Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,673 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

rob316 wrote: »
    It's like magaluf down the grand parade tonight, is the best way I could describe. Not a guard in sight
    Better people outside than inside, gards have way better things to be doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,214 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Better people outside than inside, gards have way better things to be doing

Hey of course I'm all for it but it needs to be controlled a bit, alot of drunk kids there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

Daniel2021 wrote: »
    I drove passed Goldberg's Friday evening around 6 and the place was mobbed but complete mix of ages not just teens.

It’s total snobbery to claim its “drunk kids” no it’s not... theirs grandparents arranging to go for a walk and having pints. This “were so close to the end” line is horse shîte. We were asked to stay home for 2 weeks in March of last year. We have people applauding the government for giving us back our life’s and the hse for doing their job. It’s actually insane. The buy in is crumbling across all sections of society and the gig is up

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭Douglas Eegit

It’s total snobbery to claim its “drunk kids” no it’s not... theirs grandparents arranging to go for a walk and having pints. This “were so close to the end” line is horse shîte. We were asked to stay home for 2 weeks in March of last year. We have people applauding the government for giving us back our life’s and the hse for doing their job. It’s actually insane. The buy in is crumbling across all sections of society and the gig is up

The gig is up.... Go back to sleep and take the tinfoil hat off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭cantalach

You've identified another issue there though, why in Cork and basically all irish cities/towns do we not make our public spaces people friendly.

Because people object to pretty much everything. The plan to raise the height of Kennedy Quay, put down a proper road surface, cycle lanes, footpaths, trees, bins, etc was objected to by the Save Cork City group. You can engage with those folks over on the flood defences thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

cantalach wrote: »
    Because people object to pretty much everything. The plan to raise the height of Kennedy Quay, put down a proper road surface, cycle lanes, footpaths, trees, bins, etc was objected to by the Save Cork City group. You can engage with those folks over on the flood defences thread.
    You are grossly misrepresenting what that group is about.

The OPW have dredged the river in so many places now and killed untold quantities of wildlife and poured vast amounts of concrete on what remained, in the name of "tidal protection", which will be rendered completely obsolete in less than a decade due to climate change rising the tides.

Why can't they pave the marina without absolutely destroying the river? Other cities in Ireland have managed to do it really well.

Anyway, this thread is about covid. A gard stopped my younger sister who was exactly 501m from Goldbergs on Friday. He told them to bring the "drinks" back to their garden. They said they lived in an apartment and didn't have a garden. He said get them in off the street or he would charge them with a public order offence. They left promptly and walked around for a bit supping, until another gard a in town told them get the drinks in off the street again. Then herself and her friends just rang the various housemates from their gafs, who said to come home because there was a party starting due to two other groups of them being moved on.

My sister wasn't mad cracked on partying right now (given the levels of transmission in 25 year olds right now) and she shares with 5 other housemates who were all planning on having different groups coming in, so she came and stayed with us.

This is the reality for a lot of young people. Hounded for having a drink that they're encouraged to legally buy and eff off with, hounded indoors by the shades. Living with big groups of people who are often in jobs like supermarket work or pubs. The approach here is absolutely begging for spread of to flourish in those age groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭Treehelpplease

i don't get that argument, who is forcing people to buy take away pints or drink in public/private with friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,081 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

i don't get that argument, who is forcing people to buy take away pints or drink in public/private with friends?

Young people are going to gather, socialise and drink. They are hard wired to do so, as far as I see.
    If they are driven from outdoor areas they will go indoors.

I have no doubt that if I was in my 20s,I'd be meeting friends outdoors and drinking. No doubt.

They had never done it and wanted to see what the craic was, because there are people around Electric, Coal Quay, Lough, Goldbergs the whole time... So they figured it must be allowed to some extent if it's happening.

Turns out it's very much not allowed.

Also Gardaí shooing them inside just so they're not having a drink outside is in compete opposition to the restrictions. Would he have fined them for breaking the household visits rule if they'd done it? There's no permission to visit gardens currently either.

