Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part II - Its arrived - We're Doomed!!! See OP for Mod warnings

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Yay, back to the good old paganism :D

Never understood people celebrating a man who helped destroy Irish culture and was quite possibly involved in a genocide against Irish people.

Ah sure there's some nice tractors on display. Any excuse for a piss up in Ireland I guess.
    cnocbui wrote: »
    Spare a thought for the legion of boardsie bell-end socialists who are always complaining about one-off houses and the critical need for high-rises and high density sardine-can housing in Dublin.

What has that got to do with anything? I fail to see the connection. They aren't wrong either.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Surely the end of Flu Season should concentrate the effort to ramp up testing for the Coronavirus. Do the HSE have the resources to ramp up the testing and will they?
    So far the scale of testing has been extremely limited.
    Currently the only lab providing testing is the NVRL. The analysers, materials, reagents that they have would not be routinely available around the country.

I can't see efforts being made to offer testing to multiple hospitals around the country. If there us a backlog, they could be outsourced to the UK.

Thats my opinion, and is what happened in 2008 with our cervical check service. Laboratory services are severely understaffed, overworked and underfunded. But you wont hear about it because its all behind the sceness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Got any yokes?

Facemasks €50 each

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭tillyfilly

Jesus Italy is doing some job of spreading this about. It must be even more rampant over there than the figures are currently showing.

its not Italy, its this virus, its an evil mutation, very smart to lay dormant

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Ya, why not? As a temporary measure. But we know it won't happen as such a policy would defy the great EU state project. We must bow to our overlords

Air travel in europe will be down to **** all in a week or two once everyone realises the obvious. Who's gonna be sent on the business trip if they have to self isolate for 2 weeks after?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Paddy's day has to be cancelled now

We need a new St. Patrick to drive the virus out of Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

How many visitors to Dublin specifically for paddy’s? Gotta be around 100,000 right?

They have to cancel it or we could easily become the next hotspot

• Registered Users Posts: 23,716 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Knex. wrote: »
    We need a new St. Patrick to drive the virus out of Ireland.

Need to build that bridge first

• Registered Users Posts: 7,640 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Good to see everyone's taking this well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

First case reported in Northern Ireland. Its on the island now.

Via Dublin...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

fair to say this is going to be a year from hell unless some miracle happens

• Registered Users Posts: 8,039 ✭✭✭Unearthly

theguzman wrote: »
    I can't figure out how this hasn't totally thrashed India or Indonesia? It seems that tropical countries are escaping the brunt due to their warm climates and there seems to be a definite correlation between warmer temperatures and this viruses inability to spread as well as colder countries further North. The Philippines for example had 3 cases and one death and it never spread due to the heat in the country.

You have to take into account that some countries are simply not doing enough testing, whether that's down to poor health infrastructure or just incompetence. South Korea are reporting a lot more cases than say Japan, but South Korea are doing way more testing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Way-hay bitches! I am back after my self imposed week long ban. How are ye all doing!?! How are the stress levels?

My update:

Total cases in Republic of Ireland: 0
    Total deaths in ROI to date: 0
    Total people stockpiling: 57,820 (up a lot)
    Total people with immunodeficiency from eating too much canned food and noodles: 57 (up 57)
    Trending words and phrases: LOCKDOWN, Pandemic, It's not the bloody flu!, Commie Chinese bastards, zombie, close the borders, United Ireland

I don't know what ye have been doing all week but I have been stockpiling like a mad man. I have enough food to last until 2022.
    I also joined a hunting club and bought a double barrel shotgun. I am trying to buy a crossbow on the internet.

It's very worrying. Not an overreaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Via Dublin...

Found that to be quite passive aggressive reporting :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Any talk of tracking people that had contact with someone in an airport is bollox. Flights from different places arrive into the same terminal. The passengers then share toilets, passport control queues and counters, hang around baggage claim in close proximity and then possibly restaurants and public transport.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,148 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

We had it in this country for at least 90 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Unearthly wrote: »
    You have to take into account that some countries are simply not doing enough testing, whether that's down to poor health infrastructure or just incompetence. South Korea are reporting a lot more cases than say Japan, but South Korea are doing way more testing

Quite remarkably Japan has only tested around 1000 people. Considering the rate of positives and the size of the country it's easily the lowest rate of testing in the world

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

MD1990 wrote: »

May God have mercy on us all.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

IN a week we will have confirmed cases in Rep of IRL i would say.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,640 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Found that to be quite passive aggressive reporting :P

"The virus, believed to be linked to a dissident Republican group..."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Runaways wrote: »
    How many visitors to Dublin specifically for paddy’s? Gotta be around 100,000 right?

They have to cancel it or we could easily become the next hotspot

We can cancel it all we want. People may still come if flights/boats/trsins/hotels ect all booked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

At least the traveller got a handy leaflet from the HSE at Dublin Airport, hm?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

As public health officials and GPs keep saying. 1 or 2 cases whatever the number is wont change the way they go about everything. That only changes in the event off mass infection such as the cluster in Italy.

Stock piling is beyond ridiculous as is creating unnecessary fear

• Registered Users Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    At least the traveller got a handy leaflet from the HSE at Dublin Airport, hm?

He was a traveler n all? Jaysus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

If its in the North then its in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,479 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

laugh wrote: »
    Any talk of tracking people that had contact with someone in an airport is bollox. Flights from different places arrive into the same terminal. The passengers then share toilets, passport control queues and counters, hang around baggage claim in close proximity and then possibly restaurants and public transport.

Betcha he's one of those really tactile Italians too, hugging and kissing total randomers all round him...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

IN a week we will have confirmed cases in Rep of IRL i would say.

I'd say in 24hrs.

There was 200 people on that flight from Italy. They've potentially been infected and brought it elsewhere.

I suspect that the Irish Government and HSE knew this was coming down the tracks the last couple of days

• Registered Users Posts: 17,510 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Way-hay bitches! I am back after my self imposed week long ban. How are ye all doing!?! How are the stress levels?

Join here as well - keep all your bases covered

https://www.facebook.com/Survive.Ireland/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

MD1990 wrote: »

huh?