Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs England Feb 23, 3pm Twickenham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

If Murray isn't subbed at half time I give up, no accountability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Not at the races. Farrell may as well ring the changes because we could easily be well beaten to 0 here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Not the first time Stockdale has switched off defensively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,456 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

England first game back in Twickers in 9 tests is like pure oxygen to them. That and the fact we've nothing whatsoever in our collective ballsack.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,942 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Had £100 on England today at 1.44, so happy enough on that front at least.

****e odds LOL

They were 7 point favourites

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,555 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

is_that_so wrote: »
    What's with the jersey pulling that Itoje in particular is doing?

He does it every game to wind people up. It's never been called so presumably is a legitimate tactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I wonder what Stockdale needs to get his blood up, the lack of physicality for a fella his size is embarrassing to him and his team. Someone needs to slap his face hard for the full half time break.

Drop him
    for
    Earls!!

Could you imagine Earls out there? He would be getting rag dolled the **** out of it.

Such a disappointment this performance.
    England are brutal but where is the fight? No ability to handle real pressure

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

We’re badly missing a proper sh*thouse in the team.

For all the moaning about Itoje, look how well it’s going for him. He’s winding everyone up and it’s working to Itoje and England’s benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Johnny needs to be subbed quickly he's been brutal again

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Zardoz wrote: »
    England have been gifted two gifts of tries.

Apart from that they haven't created much.

Two poor teams in that first half.

Their tries came from brilliant kicks after excellent attacking play brought them into our 22.

We've been dire but England have been very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

swiwi_ wrote: »
    James Ryan would want yo he careful with the flying clean outs. He hits a head and he’ll be off. You’re supposed to bind on.

Think the ref needs to help him there though. He is doing it because there is so much ****housing going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

England at the top of their game, we are nowhere near ours. Pack as an entirety has been ineffective. We need front foot ball and I can’t see where it will come from. England’s line speed has been phenomenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Lucky to be only down 17. We are indecisive and underpowered.
    Sexton having a mare. Murray is awful. Aki and Henshaw not in it at all.
    POM and Ryan are trying. We just look weak. Very frustrating. Farrell will surely make changes!
    We won't learn anything if he persists with the same gash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Faugheen wrote: »
    Must be watching a different game to me because I think all three have played well in defence.
    They've been OK, very fitful performance. Two tries were embarrassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

He does it every game to wind people up. It's never been called so presumably is a legitimate tactic.

It's called ****housery. When POM does it then its dark arts, great play, smart, streetwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭Downlinz

End of the road for Toner, Healy and Sexton.

Serious questions have to be asked why Andy Farrell started a new tenure with so many ageing players who were already showing signs of decline last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭omerin

Rog doesnt half talk a lot of ****e and usually takes an eternity to say it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Johnny needs to be subbed quickly he's been brutal again

How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,489 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Downlinz wrote: »

Serious questions have to be asked why Andy Farrell started a new tenure with so many ageing players who were already showing signs of decline last year.

And Murray really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Happy4all wrote: »
    Not the first time Stockdale has switched off defensively
    Stockdale has been living off 2018 heroics for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭swiwi_

is_that_so wrote: »
    What's with the jersey pulling that Itoje in particular is doing?

There is no doubt itoje is being itoje. But the flying wedge ruck clean outs is playing with fire.

If the same 15 come out then Farrell has no idea. Got to make some changes, even if ultimately futile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,631 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Murray and POM off like I said before the team was announced

Virgin Media EPG showing as ‘viewer advisory’...

Should have listened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Basil3 wrote: »
    Penalty advantage often goes for at least that long.

Are you trying to explain rugby to me ?

We are clearly shíte today, but there is a lot of latitude and blind eye been shown by the ref, including late hits by the English.

How?

He's having a mare so far. Needs to be culled

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

We're a bit light on 2nd rows and Healy has solved that problem today. TBF Healy has been selected on form in the last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Static ball carriers and passive defence V fierce line speed and carriers with momentum. What do we expect? Its a simple game and and surely any eejit can see the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭iano.p

A big shake up needed. Sexton isn't a leader for this team. Murry is poor box kicking is so crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Dubinusa wrote: »
    Lucky to be only down 17. We are indecisive and underpowered.
    Sexton having a mare. Murray is awful. Aki and Henshaw not in it at all.
    POM and Ryan are trying. We just look weak. Very frustrating. Farrell will surely make changes!
    We won't learn anything if he persists with the same gash.

