Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,132 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

SusieBlue wrote: »
    There is an outbreak in a nursing home in the bishopstown area, there have unfortunately been a few deaths there over the last week or so from the virus.

I feel for anyone with relatives and friends in care homes during this pandemic :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,696 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

44 today 429 in total and 4 deaths!

Really, I don't think anyone takes offence - rather it's a tiresome, hackneyed, unfunny, unclever gag.
    fin12 wrote: »
    I think its pretty funny.
    mean gene wrote: »
    meehole was trending a few weeks ago that was funny then -at this stage boring
    Cape Clear wrote: »
    I find Me haul more accurately describes his political career.

Meehole has been used all year for him, Mr. Burns comes across unlikeable but sure all politicians do, lie and promise so much, sometimes we all need some little laugh no matter how silly or childish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,673 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

COVID-19 14-day incidence rates per 100,000 population by Local Electoral Area (LEA), Cork 02/11/2020 to 16/11/2020

Bandon-Kinsale - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 11 (-26), LEA rate per 100k pop: 29.5 (-69.8)

Bantry-West Cork - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 5 (-19), LEA rate per 100k pop: 22.3 (-84.7)

Carrigaline - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 60 (-6), LEA rate per 100k pop: 170.7 (-17.1)

Cobh - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 18 (-30), LEA rate per 100k pop: 52.8 (-87.9)

Cork City North East - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 41 (-36), LEA rate per 100k pop: 97.2 (-85.4)

Cork City North West - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 40 (-60), LEA rate per 100k pop: 99.5 (-149.3)

Cork City South Central - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 42 (-46), LEA rate per 100k pop: 108.6 (-19)

Cork City South East - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 35 (-43), LEA rate per 100k pop: 81.8 (-100.5)

Cork City South West - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 65 (-43), LEA rate per 100k pop: 138.2 (-91.3)

Fermoy - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 18 (-11), LEA rate per 100k pop: 49.4 (-30.3)

Kanturk - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 24 (-21), LEA rate per 100k pop: 96.3 (-84.2)

Macroom - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 26 (-24), LEA rate per 100k pop: 70.6 (-65.1)

Mallow - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 29 (-11), LEA rate per 100k pop: 99.5 (-37.7)

Midleton - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 30 (+2), LEA rate per 100k pop: 66 (+4.4)

Skibbereen-West Cork - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 17 (-31), LEA rate per 100k pop: 56.1 (-102.4)

NOTE:
    Fairly significant decreases across the county for the third week running, except for the Midleton LEA which saw a 2 case increase compared to the previous 2 weeks, which is interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭corks finest

COVID-19 14-day incidence rates per 100,000 population by Local Electoral Area (LEA), Cork 02/11/2020 to 16/11/2020

Bandon-Kinsale - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 11 (-26), LEA rate per 100k pop: 29.5 (-69.8)

Bantry-West Cork - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 5 (-19), LEA rate per 100k pop: 22.3 (-84.7)

Carrigaline - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 60 (-6), LEA rate per 100k pop: 170.7 (-17.1)

Cobh - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 18 (-30), LEA rate per 100k pop: 52.8 (-87.9)

Cork City North East - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 41 (-36), LEA rate per 100k pop: 97.2 (-85.4)

Cork City North West - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 40 (-60), LEA rate per 100k pop: 99.5 (-149.3)

Cork City South Central - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 42 (-46), LEA rate per 100k pop: 108.6 (-19)

Cork City South East - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 35 (-43), LEA rate per 100k pop: 81.8 (-100.5)

Cork City South West - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 65 (-43), LEA rate per 100k pop: 138.2 (-91.3)

Fermoy - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 18 (-11), LEA rate per 100k pop: 49.4 (-30.3)

Kanturk - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 24 (-21), LEA rate per 100k pop: 96.3 (-84.2)

Macroom - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 26 (-24), LEA rate per 100k pop: 70.6 (-65.1)

Mallow - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 29 (-11), LEA rate per 100k pop: 99.5 (-37.7)

Midleton - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 30 (+2), LEA rate per 100k pop: 66 (+4.4)

Skibbereen-West Cork - Confirmed Cases in LEA: 17 (-31), LEA rate per 100k pop: 56.1 (-102.4)

NOTE:
    Fairly significant decreases across the county for the third week running, except for the Midleton LEA which saw a 2 case increase compared to the previous 2 weeks, which is interesting.

