Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part IV - 19 cases in ROI, 7 in NI (as of 7 March) *Read warnings in OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

Could be the start of a New Wave

new wave, you say?

guVRstu.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

kilns wrote: »
    Closing the border to the biggest centre of the virus is not pointless. 70,000 people live in Italy and cross the border to work in Switzerland every day.

China has proven to only way to do it is to shut down movement

My brother lives in Valais but works in Milan so weekdays in Italy, weekends in Switzerland was his normal.
    He just happened to be home in Ireland when this all kicked off in Italy so has remained here and is trying to work via skype - slightly easier for him as he's semi-retired and now just acts as a consultant (having said that several meetings have been postponed), less helpful is his broadband goes down every time there's a bit of wind and the Irish version of customer service may yet kill him via a stroke/heart attack long before the virus gets near him.

He is worried sick about his colleagues in Milan - many of whom have been friends for over 30 years - and his children/grandson in Switzerland. He is really conflicted about whether he should stay here or go even tho he knows it's not like he could do anything there bar possibly expose himself to the virus.

But yes, I've done that through the tunnel/over the pass commute with him many times and it's fair busy at 7am/7pm along that route. I wouldn't be surprise if the Swiss closed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭the butcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

morebarn wrote: »
    Yes, I found this reinfection scenario worrying also. But have been following the English couple from the cruise ship who are recovering in hospital in Japan. Having survived the virus, pneumonia etc, the main issue is that the keep testing positive, then negative, then positive again!

As the guy said, the tests are only around 70percent reliable and it’s a case of waiting for the body to completely shed the virus. It’s a slow process.

But it gives me some hope that’s what’s happening; rather than reinfection.

God, it's going to be a long road to recovery for people who catch this virus. We keep hearing 2 weeks but that's just the initial phase of the virus where a body becomes infected and shows symptoms and then after that it could be another few more weeks before one would get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Hilarious that Turkey reports no cases, offers to help other countries, and a Turkish man on a plane in Singapore was confirmed positive. Well done to Erdogen and his regime for expelling the only infected person out of the country.

Erdogen has issued an arrest warrant for the virus. He claims that the virus is a member of a dissident organisation involved in a Coup plot against him.

morebarn wrote: »
    Yes, I found this reinfection scenario worrying also. But have been following the English couple from the cruise ship who are recovering in hospital in Japan. Having survived the virus, pneumonia etc, the main issue is that the keep testing positive, then negative, then positive again!

As the guy said, the tests are only around 70percent reliable and it’s a case of waiting for the body to completely shed the virus. It’s a slow process.

But it gives me some hope that’s what’s happening; rather than reinfection.

I hate to say it but it could be the type of virus you never get rid of. Absolutely lethal. The true impact of it may not be known for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,584 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Balagan1 wrote: »
    Any evidence yet emerging that he was working after returning and prior to diagnosis?

No just heard it from someone down that direction.

Jesus HSE on newstalk now...won't confirm or deny anything.....there not getting that not providing information is fuelling rumour/speculation.

https://twitter.com/ltvpanorama/status/1235510396624220164

Estonia has confirmed the third case of the new coronavirus #COVID19 . Here, too, on 29 February, the patient arrived in Riga from Bergamo, Italy. He then traveled from Riga to Estonia by personal transport, reports Estonian broadcaster ERR.

Every single one of cases getting confirmed now are coming from Italy. It is bonkers that flights haven't been banned from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Cupatae wrote: »
    is there still flights coming and going from italy?

5 flights still due to arrive today, from AerLingus and Ryanair. https://www.dublinairport.com/flight-information/live-arrivals

Balagan1 wrote: »
    Any evidence yet emerging that he was working after returning and prior to diagnosis?

No one knows. Maybe patients at his GP practice would know but it doesn't matter. The HSE guidelines says to self isolate if you show symptoms. Maybe he didn't have any symptoms until very recently.

saabsaab wrote: »
    Our powers that be have failed to take the decisions to close this down as much as could be done.

Still not too late, maybe.

Better to take a hit now that take the bigger hit later on when we have 20% sick, some seriously and 1% to 3% deaths. That will seriously affect the economy! What is coming here will have effects that we can't even anticipate yet.

Ask why they aren't willing to do the right thing. Are they stupid, callous, a mix? Time to get mad, time to call and email your representatives if you think travel bans are needed

Lads we know where Twitter is if we need updates from it. Can we keep the thread some way focused on Ireland without page upon page of spam.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

‘recovered’ patient dies as China reports discharged cases falling ill again ->

https://www.scmp.com/news/china/society/article/3065091/coronavirus-recovered-patient-dies-china-reports-139-new-cases

That doesnt tell the whole story there could be any amount of underlying issues, instead they post that with the intention of it being interpreted as "People will relapse and die"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

‘recovered’ patient dies as China reports discharged cases falling ill again ->

https://www.scmp.com/news/china/society/article/3065091/coronavirus-recovered-patient-dies-china-reports-139-new-cases

Reading the article it sounds much more likely he was released too early rather than getting reinfected. You can imagine china shoving people out as fast as possible due to huge strains on hospitals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Heres that Worldometer source mentioned by Mic 1972 towards the end of the last thread:

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Using the closed cases ratio the death rate is 6%. Thats sounds a bit grim to me.......

