Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway COVID-19, local news and discussion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

kippy wrote: »
    The amount of times I head from people over the weekend that they were going "into town" to get a few things/jobs done before the lock down was ricidulous.
    Things that weren't important.
    It's not just people "going on the lash" there were plenty others who did not see the irony.

Personally, I don't think there are enough people doing the basics anymore.

+1 to this. I heard the very same a few times this weekend too - 'better go shopping in case we have another lockdown and stockpile some stuff'.

There's no need for that and there's a level of greed in that. Also ignorance. We at a point where we need to reduce movements out in public/crowds. Needlessly going shopping defeats it.

The English are back stockpiling and fighting over toilet paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Can't figure out about the talk about Galway we are currently in 11th position with 679 cases not that we want to be on any table but we are not the worst in the Country

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Maidhci

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Can't figure out about the talk about Galway we are currently in 11th position with 679 cases not that we want to be on any table but we are not the worst in the Country

I think you need to add another 25 cases at least to that number. Irrespective of where we fall on the analysis table, it is the very significant number of positive cases that have been recorded over the past 30 days and unfortunately, the underlying trend is an upward one - I would suggest that is the reason why there is concern about the situation in Galway. In my opinion, the authorities should act sooner rather than later as it appears to me that advice is simply being disregarded, which is rather frightening in the current climate. Galway county appears to have fared reasonably well prior to mid August but the trend from that date has been and is continuing to be in wrong direction.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,957 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

It can't be based on case numbers to date.

But maybe there's been a big jump in testing numbers last week, so more cases are expected.

Or maybe its just that it's a university town. Classes may be online, but the lads on Shop St last night were very much in person.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Air Corps are back flying samples to Germany for testing

https://www.facebook.com/148942718466693/posts/4121758327851759/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

Pen Rua wrote: »
    Coronavirus: Cork, Wicklow, Galway and Louth may face extra restrictions as 430 new cases confirmed, most since April
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/coronavirus-cork-wicklow-galway-and-louth-may-face-extra-restrictions-as-430-new-cases-confirmed-most-since-april-1.4365976

Essential word is “may.”

Anyone else notice how they often float a story like this on Monday to soften the blow when restrictions come into effect Friday?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,584 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Anyone else notice how they often float a story like this on Monday to soften the blow when restrictions come into effect Friday?

This story has been going round the past 2/3 weeks.
    Trying to get people to cop the fcuk on but not working.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Because approximately 130 of those have been infected in the last 2 weeks alone.

RltfrYG.jpg

Source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Maidhci wrote: »
    I think you need to add another 25 cases at least to that number. Irrespective of where we fall on the analysis table, it is the very significant number of positive cases that have been recorded over the past 30 days and unfortunately, the underlying trend is an upward one - I would suggest that is the reason why there is concern about the situation in Galway. In my opinion, the authorities should act sooner rather than later as it appears to me that advice is simply being disregarded, which is rather frightening in the current climate. Galway county appears to have fared reasonably well prior to mid August but the trend from that date has been and is continuing to be in wrong direction.

This 100%. I'm following the guidelines and I know a lot more who are following the guidelines. The guidelines are going over some heads though and they don't care. There is complacency, ignorance and arrogancy and an attitude of 'it won't ever happen to me'. We also badly need the government to step in and do their part and implement fines for people breaking isolation guidelines. There was piece in one of the papers over the weekend from a GP saying the same. She's finding many people breaking isolation. People are rewriting the rules to suit themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Strikes me as odd they're explicitly making a distinction between city and county with regard to increasing restrictions , while I understand the rationale my issue with is that it strongly infers that it's a big issue within the city but not the county, yet the figures don't seem to bear this out. As of last Thursday when this was first floated figures showed we have 19 cases in the city and 63 in the county.

If the explained a little more clearly I would definitely appreciate it. If it's a case that they're concerned about hospital capacity here so we should be more conservative than other cities that would make sense, or if they said people from the county are contracting the virus in the city at work etc that would sense, but as it stands it's confusing.

These are the figures from Sept 24th. I'm sure things are worse now. Maybe they were anticipating a pattern but on the numbers alone, it's not obvious.

EitAi0XWsAAmHiU?format=jpg&name=large

• Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I wish he'd stop using the word lockdown. It's not a lockdown ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,482 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

I wish he'd stop using the word lockdown. It's not a lockdown ffs.

Yeah, lockdown is Level 5.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,482 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Strikes me as odd they're explicitly making a distinction between city and county with regard to increasing restrictions , while I understand the rationale my issue with is that it strongly infers that it's a big issue within the city but not the county, yet the figures don't seem to bear this out. As of last Thursday when this was first floated figures showed we have 19 cases in the city and 63 in the county.

If the explained a little more clearly I would definitely appreciate it. If it's a case that they're concerned about hospital capacity here so we should be more conservative than other cities that would make sense, or if they said people from the county are contracting the virus in the city at work etc that would sense, but as it stands it's confusing.

These are the figures from Sept 24th. I'm sure things are worse now. Maybe they were anticipating a pattern but on the numbers alone, it's not obvious.

EitAi0XWsAAmHiU?format=jpg&name=large

20 in Loughrea stands out there

6 wrote: »
    Yeah, lockdown is Level 5.

