Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Back in my day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

The idea of buying bottled water would be laughed at.... Except Ballygowan spring water.

My mam was on a start your own business course way back. People asked one by one what their business idea was. Came to a chap who said his plan was to bottle water and sell it. Everyone laughed.

Company went by the name Ballygowan

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

The old Disney live action / animated movie Song of the South was on TV. Would post a clip but some snowflake would get me banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Great film for Bobby Driscoll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

vriesmays wrote: »
    The old Disney live action / animated movie Song of the South was on TV. Would post a clip but some snowflake would get me banned.

And Lyons Tea Minstrels and 1940s Tom and Jerry with Mammy Two Shoes. Any of that wouldn't wash now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Jesus yeah the Gaeltacht. Cycling 20 odd miles a day and a pure scabby diet, I lost 2 stone in 3 weeks when I could ill afford to!

I got great Christmas presents from Santa when I was young

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Manc_Red

I ate bread and saladcream

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Zig and Zag - Christmas no. 1 on tape.
    Also had a book they did that was class.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

And Lyons Tea Minstrels and 1940s Tom and Jerry with Mammy Two Shoes. Any of that wouldn't wash now.

Also Sanders of the river used to be on TV as kid.
    Here's a clip, go to 2½ minutes in. Any offended snowmillenials can report me to Beasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

branie2 wrote: »
    I got great Christmas presents from Santa when I was young

A gun and holster and a cowboy hat with a silver star and I was king of the badlands.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

A gun and holster and a cowboy hat with a silver star and I was king of the badlands.
    and a big handkerchief or scarf tied in triangle around your neck , rolls of ''caps '' for the gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

We had to change the TV channels on the TV itself via knob

We had only one channel no need to change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

BuboBubo wrote: »
    Mother's used the wooden spoon to rear kids.

Back then they were children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    We had only one channel no need to change it.

At last; someone else who remembers that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

When singing eeney, meeny, miney mo
    We DID NOT say catch a TIGER by the toe.
    Awful thinking about it !

mookishboy wrote: »
    It was a "strawberry" flavored drink that we got, advised to by the school for worms,plague, distemper etc was early to mid 80's. It was a pleasant pink color smelled a lot like other strawberry based products available at that time... but holy lantern jaysus it tasted so so so bad. we had to drink two glasses of it. Was the vilest thing i have ever drank and include mistaking my drink for a pint of piss outside Bruxelles when it was kicking out time. And me poor hole was like a blood orange after it. They Lied !!!!

This poison, I think:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

and a big handkerchief or scarf tied in triangle around your neck , rolls of ''caps '' for the gun

Ah yes! Caps!
    There was two types. The plastic round ones with about 8 or 10 shots and the paper rolls.
    We used to make home made bangers with the rolls. We'd spend ages zig zagging them on a pin and then tape them up, making sure to leave a fuse. After you taped them up you removed the pin and plug those holes too. Light the fuse and RUN!
    Lol, so silly thinking back now. Fun times though.

The plastic ones pretty much need a gun to use them but the paper ones you could just bang with a rock or scrape them on the concrete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

iamstop wrote: »
    Ah yes! Caps!
    There was two types. The plastic round ones with about 8 or 10 shots and the paper rolls.
    We used to make home made bangers with the rolls. We'd spend ages zig zagging them on a pin and then tape them up, making sure to leave a fuse. After you taped them up you removed the pin and plug those holes too. Light the fuse and RUN!

The plastic ones pretty much need a gun to use them but the paper ones you could just bang with a rock or scrape them on the concrete.

they still sell them https://www.smythstoys.com/ie/en-ie/toys/creativity-music-and-partyware/pocket-money/-8-shot-ring-caps/p/100089

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

cjmc wrote: »
    When singing eeney, meeny, miney mo
    We DID NOT say catch a TIGER by the toe.
    Awful thinking about it !

For a long time I thought it was "knicker" and was very puzzled about the whole thing...

Manc_Red wrote: »
    I ate bread and saladcream

I still add salad cream to my chess sandwiches. Heaven.

