You know why he was brought in right? I suppose he might have completely overhauled the AGS in such a manner that it's as you suggest.

jm08 wrote: »
    Which IRA do you despise?

The one that kills people,kneecaps people and skulks in the shadows-that one

They'd be very foolish not to skulk in the shadows. The IRA were an illegal organisation.
    I didn't grow up in conflict so I can't speak to the north from experience. I would suggest you keep an open mind.
    As for the south most of us recognise the troubles up north were not comparable to the scene down south, so the two cannot be compared as like with like.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

No

Is there an official assesment from the Gardai in 2020, or as I asked already, was drew just giving his own opinion on his earlier opinion?

McMurphy wrote: »
    Is there an official assesment from the Gardai in 2020, or as I asked already, was drew just giving his own opinion on his earlier opinion?

He was saying the Garda assessment is the same
    Garda intelligence would be wide ranging and ongoing

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The previous Commissioner based her opinion in 2015 on an IMC report of 2009.

She was of the belief BTW that all military depts and other PIRA structures had been disbanded.

When will the public see this assessment from the Gardai, or are we to take the word of the former deputy chief constable of the psni, agreeing with a five year old report from the psni of which he was assistant chief constable at the time?

I'm not sure if the commissioner can answer on the spot questions, and they're to be taken as the official assessment of the whole of AGS tbh, is that within his remit can anyone clarify?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,668 ✭✭✭✭maccored

yes - evidence that says the PIRA - if you believe they still exist - have turned political. big deal - wheres your issue?

He said he agreed with the PSNIs assessment of the army council controlling SF. That was put together by the PSNI when he was second in command, so its doubtful he wasnt involved in it.

I wouldn't trust the PSNI personally. Too politically motivated.

I dont think Garda intelligence have anything but the PSNIs word about this shadowy people controlling SF lark.

But I bet they do have info that shows ex provos are now working for political ends.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Sinbad_NI

maccored wrote: »
    yes - evidence that says the PIRA - if you believe they still exist - have turned political. big deal - wheres your issue?

He said he agreed with the PSNIs assessment of the army council controlling SF. That was put together by the PSNI when he was second in command, so its doubtful he wasnt involved in it.

I dont think Garda intelligence have anything but the PSNIs word about this shadowy people controlling SF lark.

But I bet they do have info that shows ex provos are now working for political ends.

But you do trust SF. Are they less politically motivated?

Sinbad_NI wrote: »

One is a police force the other a political party.
    One is supposed to have political views and act on those views, the other isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

One is a police force the other a political party.
    One is supposed to have political views and act on those views, the other isn't.

Correct, so we have to give much greater weight to the independent one than to the political party.

maccored wrote: »
    Lots of people have an issue with it
    Its probably what's driving their policy on the SCC for instance

No
    He said
    "I am also aware of the PSNI and the British security services assessment and we do not differ from that view."

We,not I
    We as in AGS
    That's still understandable but will change

Shadowy is a matter of interpretation
    But you can bet your bottom dollar,they are as aware as the PSNI of what goes on

Sinbad_NI wrote: »

A political party being politically motivated, whatever next?

(Btw AGS are supposed to be apolitical)

Coming up after the break, water may be wet.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Correct, so we have to give much greater weight to the independent one than to the political party.

Only if you're terribly naive. You should read up the Garda McCabe whistle blower scandal, penalty points, Frances Fitzgerald, Callinan etc. Eye opening.
    I said 'supposed'. Never claimed it was the case.

I trust the 'independent' bodies in this. The last report from the Independent Reporting Commission didn't even mention the RA, so insignificant is it.

Simon Coveney welcomed the report along with Charlie Flanagan and despite their leader Leo's belief that the IRA is overseeing SF, they urged SF and others to get involved in government.

Curious thing to do.
    The IRC’s report is one more reason why the political parties must urgently reach an agreement to operate the devolved power-sharing institutions again, in the interests of all of the people of Northern Ireland.

As curious as Leo labeling party political rallies as being bullying and intimidating while...
    Taoiseach & Fine Gael to canvass and rally for Directly Elected Mayors’ Yes vote
    https://www.finegael.ie/taoiseach-fine-gael-to-canvass-and-rally-for-directly-elected-mayors-yes-vote/

Simon Coveney welcomed the report along with Charlie Flanagan and despite their leader Leo's belief that the IRA is overseeing SF, they urged SF and others to get involved in government.

Curious thing to do.

No
    As has been pointed out before to the script writers,NI isn't a sovereign government ,it has little revenue or taxing, economy wrecking or justice powers
    The Dublin government has all of them and more
    If you are opposed to the IRA's influence on any of those,Simon's view on a different approach in the Republic part of Ireland is spot on

No
    As has been pointed out before to the script writers,NI isn't a sovereign government ,it has little revenue or taxing, economy wrecking or justice powers
    If you are opposed to the IRA's influence on any of those,Simon's view on a different approach in the Republic part of Ireland is spot on

Do you think the IRA folk shot once for yes or twice for no, or as is more likely engaged in the political process? Do you think and IRA inclined individuals who fought for and accepted the GFA just ceased to care or would you expect some of them to follow on in politics? And if they did, what's the problem?
    The issue is the suggestion that lads are hanging around polishing their firearms while telling politicians how to think. Nobody has any proof that is the case and I would not see the point. It's scaremongering plain and simple.
    The hypocrisy lies in Coveney and the gang pushing for parties to work together up north while citing some faux moral bullcrap as to why they won't even consider it down south.

No

So it's ok to endorse the influence of the IRA in one jurisdiction you have responsibilities in and not in another?

Got ya!

Do you think the IRA folk shot once for yes or twice for no, or as is more likely engaged in the political process? Do you think and IRA inclined individuals who fought for and accepted the GFA just ceased to care or would you expect some of them to follow on in politics? And if they did, what's the problem?
    The issue is the suggestion that lads are hanging around polishing their firearms while telling politicians how to think. Nobody has any proof that is the case and I would not see the point. It's scaremongering plain and simple.

You dont seem to get (again) that accepting the GFA and the special position of NI and not wanting the IRA deciding government policies can be mutually held positions by voters in the Republic part of the island

This too will change probably as the living memories of the troubles die away
    The far left ideology of the IRA's socialist Republic isnt going to get popular though at any time
    Too many people are ambitious for their pockets