It is grim but look at the graph. It's actually 5.78% as of yesterday. It's been falling by roughly .15% a day. Two weeks ago the mortality rate was around 10%. By the start of next week Worldometers is likely to have it at 5%. Then look through the graph. The mortality rate was incredibly high to start, while the virus was being denied and people didn't know what they were dealing with. It's also a case that deaths happen faster than recoveries, so the recovery rate is lagging. Once this is all over, it's very likely that the mortality rate will be lower still. (Though it is likely to shoot up if we get proper information from Iran.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,116 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Covid-19 tally for UK & Ireland today 11am.

UK know cases = 90
    Ireland cases =6

Wonder what jump we'll have later today when the daily updated figures are released?

Will we enter double figures?

Well for the purposes of transmission, I'd imagine the Clare 'cluster' would be effectively a single case, so possibly widespread community transmission is a bit away yet. Hopefully...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Germany have reported zero deaths and only 2 critical cases, but at 349 known cases they're further along than Italy were just 6 days ago.

It's all about to go tits up for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭XVII

Russia is still at 4 cases. Just saying.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

Germany doing relatively well so far with 349 cases and no deaths.

I hate to say it but it could be the type of virus you never get rid of. Absolutely lethal. The true impact of it may not be known for years

That's it. No one knows what sort of damage this is going to cause. It's god damnit fcuking frightening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

No just heard it from someone down that direction.

Jesus HSE on newstalk now...won't confirm or deny anything.....there not getting that not providing information is fuelling rumour/speculation.
    Did you hear him saying they're following the ECDC instructions on disclosure?
    There's nowhere in here that says to hide the precise location.

In Singapore they're releasing the apartment number of the person who is infected, which might be a bit far. In South Korea, you can get a notification when you come within 100m of someone who is infected. The least they could do is give us a heads up.

Anyway, anyone who visited Shannondoc recently needs to get tested now. Probably many people with underlying conditions and young children.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

For the people looking for a flight ban from Italy. Do you really think it would stop Irish people from making their way home using other means?

Can we keep the thread some way focused on Ireland without page upon page of spam.

Then we would have just page upon page of people saying "it's only the flu" / "sure X amount died from barrys tea"

Ideally it should be a centralised place for posters to see -

1. Irish updates first and foremost.
    2. Updates on the rest of the world.
    3. Research and reports.
    4. Peoples thoughts on the unfolding events.
    5. Other events linked with it (economy / social fallout)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Is it true that one of the ill Clare family was working as a GP last week?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

BLIZZARD7 wrote: »

Yeah, commendable. But surely about to change.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

https://www.inmo.ie/Trolley_Ward_Watch

Slight improvement... Irish hospitals are only 394 beds short today.

:-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,118 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

For the people looking for a flight ban from Italy. Do you really think it would stop Irish people from making their way home using other means?

I was thinking this also.
    Some would nearly get off on the challenge of getting there.

No but it would certainly stem the flow of anyone from that area coming in, why bother with any measures at all if thats the case. Surely carrying plane loads of people from directly infected areas isnt a good idea. Not just irish but itailians that have holidays booked here ect.

SafeSurfer wrote: »

How would anyone on social media know this and even if they did, could you really rely on what some anonymous randomer on the internet says?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

The ill Clare family :) Jaysus.

I believe I can answer your question but I will let it come out in official channels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

BLIZZARD7 wrote: »

Yeah but mentality the Germans are not doing very well at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,164 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

XVII wrote: »
    Russia is still at 4 cases. Just saying.

55 deaths though.

How would anyone on social media know this and even if they did, could you really on what some anonymous randomer on the internet says?

Ennis is a small town, and in fairness, more often than not these things end up being true. But for boards sake its just speculation of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭bkrangle

worked a shift in a hospital anyway

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/coronavirus-patient-worked-shift-in-emergency-department-in-west-of-ireland-1.4193756

Rumour has it, there's a GP in Clare. No one knows if he was working. It doesn't matter of he was working. He probably felt well enough. The HSE guidelines said to self isolate if you get symptoms. He probably didn't show any symptoms until very recently.

Did you hear him saying they're following the ECDC instructions on disclosure?
    There's nowhere in here that says to hide the precise location.

In Singapore they're releasing the apartment number of the person who is infected, which might be a bit far. In South Korea, you can get a notification when you come within 100m of someone who is infected. The least they could do is give us a heads up.

