Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Coronavirus Part IV - 19 cases in ROI, 7 in NI (as of 7 March) *Read warnings in OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 haydeyhi

I don't know if this has been posted already but there's a petition to cancel the parade.

I don't think the parade is going to cause too much damage anyway. Tourists are still going to come over and the city will be packed. Pubs will be full.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

A new slogan for everyone annoyed at St Pat day not been cancelled

"Just don't go"

Smaller parades are cancelling because they have some cop on.

The people who believe in the approach recommended by Harris, Varadkar and the HSE spokesperson must be the ones to attend all such events and gatherings. It’s not a problem for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

SusanC10 wrote: »
    Are people still going out and socialising?

Husband went to leaving drinks last night for a work colleague. Dublin. Had a couple of drinks and home reasonably early. Said numbers were down versus similar nights out previously.

I am going out tonight - locally for dinner with a group of my female friends.
    Restaurant rang last night to confirm that we are still coming which wouldn't be the norm for this particular place.

I wouldn't go near Dublin City centre after this weekends influx of diseased Italians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭dunnerc

Amirani wrote: »
    We're not an island, we share a border with the UK.

Unless you close the border with Northern Ireland with armed soldiers, then every single Irish person stranded in Italy is gonna fly home to Belfast and get the train/bus/taxi down.

The virus would still be here regardless of whether we stopped flights or not.

Ive heard it all now , we are not an island Jesus wept :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Tootsie_1

utmbuilder wrote: »
    Not trolling here
    I'm 37 my folks still have me on vhi, 65k to 100k hospital stay covered for this illness avaible.

The sad part is with home ownership and other bills I didn't get vhi for my wife and kids, 26 week waiting period if I set them up for claims.

If god forbid anyone needs an ICU bed and this gets out of hand VHI wont save you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

I wouldn't go near Dublin City centre after this weekends influx of diseased Italians

Well, he will be back in there Monday for work anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

What, so we should blockade the country? How would that work, exactly.

Why are posters jumping on their high horses on this?

First banning those flights to and from infected regions is not "blockading' the country.

Organising charter flights to get back those already travelled is not rocket science

Or at the very least least quarantining those coming back from those regions

If we had done this we would not have the rash of eejits travelling to Italy and coming back and starting an epidemic

But sure dont worry - it's all grand we're Irish!
    'Just wash your hands'

Well thats what the current government are doing anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

NIMAN wrote: »
    Re: the 20000 tested in UK and 163 positive.

Why the huge number tested and most coming back negative?

Have people who have ordinary flu all suspected they have corona? Surely this is going to clog the system?

The UK clearly has a different policy from most other European countries. They are much more proactive in terms of testing and I believe they are testing anyone with flu symptoms with a goal to catch as many cases of coronavirus as possible. Based on their numbers, Austria might have a similar policy. And a place like Korea is even more proactive, I believe at least in some areas they are testing anyone who wants to be.

Their loser testing criteria mean they are catching more of the actual cases in the country, but logically the percentage of positive results is lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

If you’re seriously/critically ill or medical emergency there is no two tier health system etc etc... you’ll receive world class treatment and every avenue regardless of cost will be pursued to keep you alive.

The waiting lists etc are obviously different thing but we have an excellent standard of healthcare here if you were to find yourself critically ill from COVID-19 and unfortunately a very small percentage of people will.

Yes, found this out last year, first time in hospital in my life. Went in as a public patient seriously ill (this time last year) and received the best of care, couldn't believe it. Unfortunately now I'm one of those with an 'underlying condition', dammit....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

irishgeo wrote: »
    0.00024379% of the uk population has it. Calm down people.

That was true yesterday and I am very calm indeed.

The UK is just about to hit the exponential part of the infection bell shaped curve.

The worry is what the numbers are going to be over the next few days.

Meanwhile we do SFA , except give out about the people who have quite wisely cancelled their local St. Patrick's day parades. It's nice to know that at least some communities care about their elderly relatives, unlike the powers that be.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Thingymebob

NIMAN wrote: »
    Re: the 20000 tested in UK and 163 positive.

Why the huge number tested and most coming back negative?

Have people who have ordinary flu all suspected they have corona? Surely this is going to clog the system?

The testing process isn’t perfect.
    Two earlier tests were negative for Covid-19, the ministry said, but a further test on Friday, using a more specific sample, proved positive.
    ESR clinical virologist Erasmus Smit says the hospital's clinicians did an induced sputum test, getting the patient to cough up some phlegm for testing.

https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/119956755/new-zealands-first-case-of-covid19-was-diagnosed-by-tests-on-a-patient-at-auckland-city-hospital?rm=a

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,647 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Actually hospitals in China are quite advanced, there is of course a huge population and hence they are very busy but in terms of tech, very modern, more so than here, obviously rural hospitals will be more basic!

