Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway COVID-19, local news and discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

do you need to be registered with a Doctor to get the vaccine ? I don't have any gp in particular as I've never been sick or had to use one.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,965 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

paddy19 wrote: »

Once people are vaccinated they return to there car to wait for the post 15
    recovery.

Disappointing to hear it was crap. Surprised that temp buildings didn't have good natural ventilation, ie draughts.

I'd agree with your process, except for the quoted bit: too hard to monitor people or start treatment for reactions if they're in a car.

arrived 15 mins early

A big part of the problem. How often do people have to be told not to turn up early.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭paddy19

"Surprised that temp buildings didn't have good natural ventilation, ie draughts."

These are temporally but pretty robust steel framed building so relativity poor ventilation.
    They could just open the double door!

"I'd agree with your process, except for the quoted bit: too hard to monitor people or start treatment for reactions if they're in a car."

My understanding is that post vaccination adverse reaction within 15 minutes is incredibly rare.

The monitoring was pretty harmless. I doubt anyone would have noticed unless you keeled over. A nurse walked past each car could do as good a job. Check before exit would be easy. Treatment if required could be in the vaccination station or main building.

So we have a trade-off between the chance of getting Covid in a poorly ventilated room with 35 people for 15 minutes or an adverse reaction. I think most people would choose to sit in their own car.

"A big part of the problem. How often do people have to be told not to turn up early."

In fairness it is difficult to get the race course bang on time with Galway's lousy traffic.
    Again car parks could be filled by appointment time slot.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,158 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Disappointing to hear it was crap. Surprised that temp buildings didn't have good natural ventilation, ie draughts.

I'd agree with your process, except for the quoted bit: too hard to monitor people or start treatment for reactions if they're in a car.

A big part of the problem. How often do people have to be told not to turn up early.

Appointment was at schools out time so traffic had to be factored in, otherwise they'd have been late. Surprised you need that to be explained.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Sounds like a bit of a shambles of a process - you might well be increasing your chances of catching covid...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭paddy19

Ficheall wrote: »
    Sounds like a bit of a shambles of a process - you might well be increasing your chances of catching covid...

In fairness everybody was wearing masks and social distancing. Still putting vurnerable people into relatively small rooms for greater than 15 minutes does not make any sense to me. At more basic level what happens when it rains or freezes?.

Big gatherings in Salthill yesterday and today;
    https://www.instagram.com/p/CN-i7pYpRLh/?igshid=ow17usvr2z33

Will be a good test of how safe outdoor gatherings are - watch the data for 10 days time!

Once they don't go back to house parties I reckon it's safe enough. Hopefully the rubbish is brought home! Sunny day in Galway and a bag of cans, hard to beat.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,463 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Big gatherings in Salthill yesterday and today;
    https://www.instagram.com/p/CN-i7pYpRLh/?igshid=ow17usvr2z33

Will be a good test of how safe outdoor gatherings are - watch the data for 10 days time!

Once they don't go back to house parties I reckon it's safe enough. Hopefully the rubbish is brought home! Sunny day in Galway and a bag of cans, hard to beat.

Only looking on phone but none of them seem to be aged over 30.
    Basically giving the finger to their parents (who I assume a lot of them still live with) and grandparents (some of whom have just qualified for their first jab).
    They will probably be the first to complain about the funeral restrictions if any of the above get contaminated by them though.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Most of their grandparents which will apparently die upon a sniff of Covid have been vaccinated, as have most of the vunerable.

At some stage, you've to begin to live life again, something which our government seems to reject with their constant pushing out of restrictions.

I don't blame anyone for enjoying a nice day in salthill, as they would in any other country in the world with Covid rates as low as ours. Just because we have a culture of neighbour shaming and blind adherence to an authority figure doesn't mean Irish people will continue to follow insanely intense restrictions.

1.2 million vaccines given, lowest hospital numbers in 7 months, yet people are still being shamed for socialising outdoors at a windy beach. You couldn't make it up!

JCX BXC wrote: »
    I don't blame anyone for enjoying a nice day in salthill, as they would in any other country in the world with Covid rates as low as ours.

