Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 year old girl restrained Florida

lawred2 wrote: »
    Was this during your time in Compton?

Now now, don't make me have to bust a cap in you homes.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

biko wrote: »
    Thank god all involved was the same colour, or the SJWs would have gone nuts.
    Yes, a child was brutalised and traumatised by a psychopath, but the really important thing is that some powerless windbags on Twitter can't use this to further their agenda.

Bloody hell biko, go get some fresh air. Look at the big picture once in a while. You're obsessed with this left/right bull.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,642 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

biko wrote: »
    Thank god all involved was the same colour, or the SJWs would have gone nuts.
    am sure the white man will be held responsible somehow.

Whitey will have "ordered" the black man to arrest the black child therefore making it a motivated white privileged crime, covered up by the white owned media....keep up

Look at the size of those shoehorns!

1: That cop should be prosecuted, not just fired. There need to be proper criminal penalties for this kind of misconduct.

You are worse than him. He got fired for breaching protocol. You, if you had your way, would bring someone before a court and prosecute them when they didn't break any laws.

Think before you type.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,803 ✭✭✭✭banie01

GreeBo wrote: »
    How is this even a thing in a normal, 1st world country?

As for the second video posted...the mind boggles.

Honestly, and controversial as this will sound.
    I don't believe that in actual development and social justice terms the US is a 1st world country anymore.

Lots of decrepit infrastructure, incredibly fragmented police and judicial system.
    Huge swathes of the population are for want of a better term subsisting rather than thriving or improving.

If a measure of a society is how one looks after its weakest members, any society that criminalizes its children!
    That sets cable ties, and school police officers as the exemplar for discipline and correction!

Is not a failing society, its already failed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

In a country where its divided by the riotous right and the looney left, what do you expect.

Then it's the people with common sense and cop on caught up in the middle.

Moderate is far better than being a looney leftie or strident right...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

America is a very sick society.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

To be honest, I'm very conflicted here.

The little girl hit 3 members of staff. You can't let a child get away with that.

Now here's the kicker. What can the teachers do to restrain a child that's trying to hit them? They can do sweet fcukall to be honest because as soon as they put their hand on the child, then they are in trouble.

So, the teachers call the cops. I personally would have called her parents but we don't know the full story, maybe they weren't available to collect the child.

From looking at the video clip, the cop seems to be gentle enough with the child.

Do I think there is any need to restrain a child in this instance? Probably not. But I'm sure the procedure is there to handcuff whoever is being taken away so the cop was probably only following procedure.

I'd prefer to live in a world where 6 year olds don't have to be handcuffed but you can't have kids being allowed to punch people willy nilly with no consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I'd prefer to live in a world where 6 year olds don't have to be handcuffed

You can, it's called "not America".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

You can, it's called "not America".

its also called proper parenting and bringing up a child correctly and doing your job as a parent. No child should be hitting adults and never a teacher - probably learned it at home which is the circle of violence and bad behaviour. If parents cannot or will not parent , discipline and control their children then they expect other agencies to step in and there to be consequences for their actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,340 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You are worse than him. He got fired for breaching protocol. You, if you had your way, would bring someone before a court and prosecute them when they didn't break any laws.

Hush now, don't be silly.

Anyone with eyes could see the nature of this cop and he has history.

https://www.theroot.com/florida-officer-who-detained-a-6-year-old-for-throwing-1841917176

"Turner was disciplined no less than seven times for violating department policy, including injuring his 7-year-old son. Records show Turner, who retired last year and was working in OPD’s Reserve Unit when he arrested Kaia, was also accused of racial profiling and sending threatening texts to his ex-wife."

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Any teacher who calls the cops to a 6 year old should nto be in charge of children. What hurt can a 6 year old inflict? Come on now! If it were a 16 year old. but six?

If they have so little cop on and discipline they need to retrain and yes I have taught some rough kids in my time.

THREE teachers unable to cope with ONE small child? There is more to this than meets the eye
    Much more.

And the effect on that child?

To be honest, I'm very conflicted here.

The little girl hit 3 members of staff. You can't let a child get away with that.

Now here's the kicker. What can the teachers do to restrain a child that's trying to hit them? They can do sweet fcukall to be honest because as soon as they put their hand on the child, then they are in trouble.

So, the teachers call the cops. I personally would have called her parents but we don't know the full story, maybe they weren't available to collect the child.

From looking at the video clip, the cop seems to be gentle enough with the child.

Do I think there is any need to restrain a child in this instance? Probably not. But I'm sure the procedure is there to handcuff whoever is being taken away so the cop was probably only following procedure.

I'd prefer to live in a world where 6 year olds don't have to be handcuffed but you can't have kids being allowed to punch people willy nilly with no consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,803 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Agree with this 100% the failing is multi-level and IMO the values learned at home are those that are carried throughout life.

Moral, social and personal responsibility all begin with the family unit.
    Where children can see behaviour such as the child in the video as being a normal interaction, it surely raises questions as to why they see it as normalized.

It's only compounded however when trained (hopefully) education workers and teachers cannot deescalate a tantrum without resort to police intervention.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Cant do the time, dont do the crime

• Registered Users Posts: 24,401 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

banie01 wrote: »
    Agree with this 100% the failing is multi-level and IMO the values learned at home are those that are carried throughout life.

Moral, social and personal responsibility all begin with the family unit.
    Where children can see behaviour such as the child in the video as being a normal interaction, it surely raises questions as to why they see it as normalized.