Fraggle Rock was another great show for kids

The old black and white Tarzan movies that RTE showed at two different Christmases.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

storker wrote: »

Another one in the pawn sandwich brigade.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

2 litre of cider an 10 john player blue for a fiver

a cheap nights entertainment

Give us 20 blue.

You had to be a yuppie of the highest order to own a mobile phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭taytobreath

fighting over opening the new box of cornflakes in hope that the new toy would pour in to your bowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭Field east

Rufeo wrote: »
    Give us 20 blue.

Back in the50’s Woodbines were all the go. Also a toffee bar called the FLASH BAR. It was toffee Oates with chocolate.

storker wrote: »

Now that is an interesting filling.. ;) A bit hard on the teeth?

They were open for a little while for the Sunday papers

After Mass ;) So anything you still needed for the Sunday dinner...

In my day no one had phones. We had to trek down to a phone box to make a call..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Marhay70

Field east wrote: »
    Back in the50’s Woodbines were all the go. Also a toffee bar called the FLASH BAR. It was toffee Oates with chocolate.

You were rich, we only got the Butterscotch bar in the silver wrapper or the Giftie in the brown wrapper. each cost 1d or you could get 12 Honey Bee sweets or 12 Aniseed Balls (Nancy Balls). Thing is all these could easily last a whole morning if you got them to yourself but there was always a sibling or a mate who seemed to home in on you when you had them.

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭justincasey

We had a rent man ...and some weeks we wouldn't answer the door to himðŸ˜...

The cake man went door to door.....

We got chips from a van and bought sweets from a lady selling them from a pram at the school gates.

Ah the good oul days

We had a rent man ...and some weeks we wouldn't answer the door to himðŸ˜...

The cake man went door to door.....

We got chips from a van and bought sweets from a lady selling them from a pram at the school gates.

Ah the good oul days

We had the insurance man who called every Friday evening from Royal Liver Insurance. My parents paid into those for years and i dont think they ever got tuppence back from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

A soda stream was all the rage circa 1986.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

How far back are you going?

My father had a mobile in 1994/1995 and as did most guys contractors working in the constuction industry.

How far back are you going?

My father had a mobile in 1994/1995 and as did most guys contractors working in the constuction industry.

I had one in 1995 and i was no yuppie. GSM too none of that 088 rubbish.

Another one in the pawn sandwich brigade.

Oh yes...my favourite since 1986... :)

A soda stream was all the rage circa 1986.

We had one in our house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

We had the insurance man who called every Friday evening from Royal Liver Insurance. My parents paid into those for years and i dont think they ever got tuppence back from them.

Where I lived they were constant targets for robbery given the amounts of cash they carried.

The Muppet Babies

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Omackeral wrote: »
    These little bolloxes in your bubble bath.

51D%2BYfgNKaL._SX355_.jpg

Ah here! the classic bottle if you don't mind
    serveimage?url=https:%2F%2Fi.pinimg.com%2Foriginals%2F2c%2F0e%2F8d%2F2c0e8dd1d95815b10445823898908d07.jpg&sp=f894022465481efe268d9345e865083c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

iamstop wrote: »
    We did that too... and the ensuing flash burn of my cornea resulted in the Eye and Ear Hospital being the ones to tell my mother I needed glasses.

Luckily the damage was temporary but it was quite the life changing event for 13 year old Sleepy!

Cap guns, which were the closest you ever had to owning a real gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,645 ✭✭✭✭namenotavailablE

2 of those programmes are Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

My massive television took a few minutes to 'warm up'.
    You'd switch it on but might take about 3 minutes for a picture to form on the screen.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭Notdeco

Gorteen wrote: »
    TV channels????
    We had RTE TV only. Black & White. Test Card all day until programming started around 5 or 6 pm
    If you lived on the east coast ant had an aerial on your roof you could pick up channels from Wales.

Quinnsworth before it became Tescos

Yellow pack burgers ftw!

Spud guns, and ma giving out to me for wasting food