Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Rfrip wrote: »
    It’s mad in bishopstown dunnes, hoodies and fleeces practically beside the beef mince!!

The Bishopstown court one has never been following guidelines. Won’t ever shop there again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,226 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

thejuggler wrote: »
    It's the smaller of the two churches - not huge.

I couldn’t have told you there was two churches in Balincollig so there you go I learn something. My local church isn’t huge either but it’s not a shed either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Zardoz

The Bishopstown court one has never been following guidelines. Won’t ever shop there again.

Its ludicrous that big stores can open and flout guidelines and be packed, yet smaller shops that could actually limit the amount of customers have to stay closed for 4 months.
    Zero logic.

Most of my local town seem to go to the local park for their daily walk with the result that its completely congested with people.
    I'm lucky that I can walk across the fields as I'm a mile outside the town.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Speaking of shopping restrictions, Aldi and Lidl are still selling the middle aisle stuff. Is that still allowed? I know with the restrictions last October, they stopped selling those things. But surely selling the middle aisle stuff is just encouraging more people out on the days they sell them? Which makes no sense.

None of that stuff is meant to be available iirc.

Speaking of shopping restrictions, Aldi and Lidl are still selling the middle aisle stuff. Is that still allowed? I know with the restrictions last October, they stopped selling those things. But surely selling the middle aisle stuff is just encouraging more people out on the days they sell them? Which makes no sense.

I've only been in a supermarket once this year but Aldi and Lidl should definitely be banned from selling those specials.
    None of the stuff they have on offer this week is essential.
    It encourages people to come in and browse around, coming in for one or 2 items, pawing items and rummaging around.
    No cop on at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Zardoz wrote: »
    Its ludicrous that big stores can open and flout guidelines and be packed, yet smaller shops that could actually limit the amount of customers have to stay closed for 4 months.
    Zero logic.

Most of my local town seem to go to the local park for their daily walk with the result that its completely congested with people.
    I'm lucky that I can walk across the fields as I'm a mile outside the town.

Sorry, going to parks etc is very low risk with cases where it is proven to be caught outside, higher risk would be jogging behind someone for 15 minutes, talking face to face for 15 minutes, basically you are not going to catch it off a stranger you pass outside, but it is possible if you are giving a giving a longer time in the company of a specific person.
    copypastas from other sites are not recommended as they may be copyrighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,673 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

What's ludicrous is how outdoor activity is virtually outlawed. There is zero risk outdoors, it has been proven. All you need to do is look at the HPSC data to see there is zero clusters linked to 'outdoors'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Pen Rua

I saw what appeared to be a priest at the top of the church singing/incanting, amplified and 20 or 30 people in the pews, spread out. I just stuck my head in the door, briefly.
    I went back to the vicinity a while later to see people leaving in a steady stream, some with masks, some without.
    I have no doubt that this was an organised, scheduled event.
    I did call the local Garda station.
    I didn't see any sign of them intervening but I wasn't observing all the time after I called them.

It appeared to take place between 6 and 6.30

Sounds like the end of Adoration and / or Vespers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,013 ✭✭✭✭Stark

What's ludicrous is how outdoor activity is virtually outlawed. There is zero risk outdoors, it has been proven. All you need to do is look at the HPSC data to see there is zero clusters linked to 'outdoors'.

Just saw this on the Guardian funnily enough https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/feb/19/how-the-beach-super-spreader-myth-can-inform-uks-future-covid-response

Stark wrote: »
    It's insanity. Uproar over the beach scenes in the UK last summer and as that article shows, there was zero issues.

As I said earlier there is very little logic to how the lockdown is implemented.
    I walked across my local golf course today, the place has been closed for the last 2 months.
    Ridiculous that golf is prohibited and will be until at least May.

As I said earlier there is very little logic to how the lockdown is implemented.
    I walked across my local golf course today, the place has been closed for the last 2 months.
    Golf is one of the restrictions that particularly boils my blood and I'm not even a golfer :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I don't understand not allowing golf. Are they afraid people might touch each other's balls or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,013 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Wonder is it a kneejerk reaction to Golfgate. Previous to that, it was allowed during "max lockdown" as long as it was within your exercise radius.

