Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

He's correct, it's unacceptable. Stopping takeaway pints would be the obvious first step along with enforcement of no drinking on the street. Quite simple.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Pen Rua wrote: »

There categorically were breaches of the restrictions, traffic around town could be heard all night like a Saturday in normal times. There were cars driving past our house in a row at 4am leaving town.

I can't find it in the papers yet but there was a bad sexual assault on Grand Parade late at night as well.

The Garda presence would be laughable if it wasn't such a serious issue. To say that they didn't detect breaches of guidelines, well you're not going to detect jack if you're not even there.

Probably too busy catching some young lads driving around Mallow selling fifty bags to their friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

s1ippy wrote: »
    Probably too busy catching some young lads driving around Mallow selling fifty bags to their friends.

At least the Gards have gotten this right. Catching drug dealers would a lot higher on the gards priorities then adults drinking alcohol in town. And rightly so

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭Treehelpplease

marno21 wrote: »
    We might be able to pursue a zero-covid strategy if we weren't...

Sharing an island with another sovereign state who seem incapable of controlling the spread of the virus where one of the ruling parties seem to favour politicising the pandemic
    One of the world's most open economies with a strong dependence on air travel
    Reliant on neighbouring countries for imports which are carried on board trucks which require truck drivers entering and leaving the country
    20km away from our nearest neighbour with which we share a common relationship.

The carry on in town last night is relatively low risk. I was around town the last 2 Saturdays (nowhere near Electric last night but the racket from that direction was quite loud) but last night many places had been instructed to close early by the Gardai. Instead of all the moaning about what went on perhaps it's time to focus on how realistic it is to try to shut young people into their houses for weeks on end in the middle of winter with no exit strategy.
    I didnt realise pointing out pretty significant breaches of public health guidelines in the middle of a global pandemic clearly visible for all to see in the middle of the city centre was now just moaning. You are not being shut away in your house for weeks on end. Anyone under the age of 18 socialises in school, anyone outside of school can meet one person at a time outdoors. Choosing to meet with a group of friends for take away pints outdoors I don't think is all that bad, if you're socially distant and don't do it with a different group every night. But if you are at the peace park on the south mall with take away pints with 4/5 others and you're surrounded by tens of more groups all really close and you think you don't need to use your brain and go somewhere else, such as the tens of seats on grand parade and patrick street or even further down the south mall, well i'm sorry but that's just plain selfish and ignorant and whether you're a young person or an older person you should know better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,232 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Augeo wrote: »
    He's correct, it's unacceptable. Stopping takeaway pints would be the obvious first step along with enforcement of no drinking on the street. Quite simple.

Or we just let these businesses trading on a shoe string continue and the garda do their job of managing the public. Drive around a few times, if there is crowds gathering tell them move on, they'll get the message quick enough. Young people are bored out their bollox and just doing what they usually do and that's socialize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Pen Rua

TBF, it is well documented that the Gardaí take a stepped approach to enforcing the rules. Engage, explain and then enforce if they must. Evidently they followed that with the crowds drinking, they moved on and no formal enforcement was required.

One would suspect in order for them to say there have been breaches, there would have had to have been some element of enforcement.

TBF, it is well documented that the Gardaí take a stepped approach to enforcing the rules. Engage, explain and then enforce if they must. Evidently they followed that with the crowds drinking, they moved on and no formal enforcement was required.

One would suspect in order for them to say there have been breaches, there would have had to have been some element of enforcement.

So its a nothing story and you can be sure it won't happen again next weekend with the hysteria over it.

rob316 wrote: »
    So its a nothing story and you can be sure it won't happen again next weekend with the hysteria over it.

Good. and when you mention people are bored. Everyone is. Old people who can't go to mass, young people who can't go to clubs, adults who can't meet up with friends on the weekend, someone who lives 5km+ away from a beach and loves surfing, someone who loves mountain climbing and doesn't live near mountains, someone who loves travelling. We are all bored. And that is perfectly valid. The issue isn't people being bored and trying to entertain themselves. The issue is people who are using boredom as an excuse to openly ignore the rules and basically say to everyone else "I know you are all following the rules and for many of you, you need to follow them for your own health and rely on us following them too, but I'm really bored and need to live my life so I'll do whatever I want to do because I can". That's the issue. And whether those people think they're doing that or not, they are.

