Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inside the K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

technocrat wrote: »

Politicans defending them and looking for more investment in 'community resources' to tackle the problem.

As if they could be bribed with a few football pitches and pool tables LOL!

These are hardened criminals that need to be dealt with using the full force of the law, ERU arrests etc.

Yer wan talking about getting in and working with the criminal families is living in cloud cuckoo land. They’d eat her up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

Yeah just below the hip from what I could see. Guy was off his face.

Yeah they sort of skipped over that very quickly. I hope that off camera they gave him a hiding.

Seen the car was covered in blood from transport. Do the guards have to clean that or would a special team be needed because of the hazzard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭TallGlass2

What is she harping on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭technocrat

The little scrotes recording the Guards should have had their phones ripped off them and smashed up on the ground.

Imagine the shock when seeing seeing their iPhone 11 in bits ha

Here Philly and your filters...

Nice Playground placed into Ballymun... Burnt to the ground...

https://www.thejournal.ie/ballymun-playground-burned-down-1696031-Sep2014/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Cork_Langer1

Yeah they sort of skipped over that very quickly. I hope that off camera they gave him a hiding.

Seen the car was covered in blood from transport. Do the guards have to clean that or would a special team be needed because of the hazzard?

The guards shouldn't be giving anyone a hiding, that's why they've lost all credibility within communities and shouldn't be happening fullstop, it's also lead to the judges giving the person a lighter punishment for their misbehaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭technocrat

Philly is away with the fairies here.

All well and good providing services and offering coaching but if the individual doesn't engage or express interest what more can 'society' do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

That was Mr Flashys (Glen Ward) house that was petroled bomed and raided at the end of the program
    I can never understand why media cant name the big eared prick

technocrat wrote: »
    Philly is away with the fairies here.

All well and good providing services and offering coaching but if the individual doesn't engage or express interest what more can 'society' do...

There needs to be two sides and channel for this in communities.

Either you engage with services and keep a clean record and if you can't do this then your seriously dealt with by the court system.

If your racking up convictions into the 100s like, or even in double figures for serious organised crime then your not getting the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,351 ✭✭✭Jeff2

LorelaiG wrote: »
    They messed up where they mentioned an address and then two mins later tried to censor it out.

Was that Ratoath drive.

No naming big ears flushy as they did others on the program.

Maybe he is under 18? If he hasn't been convicted of anything either then the papers be wide open to slander if they said something about him.

TallGlass2 wrote: »
    Maybe he is under 18? If he hasn't been convicted of anything either then the papers be wide open to slander if they said something about him.

He is 21,
    and f**k that **** about not naming these scum. the dogs on the street know who they are
    Its about time we just lifted these pricks off the street

He is 21,
    and f**k that **** about not naming these scum. the dogs on the street know who they are
    Its about time we just lifted these pricks off the street

They are been lifted off the streets by the Garda and the judges let them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭d51984

Regarding the guards been filmed with phones, at night the guards just shine their torches at said phones... job done!

Its a disgrace Joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

d51984 wrote: »
    Regarding the guards been filmed with phones, at night the guards just shine their torches at said phones... job done!

Fine if there's 1 phone, if there's 6 they need 6 torches.

M

Gardai so badly need body cams to expose what is going on.

They should just take the phones off them. Should be a law to ban filming of guards in public.

Its a disgrace Joe!

M

They should just take the phones off them. Should be a law to ban filming of guards in public.

Only if body cams capture them seizing the phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Cork_Langer1

It's the public's only way of keeping them honest, why do people think they haven't got body cams.

A few of them have body cams already but I agree, all members should be issued one.

Its a disgrace Joe!

M

Will Pavee Point be making a statement tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

Shocked at the age of some of those kids out on the street, some looked around 10 , close enough to my own kids ages. Poor ****ers should be at home in a warm bed what hope do they have .
    So sad to see kids used like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,225 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Larbre34 wrote: »

Friends of mine in the Guards tell me loads of them are handing back their public order kit and withdrawing from the list of volunteers who respond to emergencies and who can blame them. All this case did was make the public and private property less safe in the future.

