Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you travel? [Mod Note in Post #1 - Travel Discussion Only! Megathread]

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

If anyone heard the Joe Duffy show today there was an account from a guy who travelled to Malaga on business. His plane had a large party who spent their time drinking at the airport beforehand and who then arrived on the plane without masks and spent the flight walking around the fighting among themselves.

Now the point about this was that Michael O'Leary and the DAA are forever complaining about the government and claiming that travel is safe, yet they allow this sort of carry on. They are interested in your money but not in providing a safe travel environment.

Witchie wrote: »
    Here in Malaysia we had an increase in cases despite the CMCO (conditional movement control order) for a few weeks to over 1000 cases a day. Thankfully has dropped down to about 600 a day now. But this is a country of 33 million people. Kuala Lumpur has about 7 million people in the city and surrounding areas with about 120 cases today.

Sad to be leaving such a secure place tomorrow night.

Spent the night out with mates drinking. All social distanced, bar closed at 10, wearing masks when we leave. Gonna miss my freedom here.

Its sad you feel that way, why would you? Things aren't that bad here at all, I wouldn't be so gloomy about it. Very few are following 5km restrictions. I drove 20km today for a swim in a different area because its my birthday! Lovely coffee and take away food after with a friend - outdoors in the cold but it was so beautiful. This lockdown is nothing like the last one, go and live your life and make the most of your trip home.
    Don't believe everything you read on Boards. Most people in Ireland are not on Boards.ie! :rolleyes:

If anyone heard the Joe Duffy show today there was an account from a guy who travelled to Malaga on business. His plane had a large party who spent their time drinking at the airport beforehand and who then arrived on the plane without masks and spent the flight walking around the fighting among themselves.

Now the point about this was that Michael O'Leary and the DAA are forever complaining about the government and claiming that travel is safe, yet they allow this sort of carry on. They are interested in your money but not in providing a safe travel environment.

Your man could have said it as well though but I agree, Ryanair are very thick with people at the gate but ignore troublemakers onboard.

I was on an Iberia flight last week and the Captain said it in Spanish and English very clearly. "If you dont wear a mask or take it off you will be removed from the flight and arrested." simple as.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Your man could have said it as well though but I agree, Ryanair are very thick with people at the gate but ignore troublemakers onboard.

I was on an Iberia flight last week and the Captain said it in Spanish and English very clearly. "If you dont wear a mask or take it off you will be removed from the flight and arrested." simple as.

Going to Greece in October the masks were mentioned once by the flight attendants. However returning (with Greek staff) it was mentioned several times and a few people were told to put their masks back on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Its sad you feel that way, why would you? Things aren't that bad here at all, I wouldn't be so gloomy about it. Very few are following 5km restrictions. I drove 20km today for a swim in a different area because its my birthday! Lovely coffee and take away food after with a friend - outdoors in the cold but it was so beautiful. This lockdown is nothing like the last one, go and live your life and make the most of your trip home.
    Don't believe everything you read on Boards. Most people in Ireland are not on Boards.ie! :rolleyes:
    Happy birthday!

Am going to be staying with my elderly parents so I will not be going out and mixing. I also have asthma so don't want the risk.

Here it is low I can relax and enjoy myself. At home, I will rarely leave the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Hypothetical question:

What happens if you book Spain while Ireland is on the Orange list and a day or two before you depart we change colour again?

Surely you can't be expected to organise a clean test in 24 hours?

Witchie is leaving Malaysia. Possibly no other country has done more to look after the wellbeing and lives of their people since March

They've done an incredible job versus the complete and utter clusterfúck we've had in Ireland

So ":rolleyes:" indeed

• Registered Users Posts: 12,113 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Where can you keep track of colour codings?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Witchie is leaving Malaysia. Possibly no other country has done more to look after the wellbeing and lives of their people since March

They've done an incredible job versus the complete and utter clusterfúck we've had in Ireland

So ":rolleyes:" indeed

Arguably, Vietnam, Thailand, Taiwan and south Korea but we are defo up there with one of the countries who have done a great job. We just reached over 300 deaths recently. 309 in a country of 33+ million. Staggering really. Yet they are beating themselves up here when we were in 1000+ cases a day.

So while seeing my parents and possibly some other family like my sons, is a big draw, I am giving up safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭acequion

Witchie wrote: »
    Arguably, Vietnam, Thailand, Taiwan and south Korea but we are defo up there with one of the countries who have done a great job. We just reached over 300 deaths recently. 309 in a country of 33+ million. Staggering really. Yet they are beating themselves up here when we were in 1000+ cases a day.