Don't blame them either. Was in Salthill myself meeting friends for a walk. It's still an interesting test of how safe larger outdoor gatherings are. If we don't see it show up in the data then push further for outdoor festivals etc as we move into the summer.

You know that the Dark Lord Holohan would never allow such frivolity.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,650 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Yo u know that the Dark Lord Holohan would never allow such frivolity.
    Ah you're one of those guys. Explains a lot.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Ah you're one of those guys. Explains a lot.

Another super one liner from Boards resident failed comedian.

What 'lot' does it explain?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,650 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Another super one liner from Boards resident failed comedian.

What 'lot' does it explain?

You hid it well but go all in now ;)

pjohnson wrote: »

You hid it well but go all in now ;)

Top notch stuff, congrats?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

ben.schlomo and pjohnson
    Leave it

JCX BXC wrote: »
    Most of their grandparents which will apparently die upon a sniff of Covid have been vaccinated, as have most of the vunerable .

As you appear to be so confident in this, by all means, please provide data to back this up

I'd be very interested in the source you use to back up your statement given that it's incorrect

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Salthill Beach today, the crowd got more mental later on.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

A great day had by all out there it seems.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

At least it was hot and sunny with a breeze. Not ideal for a virus. How many were vaccinated I wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,212 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Tuam - free testing Mon-Wed
    People must be from within 30km of the centre, be over 16, have a photo ID, and provide a phone number
    https://connachttribune.ie/hse-to-open-a-walk-in-covid-test-centre-in-tuam-from-monday/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Great to see them enjoying themselves. They've been through enough and their grannies are vaccinated by now. Past my time now but proud that Galway is still craic central

Ffs lads, sit out with a few cans and enjoy the sun with friends but come on, don't take the piss...

https://twitter.com/endacunningham/status/1386030971791740929?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 25,212 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Ffs lads, sit out with a few cans and enjoy the sun with friends but come on, don't take the piss... ...
    Drinking alcohol in public is an offence, don't you know
    and
    You can meet people from 1 other household outdoors, but not in your garden or theirs. Any meetings outdoors should be safe, with continued practising of social distancing and other safe behaviours.
    Masks should be worn in crowded outdoor spaces.
    https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/2dc71-level-5/#social-and-family-gatherings

• Registered Users Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I never thought that I'd see the like. What next? Somebody will be murdered, and then where are we? Drive by shootings in the night, it'll be like Boys in the Hood. And then they'll have hoes selling their wares in the middle of the street and the pimps will be using crack cocaine to keep the whores under control '--I'm going home now Father to lock meself in the basement til they catch that fella. Good-bye to ye father.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,589 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I wasn't actually complaining about it, its nice to see a bit of life outdoors but they were away overcrowded in that section of the beach.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 25,965 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

zell12 wrote: »
    Drinking alcohol in public is an offence, don't you know

Have you got a link for that?

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Selenophile

Ffs lads, sit out with a few cans and enjoy the sun with friends but come on, don't take the piss...

https://twitter.com/endacunningham/status/1386030971791740929?s=19

I was on my way back down the Prom in that moment. I was a bit surprised, although I saw the crowd earlier, on my way up. Most of the comments on Twitter are positive.
    If this is how it is going to be tomorrow, and every other nice day, especially weekends, bank holidays, summer holidays, I guess will be back to 5km limits for the summer.

Oh, well... at least we'll book a few weeks of the leash for this season, and then back to cage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭Pen Rua

Have you got a link for that?

It’s a bye-law in Galway City, afaik.

Quick search leads me to this. I believe this is the correct link.

https://www.galwaycity.ie/uploads/downloads/bye_laws/03-12-2015%20Liquor%20in%20Public%20Places%20Bye-Laws%202015.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Redkite200

Biggest issue I have with all those kids on the beach is I am certain there will be rubbish and empty beer cans, bottles and plastic bags/ food containers left all over the place after them.
    That's the infuriating thing. Lack of respect for their surroundings and nature.

I'll happily eat my words if that doesn't prove to be the case. Littering is a serious issue in the city in general.