It's important to remember it is a small minority. But a small minority can have a big impact. Especially when others see it and copy it. Look at many parts of the US to see what happens when people take that attitude. The hardest part for me personally is accepting that a number of people, including people I know, simply do not care about the virus or its impact (whether they are aware of this or not through their actions). That's why I try to remember it's a small minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,007 ✭✭✭✭titan18

s1ippy wrote: »
    There categorically were breaches of the restrictions, traffic around town could be heard all night like a Saturday in normal times. There were cars driving past our house in a row at 4am leaving town.

I can't find it in the papers yet but there was a bad sexual assault on Grand Parade late at night as well.

The Garda presence would be laughable if it wasn't such a serious issue. To say that they didn't detect breaches of guidelines, well you're not going to detect jack if you're not even there.

Was this the assault https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/woman-20s-in-hospital-with-serious-injuries-after-being-assaulted-in-cork-39749385.html

Or was there another one also?

Good. and when you mention people are bored. Everyone is. Old people who can't go to mass, young people who can't go to clubs, adults who can't meet up with friends on the weekend, someone who lives 5km+ away from a beach and loves surfing, someone who loves mountain climbing and doesn't live near mountains, someone who loves travelling. We are all bored. And that is perfectly valid. The issue isn't people being bored and trying to entertain themselves. The issue is people who are using boredom as an excuse to openly ignore the rules and basically say to everyone else "I know you are all following the rules and for many of you, you need to follow them for your own health and rely on us following them too, but I'm really bored and need to live my life so I'll do whatever I want to do because I can". That's the issue. And whether those people think they're doing that or not, they are.

It's important to remember it is a small minority. But a small minority can have a big impact. Especially when others see it and copy it. Look at many parts of the US to see what happens when people take that attitude. The hardest part for me personally is accepting that a number of people, including people I know, simply do not care about the virus or its impact (whether they are aware of this or not through their actions). That's why I try to remember it's a small minority.

These measures are draconian and we are all suffering because of an appalling health service that cant cope with a few hundred hospitalisations.
    It was an own goal from NPHET keeping restrictions in place so long the first time around, ffs you couldn't go have a pint when there was single figure cases like.
    People are fatigued and just really don't care anymore. I haven't looked at cases figures in days, all I saw was a headline from bad news Tony that "worrying trend of rising cases". I'm busy with other things and tuned out from it now and it was the best feeling until my phone went 90 Saturday night with all the outrage about what was going on in town.

titan18 wrote: »

I saw this Saturday night, there was alot of blood on the ground around her on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I wouldn’t say it’s a small minority any more. There was a poll asking about who was adhering to the rules and who wasn’t in the covid forum last week and the results were pretty much split down the middle, 50/50.
    On the contrary a similar poll a few weeks into the first lockdown was a landslide result in favour of compliance.

Scenes like what we saw in town at the weekend would also have been unfathomable 3 weeks into the last lockdown.
    People are becoming increasingly frustrated and restless as time goes on, and compliance is dropping by the day as a result.
    It might have been a minority during the summer but not now. It’s a very divisive issue that’s clearly split society down the middle.

These measures are draconian and we are all suffering because of an appalling health service that cant cope with a few hundred hospitalisations.
    It was an own goal from NPHET keeping restrictions in place so long the first time around, ffs you couldn't go have a pint when there was single figure cases like.
    People are fatigued and just really don't care anymore. I haven't looked at cases figures in days, all I saw was a headline from bad news Tony that "worrying trend of rising cases". I'm busy with other things and tuned out from it now and it was the best feeling until my phone went 90 Saturday night with all the outrage about what was going on in town.
    How? What part of it is draconian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭corks finest

No breaches my hole, gardai just turned a blind eye lazy attitude

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

At least the Gards have gotten this right. Catching drug dealers would a lot higher on the gards priorities then adults drinking alcohol in town. And rightly so
    OK boomer, "Drug dealers", young lads selling weed to a few locals because it's not legally attainable =/= drug dealers in the sense you're probably imagining. But don't let that stop your probably very sheltered, very lively imagination from running away anyway. Weed is going to be legal in the next ten years when all the conservative boring losers die off naturally. In fact, it'll be great for the country because we'll be even more progressive and we'll no longer have to pay unethical and completely unacceptable sums to pension holders and the economy and health service will be fixed from the additional revenue as well as less nanny state policing being required.

It's likely the Gardaí don't want the gangs to go because they justify their salary, they're getting money off them, gives journos a juicy story. Catching a lad selling fifty bags is not exactly going to improve things in an area, just make somebody's mam and a couple of the biys sad.
    titan18 wrote: »
    Oh thanks, I couldn't find it because my friend said it was a sexual assault. The video going around, that attack was vicious.

What part of the last 8 months has been in any way similar to how we collectively naturally live our lives?

Lockdown after lockdown for a virus with a mortality rate of much about 0.1% and most people don't even show symptoms. Its ridiculous really, but we learned nothing from the previous 6 months, didn't prepare for the inevitable 2nd wave so this is what we are dealing with.
    There was a scientific approach to follow, mass testing and tracing but instead we are been run into the ground by a committee of GPs.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    What part of the last 8 months has been in any way similar to how we collectively naturally live our lives?
    ... isn't that part of living through a 1 in 100 year gloabl pandemic? That doesn't make the rules draconian?

draconian
    adjective
    (of laws or their application) excessively harsh and severe.

What of these rules are excessively harsh or severe?

These measures are draconian and we are all suffering because of an appalling health service that cant cope with a few hundred hospitalisations...............

there is no health service that could cope with covid19 and no restrictions on the public...... the disease spreads exponentially without restrictions. The few hundred will turn into 1000+ and then to thousands ........... you will no doubt dispute that.

Hospitals in the UK are operating at full capacity and Covid cases are rising there...... https://www.coventrytelegraph.net/news/coventry-news/university-hospital-coventry-warwickshire-operating-19266186...............
    In a Coventry hospital " 630 of its 9,000 workforce currently being off sick and this month"

That's why we have restrictions.

... .......

She can't get her nails or hair done so it's draconian ;)

... isn't that part of living through a 1 in 100 year gloabl pandemic? That doesn't make the rules draconian?

draconian
    adjective
    (of laws or their application) excessively harsh and severe.

Maybe the part where we kept the majority of the population out of work and locked in their houses during the summer when we had less than 5 cases per day and no deaths, basically throwing away our only opportunity to actually open safely and attempt to live with the virus?

You could go for a pint in the pub in most other European countries almost two months before you could get your dog groomed or buy some non essential retail here.

Our pubs were open for all of TWO WEEKS before we shut them again, they’ve been closed in Dublin since the 16th of March, over 8 months now.
    Yet our European neighbours including the EU ground zero (Italy) were all able to open all their industries and enjoy a relatively normal summer before the second wave came.
    Pubs aside, some industries were only allowed open on august 10th here, we basically threw the whole summer away and as a result people are fatigued and frustrated from the constant restrictions.

All of that was excessively harsh and severe.

She can't get her nails or hair done so it's draconian ;)

Absolutely pathetic post, but I’d expect no less from you.

Maybe the part where we kept the majority of the population out of work...........

I don't think the majority were out of work.
    The majority might have been out of cork and WFH but I would doubt that also.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Maybe the part where we kept the majority of the population out of work and locked in their houses during the summer when we had less than 5 cases per day and no deaths, basically throwing away our only opportunity to actually open safely and attempt to live with the virus?

You could go for a pint in the pub in most other European countries almost two months before you could get your dog groomed or buy some non essential retail here.

Our pubs were open for all of TWO WEEKS before we shut them again, they’ve been closed in Dublin since the 16th of March, over 8 months now.
    Yet our European neighbours including the EU ground zero (Italy) were all able to open all their industries and enjoy a relatively normal summer before the second wave came.

