Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Pandemic Information- Local and Worldwide

• Registered Users Posts: 29,516 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dunedin wrote: »
    Plenty of administration staff in patient-facing areas. It’s not just doctors and nurses that work in hospitals.

Yes I agree but those who are on the frontline or patient facing roles should be getting the vaccine first. But that's not happening in all hospitals. Even some retired hospital clerical workers have gotten it before icu staff which is wrong imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

whelan2 wrote: »
    Yes I agree but those who are on the frontline or patient facing roles should be getting the vaccine first. But that's not happening in all hospitals. Even some retired hospital clerical workers have gotten it before icu staff which is wrong imo.

thats criminal

_Brian wrote: »
    thats criminal

That's the point I was trying to get across yesterday. Not happening in all hospitals but happening all the same

"Some" clerical staff will be face to face with patients

But retired staff have no business being vaccinated until its their turn in public.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭endainoz

Ireland now has the highest infection rate in the world per million. It's quite sad it's gotten to this point.

endainoz wrote: »
    Ireland now has the highest infection rate in the world per million. It's quite sad it's gotten to this point.

meaningful christmass me arse :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

ive an aunt whos recently retired as a nurse. She was approached to administer the vaccine but was told she may not be eligible to have the vaccine herself first. Feck that for a game of soldiers

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    ive an aunt whos recently retired as a nurse. She was approached to administer the vaccine but was told she may not be eligible to have the vaccine herself first. Feck that for a game of soldiers

Some joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,415 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Bons in Cork vaccinated over 1,000 on Sat with 22 vaccinators.

_Brian wrote: »
    meaningful christmass me arse :mad:

I'm full of unpopular opinions, here's another!

There was a piece in the Toimes that read something like "If only we knew the price we'd have to pay". Anyone with a brain knew what would happen with a contagious virus.

I believe there's a group of people in this country that believe themselves *because of their class* they're immune to almost anything. Therefore demand Christmas because we're too good to be getting that Covid thingy.

They may repent indignantly at all of our leisure.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭endainoz

There was a piece in the Toimes that read something like "If only we knew the price we'd have to pay". Anyone with a brain knew what would happen with a contagious virus.

I believe there's a group of people in this country that believe themselves *because of their class* they're immune to almost anything. Therefore demand Christmas because we're too good to be getting that Covid thingy.

I doubt that's an unpopular opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

endainoz wrote: »
    I doubt that's an unpopular opinion.

Only a fool would think the irish could be trusted to behave.
    You'd feel very silly if you were very bad in hospital knowing that you ignored the guidelines and brought it on yourself especially if you suffer life changing effects after it. Plenty of time for regrets then.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Not disagreeing that patient facing staff should be priority but my point is that some clerical staff are patient facing e.g. ED, Clinics, and also catering , porters, domestic are also patient facing.

It’s a new challenge to administer this vaccine. Hospitals are not staffed with either a system or dedicated staff so it’s hard ask to get it 100% right from the off.

As I said in a previous post, the policy is strictly front line patient facing but each Vaccination clinic throws up a lot of DNA’s so gaps have to be filled last minute.

They’re doing their best amidst very challenging circumstances so a bit of slack is not unreasonable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Did i see a headline today or was i imagining it about 54,000 entering the state during christmas?
    Cant see how the government could let that happen snd then turn around and say its the lads out having a few drinks in tbe run up to Christmas are at fault. Fair enough houselartys were a sprsader and shopping centres were mobbed as well as the BLM craic up in Dublin too.
    The Weatern Australian approach really should have been taken here at christmas.
    After seeing that headlins today and to see them still come out and blame the hospitality sector for the rise in cases just really reinforced the theory a few of us have about how the government wants to really control our drinking and phase it out sltogether.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭dh1985

Not disagreeing that patient facing staff should be priority but my point is that some clerical staff are patient facing e.g. ED, Clinics, and also catering , porters, domestic are also patient facing.

It’s a new challenge to administer this vaccine. Hospitals are not staffed with either a system or dedicated staff so it’s hard ask to get it 100% right from the off.

As I said in a previous post, the policy is strictly front line patient facing but each Vaccination clinic throws up a lot of DNA’s so gaps have to be filled last minute.

They’re doing their best amidst very challenging circumstances so a bit of slack is not unreasonable.

Fair play. I am sure the ordinary staff nurses and doctors are doing their utmost no more than at every other time with patient care before and during this pandemic.
    It is no doubt strange and challenging times but we are also near two weeks into a vaccination program and there seems to be from all the talk here front line staff still not vaccinated. HSE management knew the vaccination was coming,it has been what we have all been relying on surely we should have a better system with the dedicated vaccination staff you mentioned above in place ready and waiting to go.
    I seen a target figure of 135000 vaccinated by the end of February. Less than 4% of the population I heard on the radio this evening that Israel has 25% of the population done already. Now I don't know the specifics of what's involved but the numbers seem in stark contrast to me looking from the outside in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Kevhog1988 wrote: »

