Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Coronavirus Part IV - 19 cases in ROI, 7 in NI (as of 7 March) *Read warnings in OP*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

He supports Trump, nuff said :D

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

Christy42 wrote: »
    As a proponent of the don't panic side of things even I think this is ridiculously hopeful.

I mean I hope against hope it is correct but realistically this is here for a while.

It's wonderfully optimistic. A poster sees the biggest increase in infected cases and the next day wonders whether we're over the worst of it.

One patient tested positive again last week after being discharged from a hospital in Zhejiang Province 18 days ago and passing the two-week quarantine period. Another was diagnosed again 10 days after leaving hospital.

In Guangdong 14 per cent of patients have tested positive days after they left hospital, according to the provincial Centre for Disease Control and Prevention, in Xiaogan, a city near Wuhan,

The latest death has added a worrying new aspect to the spread of the infection, reports the  *[South China Morning Post](https://www.scmp.com/news/china/society/article/3065281/china-may-have-no-new-coronavirus-cases-outside-hubei-mid-march)* .

An expert from the Centre said Liang could have been discharged too early.

“The testing kits are not sensitive enough so it’s best to conduct three throat swab tests – one more than is the current practice – as well as an anal swab to determine whether a patient has recovered or not,” they said.

“But now there are too many patients waiting to be discharged, so there’s not enough time and doctors to perform all these tests, meaning some patients may be discharged before they’ve fully recovered.”
    Jeremy Rossman, a lecturer in virology from the University of Kent in Britain, said it was possible discharge criteria were not stringent enough and more negative viral tests were needed over a longer period of time.

He said it might be useful to repeat virus testing a week or two after discharge.

Another expert said people could be getting co-infections.

“There is now data that Covid-19 can also be associated with other viral infections and that patients can then be tested positive for two viruses, for example,” said Isabella Eckerle, an infectious disease specialist at the University of Geneva.

https://amp.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/recovered-coronavirus-patient-dies-in-china/news-story/aebe8ff97f085dce713dbdacdd2236ac

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭megabomberman

https://twitter.com/disclosetv/status/1235623296923840520?s=20

Because we're a week or two behind, we're not yet being fed this narrative by our overlords.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,168 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Irish people do not know what the flu is. They get a cold and call it the flu. I've had the flu maybe twice or three times in my life and the real flu will absolutely floor you and it is not uncommon to think you are dying. And that's without a deadly disease about.
    No. No. No. Why does this bloody myth keep going? You are wildly incorrect. Let's be actually correct here: One third of people who test positive for the influenza virus have no symptoms at all, another percentage have mild symptoms. These are facts, not old wives tales or based on personal experience.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

silverharp wrote: »
    lol, how much toilet paper are you planning on using?

https://twitter.com/Imamofpeace/status/1236221972624728070

The toilet paper stuff.
    That can be traced back to redit .
    During the early days of the outbreak
    It was stated that less than 0•01% were getting diarrhoea some idiot made up graphs and stated China made most of the world's toilet paper.
    It was totally fake and disproved.
    But for some reason people still believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,756 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

That is something that also occurred to me. That a party which basically lost the confidence of the people - in large part - because of their history of ineptitudel especially the HSE, are continuing along those same lines. Covid 19 is one of the biggest threats to the health of Irish people, and the country cannot sit back and allow inadequate people to run the policy. St. Patrick's day festival needs to be cancelled, and perhaps the TDs trips overseas junkets scrapped. A national effort is what is needed. It's too important for a laissez faire policy to happen.

Are any of the other parties calling for more proactive policies? Would an SF-led government be handling this situation significantly differently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭phater phagan

Yes, I’m going out for dinner today for my birthday.

Happy Birthday. Enjoy yourself :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,564 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Do tourists import all our essential goods?

Do freight workers have an immunity to viruses?

And BTW, a lot of our most essential, high value cargo does come in on commercial flights which would not be economically viable if there were no passengers on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,495 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Id say so, sure all the top brass are off for the weekend, if it was a public health emergency Om sure theyd keep us informed over the weekend.

