Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí: Provo Army Council oversees PIRA & SF

• Registered Users Posts: 21,095 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It literally involves two people to get that story on the front page...the GC and a journalist primed to as the right question.

And what would be the purpose of that?

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

And what would be the purpose of that?

It looks like all it managed was to get a thread stared on Boards.ie.

Bowie wrote: »
    Like they exist? Yes. I've seen them about. I know one of their member quite well. Really nice chap.
    Do I believe they are above reproach and don't suffer from all the strengths and weaknesses that other organisations do? No.

EDIT:

No they don't. They can't. There are people who were former army council likely engaged with SF, sure. If that's what Harris meant he should have clarified instead of providing too much sugar for the babas in FG.

They can't?
    Why can't they?.
    The security services believe they do, now you hardly think they just make it up.
    The are notnformer army council, it is clearly stated in the report that Harris agreed with, that the army council exists now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

bubblypop wrote: »
    They can't?
    Why can't they?.
    The security services believe they do, now you hardly think they just make it up.
    The are notnformer army council, it is clearly stated in the report that Harris agreed with, that the army council exists now.

I don't believe they disappeared into the ether. I don't think they are engaged in being an army council to no army, no.

bubblypop wrote: »
    They can't?
    Why can't they?.

So what is the purpose of an Army COuncil if there is also in the Chief Constable's, the AGS and the IMC/IRC's view, no army?

Next thing you will be telling me that nobody said that the journalists had no right to ask the question. Or that nobody said that the Commissioner should just have kept his mouth shut when he was asked. The conspiracy theory has been going all through the thread. Which is that it was a set up to damage Sinn Fein.

Who said he'd no right? Nobody I've read. Can you post it? He did it to stir things for SF IMO. Why else raise it at the Garda passing out parade? To get a salacious story. That's not a conspiracy theory. You should look up the definition.
    Show proof of this conspiracy theory or why you think it was raised.

It looks like all it managed was to get a thread stared on Boards.ie.

So Fr Dougal was in on it as well?

Nah...he was one of the few that believed it was of any relevance. A few of them about.

Who said he'd no right? Nobody I've read. Can you post it? He did it to stir things for SF IMO. Why else raise it at the Garda passing out parade? To get a salacious story. That's not a conspiracy theory. You should look up the definition.
    Show proof of this conspiracy theory or why you think it was raised.

Why arrange the event in Templemore to coincide with Mary Lou putting herself forward as Taoiseach? And a newspaper in the process of doing a popularity poll?

Only it wasn't. It was arranged at a time when the election had not even been announced. Journalists asking the questions about her party in that circumstance, is just about the most basic thing I would expect from a journalist.

They could have asked him a year ago, but then there would have been no possibility envisaged of her being Taoiseach. If the answers to the questions damaged Sinn Fein, then that is down to what people think of the answers.

Why arrange the event in Templemore to coincide with Mary Lou putting herself forward as Taoiseach? And a newspaper in the process of doing a popularity poll?

Only it wasn't. It was arranged at a time when the election had not even been announced. Journalists asking the questions about her party in that circumstance, is just about the most basic thing I would expect from a journalist.

They could have asked him a year ago, but then there would have been no possibility envisaged of her being Taoiseach. If the answers to the questions damaged Sinn Fein, then that is down to what people think of the answers.

You think I said that? I said why the jurno raise it at the event not organised the templemore schedule :)
    You are away with the fairies.
    It didn't damage them from what I can see. It was another disappointing example of media bias.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Listening to ordinary people on the street and it seems to matter not one jot. Irish people don't care if the IRA exists or not, people don't care if there's an IRA army council either, all people seem to be engaged with is Mary Lou & the Sinn Fein manifesto, which makes a huge amount of 'sugar coated promises' bold claims indeed which people love the sound of..

Brand 'Mary Lou' & that voice of hers really has hypnotised & lured great swathes of Irish people into her mesmerising bosom.

Reminds me a bit of the moving statues phenomenon in the 80s when so many Irish people believed & were transfixed by something that wasn't really what it seemed to be.

Paul McKenna could learn a trick or two from Mary Lou, on mass hypnosis & the art of persuasion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Listening to ordinary people on the street and it seems to matter not one jot. Irish people don't care if the IRA exists or not, people don't care if there's an IRA army council either, all people seem to be engaged with is Mary Lou & the Sinn Fein manifesto, which makes a huge amount of 'sugar coated promises' bold claims indeed which people love the sound of..

Brand 'Mary Lou' & that voice of hers really has hypnotised & lured great swathes of Irish people into her mesmerising bosom.