Sorry but not true. All vaccinators are offered the vaccine. I have no way of knowing if your aunt was told this or not but if so it was by an uninformed person.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Did i see a headline today or was i imagining it about 54,000 entering the state during christmas?
    Cant see how the government could let that happen snd then turn around and say its the lads out having a few drinks in tbe run up to Christmas are at fault. Fair enough houselartys were a sprsader and shopping centres were mobbed as well as the BLM craic up in Dublin too.
    The Weatern Australian approach really should have been taken here at christmas.
    After seeing that headlins today and to see them still come out and blame the hospitality sector for the rise in cases just really reinforced the theory a few of us have about how the government wants to really control our drinking and phase it out sltogether.
    The positivity rate of passengers is something like 2%. So about 1,000 imported cases, a good portion of whom would have actually followed advice and/or got a test. They might have added a little to total cases but the majority were already here.

The hospitality sector is likely a source of some spread but nowhere near as bad as it's made out to be.
    Nphet showed with the last lockdown that they overestimate the effect that the hospitality sector has on spread and underestimated the effects of schools/winter

It wasnt the pubs that gave us the current case load but a mix of winter, people being so fed up from too severe a lockdown in the run up to December that they behaved like humans and sought out some social contact and people hitting beer/sh1t food too hard over Christmas making them more likely to get infected by anything.
    It wasn't helped that the test and trace system lags initial spread and takes time to detect increasing rate of spread before going into overdrive when the damage has already been done.

Are today's cases including a backlog or has that been cleared?

Last day of them backlog today as far as I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Sorry but not true. All vaccinators are offered the vaccine. I have no way of knowing if your aunt was told this or not but if so it was by an uninformed person.

Thats what she was told anyway. But wouldn't be surprised if the info she was given was incorrect. When my own parents were a close contact they rang the hse 3 times with the same question and had 3 different answers

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

The positivity rate of passengers is something like 2%. So about 1,000 imported cases, a good portion of whom would have actually followed advice and/or got a test. They might have added a little to total cases but the majority were already here.

The hospitality sector is likely a source of some spread but nowhere near as bad as it's made out to be.
    Nphet showed with the last lockdown that they overestimate the effect that the hospitality sector has on spread and underestimated the effects of schools/winter

It wasnt the pubs that gave us the current case load but a mix of winter, people being so fed up from too severe a lockdown in the run up to December that they behaved like humans and sought out some social contact and people hitting beer/sh1t food too hard over Christmas making them more likely to get infected by anything.
    It wasn't helped that the test and trace system lags initial spread and takes time to detect increasing rate of spread before going into overdrive when the damage has already been done.

Shur some people were saying that there should be no lockdown at all, that covid is no worse than the flu......

I can't help it, I've tried retyping it but it's still a rant about weak leadership. Apologies for the tangent.

We have a leadership vacuum. We had a poor type of a lockdown before Christmas, either do a job properly or don't bother. During that lockdown there was a % of the populations screaming about Christmas. Our weak Govt gambled it'd be a politically beneficial move to allow a relatively open Christmas. When you add in events like Golf-gate and a hundred other things, another % of the population said fcuk this, we're going to do as we please because this isn't working anyway. One example was a large post funeral pub gathering in the next town over from me, which lead to a...... big covid outbreak.

That is lack of clear effective leadership from day one, **** flows downhill. I'm not saying they're easy decisions to make, but our current generation of politicians seem particularly spineless. They recoil at the thought a decision may make them, temporarily, unpopular. (They're also in fear on the Shinners). That inertia is inherently weak. It's also contagious. The lockdowns were only ever a tool to prevent overwhelm of a poor health service, it's what they're still meant to do.

Travel is another symptom of it, we can't be seen to be closed for business! So your mother, my child, someone elses aunt or grandfather must be collateral damage. No. There are, as you alluded to, examples of states around the world controlling this virus, how, leadership, hard decisions, treating this as what it is a war against a virus. But no, a form and follow up phone call is the Irish solution to a Global problem and without a hint of surprise it proved an abject failure. If we are to be open then fine, escort travelers to mandatory monitored quarantine with compulsory testing. There have been many human studies which showed in the absence of monitoring, people do as they please, not as they should. In Ireland we prefer spin, the problem is... 'Rona doesn't read the Indo. So here we be, with the highest infection rate per million of population on the planet. That's the sound of one hand clapping FF, FG, GP.

My newest hobby horse is how have we arrived at a situation where our public representation is so desperately weak. My feeling is that a population get's the government it most deserves. We the people have effectively been divided and conquered. We are fighting with each other when we should be pressing for ability, accountability, honour, decency, and other traits in OUR public representatives.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I can't help it, I've tried retyping it but it's still a rant about weak leadership. Apologies for the tangent.

We have a leadership vacuum. We had a poor type of a lockdown before Christmas, either do a job properly or don't bother. During that lockdown there was a % of the populations screaming about Christmas. Our weak Govt gambled it'd be a politically beneficial move to allow a relatively open Christmas. When you add in events like Golf-gate and a hundred other things, another % of the population said fcuk this, we're going to do as we please because this isn't working anyway. One example was a large post funeral pub gathering in the next town over from me, which lead to a...... big covid outbreak.