It's only compounded however when trained (hopefully) education workers and teachers cannot deescalate a tantrum without resort to police intervention.

failings may be 'multi level' but no fu(king cop anywhere should see fit to put a 6 year old child in restraints...

that's mental

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The gimp talking in the video sounds like he shouldn't be near the general population let alone kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

jesus, it is on the same level as that time the horseback cops in texas arrested a black man and led him through the streets by a length of rope. It was reminiscent of the days when escaped slaves were apprehended and dragged back to their masters.
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2019/oct/03/texas-galveston-police-black-man-led-by-rope-donald-neely

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

Hush now, don't be silly.

Anyone with eyes could see the nature of this cop and he has history.

https://www.theroot.com/florida-officer-who-detained-a-6-year-old-for-throwing-1841917176

"Turner was disciplined no less than seven times for violating department policy, including injuring his 7-year-old son. Records show Turner, who retired last year and was working in OPD’s Reserve Unit when he arrested Kaia, was also accused of racial profiling and sending threatening texts to his ex-wife."

Seems the cop was sacked , not for the use of cable ties on the kid but for not following protocol.

His other "problems" are a different issue to the 6 year old

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

What an absolute ****hole of a country

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

No history, no culture, no class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Black child, black member of staff in background and a black police officer arrives to restrain the child and the tide pod generation of upper class white people are commenting white privilege, racism etc. The biggest recruiters for the far right.

https://twitter.com/skynews/status/1232412627428691973?s=21

So the 6 year old being restrained by the police is not the big takeaway for you but the reaction from a certain demographic of whitey?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

They can do sweet fcukall to be honest because as soon as they put their hand on the child, then they are in trouble.
    This is not true to be honest.

It's hysteria from the "can't say anything these days" brigade.

Any childcare provider including teachers, health care professionals, creche staff, etc., are permitted to "put their hand" on a child if it is necessary.

In the case of a child who is being violent, they are very much entitled to use reasonable force to restrain the child provided the purpose is to prevent injury to the child themselves or someone else.

The child is 6, "reasonable force" doesn't take very much, and it is certainly not a police officer with handcuffs. The idea that teachers cannot do anything about a physically disruptive child, has no basis in fact.

Americans call the cops on children and then when wonder why their kids grow up completely hating and distrusting cops.

The teacher who called the cops should equally be fired, for incompetence as well as the obvious danger s/he put the child in.

Why do some people see this as being indicative of the type of society America is?

It would be like seeing 2 junkies arguing in Temple Bar and concluding that Ireland is a messed up place with degenerate people.

Why do some people see this as being indicative of the type of society America is?

It would be like seeing 2 junkies arguing in Temple Bar and concluding that Ireland is a messed up place with degenerate people.

No it wouldn't. Nonsensical comparison.

It would be like the Gardaí going into a school, tie wrapping a 6 year old by the wrists and carting them off to the station.

It would be fúcked up where ever it happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,642 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I worked with an American woman who was only in Ireland for a short time, and when she found out the gardai were unarmed, she genuinely asked 'Why does anybody listen to them then?'

Just one anecdote, but maybe something of an insight into how respect is earned by police over there - not just earning respect because of being in a position of authority, but compelling respect through possessing the threat of violence.

Perhaps there is something similar here - a police officer who sees physical violence as the way to resolve a situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Everyone in the school is afraid to physically touch the little out of control girl because it’s career over time if she ends up with as much as a red mark on her arm or wrist or wherever she’s been grabbed.
    At the same time she has to be removed or she will hurt herself or someone else, possibly another child (another law suit from another justifiably angry parent).
    Obviously this child’s parents/guardians were not available to come to the school.
    School protocol in this case must be to ring the police. What else can they do?
    Police protocol from there on? What do you boardsies think? What should have happened when the cop arrived ?

splinter65 wrote: »
    Everyone in the school is afraid to physically touch the little out of control girl because it’s career over time if she ends up with as much as a red mark on her arm or wrist or wherever she’s been grabbed.
    At the same time she has to be removed or she will hurt herself or someone else, possibly another child (another law suit from another justifiably angry parent).
    Obviously this child’s parents/guardians were not available to come to the school.
    School protocol in this case must be to ring the police. What else can they do?
    Police protocol from there on? What do you boardsies think? What should have happened when the cop arrived ?

The child looked like she was calmly reading a book chatting to the lady in the office when chips burst through the door.

It looks like it had been de-escalated.

But gimpy was getting his 6,000 record breaking arrest no matter what it would seem.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,401 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It's a policeman arresting a child in a school.

What about two public servants makes them comparable with two bums having a barney?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Boggles wrote: »
    The child looked like she was calmly reading a book chatting to the lady in the office when chips burst through the door.

It looks like it had been de-escalated.

But gimpy was getting his 6,000 record breaking arrest no matter what it would seem.

If it had been de-escalated and there was no further risk to the little girl, or any other person, then don’t you think that she would have been sent back to class?
    The monitor seemed quite satisfied that she be removed.
    But I did ask for comments on what you all think the policeman SHOULD have done, and you haven’t given your opinion boggles.
    So tell us what you think should have happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

splinter65 wrote: »
    If it had been de-escalated and there was no further risk to the little girl, or any other person, then don’t you think that she would have been sent back to class?
    The monitor seemed quite satisfied that she be removed.
    But I did ask for comments on what you all think the policeman SHOULD have done, and you haven’t given your opinion boggles.
    So tell us what you think should have happened?

He shouldn’t have been there at all is what he should have done.

How do teachers manage disruptive children in other countries?

The cop was fired:

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/amp/ncna1142356?__twitter_impression=true

The above article also says that some of the school staff members were not happy at the way it was handled.