All of that was excessively harsh and severe.

Retail reopened at the start of june as did restaurants serving food, and they were said to have a booming summer. We weren't locked in our houses for Summer, restrictions eased very quickly within June and we skipped nearly 2 phases totally.

It was a fairly normal summer bar Pubs opening and social distancing imo. I did mostly the same stuff as previous summers, travelled around the country, stayed in hotels, did touristy things, most restaurants around the country let us stay after our food, had friends over... I was even able to have a birthday with my friends because the restrictions allowed it.. locked in our houses.. get your facts right before even posting

..........locked in their houses during the summer ...........

Most folk I know holidayed in Ireland...... we weren't locked in our homes. Don't be rewriting history......... pathetic post.
    Retail reopened at the start of june as did restaurants serving food, and they were said to have a booming summer. We weren't locked in our houses for Summer, restrictions eased very quickly within June and we skipped nearly 2 phases totally.

It was a fairly normal summer bar Pubs opening and social distancing imo. I did mostly the same stuff as previous summers, travelled around the country, stayed in hotels, did touristy things, most restaurants around the country let us stay after our food, had friends over...

Indeed, locked in out homes for the summer is total spoof ..........

Most of your posts are pathetic.......... I was told in confidence that my nail technician is struggling to manage on the social welfare since she's out of work .......... fncking profound stuff.

Yeah she is and so are hundreds of thousands of other people, you might think it’s irrelevant from your sanctimonious high horse but I don’t agree.

The severe negative financial impact of these restrictions is worth talking about, if you disagree then I can only assume you are coming from a position of privilege to be so nonchalant about other people’s struggles. Lucky you.

Regardless, absolutely pathetic post. But not unexpected.

It was a fairly normal summer bar Pubs opening and social distancing imo. I did mostly the same stuff as previous summers, travelled around the country, stayed in hotels, did touristy things, most restaurants around the country let us stay after our food, had friends over... I was even able to have a birthday with my friends because the restrictions allowed it.. locked in our houses.. get your facts right before even posting

We had the longest, most drawn out easing of restrictions in Europe. By MM’s own admission we currently have the most severe lockdown in the EU.

We missed our chance to live with the virus and open safely when the rest of Europe was doing it during the summer.
    Our cases were negligible, we should have been doing what Europe was doing but instead we kept many industries shut until august missing our chance.

Yeah she is and so are hundreds of thousands of other people, you might think it’s irrelevant from your sanctimonious high horse but I don’t agree.

The severe negative financial impact of these restrictions is worth talking about, if you disagree then I can only assume you are coming from a position of privilege to be so nonchalant about other people’s struggles. Lucky you.

Regardless, absolutely pathetic post. But not unexpected.

I tend to focus on the nations health rather then the economic side of things in times of a global pandemic. Easy to forget the folk with asthma, cystic fibrosis etc who are terrified of catching covid when you can't spend your wad on the €200 hair do.

We had the longest, most drawn out easing of restrictions in Europe. By MM’s own admission we currently have the most severe lockdown in the EU. .............

And the rest of Europe now has rising Covid19 while ours is falling.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

We had the longest, most drawn out easing of restrictions in Europe. By MM’s own admission we currently have the most severe lockdown in the EU.

We missed our chance to live with the virus and open safely when the rest of Europe was doing it during the summer.
    Our cases were negligible, we should have been doing what Europe was doing but instead we kept many industries shut until august missing our chance.

We really don't. The French aren't allowed leave their homes without a letter atm, have curfews and can only go 1km from their house? The UK is very similar to ours etc. Italy is starting to extend their 'red zones', Germany is expected to extend their restrictions further, Austria is closing schools and non-essential retail now... will I continue? We just started earlier and will end earlier as well.

Most of Europe is facing restrictions atm.

We did have the longest easing of restrictions but the main thing was the pubs and sporting events which were large gatherings.

Again, why did you think we were "lock in our homes" all summer when we weren't?