Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part IV - 19 cases in ROI, 7 in NI (as of 7 March) *Read warnings in OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,795 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Do GPs work shifts in A&E departments?

Serious question. I have no idea if they do or not.

Yes, if they are stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

I would have thought that Medical Professionals would go the extra mile then follow the HSE advise for the average joe.

They were back for "a significant amount of time" before showing symptoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Sorry to lower the tone. It’s defo spread in poo.
    For anyone that thinks twitter is bad. This is a guy who is an epidemiologist. What’s that you say.

https://twitter.com/DrEricDing/status/1235467817975246853?s=20

“epidemiologist | ˌɛpɪdiːmɪˈɒlədʒɪst |
    noun
    a person who studies or is an expert in the branch of medicine which deals with the incidence, distribution, and possible control of diseases: epidemiologists are warning of a new pandemic.

Here of course is the source. Study is in Journal of the American Medical Association from Singapore.

Source(https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2762692)

What’s that you say? Essentially here is where the knowledge of human kind is collated.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/JAMA_(journal)
    “JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association is a peer-reviewed medical journal published 48 times a year by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of biomedicine. The journal was established in 1883 with Nathan Smith Davis as the founding editor. The journal's editor-in-chief is Howard Bauchner of Boston University, who succeeded Catherine DeAngelis on July 1, 2011.”

Better get an en suite quick.

Faeces was always the elephant in the room.It will be on everyone's lips shortly.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭laurah591

You mean the Dr in Lahinch with kids in the national school in inagh and secondary school in ennistymon or is this another case...

we live in such a small country; not a chance this stuff will stay quiet. My thoughts go out to that family and i hope they get well soon and lives go back to normality soon for sake of those kids. Cant be nice being identified locally like this

HSE/DFA really need to insist on self isolation if returning from northern Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Anyone have a good sign I could put on the door saying to stay away because coronavirus is in the house?

I don't have the virus or anything, but the TV licence inspector left a note saying he'd be calling around again this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,449 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

mlem123 wrote: »
    Do you not agree that people with symptoms should stay away from Hospitals, unless "toxic"?

I'd be more from the nip it the bud school of thought..

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,600 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

With relation to the flights, and the "sure the irish will get back anyway". Theres a much simper way of doing this. Reduce the number of flights OUT and no longer IN. Anyone on those reduced flights are then isolated for 2 weeks, with testing during it. Its not rocket science. Target those coming in with specific criteria and isolation.

TLDR: ANybody coming in from Italy should be tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,706 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Yeah it's pony, we did it over the foot and mouth a few years back.

2001, it was delayed till May.

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2016/0418/782638-st-patricks-day-in-may/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭babybuilder

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    People have high expectations on the flight ban in here
    it hasn't worked before, it wont work now
    Italy was the first country to ban flights to/from China in early January, they still got an outbreak in the end
    Once the virus is in the country there is no stopping
    Nonsense. Italy banned flights from 31 January

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bloomberg.com/amp/news/articles/2020-02-10/italy-s-hopes-for-closer-china-ties-hit-by-virus-flight-ban-rift

For the people looking for a flight ban from Italy. Do you really think it would stop Irish people from making their way home using other means?

Do it the way Australia did, it's not rocket science. No non nationals coming in. Citizens get quarantined. Evacuation flights of citizens only. Simples.

No exceptions. Non nationals living in Ireland in Italy become Italy's problem or they go to their home country for quarantine then travel here. But hey now you basically need to travel ban every single country infected I'd say.

Would still be worth the shot. It would slow it down at least.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

laurah591 wrote: »
    we live in such a small country; not a chance this stuff will stay quiet. My thoughts go out to that family and i hope they get well soon and lives go back to normality soon for sake of those kids. Cant be nice being identified locally like this

HSE/DFA really need to insist on self isolation if returning from northern Italy

Yeah i dont see why people want to know the exact identities of people, its nasty to be singling families out. Does no good for no one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

https://www.inmo.ie/Trolley_Ward_Watch

Slight improvement... Irish hospitals are only 394 beds short today.

:-(
    I'd say A&Es are surprisingly quiet; people avoiding them unless they actually need to. People turning up with a sore finger and their entire extended family have probably dropped away.
    Do GPs work shifts in A&E departments?

Serious question. I have no idea if they do or not.
    "General Practice" is a discipline in medicine like cardiology or paediatrics.

Someone who has specialised in General Practice will have a broader but shallower medial knoweledge than, e.g. a cardiologist.

That doesn't answer your question, but I would expect that A&E doctors would in general be GPs. They have the skills to assess and treat all patients and then move them to a specialist where necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭dan786

Fianna Fáil Leader Micheál Martin has said that his party has been briefed by public health officials on Covid-19.

Speaking to RTÉ News, Mr Martin said that protecting citizens had to trump all other considerations.

He said that there would need to be decisions made in the coming days in relation to large gatherings and he said that public health should be the number one priority.