So while seeing my parents and possibly some other family like my sons, is a big draw, I am giving up safety.

Ah here! I agree with sweetmaggie that things aren't that bad here in terms of danger. But they are dreadful in terms of restrictions.

A few pages back on this thread a few of us were wondering just where the approx 400 cases a day are coming from and concluded that it's mainly in hospital and care settings. Again. I work in a large school so should be at huge risk but three months in all is fine. Look nobody is denying that the virus is contagious. And nobody is saying you won't catch it. But overall the threat is relatively low if you go about your business safely.

Restrictions are quite another matter as we've endured and are still enduring the harshest in Europe.

acequion wrote: »
    Restrictions are quite another matter as we've endured and are still enduring the harshest in Europe.

This is not true, we have never had the harshest restrictions. For instance in many places you were only allowed go a few hundred metres and had to complete a form to give to police if stopped. In many countries masks are required in public places outdoors.

At present, in Paris you may only travel 1Km without such a form.

It is disappointing that people are still spreading falsehoods at this stage, I hope you are not responsible for educating people in a school.

Nonsensical statement

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Nonsensical statement

Really? Why? Show me the proof that for the past 8 months our restrictions have not been among the harshest, if not the harshest in Europe. Pubs closed for almost all that time. Hairdressers and beauticians also closed for longer than elsewhere. A propaganda campaign in Ireland against foreign travel and a quarantine imposed for almost all other countries while Europe opened up to Europe. I could go on. There are plenty more examples.

As I've just said in another thread, the fanatical won't like anybody pointing out the obvious, the fanatical won't debate, only try to rubbish other arguments as per the highly intelligent gem above.

Why do you repeat this lie?

Its simple not true at all with multiple examples from abroad of worse.

My children at this very moment in time have been put back inside with only essential outdoor activity. Theres immediate on the spot fines for leaving the town without a letter stating its essential, masks are mandatory outside your home and theres a complete curfew at night. No bars open either by the way.

This by the way, was in place for 4 months before while you were still free to roam the land.

Italy, ditto
    France, ditto
    Slovakia, ditto

Its easier to name where had it easier than use and our 'suggestions' that you could ignore.

Why do you repeat this lie?

Its simple not true at all with multiple examples from abroad of worse

Come off it will you? Other countries in Europe did a sharp lockdown during the first wave and then opened up. Fully. Apart from mask wearing and distancing there were no other restrictions on people's activities. They got to enjoy a summer. They were able to travel freely. The pedantic will argue that we have had no quarantine in Ireland, only restrict your movements but it amounts to the same thing especially when you are forced to take two weeks unpaid leave from your job on return. Do they impose that in Spain, France, Italy?? I haven't heard and I have contacts in those countries and before this pandemic, was a frequent traveller.

Ok, so second wave and countries are reigning things in again. Fair enough. But in many places ie parts of Spain it's mainly a curfew. You can still go to a restaurant, you can still go to a hairdresser. And you will answer that countries are now imposing a PCR. Fair enough too but will they keep it up indefinitely? Remains to be seen but frankly I'd be surprised.

Other countries react to and deal with the threats when necessary And yes they can be strict. But they don't make those restrictions quasi permanent. Apart from our neighbours across the pond, no other country has imposed such draconian restrictions across so many sectors over 8 long months. Even Varadkar said as much. And Ryanair in their action said the restrictions in Ireland were disproportionate to the threat and that we were cutting ourselves off from Europe.

If you don't agree show me the proof of one other European country outside the British isles which has had such a sustained nationwide spell of restrictions. And kindly stop calling me a liar when I speak the truth.

This is not true, we have never had the harshest restrictions. For instance in many places you were only allowed go a few hundred metres and had to complete a form to give to police if stopped. In many countries masks are required in public places outdoors.

At present, in Paris you may only travel 1Km without such a form.

It is disappointing that people are still spreading falsehoods at this stage, I hope you are not responsible for educating people in a school.

As I've just said, bullies and fanatics can't/won't debate. They resort to irrelevant put downs and snide remarks. It doesn't mask their ignorance.

