Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

shawki wrote: »
    https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/

Is there anyway to see the up to date version of this map?

It's only updated once a week, on Thursday I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭rodders999

Just got the test results back, negative thankfully.

Goes to show how much strain testing and tracing must be under, think it must be on the verge of collapse which is the main reason we’re heading to level 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

jackrussel wrote: »
    Is that a testing site being made on south Douglas road? Just there by the back, employee pedestrian entrance to St Finbarrs, across from the house that’s covered in plants. They put down tarmac and light fixtures along with a few shipping containers.

Where will all the parents in 4x4s double and triple park now?

Was wondering myself on Saturday when they were paving it all what they were up to. Didn't think it was suitable for a testing centre with the school traffic but if they are putting in lights and containers then that is not a good sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,007 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Some absolute lunatics out sitting out having food tonight. Went out in the car cos of the rain and more than I thought out. Market Lane, few on Princes Street, few of the cafes all open. Most places closed, even places that were open last night. I could not imagine sitting out eating in tonight's weather

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭Level 42

General feeling from people I know in various age groups at the min is **** the restrictions, hairdressers arranging appointments at home, beauticians the same. Lads arranging too watch match’s at the weekend in the same house etc. I can’t see these restrictions having much of an impact when people seem too have lost fate in the government’s handling of the entire thing

Who are these neanthertals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Level 42 wrote: »

I walked past a reasonable sized protest on Grand parade on Sunday and the speaker was waffling on about masks being like asbestos. Plenty of em around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Level 5 for 6 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,155 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Ludo wrote: »
    232 in Cork today!!! 3 less than Dublin only.

232 in Cork :( how many are in kids and teenagers in schools?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

mikeym wrote: »
    Level 5 for 6 weeks.

Extremely disappointed and depressed to see "penalties" for going outside 5km. my contacts are virtually zero as it is. Going to mountains and walk / run by myself was an escape. And now to be penned in, almost Hitler like. What a **** evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭Be right back

Jim Gazebo wrote: »
    Extremely disappointed and depressed to see "penalties" for going outside 5km. my contacts are virtually zero as it is. Going to mountains and walk / run by myself was an escape. And now to be penned in, almost Hitler like. What a **** evening.

Think they could have made an exception there for exercising outdoors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,155 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

If you honestly think 'selfish and ignorant people' are the reason why numbers are high you are completely and utterly delusional

It is gatherings in homes, house parties, large meet ups, who do you think ACE is rising cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,837 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Level 42 wrote: »

The same people that have brought this lockdown upon us.

I've been basically living like a hermit for the last 7 months and now I've another 6 weeks of confinement thanks to these selfish arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

titan18 wrote: »
    Some absolute lunatics out sitting out having food tonight. Went out in the car cos of the rain and more than I thought out. Market Lane, few on Princes Street, few of the cafes all open. Most places closed, even places that were open last night. I could not imagine sitting out eating in tonight's weather

You seem to be going out every night in the car patrolling the streets. Nothing better to do...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

And now to be penned in, almost Hitler like.

Yes, this is very similar to World War 2.

Zardoz wrote: »
    The same people that have brought this lockdown upon us.

I've been basically living like a hermit for the last 7 months and now I've another 6 weeks of confinement thanks to these selfish arseholes.

So if the govt did nothing were you going to suddenly lift yourself out of that 7 month confinement? Take your condescending **** elsewhere and stop creating a situation where you can blame others.

Yes, this is very similar to World War 2.

I'd understand being penned in a small area if it was world war 2.

Think they could have made an exception there for exercising outdoors!

I do kind of agree now. 5k made a lot more sense when the weather was good. As someone pointed out earlier, packed beaches won't be a problem now. County travel restrictions would be reasonable this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Will banks and credit unions have to close?

fin12 wrote: »
    Will banks and credit unions have to close?

Definitely saw that credit unions can stay open mentioned earlier so I assume banks can also.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭physioman

Lots of interesting points being raised here....
    In general I can't see people adhering to these restrictions for 6 weeks. It's only human nature. I have lost faith in this government. Michael martin is a very weak leader and leo varadkar loves being in the limelight. The coalition is just not working.
    It appears that the strain of Covid 19 has weakened compared to March/April. It seems to be more common this time around (possibly due to more testing) but not as harmful. I know of at least 10 people that have it and their symptoms are mild. I know of one particular long term institution in cork where in 2 wards all the clients have it but there are no deaths thank god. I must actually study the stats but it would appear there are alot less deaths with this wave of infection in proportion to the number of positive cases?
    Hospitals are busy at present but it's the time of year more than covid.
    I think having these restrictions are going to have a more detrimental effect on the elderly. They are reducing their movements thus becoming more sedentary. Leading to social isolation and reduced physical activity ultimately leading to mental health and physical problems. The government dont realise the long term effect economically this will have. One of the biggest mistakes was not reopening day care centres. They should have tried to make this work. These centres were crucial to the elderly population for social and physical benefits.
    Just my few observations from the last few weeks.

fin12 wrote: »
    You seem to be going out every night in the car patrolling the streets. Nothing better to do...