Gardai *volunteer* to attend emergencies ? I know Jack **** about the inner workings of the organization but if you are a Garda and you are assigned to attend a car crash, or a robbery at a Spar shop or a serious assault taking place in temple bar ? You get to refuse ? How does that work ? If I go out to put the bins out get hopped on, they go inside ransacking the gaff while I’m held down, neighbors call the local station... “well they have had a busy evening, they are just having a cup of tea and watching the end of the Sopranos, be there in 20 ! Sounds erm, fûckin weird.

harr wrote: »
    Shocked at the age of some of those kids out on the street, some looked around 10 , close enough to my own kids ages. Poor ****ers should be at home in a warm bed what hope do they have .
    So sad to see kids used like that

I totally agree with you. The question I have is, why aren't their parents taking responsibility for them like you or I would?

The problem I believe is that the parents couldn't give a **** and leave it to the street to raise them.

Strumms wrote: »
    Gardai *volunteer* to attend emergencies ? I know Jack **** about the inner workings of the organization but if you are a Garda and you are assigned to attend a car crash, or a robbery at a Spar shop or a serious assault taking place in temple bar ? You get to refuse ? How does that work ? If I go out to put the bins out get hopped on, they go inside ransacking the gaff while I’m held down, neighbors call the local station... “well they have had a busy evening, they are just having a cup of tea and watching the end of the Sopranos, be there in 20 ! Sounds erm, fûckin weird.

It's a volunteer unit in the Garda, they ask to go on it. These Garda are now just not part of the public order unit and maybe back on there regular unit or what ever they where at before. No they can't refuse to go to a call, they can go and await assistance if the situation was a risk to there own lives.

Maybe have a rant to your local TD's about the justice system in Ireland, Gardaí are a clog in the wheel not the wheel itself, the government are the biggest clog in it and as per all the other wheels they look after, well you know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

A few of them have body cams already but I agree, all members should be issued one.

No, Some, or any of them, don't have Bodycams.

The legislation was brought in last June by the Minister, and passed by the Dail, but ICCL strongly objected.
    So at the moment, that, and cost have prevented them being rolled out even on a pilot basis.

Last year Trump and Pence's fluting about cost the taxpayer 13 million, which had to be taken from the Garda budget, which the Govt decided not to re-imburse them for or make any extra allocation, that kiboshed a number of IT and Technology projects in the GS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

No, Public order units are volunteer units. Gardai have no option but to respond if you call them because you broke a nail or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

the chap behind the gate giving dogs abuse, nothing happens. At all.

Probably because he’s behind the gate and the Guards don’t have a warrant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

murpho999 wrote: »
    Just saw this last night, and was interesting.

I don't get how the ginger skanger was abusing the guard by calling him a f*gg*t and then saying he'd ride him just makes him to be the same as what he's accusing the guard of being.

Poor lad is a small bit confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Queasy Tadpole

These Gardai look so young I cannot take them seriously.

What is the minimum age to become a Garda?

So it's 18-35. That's crazy. I think minimum should be 25 at least and maximum 45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Grueller Baby

That blond Garda though ðŸ˜

Why did the Gardai agree to do this show? It doesn't instill confidence at all. They carry out their raids and such but they seem to be practically afraid of, or friends with, the scummers.

Have yet to see a scene where a Garda puts manners on someone.

You realise that 'putting manners' on them would but only see them get away with the crime they committed but would see the Garda sacked and charged?

Gardai are neither afraid of or friends with Criminals but they deal with them every single day and are obliged to be polite and courteous

These Gardai look so young I cannot take them seriously.

What is the minimum age to become a Garda?

They do look very young. I could be wrong but I think 18.

You volunteer for public order unit. It's run on overtime.

That was Mr Flashys (Glen Ward) house that was petroled bomed and raided at the end of the program
    I can never understand why media cant name the big eared prick

Because they, unlike you, don't wish to be sued

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,225 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

You volunteer for public order unit. It's run on overtime.

Ok, this I didn’t know thanks...

Oh I know, but I mean... I just don't get who in AGS thought it would be a good idea?

Unless they're aware how hopeless they look and they're hoping for some public outrage to get them some extra powers so they can actually go in and start doing a proper job.