Reminds me a bit of the moving statues phenomenon in the 80s when so many Irish people believed & were transfixed by something that wasn't really what it seemed to be.

Paul McKenna could learn a trick or two from Mary Lou, on mass hypnosis & the art of persuasion.

What I find hard to believe is how people like Bowie here and as his former self before his name change, obvious socialists, or spreading that persona anyway, have suddenly hitched their undying support to SF.
    I can understand every criticism on here of FG and FF and even Labour, but quite how any real socialist who talks and gives out about political corruption and cronyism has bought the ideal that SF are somehow going to be the saviours of Ireland and its politics as well is beyond me!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Look, after 13 days and 150+ pages later let's all agree on at least one thing.

That Gerry Adams was never a member of the provos.

One small example:

Labour had promised 80.000 new homes, while Sinn Fein are offering 100.000 new homes! Sinn Fein must be better as they're offering more new homes...

Ergo, Win Win for Sinn Fein :cool:

And people believe the spin as if it was gospel.

Calm down, calm down. :):)

We're talking about a political party and a politician. That's all HC. They'll get their chance eventually, and they'll probably fail eventually like all politicians and political party's

No need to lose the run of yourself. :)

Also the voters ignored the evidence in front of their faces from the North. On housing and health, SF DUP are worse than FG FF.

The Irish Times doing it's best to try and make SF's finances seem sinister this AM. :)

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/sinn-f%C3%A9in-is-the-richest-political-party-in-ireland-1.4193124?fbclid=IwAR388aoD-59Ig7DmMcWWNwT8LYy0Kd1dJ4fFIzaSLBhWm0s-w_1TdG6iNjY

4200 new memberships must be the envy of the rest.

The Irish Times doing it's best to try and make SF's finances seem sinister this AM. :)

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/sinn-f%C3%A9in-is-the-richest-political-party-in-ireland-1.4193124?fbclid=IwAR388aoD-59Ig7DmMcWWNwT8LYy0Kd1dJ4fFIzaSLBhWm0s-w_1TdG6iNjY

4200 new memberships must be the envy of the rest.

I posted that already.
    Perhaps you may have joined?

I posted that already.
    Perhaps you may have joined?

Nope Bishop.
    I'll never be a member of any political party...my vote has, and always will, float.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Also the voters ignored the evidence in front of their faces from the North. On housing and health, SF DUP are worse than FG FF.
    Why would SF want the North to be successful at anything?
    Would it not just undermine the very argument for a UI?

Under Sinn Fein Coronavirus casualties will only be in single figures, under Labour casualties will be on double figures, & under FG/FG Coronavirus casualties would be in the hundreds!

Sinn Fein will also 'Fast track" a virus antidote within two months, much faster than any other party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭macwal

Under Sinn Fein Coronavirus casualties will only be in single figures, under Labour casualties will be on double figures, & under FG/FG Coronavirus casualties would be in the hundreds!

Sinn Fein will also 'Fast track" a virus antidote within two months, much faster than any other party.

The place will be a wasteground under SF, even coronavirus will realise its not worth the effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

macwal wrote: »
    The place will be a wasteground under SF, even coronavirus will realise its not worth the effort.

How many 100s of thousands had to emigrate because of FF? it'll never be as bad as what that shower of scum did to this country when Michael Martin was a prominent cabinet minister.

How many children were raped tortured and killed in this country when either FF or FG were in charge? It'll never be as bad for the children of this country as it was when they were in charge.

The same way FF are crooked and crashed the economy a few times and FG are crooked and in it for private business, people weigh up and pick the least worse of the two. Nowadays that's SF. FG/FF need get over it. It could all change next time.

What I find hard to believe is how people like Bowie here and as his former self before his name change, obvious socialists, or spreading that persona anyway, have suddenly hitched their undying support to SF.
    I can understand every criticism on here of FG and FF and even Labour, but quite how any real socialist who talks and gives out about political corruption and cronyism has bought the ideal that SF are somehow going to be the saviours of Ireland and its politics as well is beyond me!

Boss, my posting history is there for all to see, put down the Deerstalker cap and pipe ffs.
    Suddenly nothing. Always gave them a nod, but prefer the SD's.
    It's some solace I imagine to fool yourself into believing people moved away from FF/FG because of bile or bias, not failed policy and crony behaviour.

SF would be no saviours, just possibly better than FF/FG.

Boss, my posting history is there for all to see, put down the Deerstalker cap and pipe ffs.
    Suddenly nothing. Always gave them a nod, but prefer the SD's.
    It's some solace I imagine to fool yourself into believing people moved away from FF/FG because of bile or bias, not failed policy and crony behaviour.

