Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do some people insist on driving ridiculously short distances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Jesus Christ what a nation of judgemental blind twitchers we have become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Jesus Christ what a nation of judgemental blind twitchers we have become.

Indeed we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

No I saw that too! I have a car but am very much not wedded to it, the opposite in fact. But I also get that the idea that shutting the city to cars, when plenty of people don't live on a decent public transport route yet come to Dublin for a whole host of reasons and events, is daft.

Every other major city in Europe is moving towards piublic transport and away from car

Dublin and Ireland is doing the opposite and any little turn away from cars and the public go nuts. Look at reaction to bike lane on Quays.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Every other major city in Europe is moving towards piublic transport and away from car

Dublin and Ireland is doing the opposite and any little turn away from cars and the public go nuts. Look at reaction to bike lane on Quays.....

We have to be the only European capital city that's actively encouraging more cars to clog it up. The recent N7 widening at naas and the widening of the N11 are a complete waste of time. people commenting on social media even suggested the €800k on the cycle lane was a waste. The same plebs that are driving their motorised three piece suite a few kilometres to and from work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

No point.
    Why no point?

You'll see that nobody has denied it's laziness... when it's laziness.

And buses and trains looked packed to me. Plenty cycling too.

Just another "have a go at the Irish" post tbh.

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Why no point?

You'll see that nobody has denied it's laziness... when it's laziness.

And buses and trains looked packed to me. Plenty cycling too.

Just another "have a go at the Irish" post tbh.

I’m irish, I know our faults...laziness is one biggest....or do you disagree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Today I drove a whole 950 meters ( 5 mins drive ) ,I could have walked a much shorter 550 meters ( 7 mins ) , to pick my kids up

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject71

It's fear of the men in white vans.

Who seem to steal your dogs and blonde haired kids,heh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Markcheese wrote: »
    Today I drove a whole 950 meters ( 5 mins drive ) ,I could have walked a much shorter 550 meters ( 7 mins ) , to pick my kids up

5 mins to drive 950m? That is 12km an hour. A hearse goes faster than that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I’m irish, I know our faults...laziness is one biggest....or do you disagree?
    I think it is among a certain cohort, but not across Irish society. And I'm not going to pretend public transport is not availed of en masse or that cycling and running aren't popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    5 mins to drive 950m? That is 12km an hour. A hearse goes faster than that

2 sets of traffic lights , a level crossing , and 2 housing estates , I was heading out to walk it .. but it was pissing rain and blowing a gale...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

I live about 15 minutes walk from work and briefly thought about not driving before coming to my senses.

Good plan, burning that money on fuel makes perfect sense and exercise is just for idiots!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,742 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Interesting question, I will drive down to the library and do some research on that, back in a minute, it's almost across the road from me.

How long it take you to come up with that hilarious nugget?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

If you can't walk 450m you're pretty much wrote off

:confused: We are more than... legs! I cannot walk that distance and I am far from "wrote off"

PS I do not drive a car either! stayathome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Was there major objection to it?

Excuse my ignorance and I am not being smart, but this is as close as I come to social media. I listened to some radio discussion on it and I thought overall people were positive towards it, and rightly so. I can't wait for it as a cyclist myself.

I don't even entertain the opinion cess pit that is twitter, facebook, etc. This is bad enough but to me only a bit of craic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Good plan, burning that money on fuel makes perfect sense and exercise is just for idiots!!!

Plenty of people exercise outside of their daily commute. I drive to work for many reasons - not living on a bus route (closest bus is a 40 minute walk), I don't like people coughing and sneezing all over me and at 7 months pregnant can do without an infection as well as having to stand for the entire journey. I used to "half half" my journey by driving to the luas and using that but having missed countless meetings because it randomly decided to turf everyone off at blackhorse and being assaulted twice, I decided to give that one a miss. Not a decision I will ever feel bad about I'm afraid.

I get plenty of exercise walking the dogs each day, which some of my bus using colleagues dont. Many of them sit their bums on public transport listening to music and mindlessly scrolling through social media, then sit their bums at their desk for 8 hours then repeat for homeward journey. They get feck all exercise.

But in your world, there seems to be no room for grey areas, only the black and white agenda which is drivers ruining the earth and users of public transport being canonized.

Do you have the same hatred for red meat eaters and users of single use plastic??

Graces7 wrote: »
    :confused: We are more than... legs! I cannot walk that distance and I am far from "wrote off"

And Graces I know from your other posts that you are very environmentally mindful and you dont live a life of excessive materialism and instant gratification that so many people do these days! But it seems here we are only being judged on whether or not we use cars :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Yawn. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

They drive short distances because they can.
    Nothing wrong with it, we live in a free world.

People sometimes like convenience and maybe they're tired and just feel like driving instead of walking.
    Its their own decision.