Maybe they read the constant stream of 'useless Gardai' comments on boards and thought maybe showing the public a little of the actual reality might be a good idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Maybe they read the constant stream of 'useless Gardai' comments on boards and thought maybe showing the public a little of the actual reality might be a good idea?

More likely they consulted Spin-Doctors after the plethora of Garda scandals a few years ago and their advice included greenlighting a show like this.

The Coast Guard evidently did similar after the Rescue116 and Caitriona Lucas tragedies, as they've come out with their show of the same format recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

It was a depressing show to watch.

Shows the large subculture we have in this country who offer nothing to society, and who cost it a fortune.

It must be incredibly hard to do your job when you are being filmed all the time. Especially such a difficult job as dealing with scummers daily who are threatening you and perhaps your family.

I have a new respect for them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,665 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Why did the Gardai agree to do this show? It doesn't instill confidence at all. They carry out their raids and such but they seem to be practically afraid of, or friends with, the scummers.

Have yet to see a scene where a Garda puts manners on someone.

Many of us remember the hyper-sanitised Traffic Blues on RTE some years back. This isn't that. I think they're assertive and plain-spoken enough where they need to be. The interaction with the scum is what you'd see on other shows too, imo. They're let down by the justice system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

We need to urgently build a few prisons in remote places I.e. Spike Island type.
    Make it difficult to do prison time too because they don’t fear it now. Make them fear it.
    The Judges are obviously told to go easy on the sentencing because of lack of spaces available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭batman_oh

I totally agree with you. The question I have is, why aren't their parents taking responsibility for them like you or I would?

The problem I believe is that the parents couldn't give a **** and leave it to the street to raise them.

Because they likely only had them to get a free house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭nannerby

Their parents grandparents great grandparents are all part of the problem have probably all been in jail and dont give a **** about anything or anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The tinker site was like someone dropped a bomb on it with all the cars and scrap around, and yer wan inside roaring and shouting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

The tinker site was like someone dropped a bomb on it with all the cars and scrap around, and yer wan inside roaring and shouting.

So exactly like every traveller site then.

Many of us remember the hyper-sanitised Traffic Blues on RTE some years back. This isn't that. I think they're assertive and plain-spoken enough where they need to be. The interaction with the scum is what you'd see on other shows too, imo. They're let down by the justice system.

Traffic blues was another show that made them look incompetent.

I like the Gardai. As a general rule, I find that they're lovely, genuine people, out doing a tough job. But that's them individually.

As a collective public service, they're a waste of time. They shouldn't have to be afraid to wallop someone with a baton for fear of being sacked of spending the rest of their life looking at a desk in a corner of the station.

A good hiding would sort out a lot of these lads. Trust me. I grew up around a lot of people like the ones you seen on the show, and they have no respect, no fear, and certainly no worries, about the Gardai.

It wasn't that long ago i seen a scumbag tell a garda (there were two of them in a patrol car) to get out of the car because he was going to batter him. He kicked the door of the squad car and told them to f'ck off.... and they did.

I was fully anticipating a return a few minutes later with some more Gardai in tow, to start laying into him and his scumbag friends, but nothing happened. They never returned and the scumbags hung around the same place for an hour or so more. It's embarrassing and it give you no faith in them if you need to ring them for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Banana Republic.

Gardai so badly need body cams to expose what is going on.

The best post and most sensible post I've seen. It would curtail these mouthy scumbags from threatening the Gardaí personally and use their words against them. Offers safety for the officers too.

No, Some, or any of them, don't have Bodycams.

The legislation was brought in last June by the Minister, and passed by the Dail, but ICCL strongly objected.
    So at the moment, that, and cost have prevented them being rolled out even on a pilot basis.

Last year Trump and Pence's fluting about cost the taxpayer 13 million, which had to be taken from the Garda budget, which the Govt decided not to re-imburse them for or make any extra allocation, that kiboshed a number of IT and Technology projects in the GS.

The Gardaí gave back over €1m back to the government from their 2019 budget, could of been even closer to the €2million mark.

Who was issued with the GIM later in the show? Mad just following him in the street to give him the GIM and he walking away, crazy stuff.

Wardy