SF would be no saviours, just possibly better than FF/FG.

I imagine you as somewhat mixed up in your politics tbh.
    I was somehow using you as an example of the socialist who has hitched himself on to a party for socialism sake, rather than any real in depth thought process as to how that party works.
    But you seem definite in your opinion of SF, knowledgeable even, to a point I thought that even goes beyond opinion
    Like others I take most allegations unless proven with a pinch of salt, though I might highlight it as being something that might be suspicious at least in the make up of how a party might be influenced in their policies and decisions.
    The Galway Tent, DOB as examples, there are others, you yourself mentioned Goldman Sachs just recently.
    But yesterday you made a bold definite statement, a certainty almost about the workings of SF and I'd like to know how know this is certainty. And I quote about the influence of the army council and if it still exists or not.

"No they don't. They can't. There are people who were former army council likely engaged with SF, sure. If that's what Harris meant he should have clarified instead of providing too much sugar for the babas in FG"

I imagine you as somewhat mixed up in your politics tbh.
    I was somehow using you as an example of the socialist who has hitched himself on to a party for socialism sake, rather than any real in depth thought process as to how that party works.
    But you seem definite in your opinion of SF, knowledgeable even, to a point I thought that even goes beyond opinion
    Like others I take most allegations unless proven with a pinch of salt, though I might highlight it as being something that might be suspicious at least in the make up of how a party might be influenced in their policies and decisions.
    The Galway Tent, DOB as examples, there are others, you yourself mentioned Goldman Sachs just recently.
    But yesterday you made a bold definite statement, a certainty almost about the workings of SF and I'd like to know how know this is certainty. And I quote about the influence of the army council and if it still exists or not.

"No they don't. They can't. There are people who were former army council likely engaged with SF, sure. If that's what Harris meant he should have clarified instead of providing too much sugar for the babas in FG"

You've no clue so.
    The only party I hitched myself to was Labour and I have long since un-hitched. The fact that you assume I'm some form of shinner proves my previous comment. As I've said beore if PBP reversed fortunes with SF, youse would all be cribbing about PBP and calling anyone had issue a PBP'er.
    I know as much about SF as I did FG when I voted for them.
    Link to one piece of insider SF info you feel I've posted....
    I know there is no IRA because they signed up to the GFA and have not been active since. If the Army council exist it's only because the members are still living but they are not an active army council. Where am I getting this? The IRA disbanded after they signed up to the GFA. They have representation and input to Sinn Fein and former members in SF. What would be the point of any Army council with no army, giving leadership to a party they are likely in? It makes zero sense.

The crap that gets posted to dismiss or cast aspersions on Sinn Fein damages our media and our democracy IMO. It's obvious to me, so I'l comment on it and call out cheesy threads like this one or on any party who are singled out because they threaten FF/FG. Getting rid of FF/FG is more important than SF.

FF/FG are shyte, I'll take almost any option on the chance of better.

It seems to me you either cherry picked comments or missed some or are posting shyte to try infer a point of your own making whatever that may be.
    Actually, what is you point?

You've no clue so.
    The only party I hitched myself to was Labour and I have long since un-hitched. The fact that you assume I'm some form of shinner proves my previous comment. As I've said beore if PBP reversed fortunes with SF, youse would all be cribbing about PBP and calling anyone had issue a PBP'er.
    I know as much about SF as I did FG when I voted for them.
    Link to one piece of insider SF info you feel I've posted....
    I know there is no IRA because they signed up to the GFA and have not been active since. If the Army council exist it's only because the members are still living but they are not an active army council. Where am I getting this? The IRA disbanded after they signed up to the GFA. They have representation and input to Sinn Fein and former members in SF. What would be the point of any Army council with no army, giving leadership to a party they are likely in? It makes zero sense.
    There's as much an IRA as there is an RUC. Their members are still about and likely engaged in other areas.
    It seems to me you either cherry picked comments or missed some or are posting shyte to try infer a point of your own making whatever that may be.
    Actually, what is you point?

I just did, did you read the bit you posted that I quoted.
    Only someone with inside knowledge could make that statement as being a fact.

And again in the above post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

The October 2015 Assessment on Paramilitary Groups in Northern Ireland concluded that the Provisional IRA still existed "in a much reduced form", and that some IRA members believed its Army Council oversaw both the IRA and Sinn Féin, although it believed that the leadership "remains committed to the peace process and its aim of achieving a united Ireland by political means"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assessment_on_Paramilitary_Groups_in_Northern_Ireland#Conclusions_with_respect_to_different_groups