Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working From Home Megathread

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 32,667 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

We got a general email (public sector) saying things are under review and there would be an announcement in the coming weeks. There was talk of a day a week in the office for everyone, so I would say it will head that way probably in a few weeks. One issue they have is one of the offices has been closed (and not likely to reopen)...so not exactly sure they will be able to accommodate everyone, so a few days a week might be max.

I work in IT so zero need to be in an office 99 percent of the time. Back to wasting 2+ hours a day going to and from the office...joy!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭jrosen

Whats the market like in your line of work.

I have seen quite a few jobs advertised that list work from home benefits. If companies are sensible they will use their flexibility to attract workers.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,900 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

That case could have all sorts of consequences, some different to what you would expect.

The firm clearly messed up in not considering childcare needs during the extraordinary circumstances of Covid.

But in normal times, I cannot imagine any employer allowing a credit controller to work outside normal office hours to facilitate childcare: the nature of the job involves contacting your debtors while they are open. Similarly employers are likely to have very strong policies that a person who is working cannot be in charge of children at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,497 ✭✭✭✭siblers

• Advertisement