Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part II - Its arrived - We're Doomed!!! See OP for Mod warnings

• Registered Users Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Ficheall wrote: »
    I think he's still self-isolating after contacting his GP until the test is confirmed?

On a general note, I'm not sure I have much faith in people self-isolating...

So it's not even confirmed?

Alright, everyone, back down from the panic stations!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭jarvis

should have stopped flights from italy.....it was insane not to

So that this person would then have to get a few boats. A few trains and a few buses?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Ninthlife wrote: »
    A wall of fire

We should burn Dublin just to be on the safe side.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,053 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

igCorcaigh wrote: »

Spare a thought for the legion of boardsie bell-end socialists who are always complaining about one-off houses and the critical need for high-rises and high density sardine-can housing in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 ReneeCali

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Paddy's day has to be cancelled now

Good, it is a joke of a holiday - drunken debauchery

• Registered Users Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

should have stopped flights from italy.....it was insane not to

Rubbish. Going to stop flights to Germany, france and the uk while we're at ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭CFlat

tillyfilly wrote: »
    move the government to Achill to PROTECT them :pac:

They have a bunker in the Dail, they'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Here's today's (non-holiday locaitons) map (already out of date).
    Has anyone ever done glamping in Antartica, or hunted/ate/wore wild wolves/bears up in Northern Siberia/Alaska, and made a camp fire directly from snow, be grand like.

zbhyBbl.png

• Registered Users Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

brother coming back from south korea, gonna isolate himself for 2 weeks on company orders he will live on top, family on first floor. scary stuff..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The sooner we accept it's here the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Ludo wrote: »
    We should burn Dublin just to be on the safe side.

Reckon the US might have some napalm left over from Nam...might be worth asking

• Registered Users Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

yeah stop all the flights now...will be easier to this now then the problems it will create....China only got it under control because they took extreme measures

• Registered Users Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭littlemac1980

jarvis wrote: »
    So that this person would then have to get a few boats. A few trains and a few buses?

That is a very fair point.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

So it's not even confirmed?

Alright, everyone, back down from the panic stations!
    Its absolutely been confirmed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Paddy's day has to be cancelled now

Yay, back to the good old paganism :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

jarvis wrote: »
    Exactly ...and they went through dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Self-isolating in Ireland: two week trip to the pub each day, and when things get really bad down to the off-license for a bag o’ cans.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

yeah stop all the flights now...will be easier to this now then the problems it will create....China only got it under control because they took extreme measures

Get a grip nobody is going to stop all flights
    Follow department of foreign affairs travel advice and all the precautions we've been told about.

Unless theres a massive outbreak then theres no need to ground everything

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

I can't figure out how this hasn't totally thrashed India or Indonesia? It seems that tropical countries are escaping the brunt due to their warm climates and there seems to be a definite correlation between warmer temperatures and this viruses inability to spread as well as colder countries further North. The Philippines for example had 3 cases and one death and it never spread due to the heat in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

127 more in Italy ,20 more in France , 14 more Germany,5 more in Sweden, 3 more in Norway ,2 more in Switzerland, the first in Northern Ireland , all in the last hour
    Europe now reporting more new cases than china

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Today's the day, everyone. Could this have been avoided? With prompt policy oversight, probably. Now how many of our fellow denizens are going to suffer the adverse consequences?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

First case reported in Northern Ireland. Its on the island now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Ya, why not? As a temporary measure. But we know it won't happen as such a policy would defy the great EU state project. We must bow to our overlords

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

I'm selling Lemsip Max Strength Cold and Flu, €25 per sachet. PM me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

theguzman wrote: »
    I can't figure out how this hasn't totally thrashed India or Indonesia? It seems that tropical countries are escaping the brunt due to their warm climates and there seems to be a definite correlation between warmer temperatures and this viruses inability to spread as well as colder countries further North. The Philippines for example had 3 cases and one death and it never spread due to the heat in the country.

i seen a university paper that said each degree higher in china affected the rate of infection

• Registered Users Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I'm selling Lemsip Max Strength Cold and Flu, €25 per sachet. PM me.

Got any yokes?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,148 ✭✭✭screamer

First case reported in Northern Ireland. Its on the island now.

I'd say it's been on the island a while, just not diagnosed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,375 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

i seen a university paper that said each degree higher in china affected the rate of infection

BLAST EVERYWHERE AND EVERYTHING WITH HEAT LAMPS !!!!!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

Jesus Italy is doing some job of spreading this about. It must be even more rampant over there than the figures are currently showing.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,137 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Get a grip nobody is going to stop all flights
    Follow department of foreign affairs travel advice and all the precautions we've been told about.

Unless theres a massive outbreak then theres no need to ground everything

There is a massive outbreak in Italy.
    Which has now spread to this island.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)