They had never done it and wanted to see what the craic was, because there are people around Electric, Coal Quay, Lough, Goldbergs the whole time... So they figured it must be allowed to some extent if it's happening.

Turns out it's very much not allowed.
    So don't do it? And if you do, expect hassle
    Also Gardaí shooing them inside just so they're not having a drink outside is in compete opposition to the restrictions. Would he have fined them for breaking the household visits rule if they'd done it? There's no permission to visit gardens currently either
    I don't get this argument either, it kind of absolves people from personal responsibility when it comes to following restrictions. They're temporary and ending in a few weeks. Yes, they've been here for a long time, but in the grand sceme of things it's no time. Either wait like the rest of the population or expect to have trouble for it

I don't mean to belittle people finding the restrictions difficult. However i don't like the idea of people almost playing victim to it. 'I just had to drink in public and urinate on buildings and leave my rubbish thrown on the ground, how could I survive otherwise'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,081 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I don't get this argument either, it kind of absolves people from personal responsibility when it comes to following restrictions. They're temporary and ending in a few weeks. Yes, they've been here for a long time, but in the grand sceme of things it's no time. Either wait like the rest of the population or expect to have trouble for it

I don't mean to belittle people finding the restrictions difficult. However i don't like the idea of people almost playing victim to it. 'I just had to drink in public and urinate on buildings and leave my rubbish thrown on the ground, how could I survive otherwise'

The fact is that people are congregating in their thousands, all over the county. You may well complain that they shouldn't but that denies the reality that they are.

Perhaps we would be better off just accepting that outdoor socialising is the lesser of two evils and try to mitigate the negative aspects of it.

Now, please don't accuse me of condoning public drunkenness, littering and anti social behaviour. I am not.

The fact is that people are congregating in their thousands, all over the county. You may well complain that they shouldn't but that denies the reality that they are.

Perhaps we would be better off just accepting that outdoor socialising is the lesser of two evils and try to mitigate the negative aspects of it.

Now, please don't accuse me of condoning public drunkenness, littering and anti social behaviour. I am not.
    Just in case this is directed at me, to clarify, i'm not. In regards the first point, I agree, it would be delusional to deny it is happening. I just don't like how people are surprised when they get in legal trouble or scolded for doing so then. This is a whole other discussion that is not relevant for this thread but i think this pandemic also points out a lot of the country's obsession with alcohol

Yes, as I said she has now decided not to do it.
    It's quite contradictory that Goldbergs can serve it but people aren't allowed drink it.
    None of that happened to my sister, you completely fabricated it.

Yes, as I said she has now decided not to do it.
    Good

It's quite contradictory that Goldbergs can serve it but people aren't allowed drink it.
    I completely agree with you

None of that happened to my sister, you completely fabricated it.
    I didn't, I mean in a general point and used what you said as a starting point for the discussion. I meant no ill intent to your sister, sorry if it came across that way

No hassle.

I suppose you're right in a way, in that the crux of my argument presumes the people along the marina are being responsible with their rubbish, going home to the bathroom and not being drunk or disorderly.

The shades are sending them on their way due to these conditions not being met is, however, counterintuitive to getting the best adherence to restrictions. But I guess that's still personal responsibility.

Jaysis I just can't wait until this stupid time in our history is done.

No hassle.

I suppose you're right in a way, in that the crux of my argument presumes the people along the marina are being responsible with their rubbish, going home to the bathroom and not being drunk or disorderly.

The shades are sending them on their way due to these conditions not being met is, however, counterintuitive to getting the best adherence to restrictions. But I guess that's still personal responsibility.

