Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you travel? [Mod Note in Post #1 - Travel Discussion Only! Megathread]

• Registered Users Posts: 9,229 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

RobitTV wrote: »

He isn't even wearing his mask properly the eejit

Jake1 wrote: »
    Well done RTE, distraction technique working well.

:(

Distraction from what?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Lad has a fair tan. He could well have been out there since last summer.

The twitter brigade are the modern day curtain twitchers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Lad has a fair tan. He could well have been out there since last summer.

The twitter brigade are the modern day curtain twitchers.

Looks like he has a good health dose of Vitamin C got, most likley far healthy than the others who lock themselves in for months. Lockdowns are effecting healthy immune systems also.

True colours coming out tonight. Very angry and agitated.

https://twitter.com/Gruaig_Rua/status/1354203359599874048

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Jesus the poor Lanzarote people. Your head would be wrecked coming back from holiday and suddenly you are a pariah and you didn't even know.

Are RTE really that hard up for news? Nothing else happening in the world.

theguzman wrote: »
    Lockdowns are effecting healthy immune systems also.

Fake news

RTE incited hatred tonight. This is not how people should be treated. You can disagree with what they did. But these are people who could now face threats.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Jesus the poor Lanzarote people. Your head would be wrecked coming back from holiday and suddenly you are a pariah and you didn't even know.
    Are RTE really that hard up for news? Nothing else happening in the world.

Since 27 December 846 patients have caught Covid-19 in hospitals... But sure let's send a camera crew up to the arrivals haul to catch these criminals all of whom had negative tests and were off home to self-isolate...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Shocking reaction from people..

It's a 'if I am miserable everybody else must be miserable too' attitude.

This pandemic has exposed a lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Reading Twitter - Apparently there’s flights due in on Thursday from Lanzarote and Tenerife to Dublin Airport , they better hope there’s Gardaí on duty on all roads round Dublin Airport or they’ll be mauled by protestors , bound to be a share of media with cameras

• Registered Users Posts: 12,113 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

For this year yes, we're already planning 2022 somewhere warm and sunny

Why not September/October?

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Since 27 December 846 patients have caught Covid-19 in hospitals... But sure let's send a camera crew up to the arrivals haul to catch these criminals all of whom had negative tests and were off home to self-isolate...

Correction- since 27 December 846 patients have caught Covid-19 in ONE particular hospital. The number runs into the 1000’s for all hospitals and make up to 40% of all cases but........Lanzarote.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

She's right. You have to even wear a mask when not in your place on the beach.

It's not some carnage wild free for all there. Safe as houses with very few holiday makers.

The Madrid flight or London flights would have been a different kettle of fish in terms of risk level.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I actually see how the Stasi and informant systems worked in police states.

Lanzarote has a warm climate, has low cases by all accounts and is not in some hedonistic party mode. Its a bit odd going on holidays at this time but the covid situation was entirely different even a month ago when these flights were probably booked. There's definitely an element of classism and stereotypes of the type of people that go on sun holidays in winter.

Gael23 wrote: »
    Why not September/October?

Possibly still too early lockdown-wise, the child is in school and we can't wait until Halloween for a holiday from work

The more I think of it, the more it looks like a blatant attempt by the Govt to stitch up travelmakers to distract from their own failings.

More cases in January alone than all of last year. That screams massive failure.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,945 ✭✭✭✭josip

Were the RTE camera crew at the airport fined €100 by the Gardai for going beyond the 5km?
    Because that certainly was not an essential trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,664 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Correction- since 27 December 846 patients have caught Covid-19 in ONE particular hospital. The number runs into the 1000’s for all hospitals and make up to 40% of all cases but........Lanzarote.

You should also realise that if there was not the big spike of people in the community which ended up in a big spike in hospital, then less "regular patients" would have caught it there.

The people flouting restrictions, whether coming from Lanzarote or flying home via Belfast for a Christmas session, spread that virus to the community which caused the spike.

The more I think of it, the more it looks like a blatant attempt by the Govt to stitch up travelmakers to distract from their own failings.

More cases in January alone than all of last year. That screams massive failure.

In fairness it’s good politics. A proverbial 3 card trick. Turn people on each other and their own massive failings are forgotten.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Green Peter

It's selfish and wrong, either we are all in it together or we have chaos and a huge death toll. Pure selfish and will prolong this for everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭TallyRand

Amazing lesson in human behaviour here! Bunch of psychos flipping because people went to a safer place than Ireland, tested both ways and yet they are somehow the villains.....stasi stuff going on! Some righteous people might be a little embarrassed when they calm down

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

josip wrote: »
    Were the RTE camera crew at the airport fined €100 by the Gardai for going beyond the 5km?

It is illegal for a person to be inside the Terminal now unless you have an airline reservation, there is Airport police at the doors of T1, they are full time checking facebook, drinking coffee and drawing overtime :rolleyes:. A journalist and camera should not have been allowed inside if they stuck to their own rules.

You should also realise that if there was not the big spike of people in the community which ended up in a big spike in hospital, then less "regular patients" would have caught it there.

The people flouting restrictions, whether coming from Lanzarote or flying home via Belfast for a Christmas session, spread that virus to the community which caused the spike.

I accept that to a degree. However hospitals and health care settings have been a massive driver of cases since the beginning. The government have failed miserably to deal with it and are virtue signalling about flights coming from countries where everyone has to wear a mask at all times and has to be tested on the way in and the way out as well as having a second test here after 5 days or isolating for 14 days.

josip wrote: »

I think what sticks in my craw the most, is the hypocrisy surrounding Covid and who is 'guilty' and who is not quite guilty , but should be watched..
    By people who are so full of their own self importance that they think THYEY are above the law.

For example, on some of the shows on RTE, discussing Covid, could some of them, if not all just zoom?? Why is their presence essential? Who decides?.

Those reporters showing up with cameras ready to be in peoples faces, assuming every single person on the flight had no business coming into Ireland, yet they felt or were given the Go ahead, to traipse on into Dublin airport, more than likely going beyond their 5km, just to embarass people??
    FFS, so much bull****.

So many politicians using this to grandstand. Would sicken yer hole

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

So true. Tommy Tiernan the other night for example. I like Tommy and the guests were cool but there was no need for them to be their live in person.

People go to escape the gloom to a sunny warm climate in a European country with low case rates. We can have a debate on this but the admonishment and villinisation. Once again, everyone else is always to blame. It's been the story the whole way through.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭TallyRand

I accept that to a degree. However hospitals and health care settings have been a massive driver of cases since the beginning. The government have failed miserably to deal with it and are virtue signalling about flights coming from countries where everyone has to wear a mask at all times and has to be tested on the way in and the way out as well as having a second test here after 5 days or isolating for 14 days.

Load of bollox, do you all forget the cheltenham spike that never happened lads?

Hospitals and nursing homes is where all the bad action is, same as every other country it seems.....stop all your finger wagging. I bet you all have no problem going into spar or centra every week? Do you think the staff there are robots or somehow super covid immune?

Nursing homes and hospitals lads