Nobody can stop them, I sometimes drive short distances.
    Working outdoors all day and doing a lot of horticultural work and looking after woodlands, garden's and fruit trees more than makes up for my carbon footprint.

Id say most of the moaners and people giving out about the short distance drivers in their life time haven't made any positive contribution to our biodiversity.

So if you drive the drive you can drive the talk.

Sometimes I read threads and wonder whats the world coming to.

Now Im going to drive over to the local shop which is a 14 minute drive, sue me :)

Antares35 wrote: »
    Plenty of people exercise outside of their daily commute. I drive to work for many reasons - not living on a bus route (closest bus is a 40 minute walk), I don't like people coughing and sneezing all over me and at 7 months pregnant can do without an infection as well as having to stand for the entire journey. I used to "half half" my journey by driving to the luas and using that but having missed countless meetings because it randomly decided to turf everyone off at blackhorse and being assaulted twice, I decided to give that one a miss. Not a decision I will ever feel bad about I'm afraid.

I get plenty of exercise walking the dogs each day, which some of my bus using colleagues dont. Many of them sit their bums on public transport listening to music and mindlessly scrolling through social media, then sit their bums at their desk for 8 hours then repeat for homeward journey. They get feck all exercise.

But in your world, there seems to be no room for grey areas, only the black and white agenda which is drivers ruining the earth and users of public transport being canonized.

Do you have the same hatred for red meat eaters and users of single use plastic??

Im not sure what point you are trying to make, just seems like a rant

The closing down of city centre to cars just makes perfect sense for a number of reasons. Including your children been able to walk around Dublin without filling their lungs with fumes.

Plenty of grey areas but plenty of excuses from people.

If people are unable to see the benefits of reducing the fumes from cars then no hope at all. Personally I would prefer to not fill my kids lungs full of s**t. We have no issue canonizing people who smoke?

Walking, cycling and public transport are for the poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,474 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Yep that’s why houses on the Luas and dart lines command premiums alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭Greyfox

nthclare wrote: »
    Id say most of the moaners and people giving out about the short distance drivers in their life time haven't made any positive contribution to our biodiversity.

People seem to be getting offended when all people are doing is pointing out the fact that often these short distances are people been a little silly or lazy.

Im not sure what point you are trying to make, just seems like a rant

The closing down of city centre to cars just makes perfect sense for a number of reasons. Including your children been able to walk around Dublin without filling their lungs with fumes.

Plenty of grey areas but plenty of excuses from people.

If people are unable to see the benefits of reducing the fumes from cars then no hope at all. Personally I would prefer to not fill my kids lungs full of s**t. We have no issue canonizing people who smoke?
    Accusation of rant from someone who clearly just has it in for all drivers :) you want to know why people are driving. I told you why I'm driving. You make an accusation that anyone who drives is an idiot and shirks exercise, I'm simply telling you this is not true for all.

Don't post sweeping statements if you cant accept being challenged on it.

No, for the fittest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

I walk and take public transport (Luas) to work every day and also have a car in the drive way. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

We had one guy in our maintenance job (State employee) that lived the nearest to the workplace. Door to door, about ten minutes. He was always late, just a few minutes every day and of course, we slagged him about it and it turned out he'd been refused a place on a course that would have led to promotion so he got into a huff and decided that his way to give the fingers to the system was to be persistently late, just by a few minutes,just barely late enough enough to avoid being bollocked.
    No clocking in or swiping system was in place then (90s), until one fine day, the Boss had had enough, bollocked him from a height and made it clear that,if the habit continued, the potential for promotion would evaporate and he would be transferred to another busier department (which, he realised, he didnt have the power to oppose) so, he changed his ways and suddenly began to appear on time, every day. A few months later, he resigned and went to a civvy job and his old habits crept back in until he was threatened with the sack and tidied up his act.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Accusation of rant from someone who clearly just has it in for all drivers :) you want to know why people are driving. I told you why I'm driving. You make an accusation that anyone who drives is an idiot and shirks exercise, I'm simply telling you this is not true for all.

+1. It'll be interesting to hear what the anti car knit your own muesli socks clean freaks will come out with when the majority of cars are electric and not pumping out the "evil fumes". Oh it'll most certainly be another whinge going on. There will always be a whinge.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Greyfox wrote: »
    People seem to be getting offended when all people are doing is pointing out the fact that often these short distances are people been a little silly or lazy.

Im not offended myself I couldn't give a jack **** whether someone's lazy, ill informed or not complying to the environmental police.

I look after my own side of the street and its up to others to go about their business.

So what if someone's lazy, have others the powers to fix someone's lazy nature?

Its an inside job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

I used to work with a person who drove 200m from his house to work. Our office was right behind his house, only for the fence was too high he could have climbed over it. The office was 100m from a Y junction and he lived 100m on the other side of the junction. He drove every single day and drove home for lunch and back again afterwards. He didn’t need his car for work as he was office based, he was simply a lazy prick that took up limited parking spaces at the office and left others who had no choice but to drive to work to point park out on the road or much further away.
    Its not his fault the other people lived so far away from work. Maybe they should get up earlier to get a good parking spot, first come first served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭Greyfox

nthclare wrote: »
    So what if someone's lazy, have others the powers to fix someone's lazy nature?