Again, incorrect. Foreign run private hospitals yes. Public hospitals less so. Rural hospitals are totally substandard. It’s not comparable with the West!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

gozunda wrote: »

First banning those flights to and from infected regions is not "blockading' the country.

Organising charter flights to get back those already travelled is not rocket science

If we had done this we would not have the rash of eejits travelling to Italy and coming back and starting an epidemic

'Just wash your hands'

If Austria can do it I don't see why we can't. Really can't understand the big deal, stop flights for a few weeks and reduce the risk.

gozunda wrote: »

'Just wash your hands'

If only things were that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/07/flabbergasted-melbourne-doctor-with-coronavirus-symptoms-continued-seeing-patients

Looks like we are not the only country that has a doctor who made a mistake. I think of the phrase “let he who is without sin, throw the first stone”.

I also think this is why they are trying to keep infections confidential. Trial by media and mob is not something to be proud of or to be encouraged.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Post #6368 has all the latest Covid-19 figures.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Drumpot wrote: »
    https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/07/flabbergasted-melbourne-doctor-with-coronavirus-symptoms-continued-seeing-patients

Looks like we are not the only country that has a doctor who made a mistake. I think of the phrase “let he who is without sin, throw the first stone”.

I also think this is why they are trying to keep infections confidential. Trial by media and mob is not something to be proud of or to be encouraged.

Amazing that doctors can be so stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

dunnerc wrote: »
    Ive heard it all now , we are not an island Jesus wept :rolleyes:

And he is a moderator just like Joeytheparrot said it was settled people dumping rubbish on halting sites.

Do boards choose moderators for the comedy value?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,520 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Tootsie_1 wrote: »
    If god forbid anyone needs an ICU bed and this gets out of hand VHI wont save you.

Not everyone is going to need an icu bed. 80% of people will be just fine without critical care.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,647 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

kowloonkev wrote: »
    obviously you don't know anything apart from shooting other people down, which seems to be a nice hobby for you. nothing at all to back yourself up.

Attack the post not the poster. Tell us what specifically your issue is with what I’ve posted and I’ll respond as best I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

I woke up with a cough and feeling chesty. I'm paranoid now. I don't feel sick. My movements have been fairly limited throughout the winter. I only made it into town once since Christmas. All my other movements have been local.

I bought a fancy thermometer during swine flu. No high temp. It's 36.6.

Fecking paranoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Most countries are continuing to be collectively stupid so it’s not really that surprising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

haydeyhi wrote: »
    I don't think the parade is going to cause too much damage anyway. Tourists are still going to come over and the city will be packed. Pubs will be full.

Thousands of them packed tightly together for a few hours is much worse though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

People in denial should look up normalcy bias and exponential growth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

haydeyhi wrote: »

No offence but do you have any idea of how this virus spreads from people to people? Your comment would indicate you haven't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭phater phagan

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    It’s very clear that companies, professional organizations, community groups and individuals have found the caretaker govts response on self isolation and cancellation inadequate. Varadkar’s offensive and revealing statement about meeting “stakeholders” about the St Patrick’s Day events has stirred more anger from families of immune compromised people and the elderly.

Quite simply how we get through this will depend on front line medical people, international search for a vaccine and our own discipline and efforts.

That is something that also occurred to me. That a party which basically lost the confidence of the people - in large part - because of their history of ineptitudel especially the HSE, are continuing along those same lines. Covid 19 is one of the biggest threats to the health of Irish people, and the country cannot sit back and allow inadequate people to run the policy. St. Patrick's day festival needs to be cancelled, and perhaps the TDs trips overseas junkets scrapped. A national effort is what is needed. It's too important for a laissez faire policy to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Do a straw poll.among health professionals and you'll find 95%+ have attended work with "flu-like symptoms" at least once.

They are workers like the rest of us. They're under work pressure like the rest of us from their bosses and colleagues. They are reluctant to call in sick for the same reason the rest of us are.

What all of this says is that healthcare professionals need more robust and specific rules that will allow and encourage them to stay at home if they feel at all unwell, rather than take the risk to avoid paperwork or loss of pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

wadacrack wrote: »
    People in denial should look up normalcy bias and exponential growth.

People in denial and not going to Google search something that proves they are in denial.:rolleyes:

Here is a video make it simple for them.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

No offence but do you have any idea of how this virus spreads from people to people? Your comment would indicate you haven't a clue.

Yes I do but where do you draw the line. People are only kicking up a fuss about the St. Patricks day parade because that's all they know that's on. They have no clue about the other stuff that's going in the country and the Patricks day parade is what they are focusing on.

ticketmaster.ie/browse/all-concerts-catid-10001/music-rid-10001

Have a look at whats on from ticketmaster and your worried about a single parade? The Script are playing today in the three arena which hosts 13,000 people and is sold out.

Should that be cancelled now as well? And that's indoors as well.