As I've just said, sharp lockdowns which lasted for 3-4 months followed by the normal pandemic restrictions of masks/distancing/sanitising followed by tighter restrictions and localised lockdowns in the second wave don't equal the 8 months of sustained restrictions in Ireland. In Ireland the month of September was about the only month where all sectors were given a chance, all except foreign travel. Abroad, all was fully open from June-October. Big difference.

Come off it will you? Other countries in Europe did a sharp lockdown during the first wave and then opened up.

This is not what you said. You could have made this statement accurately, if you wished, but you chose not to.

You could perhaps have added "Other countries in Europe did a sharp lockdown during the first wave and then opened up, and have recently imposed restrictions similar to or in many cases more restrictive than in Ireland while Ireland has more restrictions in early summer".

This is not what you said. You could have made this statement accurately, if you wished, but you chose not to.

You could perhaps have added "Other countries in Europe did a sharp lockdown during the first wave and then opened up, and have recently imposed restrictions similar to or in many cases more restrictive than in Ireland while Ireland has more restrictions in early summer".

What a load of rubbish! You are clearly unable to debate so you're trying to trip me up in wording as to what I could have/might have said and wow but you even know what I choose to say or not say! A mind reader too, are we? I know exactly what I said, it's there clear as day in my posts. Maybe you just don't understand.

I like to debate but I've no interest in playing word games with someone who is basically doing just that.

Good night.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

There's fantastic value on flights at the moment. Ryanair have a €5 sale, only from Dublin though as Cork and Shannon airports have been decimated. If work wasn't so busy I'd be off for a fun-filled city break.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

Yeah I heard this today.
    I was surprised as it is the kind of blasé approach I would expect on an Aer Lingus flight and not from Ryanair.
    I was on a Ryanair flight from Cologne to Dublin last year and there was a party of about six men in the two rows ahead of me. Right before takeoff, they were sharing out cans amongst each other but before they could be cracked open the cabin crew fell down on them like a tonne of bricks. Stern warnings and threats about being escorted off the plane were dished out and the sheepish men had to hand their bag of cans over to them.
    Suppose it just depends what kind of crew you get on the day, but I was certainly very grateful to them as it would have been so much easier to turn a blind eye and let us passengers have to suffer drunken behaviour for 2.5 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭random_banter

As an FYI, I’ve been trying to get my head around the EU traffic light system and the best source I can find right now is the EU website itself (the one with the interactive map) and also our own DFA website.

They both include indications of the various different restrictions on arrival in each country dependent on the status of the country you've arrived from.

I’m trying to figure out what the restrictions would be on someone arriving from Ireland into France based on Ireland being orange or red. Currently they’re in a fairly serious lockdown in France so I can’t see anything about what it’ll be like when they’re out of lockdown re: arrival restrictions.

Can anybody take a wild guess or is anyone in the know?

The “every country treating colour coded arrivals as they wish” system makes it a little hard to even broadly predict what those restrictions might be.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,968 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

We will be locked down for months if non essential travel is incoming at Christmas. .

Such babies. The end is in sight with multiple vaccines on the cards, be patient just while longer..

I completely understand wanting to see sick and elderly relatives, but coming back for the craic, not so much, when the tunnel light is on now thankfully.

Come off it will you? Other countries in Europe did a sharp lockdown during the first wave and then opened up. Fully. Apart from mask wearing and distancing there were no other restrictions on people's activities. They got to enjoy a summer. They were able to travel freely. The pedantic will argue that we have had no quarantine in Ireland, only restrict your movements but it amounts to the same thing especially when you are forced to take two weeks unpaid leave from your job on return. Do they impose that in Spain, France, Italy?? I haven't heard and I have contacts in those countries and before this pandemic, was a frequent traveller.

Ok, so second wave and countries are reigning things in again. Fair enough. But in many places ie parts of Spain it's mainly a curfew. You can still go to a restaurant, you can still go to a hairdresser. And you will answer that countries are now imposing a PCR. Fair enough too but will they keep it up indefinitely? Remains to be seen but frankly I'd be surprised.

Other countries react to and deal with the threats when necessary And yes they can be strict. But they don't make those restrictions quasi permanent. Apart from our neighbours across the pond, no other country has imposed such draconian restrictions across so many sectors over 8 long months. Even Varadkar said as much. And Ryanair in their action said the restrictions in Ireland were disproportionate to the threat and that we were cutting ourselves off from Europe.

If you don't agree show me the proof of one other European country outside the British isles which has had such a sustained nationwide spell of restrictions. And kindly stop calling me a liar when I speak the truth.