No but I never said I could stop people from been lazy

Greyfox wrote: »
    No but I never said I could stop people from been lazy

Actually you didn't, that's a good point.
    And thanks for pointing it out.

I suppose when someone's content, happy and secure in their own lives there's no need to be getting annoyed with lazy people.
    This isn't directed at you now.
    But in general lazy people are quite content in their own bubbles and don't moan about people who are active, fitter and more social.

Actually I never heard a lazy person moan about active people, just think about that now.

Maybe they now and again think they should be more active and probably admire people who are fitter etc

But they never moan about them.

What are you challanging exactly? all I can see is a rant

I drive a car, actually I own two :P. Did I say everyone who drives a car is an idiot? or shirks exercise? Please quote where I posted any of the above.

Wibbs wrote: »
    +1. It'll be interesting to hear what the anti car knit your own muesli socks clean freaks

Did you think that sad, pathetic insult up all by yourself?

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Did you think that sad, pathetic insult up all by yourself?

Its only an insult if someone finds ot insulting, I myself found it quite witty and not a bit insulting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Ah you've blown it now, you used to be more subtle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭Nollog

+1. It'll be interesting to hear what the anti car knit your own muesli socks clean freaks will come out with when the majority of cars are electric and not pumping out the "evil fumes". Oh it'll most certainly be another whinge going on. There will always be a whinge.

The electricity comes from the grid which may still contain inefficiencies in this hypothetical future you think will happen in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Ush1 wrote: »
    Ah you've blown it now, you used to be more subtle.

Indeed. :D

And Graces I know from your other posts that you are very environmentally mindful and you dont live a life of excessive materialism and instant gratification that so many people do these days! But it seems here we are only being judged on whether or not we use cars :)

I just amended my post; should have read on first!!! On a small pension the things you mention are just not possible. I had a car. Just was not possible with insurance, tax nct etc. I do care ,but I enjoyed the occasional day out to ancient places! and modern shops!

And yes, too many cars these days . far too many. And more should walk. Not judged on using cars but using them when we could walk. For many reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

You're whingeing about whingers. Anyway electric cars would still take up all the space and make the streets unsafe to walk and cycle around, regardless of what's fuelling them. That's why hopefully we're moving towards the common sense of getting cars out of city centres and focusing on walking, cycling and public transport. The reign of car dominated city and town centres is hopefully on its way out.

arctictree wrote: »
    I've a neighbour who 'walks' her dog by driving down the road with the dog running along side the car on a lead. Feckin weird....[/QUOTE

That is common! When I was trading in Donegal town, a women used to stop at the top of the pier road, let her dog out, drive on fast with the poor pooch howling and running after her...every week and indeed every day. opposite the Garda station!

Soon put a stop to that !

Zebra3 wrote: »
    No, for the fittest.

I would say thats both nonsense and most don’t care about gaining “fitness” from their commute (if they care about fitness at all).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

I have a work colleague who lives 600m from the office and in 20 years has not walked once in all that time, WTF. I'd love to be in that position and be able to walk to work every day, my only issue would be that I wouldn't be getting much exercise walking 600m

Raconteuse wrote: »
    I don't think anyone is denying that it can be (and is probably mostly) due to sheer laziness, but the point was made that you wouldn't know what hidden debilitations some, whom you think are merely lazy, have. And on this thread, despite that point being made, it was ignored or dismissed.

Shuddering at the memories. Despite being worn out if I walked up a slight slope, I could neither sleep nor eat. Only time I did force a bit of food down was to line my stomach for pain killers.

(((HUGS)))) my life for decades. And folk do not understand unless they are ill in that way or know someone who is, and I would nto wish this on anyone

Peregrine wrote: »
    Because we, as a society, have a car dependency problem.

The first time I saw a funeral procession pass I knew that. Cars are status .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

I would say thats both nonsense and most don’t care about gaining “fitness” from their commute (if they care about fitness at all).

Most mornings I will try to work 30/40 minutes brisk walk into my commute, getting a lift some of the way and only bussing it in the rain.

Probably should point him in the direction of better management strategies and encouragement as opposed to turning it into a sob story.

dare not say what I am thinking... shhh! :(:mad:

Seamai wrote: »
    Most mornings I will try to work 30/40 minutes brisk walk into my commute, getting a lift some of the way and only bussing it in the rain.

I like to get to work with the absolute minimum of effort and in the most comfort possibles. Car is two metres from the back door, drive to work alone in a nice warm/dry car and park two metres from the door of work. 25 to 30 mins most mornings. Ideal commute really.