Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Coronavirus Part IV - 19 cases in ROI, 7 in NI (as of 7 March) *Read warnings in OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭tillyfilly

The UK sees first death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

They’re trying to obfuscate the difference between known traced cases and community transmission. 3 of the cases today occurred inside Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

BloodBath wrote: »
    Bull**** numbers. There is absolutely nothing to back up that kind of infection and death rate.

There's enough people panicking without this kind of nonsense speculation.

Your username will become even more apt over the next few months...

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

This is really wrong-headed. Ireland is so small that you should simply assume you will be in contact with people with COVID19 as it is now circulating in the community. The idea that you’d be safe in Louth or Donegal if it was in CUH is incorrect.

Containment is done, you need to assume it is circulating and that 12 months now roughly 2/3rd of the population will have had it with a commensurate death rate. That works out to roughly 40,000.

If we are lucky and really socially isolate it’ll be much lower but I can’t see it being less than 2,000 over the course of the year.

So there is no point obsessing over whether it is in Cork or Galway or Louth. It is in Ireland, it is in the community and you need to behave as though people you interact with on a daily basis have it no matter where you live.
    Where ya get the figure of 2k from?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,061 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Bob24 wrote: »
    It reduces the probability of being infected when being around the virus as it blocks one of the main infection vectors.

From a selfish perspective: if you can reduce your chances of being infected by lets say 80%, are you not interested because you are only looking for 100% reduction? I would take the 80%.

From a public health perspective: having everyone wearing masks significantly reduces the number of new cases each day. If you listen to the podcast I shared, they explain quite well that since growth is exponential, reducing the R0 transmission rate by just a few decimal points actually has a huge impact on total number cases after a couple of days. This gives more time to prepare for what is coming and avoid overwhelming the local health service.

Okay I agree stope it gettin in the nose or mouth but I would not say that is 80% still eyes ears and hands (do not forget it can live for x amount of time on stuff)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Like in court cases in involving minors you dont have to name the person but you can give details.

We all end up knowing sooner or later

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Has the virus spread to Africa?

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭piplip87

Did the fella just say people should exceute themselves and self isolate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,576 ✭✭✭bennyl10

BloodBath wrote: »
    Bull**** numbers. There is absolutely nothing to back up that kind of infection and death rate.

There's enough people panicking without this kind of nonsense speculation.

Exactly.
    That is one of the most dangerous posts on this thread.

Zero evidence and just scaremongering for the absolute sake of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,994 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

wakka12 wrote: »
    Iceland has 36 in 48 hours! That is huge for a nation of 360,000

Italian related travel, from what I've read. Would be odd otherwise for such a small country dependent on tourism from all over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Logan Roy

tillyfilly wrote: »
    Boards.ie will crash in 5, 4, 3, 2,1 ....

Mods can we get bans for idiots like this please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Dampsquid wrote: »
    The HSE don't give a **** about protecting the Irish public, its all about, we are doing the same as other countries. Well we can see other countries are having massive outbreaks, we will have the exact same thing happen here.

All cases so far have come in from Italy,(with one exception) but they dont recommend a ban on travel as it would not be effective. Well if they put it in place 1 or 2 weeks ago, we would have probably zero cases to date.

As long as they can point back to international best practice, they have got their backs covered.

The cases were Irish people returning home . Are you suggesting they should have been prevented from doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

antodeco wrote: »
    Just isolate everyone who is coming from an infected region. That's stage 1 of containment.

I think soon we will be getting people from the UK, France or USA who are also bringing it into other countries like here. I think the big news in the next few weeks will be the USA and their reaction to the virus, I think the USA will make Europe look like a tea party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

antodeco wrote: »
    Why did the HSE need to wait to tell GPs (let alone anybody) to self isolate for 14 days when returning from an infected area. This should have been the first thing that was said. That's the only way you could have actually contained this. They are morons.

No they are 'asking' medical professionals who have travelled from infected regions to undergo voluntary self isolation for 14 days. WTF???

First of all any medical professional heading of to any infected region against current travel advice - would be negligent in the first instance and grossly incompetent in the second - where they return to treat patients either in a medical practice, hospital or other healthcare facility

Morons doesnt start to describe the inherent stupidity of this tbh ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,637 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Can they not get a microphone to these reporters? Worse than the WHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

How long do you wash your hands for in order to make an incoming flight from italy turn around on its heels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

It's not containment phase any more when there's a case and the history can't be tracked to travel or a contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,329 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Chong wrote: »
    I do believe though his hands are tied here and he is being hung out here to dry as a scapegoat.

Harris is hiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Tomato1

fwiw they STILL wont tell ambulance staff and emergency dept nurses where the cases are either.

You'd think it'd be a relevant and very important bit of info for us to know? Nah. The HSE are more concerned we'll tell people outside the HSE so they're keeping us in the dark also.

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Exactly.
    That is one of the most dangerous posts on this thread.

Zero evidence and just scaremongering for the absolute sake of it

Wow, you're the crazy ott ones really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I see the mass panic has set in.
    In the country? It's been present since the very few posts on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Your username will become even more apt over the next few months...

Its not Ebola

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

fritzelly wrote: »
    Community transmissions is not community transmission because we know where it came from

Jaysus these guys are incredulous
    He is was stumbling over his words and contradicting himself , so it’s not a community transmissions because that know who they got it off ... but it is a community transmission in a way.
    Some gob****e this lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,676 ✭✭✭Chong

Like in court cases in involving minors you dont have to name the person but you can give details.

We all end up knowing sooner or later

They are living in fear of being sued really, it is shocking they are putting peoples lives over money / court cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

The whole modus operandi is so Irish... whatever you say say nothing. Play it down..

It's stage Irish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Naggdefy wrote: »
    From RTE website.

20:26
    BREAKING: Seven new cases of coronavirus have been confirmed in Ireland today, bringing the total number of cases here to 13.

A further three cases have been confirmed in Northern Ireland.

That's only 13 tested. There's way more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,525 ✭✭✭irishgeo

What did people expect the HSE to do? Some of the talk here is just **** talk.

People raging about flights from Italy. All these people were irish. We can't leave our citizens to be looked after by other countries. Good to see the amount cured increasing. The snowflakes generation we have here is fuelling the panic. Only 0.00027% of the population are infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,727 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

13 confirmed. Bound to be multiplies of that infected. Reckon we'll hit 1000 cases by March 31st

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-merseyside-51762074

Child at Alder Hey tests positive.

Very grim news given that particular facility.

It's becoming very clear that the UK is riddled with it. Was just in London and tremendous numbers of people coughing and sneezing all over the place, trying to convince themselves it's 'just a cold'. The vast majority of people who have it probably will never know. They'll keep taking the tube to work and infecting everyone around them and only vulnerable and elderly people will pay the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Harris is hiding.
    Not his job this time. These are the lads running the show.