Lots of ordinary folk such as my parents get enjoyment from it. They're retired and there's **** all else for them to do.

I don't understand not allowing golf. Are they afraid people might touch each other's balls or what?
    i shouldnt have laughed but i did ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Maybe worried about socialising after

There is no socialising afterwards, the clubhouse is closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

Its that and the Golfgate thing. If thats allowed the clamouring for GAA matches will take off and those county finals were big trouble last autumn

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Cork2021

There is no socialising afterwards, the clubhouse is closed.

It’s the checking of each other’s balls afterwards that’s the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Cork2021 wrote: »
    It’s the checking of each other’s balls afterwards that’s the problem

Fair play.
    I'm always in favour of recycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I su

I suppose the international soccer players and rugby ones don’t socialize at all.

Ud be sick of The Whole thing.

I think they are all tested quite frequently TBH.
    https://www.premierleague.com/news/1814863
    https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/more-covid-issues-for-ireland-as-another-player-tests-positive-ahead-of-international-window-39731588.html
    That said I reckon golf should be allowed. My dad used go from car to tee box prior to the recent lockdown, minimal risk.

Augeo wrote: »
    I think they are all tested quite frequently TBH.
    https://www.premierleague.com/news/1814863
    https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/more-covid-issues-for-ireland-as-another-player-tests-positive-ahead-of-international-window-39731588.html
    That said I reckon golf should be allowed. My dad used go from car to tee box prior to the recent lockdown, minimal risk.

I know of 4 old fellas who went for a round of golf and lunch in the clubhouse on 22nd Dec. All 4 got covid. One of them died last week. Very sad.
    But yes, keeping clubhouses closed, should mitigate the risks! Golf without any associated gatherings should be safe, imo.

That's indeed very sad, where my Dad played the clubhouse iirc wasn't open at all, if it was he didn't go in anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

is there going to be a registration site for those under the 80 year group?

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    is there going to be a registration site for those under the 80 year group?

For under 70s yes. Launching early March.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

It's insanity. Uproar over the beach scenes in the UK last summer and as that article shows, there was zero issues.

Wouldn't necessarily believe that as the contact tracing in the UK is abysmal - and they are only looking at where you were 48 hours prior to testing positive whereas I think other areas look at longer - the NHS tracking app didn't roll out until September where it would automatically ping (or you would think it would, have spoken to too many people where it hasn't or has wrongly pinged).

So I'd take the claim of zero issues with a bit of a pinch of salt. BMJ had published articles around that time highlighting issues of the ad hoc nature of tracking, testing and contact testing https://www.bmj.com/company/newsroom/concern-over-uk-governments-ad-hoc-system-for-covid-19-tracking-testing-and-contact-tracing/

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Daniel2021

Anyone hearing of people with underlying health conditions getting the vaccine?

A friend of mine said a relative in their 50s who has a serious health condition got their vaccine and were called by both their gp and hospital to get it. I dont know how frequently they would attend hospital.

My own Grandfather who is in the 85+ category isnt getting his til next week and I have relatives with CF one of whom had a double lung transplant who still have no idea when they will get. While its great to see people getting the vaccine it seems a bit unfair that the order isnt being applied equally. I would fully be for getting those with serious conditions get it before people who have a clean bill of health but it should be across the board and not based on who your GP is.

Daniel2021 wrote: »
    Anyone hearing of people with underlying health conditions getting the vaccine?

A friend of mine said a relative in their 50s who has a serious health condition got their vaccine and were called by both their gp and hospital to get it. I dont know how frequently they would attend hospital.

My own Grandfather who is in the 85+ category isnt getting his til next week and I have relatives with CF one of whom had a double lung transplant who still have no idea when they will get. While its great to see people getting the vaccine it seems a bit unfair that the order isnt being applied equally. I would fully be for getting those with serious conditions get it before people who have a clean bill of health but it should be across the board and not based on who your GP is.

They can't vaccinate everyone in a group simultaneously. There is always going to be some people done before others.
    The listed groups are being done in order.