We already had this conversation did we not?

Italy and Spain. There ya go.

Did you spend time in either between March and June? No, neither did I because I wasn't allowed in.

Spain= locked inside with a small degree of outside allowed for essentials only. Masks all the time. Bars and restaurants closed. Many shops closed. Public transport stopped. Entry to the country limited. Schools closed. Children not allowed leave home except if necessary to bring them with a parent for essential shopping. ID and proof of essential travel needed. Not allowed be further than 10 minutes from home even when allowed out. Fines and arrest allowed for breaches. 4 months that lasted. In the summer masks were mandatory and social distancing occurred. They returned to most restrictions in October and have gone back to full lockdown again in parts. You can't sit inside a restaurant or coffee shop in most parts. It was short lived.

France = similar but including ban on entry. Police powers to force people to return to originaly country.

Italy = curfew, ban on outdoor gathering, everything closed, ban on travel, ban on leaving home without written permission and reason.

Ireland = pubs, restaurants closed. 5km limit imposed. No proof of essential travel required for breaches. No powers of arrest initially. Masks recommended but not mandatory. Requested to avoid travel but not legally enforced. Schools closed. Shops closed. Travel never banned. No legal requirement to isolate or quarantine.

Parts of Spain have now gone back to full and complete lockdown. Cannot leave the town. Cannot go outside except for essentials. Not as bad as before but still worse then Ireland where you can still go outside. Walk around, smell the flowers and breath mask free but can't have a pint inside the boozer. Your view that spain was back to normal in the summer is the stuff of myths I'm afraid. It was opened up but then, so was Ireland. You keep going on about 8 months. What 8 month lockdown? The country was reopened just the same as Spain, France and italy. I had a pint in a pub. Went to the cinema and a restaurant in the summer.

There is no evidence to support your view which I'm almost certain was debunked before especially considering nearly everything is a suggestion that you can legally ignore. Try ignoring a cop in Spain telling you to go home and see where to end up.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,296 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

MOL doesn't give a flying fcuk what you get up to before, during or after his flights as long as you put money into his hot little hands.

Why people look up to this vulgar grasping man as if he's a god is beyond me.

GazzaL wrote: »
    There's fantastic value on flights at the moment. Ryanair have a €5 sale, only from Dublin though as Cork and Shannon airports have been decimated. If work wasn't so busy I'd be off for a fun-filled city break.

You are assuming the fight will actually happen. They are still cancelling flights and messing around with vouchers.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,296 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

We already had this conversation did we not?

I've given up debating with such people.

This downtrodden Irish woe-is-me exceptionalism, living in a "police state" of course. The beatings the Guards give people these days for straying beyond their 5k are something else, wha?

What a load of rubbish! You are clearly unable to debate so you're trying to trip me up in wording as to what I could have/might have said and wow but you even know what I choose to say or not say! A mind reader too, are we? I know exactly what I said, it's there clear as day in my posts. Maybe you just don't understand.

I like to debate but I've no interest in playing word games with someone who is basically doing just that.

Good night.

You posted a falsehood that Ireland had the harshest lockdown in Europe, I called you out on this. I have no interest in debating, only that you stop posting exaggerations.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Mr rebel wrote: »
    Yeah I heard this today.
    I was surprised as it is the kind of blasé approach I would expect on an Aer Lingus flight and not from Ryanair.
    I was on a Ryanair flight from Cologne to Dublin last year and there was a party of about six men in the two rows ahead of me. Right before takeoff, they were sharing out cans amongst each other but before they could be cracked open the cabin crew fell down on them like a tonne of bricks. Stern warnings and threats about being escorted off the plane were dished out and the sheepish men had to hand their bag of cans over to them.
    Suppose it just depends what kind of crew you get on the day, but I was certainly very grateful to them as it would have been so much easier to turn a blind eye and let us passengers have to suffer drunken behaviour for 2.5 hours.

it wasn't you they were worried for, they wanted the passengers to buy alcohol from ryanair

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

MOL doesn't give a flying fcuk what you get up to before, during or after his flights as long as you put money into his hot little hands.

Why people look up to this vulgar grasping man as if he's a god is beyond me.

Very apt

531246.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,172 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Originally Posted by SB71 View Post
    , i dont recall hearing about a single case where a staff member for an airline tested positive and caught it whilst flying.
    Do you work for an airline? Where would you expect to hear about each and every case?