And that's hardly a lockdown

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭Smegging hell

Glynn stating at tonight's press conference there's been a large cluster in Galway associated with a house party. Also stressed that NPHET's warnings about Cork and Galway should not be taken as an inevitable prelude to those counties moving to level three.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Glynn stating at tonight's press conference there's been a large cluster in Galway associated with a house party. Also stressed that NPHET's warnings about Cork and Galway should not be taken as an inevitable prelude to those counties moving to level three.

True but I'd not bet on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,268 ✭✭✭ratracer

Jaysus lads, down by the river is like race week tonight. Serious crowds down there drinking.

I cannot understand why the Gardaí allow it .

I’d say we’ll definitely be at level 3 by the weekend.

Outdoors is safer. I'm not excusing eegits but I'd rather them outside than indoors.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Spanish Arch is a sight to behold right now.

The guts of I'd say about 200 students crowded amongst each other down there now.

I have a video but I'm not sure how to upload it here so a screenshot will have to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,661 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

After seeing Eyre Square yesterday, I'm really not surprised. Unfortunately.

I know it's outside right now and outside is 'safer' in terms of soread but the thing is all those people are going to go pack into small houses afterwards where there won't be mask wearing etc. All do it all again tomorrow and the day after. And in the college concourse etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,957 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Fitz* wrote: »
    And in the college concourse etc.

Nope.

Vast majority of classes are online. Very few are expected to be on campus at all. But lots of them are in town.

So the kids are (supposedly) sitting in their rooms all day reading and watching classes online.

Of course they're bored. The groups in Sparch etc are far less worrying than the house parties.

But from the amount of luggage they had when they got off the buses yesterday, I'd say some are here for the week only. Which means they'll be taking the virus home to mammy and daddy at the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I think their behaviour is stupid and selfish and it most likely will contribute to a rise in numbers in Galway City, but it's almost impossible to stop teenagers and people barely out of their teens congregating like this. It's like trying to hold back the tide.

Please don't think I'm condoning it, just pointing out that it's impossible to expect hundreds, perhaps thousands of young and, less face it, oblivious people to be sticklers for restrictions. The message isn't getting through or people don't want to hear it anymore.

I work with a few people of roughly that age group and I can tell you, amongst the group that I know anyway, they don't follow the news anymore, if they did in the first place, or look at the numbers or any of that - and their ignorance can be sometimes total about risks and more or less anything to do with the virus. They're young and as a result kinda stupid and foolish - we're fighting basic human nature here.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,661 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

There is definitely classes still in person in the college's. Technical labs like Science etc would have to be in person, and that is ok. As far as I know, they are getting students to one full day of them rather than spread out across many days to reduce the footprint. But there still will be students travelling throughout the college grounds.

ratracer wrote: »
    Jaysus lads, down by the river is like race week tonight. Serious crowds down there drinking.

I cannot understand why the Gardaí allow it .

I’d say we’ll definitely be at level 3 by the weekend.

I passed yesterday evening at 8 and there was just more and more of them arriving down.

I generally have no issue with people drinking there, I'd like them to install proper lighting, railings, toilets and bins but under the current climate they're extremely selfish.

There is no reason a group of Guards couldn't have gone down there with black bags and took everyone's drink off them... they wont be returning quickly if its costing them money.

Looking at the above, nothing was done all night and it spilled up town.

If we move to Level 3 its 100% going to be because of the selfish nature of these temporary residents. I've noticed in general they cant even socialise during the day in groups smaller than 8-10 and this whole issue needs to be tackled nationally.

We had Guards out manning checkpoints and asking people where they were going.
    It's time they set up a task force to start clamping down on this behaviour between general group sizes, house parties etc.. sadly in this scenario their actions will affect us ALL and that kind of behaviour cant be tolerated.

Listening to Keith finnegan this morning it is clear to see how outraged people are he commented that he has never seen a reaction like it and I don’t blame anyone. It’s is absolutely idiotic behaviour by absolute selfish idiots, they haven’t a brain cell to rub together between the lot of them.

Massive calls for the army to get out on the streets too from people and I have to say I would be 100% behind it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

After last night we'll probably be in Level 3 by the weekend. Can't see practical classes in the colleges going ahead for a while :(

Hardly a surprise tho about Level 3. It's been floating for a week now and anyone watching the trends can see it's the next step? I'm not in any way condoning the behaviour of last night but now we need for everyone, to stop popping out for their lunches, brunches and houseparties.

And, to get the message out that wearing a mask doesn't mean you can drop the distancing. I see this has been totally lost amongst other this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Listening to Keith finnegan this morning it is clear to see how outraged people are he commented that he has never seen a reaction like it and I don’t blame anyone. It’s is absolutely idiotic behaviour by absolute selfish idiots, they haven’t a brain cell to rub together between the lot of them.

Massive calls for the army to get out on the streets too from people and I have to say I would be 100% behind it.
    What are the army going to do? When the Gardaí don't even have the powers to enforce anything beyond pouring out people's drink, what do you expect the army to do?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Unless we declare Martial Law, not sure if the Army can do anything really, and what would you have the army do, shoot people not wearing masks ?