Mr Martin said that public health officials were working very hard and that the management of the crisis was strong so far, and he said he didn't think Covid-19 should be "an issue of political contention or divide".

He said that "alongside the actual virus itself, panic can set in" and that this needed to be borne in mind in terms of communication around virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Thisonedone

Stupid question here but what is the point of hand washing? You have the virus on your hands so you go to wash your hands, you touch the tap to turn it on, the virus is now on the tap, you wash your hands, the virus is now removed, now you touch the tap to turn it off and so surely the virus is now back on your hands?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Do it the way Australia did, it's not rocket science. No non nationals coming in. Citizens get quarantined. Evacuation flights of citizens only. Simples.

No exceptions. Non nationals living in Ireland in Italy become Italy's problem or they go to their home country for quarantine then travel here. But hey now you basically need to travel ban every single country infected I'd say.

Would still be worth the shot.

It's estimated that shutting our borders will cost our economy about 50%

So it's not "worth a shot". It's not inconceivable that it might happen, but should be a last resort

seamus wrote: »

That doesn't answer your question, but I would expect that A&E doctors would in general be GPs. They have the skills to assess and treat all patients and then move them to a specialist where necessary.

Not necessarily, but you do have to do a couple of years in A&E to become a GP.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,600 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I'd say A&Es are surprisingly quiet; people avoiding them unless they actually need to. People turning up with a sore finger and their entire extended family have probably dropped away.

My mate was in A&E last night. Was in there for 14 hours before being seen. Said the place was rammed with people spluttering everywhere. Said he was terrified of all the people could have Covid19, but he'd never know, as they are not being tested.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Distribution of laboratory confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the EU/EEA and the UK, as of 5 March 2020

novel-coronavirus-cases-EU-UK-5-march-2020.PNG?itok=i1q7Xjn5

Daily cases of Covid-19 creep up in Europe.

:-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Will large numbers of medical staff and patients have to be isolated now as they have interacted with somebody with the infection?
    Looks like containment is simply impossible.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭Bot1

Stupid question here but what is the point of hand washing? You have the virus on your hands so you go to wash your hands, you touch the tap to turn it on, the virus is now on the tap, you wash your hands, the virus is now removed, now you touch the tap to turn it off and so surely the virus is now back on your hands?

You don't wash the tap while washing your hands?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

kilns wrote: »
    Closing the border to the biggest centre of the virus is not pointless. 70,000 people live in Italy and cross the border to work in Switzerland every day.

China has proven to only way to do it is to shut down movement

But then Switzerland would have to close its border with France as there is a cluster in Mulhouse (very close to Basel) - transmission linked to a 7 days long religious meeting - eerily evoking South Korea in that respect.
    https://france3-regions.francetvinfo.fr/grand-est/haut-rhin/mulhouse/coronavirus-21-cas-alsace-foyer-epidemique-identifie-mulhouse-1794715.html

My point is that the virus has been in Europe for quite some time and closing the borders will not stop it.
    Scientists are recommending "social distancing" instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭quokula

There'll be seasonal variation too as we head into Spring.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

Fill a bucket of water, and leave it outside the door wash ur hands :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

hawkwing wrote: »
    Faeces was always the elephant in the room.It will be on everyone's lips shortly.

“If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate.”

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Someone who has specialised in General Practice will have a broader but shallower medial knoweledge than, e.g. a cardiologist.

Emergency medicine is a speciality.

You will have trainee GPs working as NCHDs in ED, as well as general medicine trainees.

ED consultants (and most registrars) won't be GPs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

How long do the symptoms take to develop after transmission?

We've had an employee sent home today with symptoms. He was in Milan a fortnight ago.

antodeco wrote: »
    With relation to the flights, and the "sure the irish will get back anyway". Theres a much simper way of doing this. Reduce the number of flights OUT and no longer IN. Anyone on those reduced flights are then isolated for 2 weeks, with testing during it. Its not rocket science. Target those coming in with specific criteria and isolation.

TLDR: ANybody coming in from Italy should be tested.

We should just quarantine anyone who has been in an affected area at some point in the last 2 weeks etc. So would not matter then what country they are flying in from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

And those teacher muppets in Clare decide to go on a freebie skiing trip to northern Italy in the middle of all this and come back infected! It's beyond a joke that those teachers can go on pissups to Italy paid for by the parents.

This right here is part of the reason why we shouldn't be giving out specific details of those who have been confirmed as being infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭the butcher

We've had an employee sent home today with symptoms. He was in Milan a fortnight ago.

1-14 days (rare reports of longer)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

A fortnight

For the people looking for a flight ban from Italy. Do you really think it would stop Irish people from making their way home using other means?

I think those wanting to come home should be brought home but mandatory self isolation.
    Actually anyone already back should self isolate. At least slow it down.