Anyway, anyone who visited Shannondoc recently needs to get tested now. Probably many people with underlying conditions and young children.

It's painful listening. Just keep out of hospital, only present yourself if your toxic. There literally creating a mess.
    There spending €25 million on 20 extra ICU beds, they haven't even recruited the staff yet.
    It's quite clear were absolutely ****ed if this takes off, we've no where to put the patients. They've spent another €20 million on protective gear. You couldn't make this **** up.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Bot1

owlbethere wrote: »
    That's it. No one knows what sort of damage this is going to cause. It's god damnit fcuking frightening.

Can I ask you a question?

Do you use an open fire or stove in your house?

Cupatae wrote: »
    No but it would certainly stem the flow of anyone from that area coming in, why bother with any measures at all if thats the case. Surely carrying plane loads of people from directly infected areas isnt a good idea. Not just irish but itailians that have holidays booked here ect.

Anecdotal, but I've heard the planes are far from full.

Airlines will continue to fly back and forth even if their planes are completely empty, because with current regulations in place they will lose their slot if not used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Sorry to lower the tone. It’s defo spread in poo.
    For anyone that thinks twitter is bad. This is a guy who is an epidemiologist. What’s that you say.

https://twitter.com/DrEricDing/status/1235467817975246853?s=20

“epidemiologist | ˌɛpɪdiːmɪˈɒlədʒɪst |
    noun
    a person who studies or is an expert in the branch of medicine which deals with the incidence, distribution, and possible control of diseases: epidemiologists are warning of a new pandemic.

Here of course is the source. Study is in Journal of the American Medical Association from Singapore.

Source(https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2762692)

What’s that you say? Essentially here is where the knowledge of human kind is collated.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/JAMA_(journal)
    “JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association is a peer-reviewed medical journal published 48 times a year by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of biomedicine. The journal was established in 1883 with Nathan Smith Davis as the founding editor. The journal's editor-in-chief is Howard Bauchner of Boston University, who succeeded Catherine DeAngelis on July 1, 2011.”

Better get an en suite quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭mlem123

It's painful listening. Just keep out of hospital, only present yourself if your toxic. There literally creating a mess.
    There spending €25 million on 20 extra ICU beds, they haven't even recruited the staff yet.
    It's quite clear were absolutely ****ed if this takes off, we've no where to put the patients. They've spent another €20 million on protective gear. You couldn't make this **** up.

Do you not agree that people with symptoms should stay away from Hospitals, unless "toxic"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

owlbethere wrote: »
    Rumour has it, there's a GP in Clare. No one knows if he was working. It doesn't matter of he was working. He probably felt well enough. The HSE guidelines said to self isolate if you get symptoms. He probably didn't show any symptoms until very recently.

I would have thought that Medical Professionals would go the extra mile then follow the HSE advise for the average joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Yes, its all over Social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,312 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Eh, I can tell you for a fact that most of what's involved in these trips is making sure that the teenagers aren't riding or drinking and you have to spend however many days away from your family. The trips are done as a package deal so they're affordable and many students get to go abroad who would not otherwise be able to do so.

Can you imagine how many scandals and dismissals there would be if the teachers were going abroad with these students and just going on a pissup?

That said, travel in general at the moment is the single biggest hazard to this country. I've cancelled two trips already since January.

And I can tell you for a fact that most of the riding & drinking on these trips is done by the teachers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

One of the positive cases worked in a hospital before testing for the virus, as per the Irish Times just now. This could get bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Interesting that, so far, no cases reported from the school groups that returned from northern Italy AFAIK. (I know that school closures seem to have resulted from family travel).

Remember 80% of infections result in mild symptoms. Those most at risk are immune compromised and over 60. I expect that many people who fall into those categories are already reducing social contact and risk.

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭Not in Kansas

When round one of all of this has run its course and we face into round two with the benefit of a vaccine (presumably) I think most areas of the travel industry will slowly return to normal apart from cruises. I think it's curtains for most of the smaller operators for sure.

gabeeg wrote: »
    Anecdotal, but I've heard the planes are far from full.

Airlines will continue to fly back and forth even if their planes are completely empty, because with current regulations in place they will lose their slot if not used.

Id imagine so anyone with abit of sense wouldnt be travelling to those areas, i think its a case of the horse has bolted at this stage anyway.

Yes, its all over Social media.

Do GPs work shifts in A&E departments?

Serious question. I have no idea if they do or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,975 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    Interesting that, so far, no cases reported from the school groups that returned from northern Italy AFAIK. (I know that school closures seem to have resulted from family travel).

Remember 80% of infections result in mild symptoms. Those most at risk are immune compromised and over 60. I expect that many people who fall into those categories are already reducing social contact and risk.

The school trips might have seen the pupils constantly corralled together, and not mingling much with any locals etc as much as possible.

Family trips, you'd be interacting with smaller groups throughout the day