Well, I live in the area, and ya, if i can't go out for a walk cos of the weather, i'll go out in the car. Best to get some break from the house during the day since i'm wfh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,275 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

titan18 wrote: »
    Well, I live in the area, and ya, if i can't go out for a walk cos of the weather, i'll go out in the car. Best to get some break from the house during the day since i'm wfh.

Well fair play for being so observant, if you were around 100 years ago Michael Collins might still be alive :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

physioman wrote: »
    The government dont realise the long term effect economically this will have.

I'm pretty sure they do.

Well fair play for being so observant, if you were around 100 years ago Michael Collins might still be alive :)

Sure, it's within the 5k and more entertaining than going driving in most places i can go. Also, can stop and play Pokemon Go easier as lot more gyms and pokestops than if I went out further into suburbs

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

physioman wrote: »
    It appears that the strain of Covid 19 has weakened compared to March/April. It seems to be more common this time around (possibly due to more testing) but not as harmful. I know of at least 10 people that have it and their symptoms are mild..
    It is an interesting virus because it affects everybody differently, but it is definitely rampent in cork. I know more and more people getting it.

It's not that it's weaker, it's due to testing. In April there was about 5k cases a day hence the very high death rate (we needed certain symtoms, hard to get tested etc)

My sister's bf up in Dublin had it and had a very sore throat, bad headaches and aches and soon lost his sense of smell, but two weeks later is now fine

A friend from college then got it and said he wouldn't wish it on anybody, the bone aches he said are like your bones popping out of skin etc. My aunt's sister is currently experiencing this symtom also and can't move from the bed.

It's a very strange virus in how it effects everybody differently and you don't always have a cough, but that's the third or fourth person I've heard now with the really sore bones from it. IMy college friend is still experiencing severe fatigue over a month on aswell. I believe it all depends on the viral load you pick up aswell, more of it you pick up the worse it is but not sure. Agree with all your points on level 5 affecting elderly, it's going to be detrimental but hopefully we can lower this thing for another while

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

Not more sh1t about your sisters boyfriend again yawn

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

I'd understand being penned in a small area if it was world war 2.

But it IS a war. With many casualties. Prob not YOU. But the workers on the front line are in no doubt it is a.war

Look around, Madrid gone into marshall law, cause the population didnt want to lockdown and the front liners said, FU, lockdown or we are not risking our lives to save yours.
    Poland talking about creating new hospitals.
    Even Bergamo in Italy hospitalisations rising..

This virus can reduce sperm production by 50% in moderate to severe cases. They have NO idea if this is permament.

10-30% of people (they are not sure) get long covid from this. These are mild cases that didnt need hospital. Again, they have no idea why, or if its permanent or temp.

It damages Tcells, and likely (not sure yet) reinfection is possible. So, every year you can get it, and each time its a little more severe.

We ARE at war. With a virus.

And all we have to do is not socialise for one fricking year. Apparently, we are not even capable of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

mean gene wrote: »
    Not more sh1t about your sisters boyfriend again yawn

What? We are talking about mild symptoms and how people deal with it differently and how some people are ok and others not, would you get a grip nobody asked you to reply

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

What? We are talking about mild symptoms and how people deal with it differently and how some people are ok and others not, would you get a grip nobody asked you to reply

:p

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    But it IS a war. With many casualties. Prob not YOU. But the workers on the front line are in no doubt it is a.war

Look around, Madrid gone into marshall law, cause the population didnt want to lockdown and the front liners said, FU, lockdown or we are not risking our lives to save yours.
    Poland talking about creating new hospitals.
    Even Bergamo in Italy hospitalisations rising..

This virus can reduce sperm production by 50% in moderate to severe cases. They have NO idea if this is permament.

10-30% of people (they are not sure) get long covid from this. These are mild cases that didnt need hospital. Again, they have no idea why, or if its permanent or temp.

It damages Tcells, and likely (not sure yet) reinfection is possible. So, every year you can get it, and each time its a little more severe.

We ARE at war. With a virus.

And all we have to do is not socialise for one fricking year. Apparently, we are not even capable of that.

Come off it. I'm a front line worker as well, I have to quarantine as I have to go abroad for spells of work, I don't have a choice. I might get home at the end of the week, I don't know yet. I then have to get tested, isolate for a few days. Repeat for leaving 5 weeks later. My whole time at home with family and kids spent in a 5km circle when I wouldn't see anyone outside that 5km circle in the last 7 months anyway. It's bollocks. I don't have an issue with going to level 5 if it has to be done but they are damaging people with this 5km restriction. County would have been fine.

I never said we weren't fighting a virus but it is not a war FFS.