Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway COVID-19, local news and discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 7,652 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Costa Coffee and SubWay closing all UK and IE outlets today.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,118 ✭✭✭✭zell12

ETy9erzWsAE3ILO?format=jpg&name=small

What are the the testing locations?
    UCHG
    Docks
    Renmore community centre
    Galway airport

Are there any in county? Or are they travelling to town?

I did some quick calculations based on the existing cases and daily new cases.

Looking at Worldometer for Ireland, they show the graph below

506724.png

Pulling out the numbers from 07 Mar to present, its an average value of 1.283 for the average daily increase in the numbers

506725.png

Anything above 1 (orange line) means the volume of cases reported daily is increasing compared to previous day, below means less than the previous day. We are trending down since 14 Mar but, IMO, its not going down fast enough.

Extrapolating that out, you get the numbers looking like this for the next 10 days for the volume of new cases each day

506726.png

In terms of total cases, that looks like this

506727.png

Note, this is the case if things remain as they are, running at an average increase of 1.283 per day. Obviously things are better if we can get that number lower however if we keep tracking this way, we'll reach saturation for the health system before mid April

This is the curve

22/03/20 33 confirmed cases in Co Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

Just seen a photo from a guy on twitter of the queue for McDonalds on the headford road, it's actually very sad and the queue is quite tame compared to other places in Ireland and the UK...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,173 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Eh, live and let live, it's a drive through so very little risk of the spread of infection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

JCX BXC wrote: »
    Eh, live and let live, it's a drive through so very little risk of the spread of infection.

Not really concentrated on the infection part, more the fact that there is a huge queue and a rush to get to McDonalds before it closes!! Very sheep like mentality

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

JCX BXC wrote: »

I wouldn't like to be the one serving out through the hatch all the same

• Registered Users Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭flazio

So, McDonald's is now closed, Supermacs on Thursday. Any word on KFC? The last drive thru in Galway?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0322/1124722-mcdonalds/

"Therefore we have taken the decision to close every restaurant in the UK and Ireland by 7pm on Monday 23 March at the latest."

• Registered Users Posts: 18,173 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

biko wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0322/1124722-mcdonalds/

"Therefore we have taken the decision to close every restaurant in the UK and Ireland by 7pm on Monday 23 March at the latest."

You're a bit late with that biko.......

Someone needed to add an actual source... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭45mhrc7evo1d3n

zell12 wrote: »
    What are the the testing locations?
    UCHG
    Docks
    Renmore community centre
    Galway airport

Are there any in county? Or are they travelling to town?

I believe there is, or will be, a testing centre in Craughwell.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭obi604

I believe there is, or will be, a testing centre in Craughwell.

Any lad in Connemara etc has a decent way to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mjp

obi604 wrote:
    Any lad in Connemara etc has a decent way to come.

He obviously goes to nearest test site which is UCHG.

mjp wrote: »
    He obviously goes to nearest test site which is UCHG.

Well yeah. But still a bit of a trek.

obi604 wrote: »
    Well yeah. But still a bit of a trek.

No doubt there will be something setup in Clifden at some point, but regardless people are going to have to drive to get tested. Those unable to do so will be tested at home

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭fran38

Any barbers still operating lads?

fran38 wrote: »
    Any barbers still operating lads?

Only the stupid ones

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭fran38

Only the stupid ones

Agreed but i still need the ol gruaig cut

Life or death decision?!?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Ficheall

obi604 wrote: »
    Life or death decision?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭ChewyLouie

:confused::confused::confused:

On another thread you were ready to kick tenants out for not wiping down all surfaces...
    It's even got to the stage where I could very easily give them their notice if they don't cop on to the dangers. Overreaction maybe but I need to lookout for my health etc

You've asking the same question on 3 regional forums. Don't feed the troll.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Same as that in desperate need of a trim

• Registered Users Posts: 23,638 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Fine I'll start doing house calls. €5,000 for a trim €10,000 for a shave.

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Same as that in desperate need of a trim

I gave the wife the trimmer and let her loose, I'm calling it the #CoronaCut

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

pjohnson wrote: »
    Fine I'll start doing house calls. €5,000 for a trim €10,000 for a shave.

Would you take two rolls of Andrea double ply and a squirt of hand sanitiser?

Its tough luck is the reality, not worth the risk for either you or a barber. There will be a lot of things like this that will have to be done without over the coming weeks and months.

I made it my business to get a hair cut the weekend before things really kicked off and even then I felt a bit uneasy no way would I chance it now even if one was open.

For anyone not following the covid forum
    https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2020/0324/1124966-cabinet-coronavirus/
    The closure of all non-essential retail outlets was one of a number of new Covid-19 restrictions announced by Taoiseach Leo Varadkar at a press conference this afternoon.

From midnight tonight, all theatres, clubs, gyms and hairdressers have been ordered to shut. Restaurants have been ordered to restrict their services to take-away only.

Non-essential retail outlets have been ordered to close, with the government providing a list of essential retail outlets which can remain open. Those that remain open must adhere to social distancing guidelines.

The restrictions have been extended by a further three weeks until Sunday 19 April.