The dept of health really need to inform us better.

gabeeg wrote: »

So it's not "worth a shot". It's not inconceivable that it might happen, but should be a last resort

Short term costs, some of which we will incur anyway as other countries partially shut down
    Bargain at twice the price

You do realise that this is going to be seasonal until there is a vaccine, if there is a vaccine. The possibility of a mutation to Spanish flu like situation is also a risk. Be too late then wouldn't it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 seeker82

Two weeks so if he had it he would know by now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If you wanted to be paranoid, then regularly use diluted bleach on all high exposure risk surfaces like door handles and taps, handles of kettles, toilets and the like. You could wear gloves when outside too and dispose of them before you enter your house. And handwash of course.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

14 days is generally the max incubation period but there have been instances of up to 28 days recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

morebarn wrote: »
    Yes, I found this reinfection scenario worrying also. But have been following the English couple from the cruise ship who are recovering in hospital in Japan. Having survived the virus, pneumonia etc, the main issue is that the keep testing positive, then negative, then positive again!

As the guy said, the tests are only around 70percent reliable and it’s a case of waiting for the body to completely shed the virus. It’s a slow process.

But it gives me some hope that’s what’s happening; rather than reinfection.

It's very likely what is happening. My son had glandular fever in September/October but as of his last blood test still has the virus in his system and if he gets unwell, the virus could resurge and he'd get sick again. Though in the long term, a virus that hangs around like that usually leads to stronger antibodies and a much, much longer period of immunity following the virus completely clearing your system. Covid-19 seems to be like this, so while it hangs around for a long time and during that time you are technically vulnerable to a relapse, once it's gone, you likely have really good immunity for at least the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,920 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Will large numbers of medical staff and patients have to be isolated now as they have interacted with somebody with the infection?

I think this business of spending 15 minutes within two yards or something of the infected person would apply. Don't think the whole hospital would have to close down or anything...

Cupatae wrote: »
    Fill a bucket of water, and leave it outside the door wash ur hands :D:D

But the virus will then be in the bucket and water. The only solution I can think of are motion activated taps but they are few and far between

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Is it true that one of the ill Clare family was working as a GP last week?
    Irish Times is saying he did an A&E shift.

I think this business of spending 15 minutes within two yards or something of the infected person would apply. Don't think the whole hospital would have to close down or anything...

15 minutes is a nonsense arbitrary number pulled from God knows where.

You cannot make your hands perfectly sterile. Washed hands aren't sterile.

This is why doctors scrub their hands to within a inch of their lives, but still put on gloves.

The aim is to minimise infection. You touch the tap, a tiny amount of potential bacteria are transferred. You wash your hands, clean off a load of stuff, touch the tap again and tiny % of what you previously transferred, is transferred back.

Your hands are still hundreds of times cleaner than they were before you washed them.

Same goes for door handles, etc. Unless someone smeared dog **** on the handle, then touching a door handle (or a mobile phone) doesn't suddenly make your hands filthy again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭macwal

Up to 14 days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Level 5 Vegan

If he was doing a shift for an out of hours service like Shannon doc he might have been in the A&E.

My GP sits in the A&E department from 6pm until 10pm Fridays and Saturday evenings of our most local hospital 1 weekend in every 3 or something and then goes home and stays on call from there. That wouldn't be an unusual set up.

The ill Clare family :) Jaysus.

I believe I can answer your question but I will let it come out in official channels.

The official channels are telling us diddly squat.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

seeker82 wrote: »
    Two weeks so if he had it he would know by now.
    Not necessarily, in many infected patients symptoms are weak or non existent. This is particularly the case with children. People forget or don't realise that even with influenza(which many on Boards seem to believe is always an horrendous dose) nearly one third present no symptoms, another percentage think they've a bit of a sniffle.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

mlem123 wrote: »
    Do you not agree that people with symptoms should stay away from Hospitals, unless "toxic"?

They should but despite the countless requests for people to contact their GP by phone first, idiots will run straight to the ED.

The hospitals need to set up a security point at each hospital to query every person arriving at the hospital as to their reason for being there and sent away if they suspect they may be suffering from C-19.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,304 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

2 weeks ago.. highly unlikely he has it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭the butcher

gabeeg wrote: »

Which leads to indirect deaths due to the quick recession....WE CANT WIN...
    BUT worst case scenario of a virus mutating and with us forever seasonally is probably much worse than quick pain economy wise and a chance of eradicating a potential deadly virus....but it won't happen (shutting down borders).

We will continue on the path present, risk the chances of second/third waves and letting it become part of our cold/flu seasons, reducing our life expectancy, the people in the high risk categories are expendable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,463 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

That's not the point. People who are there will of course come home. However it will do two things

1) Stop more Irish people traveling there (and later having to return)
    2) It will stop other people (mainly Italians) from making unnecessary trips here.

In 3-4 weeks there will likely be more new cases of Irish people returning from Italy with the virus. Some of them will be boarding outbound flights this week and next for their planned holiday trip to Milan/Rome. Probably after posting on here about how they think gobshites are over-reacting about a cold

WHO is saying typically five days from infection to symptoms. 14 days would be on the longer side which would suggest it's less likely for your colleague.

That said, if he didn't travel alone his travel companion could have picked it up and then infected him at home.