Doing great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,452 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

fin12 wrote: »
    I think its pretty funny.

I guess the same kind of people who find "sheeple" and "the gubbernment" original and laugh out loud hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭Be right back

28 cases in Cork today.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,216 ✭✭✭saabsaab

28 cases in Cork today.

Any figures on where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,275 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

saabsaab wrote: »
    Any figures on where?

You only get a breakdown every 14 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭Be right back

Any figures on where?

I have no idea, sorry. It's good to see low numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

28 cases in Cork today.

We're now bottom 5 in cases per 100,000 which is great to see

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

I could be wrong, but it looks like if you close all social outlets for people, they will create their own. Maybe humans are sociable animals.

FrStone wrote: »
    I could be wrong, but it looks like if you close all social outlets for people, they will create their own. Maybe humans are sociable animals.

I think only RTE workers can social together without consequences :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

FrStone wrote: »

Shock horror!

The age profile of what i seen online was ranging from early 20s to late 30s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I guess the same kind of people who find "sheeple" and "the gubbernment" original and laugh out loud hilarious.

You guess wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,231 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Grand parade and around electric was heaving at about 9 until the guards broke it up and moved people on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

rob316 wrote: »
    Grand parade and around electric was heaving at about 9 until the guards broke it up and moved people on.

It’s actually a very mild night and not cold at all. Ideal for street drinking.

Electric was closed. No blaming the pubs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭ofcork

Yeah he told neil he would close this week was packed when i passed about 8 alot of people around at that time actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

46 today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Town was buzzing today, there were people everywhere. I reckon loads came in to see the lights and for their kids to post letters to Santa by the GPO.
    I saw groups and families of all ages just hanging around, it was the closest thing to a normal Saturday I’ve seen since we went back to level 5.

Also lots of lights on in shops with staff getting things ready in anticipation of reopening, was really good to see and I hope it’s a positive sign that level 5 might be lifted next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

I know gangs of people in their 30s all heading for take away drinks tonight... all with the same way of thinking that they are sick too death of having healthy people locked up in home. I know a lot won’t agree but I say fair play too them, least if the bars were open things could be on supervised basis

Micheal Martin said during the week that this Christmas the onus will be put on people to look after themselves and I tend to agree. If you're confident that you're not affecting others with your actions then I think people should do what they wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Town was buzzing today, there were people everywhere. I reckon loads came in to see the lights and for their kids to post letters to Santa by the GPO.
    I saw groups and families of all ages just hanging around, it was the closest thing to a normal Saturday I’ve seen since we went back to level 5.

Also lots of lights on in shops with staff getting things ready in anticipation of reopening, was really good to see and I hope it’s a positive sign that level 5 might be lifted next week.

Seems bizarre that you would think its a positive sign that town was buzzing today and there were people everywhere .

Zardoz wrote: »
    Seems bizarre that you would think its a positive sign that town was buzzing today and there were people everywhere .
    The risk of people walking outside is virtually zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Zardoz wrote: »

Seems bizarre to me that you’ve deliberately completely misinterpreted my post.

I said seeing the lights on in closed shops & staff inside preparing for reopening next week was good to see, and a positive sign that level 5 might be lifted.
    Do you not agree that that’s a positive thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,868 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Seems bizarre to me that you’ve deliberately completely misinterpreted my post.

I said seeing the lights on in closed shops & staff inside preparing for reopening next week was good to see, and a positive sign that level 5 might be lifted.
    Do you not agree that that’s a positive thing?

It’s a very positive thing. I was in town this morning and it was much busier than last week. Definitely noticed the shops getting ready to reopen. Delighted to see that and looking forward to a bit or normality over the coming weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,216 ✭✭✭saabsaab

The trouble with 'people being free to do whatever they think is safe' is that many haven't a clue or care less and that affects us all.

If you look after yourself and avoid risky areas then I don't see how that makes sense.
    We're ridiculously close to the end of this, the government can't hold our hands forever.