Jaysis I just can't wait until this stupid time in our history is done.
    I agree, I will never understand the idea that because there are no bins available someone has to litter. Pockets exist, if you know there is no bin, bring a bag for rubbish, leave it on the ground next to you and carry it home with you. Of course public bins are absolutely neccessary and the council is to blame for the lack of them, however I think people using that as an excuse to justify their littering need to grow up. It's a mix of laziness and immaturity to me. Public urination on the other hand.. It is illegal for a reason. I don't see how people think it's suddenly okay or justifiable just because you have alcohol in you. There have been many times I have been in town completely sober and have been absolutely bursting with no toilet near. I either walk to the nearest one I can think of or hold it. I don't just pee anywhere and everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭cantalach

You are grossly misrepresenting what that group is about.

I didn't make any attempt to characterise what SCC is about. I just stated a fact which is that they objected to the proposed works on Kennedy Quay. I even mentioned the flood defences thread, i.e. a fairly unambiguous reference to the group's main beef. So I'm not seeing how I've misrepresented anything. I hope they are successful in achieving a more aesthetic outcome elsewhere in the city, but on Kennedy Quay I think they have misstepped.

As you rightly point out though, this is way off topic so over and out before I get a mod slap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭TheChizler

cantalach wrote: »
    I didn't make any attempt to characterise what SCC is about. I just stated a fact which is that they objected to the proposed works on Kennedy Quay. I even mentioned the flood defences thread, i.e. a fairly unambiguous reference to the group's main beef. So I'm not seeing how I've misrepresented anything. I hope they are successful in achieving a more aesthetic outcome elsewhere in the city, but on Kennedy Quay I think they have misstepped.

As you rightly point out though, this is way off topic so over and out before I get a mod slap.

Off topic but they objected to the inclusion of flood defence measures as part of the Kennedy Quay works which the council included illegally as it turned out. If the council had just planned for the public realm works like they were supposed to there would have been no issue and we might even be enjoying them by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭MrDerp

PreCocious wrote: »
    I walked along the Quay this morning on the way into town and other than some broken glass it was very clean and there were a lot of bins around. Good to hear that Goldberg's are paying for this.

I walked along the Quay yesterday pushing a buggy about 5pm, and I saw mostly a good humoured bunch average age about 30.

I saw plenty of wheelie bins too.

Now Kennedy Park at 9pm walking my dogs was a disgrace. Strewn with cans and rubbish. Seems to me the bag of cans in the park crowd, not the takeaway pints on the Quay crowd leaving rubbish around.

453 cases, 0 deaths.

16 cases in Cork yesterday

May 4th: 59 y/os
    May 5th: 58 y/os
    May 6th: 57 y/os
    May 7th: 56 y/os
    May 8th: 55 y/os
    May 9th: 54 y/os
    May 10th: 53 y/os
    May 11th: 52 y/os
    May 12th: 51 y/os
    May 13th: 50 y/os

Registration opening to these age brackets

24 total cases identified at Pobalscoil na Tríonóide in Youghal
    https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/arid-40280972.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,270 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

24 total cases identified at Pobalscoil na Tríonóide in Youghal
    https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/arid-40280972.html

12 caught it at the party, 12 more caught it from them, siblings at home or from them in school, just guessing?

I wouldn't be surprised if they all got it from the party if the stories are true

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭deeperlearning

I presume the 24 cases are just those in students themselves. Are there more cases in family members and other close contacts in the community there.

24 cases in Youghal on its own would not account for the significant increase in cases in Cork last week.

16 cases in Cork today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,065 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I wouldn't be surprised if they all got it from the party if the stories are true

I wonder will the party organiser and/or parents face punishment as in fines, I think all should including attendees

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Be better if the 18 year old got the fine

Might be a lesson to others thinking of doing similar in the future

More cases from that school in Youghal according to Cork Beo. Up to 30 odd now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,558 ✭✭✭corkie

7 deaths and 418 cases confirmed:

167 in Dublin, 39 in Cork, 32 in Donegal, 29 in Kildare, 22 in Meath and the remaining 129 cases are spread across 20 other counties

https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/a6669-statement-from-the-national-public-health-emergency-team-wednesday-5-may/