Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Pandemic Information- Local and Worldwide

• Registered Users Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭dzer2

Can anyone explain how hand car wash facilities are essential

• Registered Users Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

dzer2 wrote: »

Why would anyone care? They are most definitely not a source of infection

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

Why would anyone care? They are most definitely not a source of infection

Just like most of the other SME's that are closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,516 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Guards closed down local one here. It was great for getting a valet done before doe or nct

• Registered Users Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

AstraZeneca vaccinations suspended in Ireland from this morning

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40243931.html

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

AstraZeneca vaccinations suspended in Ireland from this morning

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40243931.html

One of the advantages of being last to be vaccinated is that the teething problems will be sorted

• Registered Users Posts: 21,411 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Hopefully it's just a pause for review.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭KaneToad

And I'm accused of hyperbole.

Maybe if we had a government in the first place that had the balls to enforce rules that we are being told to comply with then we wouldn't be complaining with the outrage at that list.

We don't have the resources to enforce the rules. We all know this. The only option is to enforce through encouragement. Appealing to rational people who can understand the logic being applied is the best option.

We all know that ordering a meal while having a pint doesn't make Covid go away. But we know that making a meal mandatory will reduce the number of people bothered to have a pint & will reduce the amount of alcohol taken. Alcohol being a risk factor for lowering inhibitions and encouraging mixing.

We all know playing an 11 a side game outside on the football pitch is highly unlikely to result in Covid spread. But the congregating before & after, the sharing of cars etc... is a potential problem.

The govt restrictions will be factoring in the % of people in the country who do not understand the logic of the virus spread nor understand the implications of a collapsed health service.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Jb1989

They are and should be essential if nct and cvrt is due.
    Vehicle testers need a clean veichle to Check everything.

Jb1989 wrote: »
    They are and should be essential if nct and cvrt is due.
    Vehicle testers need a clean veichle to Check everything.

You not able to wash your own car or van. Really a load of boll** seen one yesterday with a load of people out talking while waiting.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

You not able to wash your own car or van. Really a load of boll** seen one yesterday with a load of people out talking while waiting.

That would be the fault of the customers, not the business.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    That would be the fault of the customers, not the business.

Totally agree but it shows the inconsistencies in lock down rules and the effectiveness of one. Just heard that a local businessman died and there was a big crowd at the funeral. The priest from the neighbouring parish went to the funeral caught Covid and then went on to another funeral the same week and gave it to the other family. Now he is hospital

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I can. But I'm sure there's lots of old people ect that can't ly under a yolk to wash underneath. No veichle test is breaking the law, and part of testing is cleaning underneath.

Jb1989 wrote: »
    I can. But I'm sure there's lots of old people ect that can't ly under a yolk to wash underneath. No veichle test is breaking the law, and part of testing is cleaning underneath.

These weren't old or elderly and none of the cars would be foing for a test any time soon. It was a meet, up all had coffee and yapping away.

As for cleaning a car for the test only ever took off the hub caps. Wash the van twice a month in the yard with my own washer. I have seen loads of these businesses open and most doing valet work.

These weren't old or elderly and none of the cars would be foing for a test any time soon. It was a meet, up all had coffee and yapping away.

As for cleaning a car for the test only ever took off the hub caps. Wash the van twice a month in the yard with my own washer. I have seen loads of these businesses open and most doing valet work.

Get over it. There's much better things to be getting worked up over

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

God forbid, people talking to each other now, what do you suggest they do, hide inside for the rest of their lives?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Tough Covid restrictions will last until June despite official all-clear for AstraZeneca vaccine

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/tough-covid-restrictionswill-last-until-june-despite-official-all-clear-for-astrazeneca-vaccine-40214502.html

Reggie. wrote: »

I wish they'd just fook off with the drip feeding of news ofeasing of restrictions etc. There should be one spokesperson on the subject. Also they need to get the finger out on vaccinations

Reggie. wrote: »

No doubt that we'll waste the summer and see some sort of new variant of something start to emerge as we go back into autumn and go straight back into panic mode before ever fully reopening. Unless either the general population finally has had enough or the money tree starts to tighten up its supply and the real sh1t starts to hit the fan...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

No doubt that we'll waste the summer and see some sort of new variant of something start to emerge as we go back into autumn and go straight back into panic mode before ever fully reopening. Unless either the general population finally has had enough or the money tree starts to tighten up its supply and the real sh1t starts to hit the fan...

There won't be any change while there's 500+ cases every day, it's starting to look like it's the schools that is being blamed now

wrangler wrote: »
    There won't be any change while there's 500+ cases every day, it's starting to look like it's the schools that is being blamed now

Cases in 6th year in our secondary school. Daughter is in 5th year went back on Monday.

wrangler wrote: »

With a large amount of the most vulnerable vaccinated we should be able to have everything well under control with 1000+ cases a day.

Schools were not blamed at the briefing yesterday, in fact the opposite. Where the main factor lies is in people going back to the workplace. The other major factor is because the UK variant is much more transmissable, once one person brings it into a house, everyone gets it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭enricoh

I've heard more people saying they've had enough of covid, restrictions etc in the last 2 weeks than I had in the previous 12 months.
    I think the government has lost the dressing room at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

enricoh wrote: »
    I've heard more people saying they've had enough of covid, restrictions etc in the last 2 weeks than I had in the previous 12 months.
    I think the government has lost the dressing room at this stage.

Same as myself in work too, had a few deeper conversations with lads across a wide range in age this week as we were quieter with Patricks Day and everyone is f#cked up with it big time now. Even had an in depth conversation with the physio today about it and hed be fairly wary of the virus moreso than myself but today the two of us were saying the exact same thing especially after reading those articles this morning.
    Couldnt back a friends horse either in Cheltenham this week and it really hit home that ive no small liberties left these days.
    Myself and another ex smoker came to the realisation yesterday one of the few things left you can still do these days thats some way social is smoke a fag with someone else two metres apart. All Covid this and Covid thst yet the sale of Ciggarettes is still allowed, a bit of a double standard really.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 11,265 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Same as myself in work too, had a few deeper conversations with lads across a wide range in age this week as we were quieter with Patricks Day and everyone is f#cked up with it big time now. Even had an in depth conversation with the physio today about it and hed be fairly wary of the virus moreso than myself but today the two of us were saying the exact same thing especially after reading those articles this morning.
    Couldnt back a friends horse either in Cheltenham this week and it really hit home that ive no small liberties left these days.
    Myself and another ex smoker came to the realisation yesterday one of the few things left you can still do these days thats some way social is smoke a fag with someone else two metres apart. All Covid this and Covid thst yet the sale of Ciggarettes is still allowed, a bit of a double standard really.
    There is no restriction on the sale of the other legal drug - alcohol. Ye can buy as much as ye want in any supermarket, local shop or petrol station.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Base price wrote: »
    There is no restriction on the sale of the other legal drug - alcohol. Ye can buy as much as ye want in any supermarket, local shop or petrol station.

Very true too, but there is more of an effort in place to curb our drinking these days all the same.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 11,265 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Very true too, but there is more of an effort in place to curb our drinking these days all the same.
    I disagree, alcohol and tobacco sales have not been impacted by the restrictions. If we open pubs, hotels and restaurants then people will naturally congregate to those places as that is normal socialising but that enables the virus to spread amongst the population and were back to square one.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,444 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

It is now late March. It looks like a major portion of the pop will be vaccinated at least once in 10/12 weeks time. We do risk a fourth wave, in that time, already in some parts of the US. Yes its a long time since Christmas and it would get to you.