Viruses take the weekend off didn't you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,911 ✭✭✭✭banie01

ZX7R wrote: »
    The toilet paper stuff.
    That can be traced back to redit .
    During the early days of the outbreak
    It was stated that less than 0•01% were getting diarrhoea some idiot made up graphs and stated China made most of the world's toilet paper.
    It was totally fake and disproved.
    But for some reason people still believe

Lads if Brennan's find Reddit and start making graphs. ...
    Those canny bastards could overtake Apple in weeks!

• Registered Users Posts: 45 SwordsRunner

Viruses take the weekend off didn't you know?

I thought I heard Holohan say that they’d be in the building working but wouldn’t be updating the press.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

ZX7R wrote: »
    The toilet paper stuff.

Our local Tesco has run out of the good stuff: all that's left is own brand, which is a pain in the hoop.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I keep hearing that young people ends up with mild symptoms but what exactly is mild?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Drumpot wrote: »
    Rememeber what cinemaguy said

“I want Those beaches open on July 4th”

Jaws1-1000x500.jpg

It’s happening all across Europe right now, they are saying “well of course thus is serious but let’s not be hasty.”

"We need those St Patricks Day dollars" Larry Varadkar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,056 ✭✭✭Christy42

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    A 62-year-old man who became Spain’s first coronavirus patient is believed to have made a full recovery after being treated with an HIV drug, according to a report.

More good news..

https://nypost.com/2020/03/05/coronavirus-patient-in-spain-reportedly-recovers-after-being-treated-with-hiv-drug/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

Can't find another source for this. I am getting the feeling they have expanded on the facts a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,911 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Harmonics wrote: »
    *Don't Fear The Reaper starts playing

Honestly, just started playing on my Spotify!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,876 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I think we would look ridiculous going ahead with parades.

I don't think it will go down well either with other countries who are trying to contain it to be perfectly honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Blueshoe wrote: »
    What?
    You were quoting Trump last night if I'm not mistaken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,124 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Achasanai wrote: »
    Our local Tesco has run out of the good stuff: all that's left is own brand, which is a pain in the hoop.

You're obviously eating it incorrectly.

Stop sticking it up your hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I'd cancel The Script if I could. I know someone going to see them. I'm terrified of this person contracting covid-19 and passing it on to my mother who is in her late 80s. Before anyone says anything about there being a tiny percent chance of this happening I couldn't give a shite.

If someone said to me "you can see your favourite band in the world but there's a 0.00001 percent chance your mother will die as a result. Do you want to go?" my reply would be "fuck, no".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Akrasia wrote: »
    Do freight workers have an immunity to viruses?

And BTW, a lot of our most essential, high value cargo does come in on commercial flights which would not be economically viable if there were no passengers on them

Passengers are the biggest spreaders thats what Im saying, most people mean limit flights not ban overall. Quarrantine/self isolation for those coming from hotspots.

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Tootsie_1

owlbethere wrote: »
    I woke up with a cough and feeling chesty. I'm paranoid now. I don't feel sick. My movements have been fairly limited throughout the winter. I only made it into town once since Christmas. All my other movements have been local.

I bought a fancy thermometer during swine flu. No high temp. It's 36.6.

Fecking paranoid.

Its a dry cough you need to watch out for not chesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,564 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Christy42 wrote: »
    Can't find another source for this. I am getting the feeling they have expanded on the facts a bit.

The NY post is not a good source. They might as well be quoting the Express

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭PhantomHat

On Newstalk now they're saying doctors are against the government decision to belt on with St. Patrick's day parades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

I'm think it would be a bad idea to go to the gym while this is around.

I suspect I'm just fooling myself so I can avoid the toil.

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Tootsie_1

PhantomHat wrote: »
    On Newstalk now they're saying doctors are against the government decision to belt on with St. Patrick's day parades

Its on the front of the Independent

• Registered Users Posts: 15,301 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

https://twitter.com/disclosetv/status/1235623296923840520?s=20

Because we're a week or two behind, we're not yet being fed this narrative by our overlords.

France have been saying that for the last 2 weeks, but yet large events still go ahead over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Happy Birthday!!

Tanx luv :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/world/iranian-mp-dies-from-covid-19-report-12512732
    Another member of Iranian govenment has died. Is this the 4th MP in Iran to die of coronavirus ?