POM anonymous largely. Not competing at Lineout bar one
    Gave away a pen and offers nothing with ball in hand. England know what we will do because we lack ball carriers and the service from 9 in particular is poisonous

Dillane Doris Kelleher Cooney all on at half time. Just roll the dice.

Midfield getting smashed because Whats happening inside them. Can't blamed them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

ROG gone full on Cork..

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭Some Yoke

No need to chnage according to the majority of the posters on here

Rob Kearneys redemption arc commences

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭C__MC

Oh ROG
    Just call as it is
    Shambles, nothing else
    Spoofing how ****e Ireland are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,551 ✭✭✭irishgeo

He ain't going to sub the captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

walshb wrote: »
    ROG gone full on Cork..

Hahahaha, he does that when he's pissed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭twinytwo

stephen_n wrote: »
    England at the top of their game, we are nowhere near ours. Pack as an entirety has been ineffective. We need front foot ball and I can’t see where it will come from. England’s line speed has been phenomenal.

Not really, both their tries were fluke. Jones does the usual against us. Play all the big bastards and just run us over

walshb wrote: »
    ROG gone full on Cork..
    He did eventually get to the bollocking for Stockdale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Buer wrote: »
    Their tries came from brilliant kicks after excellent attacking play brought them into our 22.

The kicks weren't brilliant.. required two monumental **** ups to result in tries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,390 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

PoM performance in a nutshell. Good in the air and offers little else against a top level opposition pack. Of course that one steal is one of the few positives from today.

Grim stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

twinytwo wrote: »
    Not really, both their tries were fluke. Jones does the usual against us. Play all the big bastards and just run us over

Like I said, they weren't fluke, they were a result of poor Irish play. Especially the second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

twinytwo wrote: »

I wouldn't say they were flukes at all. They put the ball in those positions with two decent kicks and capatilised on two dreadful mistakes by the Irish backs.

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭griffinlee

This game is lost so at least give, kelleher, Doris, cooney, even Byrne a good run at it. What can happen, we get hit by 50? So what it's lost already

Every match I see toner in I wonder what he does, flapping around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I had a feeling that England would have a scalp against us. I was right but I didn't know that Ireland will become this bad today.

Our lads have been a complete disaster in this 1st half. They have no confidence in themselves to get & keep the ball in hand. There were too many needless box kicks from us that will give us a hard lesson in future in how to not give them away so frequently. The kicking game & defence from Sexton on the pitch and in front of the posts has been awful so far. England are in a really lucky position at the moment with scoring those 2 tries while we displayed our vulnerability in front of the ball. That was not a good position to take from our perspective. England are the ones on top & will take command of a further lead against us when we go back into the game later on if we don't have the security of a back-up plan on hand to stop further domination coming from England.

I would get rid of Sexton for Byrne & also take Murray off for Cooney. These new lads need to give us some drive to the team to get back into the match.

Sexton just isn't a leader. He should never have been picked as captain.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,522 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Zardoz wrote: »
    England have been gifted two gifts of tries.

Apart from that they haven't created much.

Two poor teams in that first half.

They’ve dominated every aspect of that half. Ireland going backwards at a rate of knots off every phase from either team in possession.

Buer wrote: »

As Eamo used to say, good but not great! We have used up all the possible synonyms for bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Get Cooney and Doris on. We've so little power as is and Murray's box kicking is brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,620 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Bring on Cooney, Doris, and Dillane. Give Sexton another 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Good move to bring Dillane in! At least we could try to get some front foot ball!
    Leaving the same lads out there would be nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,456 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Can't sub Sexton yet, it messages surrender. He has to lead now. 90% of what they do in the next 10 minutes is mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Yes fair ****s to CJ Ryan and Aki at least they are bringing aggressiveness.

What is the strategy to stop Tuilagi?
    Let Sexton try and stand him up? Seriously we knew exactly what they would do and it appears their is no strategy to specially deal with him.

Extremely hard to stop him but lining Sexton up against him on first or second phase is not a solution.