That is lack of clear effective leadership from day one, **** flows downhill. I'm not saying they're easy decisions to make, but our current generation of politicians seem particularly spineless. They recoil at the thought a decision may make them, temporarily, unpopular. (They're also in fear on the Shinners). That inertia is inherently weak. It's also contagious. The lockdowns were only ever a tool to prevent overwhelm of a poor health service, it's what they're still meant to do.

Travel is another symptom of it, we can't be seen to be closed for business! So your mother, my child, someone elses aunt or grandfather must be collateral damage. No. There are, as you alluded to, examples of states around the world controlling this virus, how, leadership, hard decisions, treating this as what it is a war against a virus. But no, a form and follow up phone call is the Irish solution to a Global problem and without a hint of surprise it proved an abject failure. If we are to be open then fine, escort travelers to mandatory monitored quarantine with compulsory testing. There have been many human studies which showed in the absence of monitoring, people do as they please, not as they should. In Ireland we prefer spin, the problem is... 'Rona doesn't read the Indo. So here we be, with the highest infection rate per million of population on the planet. That's the sound of one hand clapping FF, FG, GP.

My newest hobby horse is how have we arrived at a situation where our public representation is so desperately weak. My feeling is that a population get's the government it most deserves. We the people have effectively been divided and conquered. We are fighting with each other when we should be pressing for ability, accountability, honour, decency, and other traits in OUR public representatives.

When you see nurses, doctors, shopkeepers avoiding the virus in the face of this and more brats not bothering, can you not admit that more personal responsibility would alleviate this. The gardai have been given extra power, but they won't bother. There's probably more than 50% of those patients in hospital that I'd have very little sympathy for.
    I know a family where the father and three children are working in a shop and the mother is a nurse, If they can avoid it, why can't the rest. it'd be over now if everyone was as vigilant. Katie Hannon wouldn't let Norma Foley, on drivetime yesterday, say it as it is and blame the irresponsible. b.......s that spread it , there's no doubt as a nation we deserve everything that's coming at us

No western countries have actually succeeded in getting control of numbers bar nz and aus, both of which had the benefit of summer to halt spread and stop it becoming endemic in their populations. Had they been in the northern hemisphere,they would most likely have been no better off than the rest of us.
    Dont know how their vaccinations are coming along down there but they could easily see more lockdowns as they go into winter.

Asian countries will happily tell a good story but I don't think they can be trusted not to lie and we shouldn't blindly follow any policies that "worked" for them unless there's proof of it working elsewhere

wrangler wrote: »
    When you see nurses, doctors, shopkeepers avoiding the virus in the face of this and more brats not bothering, can you not admit that more personal responsibility would alleviate this. The gardai have been given extra power, but they won't bother. There's probably more than 50% of those patients in hospital that I'd have very little sympathy for.
    I know a family where the father and three children are working in a shop and the mother is a nurse, If they can avoid it, why can't the rest. it'd be over now if everyone was as vigilant. Katie Hannon wouldn't let Norma Foley, on drivetime yesterday, say it as it is and blame the irresponsible. b.......s that spread it , there's no doubt as a nation we deserve everything that's coming at us

Eh hello.

However, desperately weak politicians only multiply this group.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Found this website. Not an official source but interesting to see how numbers are progressing. Its slow going at the moment but it will take some time to ramp up, same as Covid testing did back at the start. part of the issue at the moment is the hospitals are swamped and the medical profession are flat out treating people. Once numbers become more manageable that will free up staff for giving vaccinations, and hopefully supply chain will be stronger then too

https://www.howmanyvaccinated.com/stats/country

What's the story now with the likes of fracture clinics? Used to be loads of people would get the same appointment time and be handled in bunches.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,678 ✭✭✭jaymla627

No western countries have actually succeeded in getting control of numbers bar nz and aus, both of which had the benefit of summer to halt spread and stop it becoming endemic in their populations. Had they been in the northern hemisphere,they would most likely have been no better off than the rest of us.
    Dont know how their vaccinations are coming along down there but they could easily see more lockdowns as they go into winter.

Asian countries will happily tell a good story but I don't think they can be trusted not to lie and we shouldn't blindly follow any policies that "worked" for them unless there's proof of it working elsewhere

The Chinese are back welding door shut as the uk variant has got in, if they can’t keep it out then Ireland with its open border policy never had a chance, Israel is going to very interesting they will more then likely have their entire population vaccinated by early summer, if the vaccine is a silver bullet well and good but if it isn’t countries are just going to have to learn to live with Covid

What's the story now with the likes of fracture clinics? Used to be loads of people would get the same appointment time and be handled in bunches.

Had a phone appointment with the consultant a few months ago. He said that their capacity to see patients in person was 20% of normal and it was a case of wait in the car until you're called for those who actually got the in person appointments.

Don't know what the case is now, but I fractured my hand early last year and that was the procedure, wait in the car, get a call, in and out. Minimal contact with other patients.